Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bunny question

• 24-04-2011 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭

if you shoot a rabit in the head with a .17/.22 will the round stop in its head or pass through it.

tommy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

.22lr will pass through.

.17HMR is a different kettle of fish, it'll expand a lot on impact, probably some will pass through or exit in one direction or another but I doubt on the same scale in size or retained energy as a .22lr bullet which are, generally, crap at deforming.

Though there's less power at longer distances so that may have a bearing on it as well.

As always, safe backstop, then nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

johngalway wrote: »
    .22lr will pass through.

.17HMR is a different kettle of fish, it'll expand a lot on impact, probably some will pass through or exit in one direction or another but I doubt on the same scale in size or retained energy as a .22lr bullet which are, generally, crap at deforming.

Though there's less power at longer distances so that may have a bearing on it as well.

As always, safe backstop, then nothing to worry about.

thanks john

i will be using .17 horndy 17 grain v-max any idea what range there good for a head shot?

tommy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Not to give you a short answer but whatever range you can consistently hit a bunny head sized paper target at :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

Not to give you a short answer but whatever range you can consistently hit a bunny head sized paper target at :)

personally wouldn't chance anything past 100-120 yards so should be ok.

tommy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

.22lr will pass through.........

:confused: Really, I must be doing something wrong all these years so :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

approx 300yrds .17 17grn vmax ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

at least you put him out of his misery landkeeper,he musnt have had much of a life with a hole like that in his head:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

landkeeper wrote: »
    approx 300yrds .17 17grn vmax ;)

300 yards nice shot man, what type of scope do use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,107 ✭✭✭clivej

took 2 rabbits yesterday both @100+ yards with the 22lr using SK HP and both rounds came out the other side of them. thru n thru.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

Spunk84 wrote: »
    300 yards nice shot man, what type of scope do use?

its a 10-40x56 yokewith a mildot i picked up off ebay does the job at up to 32x magnification after that its a bit hazy
    the hills above our gaff had furze bushes cleared last winter they face south and the soil is like talcum powder after all the dry weather, it's really easy to see bullet strikes i was on a grassy knoll lol and the rabbits are out in the evening playing and dusting it's ideal for the .17 i shot a few the other evening it was stone still not a breath of wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

clivej wrote: »
    took 2 rabbits yesterday both @100+ yards with the 22lr using SK HP and both rounds came out the other side of them. thru n thru.

Try head shots :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

it seems to depend for me what type subs im using,i headshot 2 about 2weeks ago at about 75yards and i could see the marks in the muck bank where the bullets exited there heads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭ranger4

Try head shots :P

yep, nice and clean for the pot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

I find i usually get a bit of the 17 gr that passes through but they break up very well, i got some of the 20 gr hornady hollow points to try them out and shot a rabbit that was facing me, it went right through and out his arse:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Minky 123

I find i usually get a bit of the 17 gr that passes through but they break up very well, i got some of the 20 gr hornady hollow points to try them out and shot a rabbit that was facing me, it went right through and out his arse:eek:

Bet you ate that rabbit. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Minky 123 wrote: »
    Bet you ate that rabbit. :rolleyes:

?????????:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

I cooked one the other day for the first time. Havnt seen rabbitts out our way for 10 years and this year theyre everywhere!! bagged my first with the .17 HMR. I hung him for a day and THEN tried to skin him... wasnt easy at all!
    Got another lad this week and skinning him was like taking his jacket off- so easy when done straight away.
    Left him in the fridge for two days... jaysus lads it was beautiful to eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Never waited so long myself, but apparently if you wait not one, but two days, they get very easy to skin. Would be more practical if you hang them. For me, they're skinned immediately, soaked overnight and then cooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

What do you soak them in??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Salted water. I've used buttermilk before as well as an experiment, but it didn't make any major difference. Soak them well, then I boil them, strip the meat and use it in anything I'm cooking after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Fermanaghman

Hi Guys,

I was out shooting yesterday and filmed it. Here is the youtube link

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dXoSSfj6YyA

Let me know your thoughts. I use .22 WMR 40 JHP no issues as long as you are sure of your back stop. JHP's tend to fragment when it hits and lead hollow points flatten. So you can take that into thought too.

Please let me know your thoughts!