Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

League of Ireland Electronic Arts League Cup games monday 25th

• 23-04-2011 2:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

18:00:00 Wexford Youths Cork City Ferrycarrig Park
    19:45:00 Limerick FC Waterford United Jackman Park
    15:00:00 Derry City Mervue United The Brandywell
    18:00:00 Cockhill Celtic Sligo Rovers Maginn Park, Buncrana
    15:00:00 St. Patrick's Athletic Shamrock Rovers Richmond Park
    19:45:00 Drogheda United U.C.D Hunky Dorys Park
    15:00:00 Monaghan United Dundalk Gortakeegan
    19:00:00 Shelbourne Bohemians Tolka Park

Not too bothered about the result but would like to beat Rovers :D Kenna nearing fullfitness but monday might be too soon for him, as we dont have many players reckon the same team that played last night will play again.

Think the prizemoney for this has been cut to a €20 voucher for Game.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Us against Shels should be good craic

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Us against Shels should be good craic

Pity it wasn't an early kick-off though, although that means he racing fans among us can still watch the Irish Grand National.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

So that's what EA stands for!!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Zebra3 wrote: »
    So that's what EA stands for!!! :pac:

For a minute I thought it was a thread about some gaming competition among LOI supporters. :)
    dreamers75 wrote: »

Not too bothered about the result but would like to beat Rovers .

MON on record as prioritizing nearly all competitions over this cos the prize money is so bad but that said we can still probably field an half decent team.

Should be a close game between us and Bohs, but expect them to edge it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭edolan

Pity i've been sick the last few days would've loved to have been able to make the trip to cockhill.

We beat Cockhill 4 nil today, a good morale booster. Hopefully a good win against UCD on friday to follow and get the league campaign back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

edolan wrote: »
    Pity i've been sick the last few days would've loved to have been able to make the trip to cockhill.

That sounds very wrong :pac:

Paully D wrote: »
    That sounds very wrong :pac:

I've been told it's pun overload up there.

Hilarious defending from both sides at our match, Shels were less **** and deserved the win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,289 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Hilarious defending from both sides at our match, Shels were less **** and deserved the win
    Alot less ****.

Jesus Bohs wouldn't want to have an injury crisis, they were woeful. Mullhall running your defence to bits when he came on. Can we play yous every week btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

That was a very good match for the neutral in Tolka tonight. Both defences were mental, but as has been said - Shels were less **** so took the win. Good craic anyways. I liked the defender playin on the main stand side of the pitch in the first half, who was that? Very positive and busted himself to make every challenge.

I liked the defender playin on the main stand side of the pitch in the first half, who was that? Very positive and busted himself to make every challenge.

Shels player? That would have been Seany Byrne.

He did well. The linesman was muck and gave him a hard time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Woohoo! Gotta love a penalty shootout :)

He's a class player, has been a first teamer since he signed for us but hasn't featured much this season. We actually signed him from Bohs a couple of seasons back.:cool:

Was annoyed when we let him go and even more so now, would be very handy to have this season

Myself and the better half tried to go through the adult gate, but we were told to go through the student gate.. even though we had no ID. Do they ever ask for it at Tolka?

...once it's against Rovers!:D
    Myself and the better half tried to go through the adult gate, but we were told to go through the student gate.. even though we had no ID. Do they ever ask for it at Tolka?

Was it the Shels end? Tosh is too much of a gentleman to ask for ID tbh.

Yeah, grand.

League matches are all ticket affairs so they might ask for ID at the ticket "office".

...once it's against Rovers!:D

Haha yeah man, without a doubt!

Really hoping for Shels -v- Pats in Tolka in the next round!

League matches are all ticket affairs so they might ask for ID at the ticket "office".

I won't chance my arm, it was just nice havin the 5er left over for some chips :o

When's the draw?

Haha yeah man, without a doubt!

Pats -v- Shels in Richer please!:cool: Nice short trip for me, and well the friendly 3 years ago was good stuff.

No idea when the draw is Tangy! Hopefully it's soon!

Yeah Gav, think that's the only time we've played you lot since yiz got relegated. Bohs seem to get to play yiz every feckin' year!

Yeah Gav, think that's the only time we've played you lot since yiz got relegated demoted. Bohs seem to get to play yiz every feckin' year!

Shelegated tbf :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Mixed emotion tonight. Great to beat Dundalk again and progress but also a pain in the bottom coz our cup run last year cost us promotion probably and we cant afford that to happen again. But anyways, beating Dundalk is always a pleasure so we can just bow out in the next round.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

They're fairly over rated to be honest..:(

Much prefer things to be settled on goal difference:cool:

Pleasantly surprised at how our game turned out last night. :pac:

Next!!!!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭BornToRun88

Bohs well beaten by Shels last night, I can have no complaints. I thought Bohs might try go for the League Cup but with the side Fenlon put out its obvious the League Cup isn't a priority for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Getting the young lads a bit of experience incase of an injury crisis and giving the older players like Heary a break was far more important than trying to win the cup imo.

bohsman wrote: »
    Getting the young lads a bit of experience incase of an injury crisis and giving the older players like Heary a break was far more important than trying to win the cup imo.

Exactly, I like Matthews giving the likes of Skinner, Gar Matthews, Seany Byrne, Sullivan and Clancy all a start for us.

Shels -v- Sligo
    Cork -v- Pats
    Limerick -v- Mons
    UCDD -v- Derry

Just have to wait to the semi's to beat Pats so!;)

Ya bollocks. I was just about to post that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Shels -v- Sligo
    Cork -v- Pats
    Limerick -v- Mons
    UCDD -v- Derry

Sorry to burst your bubble fella but I reckon it will be City and Sligo.;)

Great to draw Shels havent been in Tolka since 2006 to see us play them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Rebel Boy

Shels -v- Sligo
    Cork -v- Pats
    Limerick -v- Mons
    UCDD -v- Derry

You might be waiting. I've a good feeling City will beat Pats. We've nothing to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Pats game is down for the week we in Europe so god only knows when it will be played.

its fine tho we wont be europe for long.