Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone know this man?

• 23-04-2011 6:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

Evening peoples,

I have a problem that I hope you could help with.

Weeks ago I spotted a familiar sight on College green. A man wearing a black overcoat and hat, with long grey hair holding a yellow book. There were more of them on a small stand behind him. The man looked to be in his mid to late fifties, although it was difficult to tell as I was on a bus each time I laid eyes on him.

He seemed eager to sell his book and as the weeks wore on, I became eager to buy it. Now, he has vanished and I can't buy his book. However, his relentless peddling of his book and the frequency of his presence in such as prominent spot means it's quite likely a boardsie might know of him.

Some Googling has led me to believe his name may well be Pat. Although this may not be the case. And even if it is, in this country opening the phonebook and looking for a 'Pat' might prove time consuming.

Does anyone know this mans name or where I can at very least pick up a copy of the damn book?

Cheers,
    Dean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Pat Ingoldsby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭CuppaCocoa

Pat ingoldsby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Thank you both.

Thread closed. Everyone else feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

Pat ingoldsby possibly.
    kids tv star in the 80s now seen selling his books of comedy poetry around the place.

I remember him being a nice man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Scawgeen

Sounds like it could be Pat Ingoldsby. Try Easons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Evening peoples,

I have a problem that I hope you could help with.

Weeks ago I spotted a familiar sight on College green. A man wearing a black overcoat and hat, with long grey hair holding a yellow book. There were more of them on a small stand behind him. The man looked to be in his mid to late fifties, although it was difficult to tell as I was on a bus each time I laid eyes on him.

He seemed eager to sell his book and as the weeks wore on, I became eager to buy it. Now, he has vanished and I can't buy his book. However, his relentless peddling of his book and the frequency of his presence in such as prominent spot means it's quite likely a boardsie might know of him.

Some Googling has led me to believe his name may well be Pat. Although this may not be the case. And even if it is, in this country opening the phonebook and looking for a 'Pat' might prove time consuming.

Does anyone know this mans name or where I can at very least pick up a copy of the damn book?

Cheers,
    Dean.

Yeah I know who you're talking about - he's a gentleman. He must disappear frequently, because according to his Wiki page (yeah, he has one?!) -

"Pat's suggestion for finding him is to ask the roadsweepers if they've seen him".

So that's your best best :)

(Books also available on Amazon)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

A lot of the time, Pat can be found selling his books of poetry on Westmoreland Street. Pat's suggestion for finding him is to ask the roadsweepers if they've seen him.

To late.

Thank you both.

Ungrateful cunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

Which College Green?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

I like his ads,

"Grand poems with no hard words in them"

and

"This building free with book purchase"

JohnP199 wrote: »
    Which College Green?

The one in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The one in town.

Can't be, we haven't got a College Green.

The one in town.

Which Town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

Ah yea that's Pat Ingoldsby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Which Town?

Some sh1thole, no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Ungrateful cunt.

Thought you where the cooont here lol
    Or Mr coont to be precise

Which Town?

You know....town.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Cheers,
    Dean.
    Thank you both.

I was going to tell you where you could pick up the book fairly handily.

But now you can feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Can't be, we haven't got a College Green.

I suspect a bogger inferiority complex :rolleyes:

seanybiker wrote: »
    Thought you where the cooont here lol
    Or Mr coont to be precise

....do you work for Ulster Bank?!:mad:
    Lapin wrote: »
    I was going to tell you where you could pick up the book fairly handily.

But now you can feck off.
    +1 brah, +1.

You know....town.

No actually I dont. Ireland has many College Greens and even more towns. Maybe the OP should make it clear where he is referring to; or even better have taken this thread to the regional forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

He does regularly be out on Howth Pier also.

No actually I dont. Ireland has many College Greens and even more towns. Maybe the OP should make it clear where he is referring to; or even better have taken this thread to the regional forum

Says the newb with 81 posts:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Terry Pratchett.

I've been a memeber since Oct 2010. You have been a member since Jan 2011 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭LowOdour

i dont really know what you are on about, but il guess the answer is pat ingoldsby! Btw, is he the same as 40 coats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Pat ingoldsby?

Is he still alive! Was he Fortycoats?

I've been a memeber since Oct 2010. You have been a member since Jan 2011 :rolleyes:

Technically I've made more of a contribution due to my superior number of posts. Technically. So therefore, technically, I'm a more experienced poster than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,493 ✭✭✭harr

Dionysus wrote: »
    Is he still alive! Was he Fortycoats?
    I don't think he was fortycoats,i think the man who played frotycoats was Fran something or other :confused:

Technically I've made more of a contribution due to my superior number of posts. Technically. So therefore, technically, I'm a more experienced poster than you.

True, you maybe have contributed more (not taking into account the quality of posts though) but I have been here longer than you, egro you kid, are the newbie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

True, you maybe have contributed more (not taking into account the quality of posts though) but I have been here longer than you, egro you kid, are the newbie.

Battle Of The Newbies: Coming Soon to The Thunderdome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Why are boggers such gobsítes?

We all know what/where town is, and there's hardly some fella peddling his book at a college green in some tiny backwater village that a load of posters instantly recognise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

LowOdour wrote: »
    i dont really know what you are on about, but il guess the answer is pat ingoldsby! Btw, is he the same as 40 coats?

Not the same men. Fortycoats as a character originated in Wanderly Wagon and was played by two different actors, neither of which was Pat Ingoldsby.

Pat did appear on telly, in Pat's Hat and iirc, Pat's Chat. Possibly in something else too. All of his stuff was mental.

harr wrote: »
    I don't think he was fortycoats,i think the man who played frotycoats was Fran something or other :confused:
    Fran Dempsey :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

You'll usually find him along the gates of the Bank of Ireland on CG. I've only seen him during the weekdays, now that I think about it.

Dj Stiggie wrote: »

How about: because Dubliners are dirty stabbing boy racing knackers who have a filthy city with shíte shop fronts and drunk violent scumbags everywhere and obese, smoking women walking around the streets in pyjamas at all hours?

harr wrote: »
    Fran Dempsey :)

Never heard of him! Fortycoats was great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭God...

Dj Stiggie wrote: »

We all know what/where town is, and there's hardly some fella peddling his book at a college green in some tiny backwater village that a load of posters instantly recognise

Location Lexlip.... you're a bogger to me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,469 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Can you believe there's no Youtube clip of Pat's Chat?!?!?

Am I really that old? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I saw him outside the Bank of Ireland at College Green (in Dublin as opposed to all the other College Greens around the country) on Thursday, I think, so keep an eye out, he hasn't disappeared. Oh, and if his signs are to be believed, he gives discounts to "women eating bananas" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

I saw him outside the Bank of Ireland at College Green (in Dublin as opposed to all the other College Greens around the country) on Thursday, I think, so keep an eye out, he hasn't disappeared. Oh, and if his signs are to be believed, he gives discounts to "women eating bananas" ;)

He was there today. I have five of his books. Have you ever read any of his poetry? It's funny, crazy, sad, evocative, moving...the man's a genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

He used to sell his books on Howth pier when I was a kid, I used to always have chats with him. I wrote a poem for him once and he gave me a free signed copy of one of his poetry books. Lovely fella.

Dionysus wrote: »
    How about: because Dubliners are dirty stabbing boy racing knackers who have a filthy city with shíte shop fronts and drunk violent scumbags everywhere and obese, smoking women walking around the streets in pyjamas at all hours?

I'm from Dublin but I have to agree:pac:

Did anyone say Pat Ingoldsby yet?