Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arrest warrent for friend going to fly. What should i do....

• 23-04-2011 12:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25

Hey all. Not sure what forum section to post this in so going to do it here and also the travel section as ive heard these two are the best to get answers/most traffic.

So the problem is in August myself and a group of friends are travelling to Australia for 'x' amount of time. We will probably apply for a working visa. One of my friends has bassically had a warrent out for his arrest since this time last year. It was for nothing major. He got caught doing a small scam selling rugby tickets in an Irish town and scammed about 600euro. Anyway he was arrested on the day and bailed at no cost (which was a bit surprising as he is a northern ireland resident and has never lived in the republic.

He was told that all he had to do was show up with the 600euro (which he still had) next week and pay it back and no further action would be taken. The idiot that he is he didnt do it and he has never given another thought about it.

Im worried when we get to australia or even a holiday we are taking to france next month, that he will be detained by customs or something and obviously that would be embarrassing. Ive told him many times to just go down and pay the money, make a small donation to a local charity around that town and nothing more will probably be said but he refuses.

Your help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=633

Here is where your answers are.

he could just go to the garda station now and sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Has he any tickets for the upcoming World Cup?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 IrishLadMark

hondasam wrote: »

Woops never seen that section!

Cheers mate:)

policarp wrote: »
    Has he any tickets for the upcoming World Cup?

We actually have a friend out there who has got us a few so heading to NZ at the start of September for a few weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

We actually have a friend out there who has got us a few so heading to NZ at the start of September for a few weeks!

go away I'm jealous :)

enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭God...

Bad enough he's a scumbag ripping people off but he's a retard when he could of just sorted it out hassle free.

They say you can judge a person by there friends too...

God... wrote: »
    Bad enough he's a scumbag ripping people off but he's a retard when he could of just sorted it out hassle free.

They say you can judge a person by there friends too...

Yeah was scummy thing of him to do at the time. He actually didn't tell us for quite a while. Anyway he told us why he did it and while it doesn't justify it in the slightest. I can see why he thought he was his only option to get some cash...

Edit to say it was not his idea. He was put up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

He should go **** himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

hondasam wrote: »

He sounds like a miserable hungry strip of p*ss this mate. I'm all for doing what you can get away with but when you're caught you're caught and when you're caught, the best policy is to get out of it on the handiest terms available to you, which in this case is meeting the terms dished out in court.

What you do with a miserable c*nt like this is, you wait until the problem comes back to haunt him at customs or a traffic checkpoint and when it does, make sure you have you're own arrangements in place cash wise, etc, so you can carry on without him when he's in a cell somewhere...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

tell him if he doesn't go get it sorted out an ya get stopped in Australia then ur just gonna leave him there an enjoy the rest of your holiday an not worry about a stupid Feckin eejit who goes to Australia with an arrest warrant in place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭God...

make sure you have you're own arrangements in place cash wise, etc, so you can carry on without him when he's in a cell somewhere...

In fairness when going abroad with someone you should always be prepared to have to make your own way no matter who you go with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

No doubt we'll see him on a future Border Patrol TV programme where they'll send him straight back where he came from:P.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Aside from the fact he was willing to rip innocent people off, he should have certainly paid the fine.
    This charge no matter how small, now will hang around his neck now everywhere he goes. If he goes back to Australia he certainly will be stopped - and frankly, bloody good!

I certainly would not stop him from going and would in all honestly, say nothing to him.
    He deserves everything he gets.

P.S. Get a new friend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

Not a nice guy but I am pretty sure he can travel to England and fly from there unmolested, unless his records are in interpol, which I doubt ( and travelling to England would mean no checks).

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

This thread exists elsewhere and both those places are more natural homes for it than here on AH so we'll leave it at that on this one.