Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When you walk into work on tuesday, think of the life of this man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭HeadPig

6 months?

About 5 years would have been right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

what's your point?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    what's your point?
    think of the children animals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

why is this relevant to us OP, apart from the animal cruelty.

what Do you want us to think about exactly ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

MLH1 wrote: »
    When you walk into work on tuesday, think of the life of this man.

Ehh, no. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

I think I see what OP is getting at but... why TUESDAY?

The second link is what exactly ? I'm not reading it.

I think I see what OP is getting at but... why TUESDAY?

because Monday is a bank holiday

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

The election is over.
    Fine Gael and Labour are in governmemt at the moment.
    Lobby them.

hondasam wrote: »
    The second link is what exactly ? I'm not reading it.

Then you'll never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

because Monday is a bank holiday

Hahahaha this thread is a lot cleverer than y'all are gonna give it credit for.

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Then you'll never know

I will live with not knowing !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

I will live with not knowing !

Why continuously post in the thread then.:rolleyes:

That is one of the most horrific cases I have seen yet, I think he got exactly what he deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

That's a great example of an extraordinarily lazy piece of journalism.

I'm sure there were mitigating circumstances behind this case which would have certainly been brought up in court, but it's obvious that the journalist never even attended the court appearance & appointed himself judge, jury & executioner from behind his keyboard.

There must be serious cutbacks at the Irish Times if their Agricultural Corresepondant hasn't been allowed out into the field to write up his articles. (pun intended)

Why continuously post in the thread then.:rolleyes:

That is one of the most horrific cases I have seen yet, I think he got exactly what he deserved.

pardon me for continuously posting. consider me reprimanded.:rolleyes:

*Applause*

More constructive analysis from hondasam!!!:rolleyes:

Finally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

...and why would people think of him going to work?

*Applause*

More constructive analysis from hondasam!!!:rolleyes:
    fedor.2. wrote: »
    Finally

Thanks guys, like I need approval from either of ye :rolleyes:

keep it up ye are amusing me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Im jsut going by the Irish times article there but My fathers a farmer and the farmer in that article got what he deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

That's a great example of an extraordinarily lazy piece of journalism.

I'm sure there were mitigating circumstances behind this case which would have certainly been brought up in court, but it's obvious that the journalist never even attended the court appearance & appointed himself judge, jury & executioner from behind his keyboard.

There must be serious cutbacks at the Irish Times if their Agricultural Corresepondant hasn't been allowed out into the field to write up his articles. (pun intended)

Not too many mitigating circumstances for the conditions described in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Aoifey! wrote: »
    ...and why would people think of him going to work?

Sure didn't OP tell us to? :P in fairness OP I'll more than likely be fantasising about Juliette Gash (DAT NAME) on Tuesday morning over some article that I didn't even read. :pac: Something to do with farmers?

Edit: read the article. You'd be lucky if I was thinking about him tmara morning tbf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Can I think about it wednesday cause im gonna have to take tuesday off to read the second link.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

why is this relevant to us OP, apart from the animal cruelty.

what Do you want us to think about exactly ?

I'm perplexed too.

Down with animal cruelty and all, but other than that - :confused:

*awaits bitchy replies/comments*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Jaysus, that second link is definitely tl:dr. :pac:

still don't get it

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

I am not being bad but what does this bad case of animal cruelty have to do with walking back into work on tuesday?

OP? Ya gonna give us any clues?

I'm perplexed too.

Down with animal cruelty and all, but other than that - :confused:

*awaits bitchy replies/comments*

Glib observations all round tonight for you!;)

Be honest, you don't know what glib means, do you? Because the context in which you've just used it is incorrect.

You better wrap this up before you embarrass yourself any further.;)

I'm not the one who used a word they don't understand. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Can someone translate the second link? I scanned it for a bovine reference but after the second line all the words seemed to mesh into one !:eek:

still don't get it

I'm sure when someone explains it we will all feel really stupid for not knowing what the OP is on about. That is if there is an explanation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Not too many mitigating circumstances for the conditions described in fairness.

To me it sounds like he was in trouble somehow. No farmer leaves his flock to wallow in shit unless there's something wrong in his own life.

Things must have gotten bad for him to allow it to come to this.

I feel for the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:.................

Very good OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:.................

Very good OP
    wow. that went totally over my head. i went to the bother of reading 50% of the long scientific document and skimmed the rest, and was still completely in the dark as to the connection between it and the Irish Times article.

I would have thought that the OP would have come back by this stage to illuminate us................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Well because the farmers name is PJ Shiel and the author of the paper is PJ Shiel is the OP insinuating that this guy was too busy in America playing with his fancy science to look after the farm?? How do you know its the same person if that's the case?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

benjamin d wrote: »
    Well because the farmers name is PJ Shiel and the author of the paper is PJ Shiel is the OP insinuating that this guy was too busy in America playing with his fancy science to look after the farm?? How do you know its the same person if that's the case?:confused:

God I'm dumb, such an obvious detail i missed, but why should that bother me on my way to work on Tuesday morning?

I would have thought that the OP would have come back by this stage to illuminate us................
    OP's keeping us in suspense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

God I'm dumb, such an obvious detail i missed, but why should that bother me on my way to work on Tuesday morning?

Haven't a clue!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

Ah come on guys, can you not see it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Ah come on guys, can you not see it;)

I'm lost I can't figure it man and it's doing my head in now :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭swordofislam

Fap? Fap? Fap? To each his own...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I think i get the thread :cool:

(but link 2 makes no sense which makes me question whether I'm right :confused:)

awaits OP to wake up in the morning and tell us all to clear our minds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

OP..were you drinkin'?

If you go to work Tues. think of this man

And I'll just be givin' a fleeting thought about this woman

Thanks all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

But I'm not working on Tuesday :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

To me it sounds like he was in trouble somehow. No farmer leaves his flock to wallow in shit unless there's something wrong in his own life.

Things must have gotten bad for him to allow it to come to this.

I feel for the guy.

IME, I would have to agree. Have seen it happen before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

tl;dr = "Don't have a cow, man"