Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arrest warrent for friend going to fly. What should i do...

• 23-04-2011 12:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25

Hey all. Not sure what forum section to post this in so going to do it here and also the legal section/after hours as ive heard these two are the best to get answers/most traffic.

So the problem is in August myself and a group of friends are travelling to Australia for 'x' amount of time. We will probably apply for a working visa. One of my friends has bassically had a warrent out for his arrest since this time last year. It was for nothing major. He got caught doing a small scam selling rugby tickets in an Irish town and scammed about 600euro. Anyway he was arrested on the day and bailed at no cost (which was a bit surprising as he is a northern ireland resident and has never lived in the republic.

He was told that all he had to do was show up with the 600euro (which he still had) next week and pay it back and no further action would be taken. The idiot that he is he didnt do it and he has never given another thought about it.

Im worried when we get to australia or even a holiday we are taking to france next month, that he will be detained by customs or something and obviously that would be embarrassing. Ive told him many times to just go down and pay the money, make a small donation to a local charity around that town and nothing more will probably be said but he refuses.

Your help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

I have no idea what the legal situation is but travelling to the other side of the world with a thieving idiot is not a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭hatz7

I'd say he'd get away with it no problem. I'm no legal eagle but I doubt his name is on any lists in OZ or France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

either tell your "mate" to goto the Gardai and get the matter sorted ASAP

or be prepared for him to be stopped entering a country like Oz (I believe you have to fill out a declaration before entering Oz) ...so he will either have to lie on the declaration which will result in being turned away at border control ...or tell the truth at border control and face being sent home.

As regards visiting France - he may be arrested on his return (going out may raise a red flag to officials) and could be held in custody until the matter is sorted or he satisfies gardai with an independent surety (so your friend will be looking for you to bail him out and if he fails to turn up in court - you loose your money)

Do you trust your friend ? ....if so, be prepared to leave him on his own to deal with his own problem if he does not attempt to address the situation before you both go travelling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 IrishLadMark

Ive went into a little more detail in the other thread in legal section. But to be honest he's been my friend for 15 years. Before this he had a clean record 100% . Never even a warning.

AFAIK he wants to pay it back but he's afraid if he goes down they will lock him away. Ive told him this is stupid. Irish prisons are full and regular scumbags doing much worse things are getting away without jail.

I 100% am not trying to justify his actions but just that he fell into the wrong crowd and never sorted it out when he should have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Probably best ask a solicitor!

I heard if you have a warrant that they bring you to the next available court opening so tell him to turn himself in the day before the court opens.

That or just chance it, go to Australia and just lie on the form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

He should go get himself arrested.

They are only likely to restrict travel if they think he might not come back.

If he goes and hands himself in then they are getting very little reason to think that.

If he avoids arrest then they will certainly restrict travel.

Also he should not give any statement when he is arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 cescbomb

Nothing will happen to him, and somehow I don't think Interpol will be chasing him across the globe for e600. I wouldn't worry about it in any case, it's his problem, not yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Get your mate to drop into his local Garda station, the warranty is probably there for not paying the fine he got in court when he never turned up. The guards will give him a choice, pay the fine he got in court or go to jail, if the fine is way to much he should ask for a set a side for the case to be heard again and turn up himself this time. No need for a solicitor if you ask at the court they'll abc it for him.

So best thing is now for him to just call his solicitor and see what the story is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Yes, he's probably on Interpol's list of wanted criminals

Ok so it turns out he actually has to get his passport renewed! Its a british passport so assuming he applies will he get rejected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

No! His passport application won't be refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I'm closing this thread. It's really up to your buddy to find out for himself what his options are and you've got as good an answer as you're likely to get without seeking legal advice or your mate manning up and doing the right thing.