Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm speechless, the best car project i've seen

• 23-04-2011 12:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭

Ok, not the most unique, expensive car in the world, but this chap strips down an E46 M3 and installs the ENTIRE thing in a stripped out E46 318 4 door body.

The attention to detail is outstanding, he built and refurbished the car from scratch, absolutely incredible.

http://www.bimmers.no/forum/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=133999&sid=8a84a6905fc2c63a005aa93ed3ccc0db

DSC_0255.jpg

CIMG1812.jpg

DSC_0008.jpg

(It took me a while to figure out why, forgot they didn't make 4 door E46 M3s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

huge work but great result. Would love to make a e36 M3 touring some day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Seems like a whole lotta hassle for 2 extra doors (and a more ordinary looking shape).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Something very different about that car, looks mint.

I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭jumbone

pburns wrote: »
    Seems like a whole lotta hassle for 2 extra doors (and a more ordinary looking shape).

With the Norwegian equivalent of vrt it would have cost him 80k to register he m3 (it came from Germany) so he decided to reshell it onto the 318 which was already registered there. He can probably sell a bunch of parts to make back some of his money anyways.

Here's an English link:

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=578901

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Arent the suspension pick up points bespoke to the M3. Has he modified the chassis to take proper M3 running gear? If not, its just a piece of crap IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

mickdw wrote: »
    Arent the suspension pick up points bespoke to the M3. Has he modified the chassis to take proper M3 running gear? If not, its just a piece of crap IMO.

What an idiotic comment to make .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Inbox wrote: »

What an insightful deconstruction of an opinion.

As for the car, I'm not sure if I like it.

Personally if I was doing that project I'd have changed the wheels, left off the side vents etc. and made it into a proper sleeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,730 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Inbox wrote: »

Why?

I dont have the internet speed to open all those photos so dont know exactly what he did.
    I know the E30 M3 had completely different suspension turretts and general layout and the whole chassis had to be heavily modified to turn a standard E30 coupe into an M3.
    If this is still the case with the E46 (and I believe it is), Has he done any of this? If its just engine gearbox, and brakes fitted to an E46 saloon with the panels massaged around it, it would be a terrible waste of time, money and most of all, a genuine M3.
    As I say, I have not seen the pics apart from the first few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

No, he used the original M3 suspension parts with new springs. He modified the towers to take the shocks etc, as I say, an incredible job.

He did the work of 20 BMW technicians all by himself. Why he wanted 4 doors I dont know, but why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Brilliant work, I love it. Fair play to the guy for getting stuck right into it. I had to do some debugging in a wiring loom of a new shape MINI which took days to sort out, and I thought _that_ was tough. This must have been hair pulling stuff, but he got there in the end. Maximum respect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

-Chris- wrote: »

Personally if I was doing that project I'd have changed the wheels, left off the side vents etc. and made it into a proper sleeper.
    I'm the same as you, I'd love to see it installed in something different that you wouldn't suspect.
    Still, savage job though, respect to anyone who has the interest and money to pursue a project like that!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

That is awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I like all engine swap projects, though I prefer when its an unusual concoction. This kinda seems to be more tax avoidance (which is cool and all) than mad hatter engineering.

VW V10TDI block in 318 Coupe body would be more my cup of tea.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

I really cant see the point of it....

looks fabulous workmanship.... and fair play to him...

but personally think it a waste of time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

I admire the work but I would imagine performance has suffered and for that I feel stupid exercise. Bought a great car and ended up with something worst, don't see the sense in that. If they wanted 4 doors just go and buy a m5.

Does seem a little pointless to me too, considering the amount of work that went into it. As labour intensive as it was, it wasn't groundbreaking. He wouldn't have needed to even code anything, it was just a direct swap.

An S62 V8 in an E38, now that I want to see in detail. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Are the M bodies not a bit thicker where rigidity is needed, and thinner where lightness is needed when compared to the standard car? This is the way other manufacturers have done their special editions, most glaring is Honda and the Type-R's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

-Chris- wrote: »

But the point of doing it was because it's the only one like it.... if he wanted to do a sleeper job on it he could have just swapped the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Okay, I worked out why this project bugs me so much and it's because they ruin a m3. I would have loved it if they had just ordered all the parts and fitted them to the 318.

But the point of doing it was because it's the only one like it.... if he wanted to do a sleeper job on it he could have just swapped the engine.

For a guy like that, just doing an engine swap is a half assed solution. I'd have to agree.

Making it faster is only a part of the story, if it doesn't stop with the same competence that it accelerates, that makes it dangerous. If it doesn't handle with the same competence that it accelerates, that makes it a Corvette :p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Fair play to the guy for the effort - but I'd have a whole lot more respect for him if he'd done the conversion using a crash-damaged M3 rather than (what looks to be) a pretty immaculate example of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Does seem a little pointless to me too, considering the amount of work that went into it. As labour intensive as it was, it wasn't groundbreaking. He wouldn't have needed to even code anything, it was just a direct swap.

An S62 V8 in an E38, now that I want to see in detail. ;)

Pish, the S62 (e39 M5 V8 engine for those that dont speak BMW engine codes) fits right into the e31 840 chassis:
    http://www.mymotiv.com/forum/topics/s62-e39-m5-engine-in-an-e31

Only problem I have with that swap is "in reality" its worse than the decade older S70 engine in the 850CSi. No point doing a swap only to barely meet the older top dog. The S85 engine however would be sweeet, ala the "V10 in a Box" e30 with S85 rebuild:
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2929437/1988-bmw-m3/page-1

Give me EUR10k (at a min) and Ill provide the donor E31! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

I like it.

Best possible colour choice also.

Its been referred to already but I believe in some of the Scandinavian countries it costs a fortune to register cars like M3s etc, and so a lot of modifying like this happens there. It is much cheaper to basically rebuild the car like this than to register the imported one.

Hats off to him, some extreme mechanical and electrical skill and knowledge there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Doesn't do it for me. The M3 is a great piece of kit but this just looks odd. I would have done what Chris said left it purely as a sleeper (Q car) and shocked people with the noise and the speed.

As a piece of engineering yes well done but end result.........I don't know.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

I know he imported the M3 and claims he would have had to pay taxes etc., but could he not just have bought an E46 M3 that was already in the country and saved himself the hassle?

I think it looks a bit ridiculous in the four door bodyshell and that also looked a very nice car he butchered for the project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

I love good build threads!
    Great source of them here..

http://www.build-threads.com/
    http://buildthreadsirl.net/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

VolvoMan wrote: »
    I know he imported the M3 and claims he would have had to pay taxes etc., but could he not just have bought an E46 M3 that was already in the country and saved himself the hassle?

I think it looks a bit ridiculous in the four door bodyshell and that also looked a very nice car he butchered for the project.

I would assume M3s are very rare and very expensive where he lives so this option is still probably cheaper, not to mention the fact that what he ended up with is basically a new car.

I don't think it looks ridiculous at all, I like the E46 saloon and this is a mint conversion job.

Its true that it would have been nice not to have to dismantle a perfectly good M3 to do it, but he bought a second hand one from Germany where they must be 10 a penny..

I am delighted guys like him exist tbh, shows just how far people are willing to go to get exactly what they want, and what can be achieved with some effort (and money)!

Reminds me of the M3 V10 conversion that was posted before.. you could argue against "ruining" a perfectly good M3 there too but the owner ends up with something completely unique!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Congratulations, you've demonstrated your ability to build cars.
    However, you've just ruined two perfectly good cars. Therefore, You're a moron.

• Moderators Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

SV wrote: »
    Congratulations, you've demonstrated your ability to build cars.
    However, you've just ruined two perfectly good cars. Therefore, You're a moron.
    Plenty to "ruin" if he wants to. Not like he ruined a few rare cars for the craic.

IMO, its an amazing job done, and for the effort and complications involved, he did a class job. Maybe alot of effort for it, but a lovely end product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

SV wrote: »
    However, you've just ruined two perfectly good cars.
    You do realise that one of them is a 4-door 318i don't you? :pac:

Matt Simis wrote: »
    Pish, the S62 (e39 M5 V8 engine for those that dont speak BMW engine codes) fits right into the e31 840 chassis:
    http://www.mymotiv.com/forum/topics/s62-e39-m5-engine-in-an-e31

Only problem I have with that swap is "in reality" its worse than the decade older S70 engine in the 850CSi. No point doing a swap only to barely meet the older top dog. The S85 engine however would be sweeet, ala the "V10 in a Box" e30 with S85 rebuild:
    http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2929437/1988-bmw-m3/page-1

Give me EUR10k (at a min) and Ill provide the donor E31! :)

The S62 into the E38 has been only documented twice as far as I know, and only in patches. I like to see engines of similar eras transplanted, if anything it makes the swap easier/more likely.

Listen to this on a test run :D :

VolvoMan wrote: »

Presuming their taxes work anything like VRT, the second hand values will be artificially inflated due to the highly taxed new/imported car costs. There may not be the s/h bargains to be had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The Donor M3 has to be the worst M3 colour out there. It does nothing for me, in fact ive never seen one that colour. Is that factory spec?

All that for a sh1tty M3, could have done a lovely Mazda MPS !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

pippip wrote: »
    I admire the work but I would imagine performance has suffered and for that I feel stupid exercise. Bought a great car and ended up with something worst, don't see the sense in that. If they wanted 4 doors just go and buy a m5.

+1 I don't understand the point either.

Admire the work gone into it for sure. Its stunning. Perhaps as a demonstration for his skills, workshop, its fantastic advertisement. Judging from the other cars in the photos, I suspect, he's done a lot of similar work. Its a beaut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

I think this may, maybe...... warrant an M3 badge. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

mtb_kng wrote: »
    I think this may, maybe...... warrant an M3 badge. :)

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Fantastic attention to detail but I've seen better/more ambitious builds on Irish websites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Testament1

Looks like a damn good job. Still I reckon that a much more fun car would be a road going version of the 4 door E46 with an RB25DET engine that was competing at the first round of ProDrift in Ennis! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Yes, a 250hp 2.5l turbo engine would be much more fun than a 3.2l 340hp N/A engine.

Tragedy wrote: »
    Yes, a 250hp 2.5l turbo engine would be much more fun than a 3.2l 340hp N/A engine.

Its not exactly a huge job to get big power from an RB25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Neither is supercharging an E46 M3.

You still said a 2.5l 250hp turbo engine would be much more fun than a 340hp N/A one.

Tragedy wrote: »
    Neither is supercharging an E46 M3.

You still said a 2.5l 250hp turbo engine would be much more fun than a 340hp N/A one.

Actually I said that a road going version of the one that was competing, which wasn't standard and would have been putting out a lot more than 250hp, would be fun. Probably should have phrased that better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Some of them S54 engines are pushing out series power with either turbo kits or superchargers. All thought Im not sure if I would do it as it would destroy the character of the engine. If I was competing in something well I probably would then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

It's good, but not amazing project. There was anather project linked once. A V8 e30 project. It's was all striped, custom made suspension with a whole rewelding of body etc.

Now that was a project and a half.

As for e46 m3 4 door... It's cute but.... But...meh...

If I would see it somewhere, them the first thing that comes in to my head: some kids wants to be an m3 driver...

Make it 4 door with m3 running gear with visual stuff,and you got a nice sleeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

It's good, but not amazing project. There was anather project linked once. A V8 e30 project. It's was all striped, custom made suspension with a whole rewelding of body etc.

Now that was a project and a half.

As for e46 m3 4 door... It's cute but.... But...meh...

If I would see it somewhere, them the first thing that comes in to my head: some kids wants to be an m3 driver...

Make it 4 door with m3 running gear with visual stuff,and you got a nice sleeper
    It was actually a V10 from the E60 M5, must of cost 100k+ $$$