Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Have you heard the Good News?"

• 22-04-2011 8:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭

This is a little out of character for me, as despite being a fairly aggressive atheist in my youth (or really, about two years ago :pac:) I've softened a lot since then and really don't fancy taking the mick out of religion or the religious nor enjoy being offensive to them anymore.

That said.

This phrase drives me absolutely insane. "Have you heard the Good News?" (or its equally cringe-inducing counterpart, "Have you heard of our Lord, Jesus Christ?") - "news?" "News?!" Really? It's been around for two thousand years. This isn't news. By any definition of the word. Everyone in the Western world over the age of 5 has heard of Jesus. We got this shit down. It sounds so goddamn patronizing. Of course I've heard the fecking "news!" As if that's the only possible reason I haven't converted! :rolleyes:

Am I alone in wanting to curl a fist every time I hear this phrase uttered? Who are they expecting to win over with it? Have they ever encountered a single person who hasn't heard of Christianity? Like.. ever? :confused: I don't think I have.

Ergh. Anyway. Rant over and apologies to anyone I may have offended, but jeez, in fairness lads, this one has really gotta stop. :p

Anyone else have a phrase bugbear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

WHAT THINK YE OF CHRIST????????

ehh... I think he's, eh.... sound?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

The Lord moves in mysterious ways.

i.e. This crap is so ridiculous, after 1000 years of exegesis we can't even explain it.

Dades wrote: »
    The Lord moves in mysterious ways.

i.e. This crap is so ridiculous, after 1000 years of exegesis we can't even explain it.
    It's only "mysterious" when he "moves" to give a child leukemia or when a baby is still-born... When something good happens, Christians know exactly what God's motivation was, ie. cos he loves us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Dave! wrote: »
    It's only "mysterious" when he "moves" to give a child leukemia or when a baby is still-born... When something good happens, Christians know exactly what God's motivation was, ie. cos he loves us.

Some people even 'praise the Lord' when they are successful in getting a new job, whereas if they fail to get the job, it's the fault of all the foreigners who take away our jobs :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

The McRib is back?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

S/he's gone to a better place.

Really? I think not. The phrase is a complete nonsense platitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭cavedave

Beruthiel

and yet Christians wear seatbelts

"Everything happens for a reason"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

"Padre Pio protect us" stickers on car windows.......

...Just under the Fully Comp disc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Beruthiel wrote: »

Really? I think not. The phrase is a complete nonsense platitude.

A 'better place' which for some clerics means being part of 'God's children'. I hope, that does not affect me, since I'm an Atheist...I guess, I have to insist on a non-religious burial ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Haven't you heard about the word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Plowman wrote: »

It's cringe-inducing because it just doesn't make sense unless you're religious, basically, and it just sounds patronising. I don't care if they mean "news" or "gospel" - the bible's been around for 2,000 years. Yes, I've fecking heard of it, is the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭blacktalons

liah wrote: »
    This is a little out of character for me, as despite being a fairly aggressive atheist in my youth (or really, about two years ago :pac:) I've softened a lot since then and really don't fancy taking the mick out of religion or the religious nor enjoy being offensive to them anymore.

That said.

This phrase drives me absolutely insane. "Have you heard the Good News?" (or its equally cringe-inducing counterpart, "Have you heard of our Lord, Jesus Christ?") - "news?" "News?!" Really? It's been around for two thousand years. This isn't news. By any definition of the word. Everyone in the Western world over the age of 5 has heard of Jesus. We got this shit down. It sounds so goddamn patronizing. Of course I've heard the fecking "news!" As if that's the only possible reason I haven't converted! :rolleyes:

Am I alone in wanting to curl a fist every time I hear this phrase uttered? Who are they expecting to win over with it? Have they ever encountered a single person who hasn't heard of Christianity? Like.. ever? :confused: I don't think I have.

Ergh. Anyway. Rant over and apologies to anyone I may have offended, but jeez, in fairness lads, this one has really gotta stop. :p

you REALLY need to take a chill pill :D .just answer" yes" to the question and keep walking,no need to get freaked out over nothing:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I'm hardly freaked out. It's just irritating!

STOP FREAKING OUT, LIAH!!!!!!!!!!! FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

"I'm not convinced"

This normally follows 1611 pages of people trying to explain Darwinian evolution to a Creationist, or trying to explain possible alternatives to a supernatural resurrection to a Christian.

Closely followed by

"If God exists then it is perfectly reasonable..."

Can be used in relation to any debate about any religious supernatural event no matter how unlikely or improbable (again see resurrection).

Last but not least

"It is arrogant of you to assume you understand X (normally God)"

A catch all phrase when a theist is faced with some paradox or flaw in religious understanding of what X or God is or would do.

Christ theists are annoying. I should probably say some theists, but for the love of Darwin where are these reasonable, rational theists because we keep being told they are out there and I keep running into the idiots. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Plowman wrote: »

It is when you consider that it is neither "news" nor particularly "good"

professor-farnsworth.png

Wicknight wrote: »
    It is when you consider that it is neither "news" nor particularly "good"

professor-farnsworth.png

Good news everyone! I've invented a machine that makes you read this is my voice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Yeah because finding out everyone on earth is doomed to eternal torture by default for being sick, immoral fecks by default and that the only way out is to live by a strict set of rules made thousands of years ago not fit for modern living... is TOTALLY good news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭smokingman

It's akin to an atheist saying "have you heard of this thing called LOGIC?" to a deist...just shouldn't be done.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

"I'm really sceptical about everything"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭ct89

I dont care,

Im one of the 144,000 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭swampgas

ct89 wrote: »
    I dont care,

Im one of the 144,000 :)

Isn't that just ... Mega-Gross ? :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

"Padre Pio protect us" stickers on car windows.......

...Just under the Fully Comp disc...

or in the case of <mod snip/>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭himnextdoor

God punishes us because He loves us - I think that Christianity is a branch of S & M.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

It's cringe-inducing because it just doesn't make sense unless you're religious, basically, and it just sounds patronising. I don't care if they mean "news" or "gospel" - the bible's been around for 2,000 years. Yes, I've fecking heard of it, is the point.

Next time just tell them "YES!!!!! I HAVE READ THE GOD DELUSION. WHICH WAS YOUR FAVOURITE PART ?????"

If that doesn't make them run away it will make for a more interesting reaction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

That said.

I instinctively tell people to fvck off when they say that to me while walking my dog on a sunday morning with a hangover.

unless the good news is that youre giving away free lucozade sport or you'd like to take my little black bag of dog poop then kindly leave me to suffer in peace