Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New bike-rotating handlebars included!!

• 22-04-2011 2:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭

So I said to myself last week that I needed a bike. I always had one when I was younger, and was quite into the aul cycling. I just wanted something to get me from a to b, and also as an alternative to the gym on sunny days. I didn't have much of a budget, but my needs were pretty basic, and so eventually I bought an Apollo Slant in Halfords for €150 (special offer).

The bike seemingly had everything I needed, the the salesperson told me it was a fine model. On Sunday I decided to take it for a spin. I cycled out the country for about 10km, and then the saddle went. Which wasn't ideal. I had to turn around and basically sit awkwardly to balance the saddle. Which, considering I hadn't cycled for 5 years, was excruciating!! Then, as I was coming down a hill, the handlebars completely rotated. If the saddle hadn't forced me to go slow, I could have flown over the front of the bike.

Anyway, now my saddle and handlebars were banjaxed, and I had to walk 5km home. I was pretty angry, but I decided that it was probably to do with shoddy assembly, rather than the bike itself, and so I tightened everything that needed tightening, and left it at that.

I took her out again on Tuesday, and everything was grand, But tonight I went on another cycle, and whilst the saddle held, the handlebars did another 180 on me. I had to softly peddle back for fear that the bars would take me over the front of the bike if I was going to fast and braked, especially downhill.

Anyway, I was wondering what people think I should do. I know I can continue to tighten the handlebars forever, but I don't think I should have to. The bike, which I was told was a good make, and which cost a not inconsiderable amount, is faulty. And it's not as if it's a minor fault- the steering system has a mind of its own!

Do you think I should bring it back- ask for a refund/replacement/fix??

Sorry for the length. I'm a tad drunk and tend to ramble, but I'd appreciate any advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Bring it back and demand a refund. Play up the you could have been killed angle- if you WERE injured Halfords would be liable for tens of thousands plus in damages (there was a case recently where a local bike shop had to pay I think near €50,000 for far less negligence.)

At the end of the day it is a shíte bike, although the assembly probably doesn't help either. For your €150 you would be best off buying a good brand hybrid secondhand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

What blorg said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

What BostonB said

Link to law suit HERE

It could easily be argued (through consumer rights legislation) that the product bought was not fit for requirements thus entitled to a refund. Get your money back and buy a bike not a bike shaped object

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Bought a Boardman Hybrid in Halfords on Wednesday. Front mech doesn't work, headset is loose, masking tape left all over the bike. It confirmed my suspicions that Halford are for car parts, not for bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Well this chap certainly seems happy about his Halford's bike!

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/gentsbicycles/2090160

So happy in fact that he believes its value has increased since he bought it. €220 second hand when he bought it new for €125. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

I've seen sloppy bikes from plenty of places but the loose stem seems to be a halfords speciality (have experienced it first hand). With H&S being such a big deal in the UK you would think they would have strict policies on checking bikes before they go out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Thanks for the replies. I think I will bring it back. Is the model I bought (Apollo Slant) a bad model?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Einhard wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies. I think I will bring it back. Is the model I bought (Apollo Slant) a bad model?
    They generally all are in that price range. T'would probably do the average joe for a few odd small cycles a year but you sound like you'd benefit from a better bike - try the links in this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Its a 1" headset with a expansion bolt. These are ****ing crap, I said in another thread these sub e300 bikes should be banned, I stand by it, Ive swung out of a allen key with a 8" lever and the thing was still loose, the tolerances on these bikes leave alot to be desired.

Couple this with a 16 year old who knows jack **** about bikes, and youve gotten a issue.

I think Blorg is being sarcastic with the playing up you nearly died line, I work in a bike shop, I hear this all the time, as soon as those words are mutterd ive no interest in helping them, because its 99% of the time Bollix. and I hate people who lie to my face, especially to either make me look bad or to get money. Scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I wasn't sarcastic... Handlebars going loose and rotating could easily cause a bad crash and serious injury or worse. I said that with that happening (at the wrong time) he "could have been killed" not that he "nearly died." I know someone who was in a coma for three weeks from a crash caused by sudden handlebar failure. It's a more serious fault IMO to let a bike out like that than with an improperly seated tyre bead, which someone got €48,000 for recently. I think he should be entitled to a refund, bike is not fit for purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

blorg wrote: »
    I wasn't sarcastic... Handlebars going loose and rotating could easily cause a bad crash and serious injury or worse. I said that with that happening (at the wrong time) he "could have been killed" not that he "nearly died." I know someone who was in a coma for three weeks from a crash caused by sudden handlebar failure. It's a more serious fault IMO to let a bike out like that than with an improperly seated tyre bead, which someone got €48,000 for recently. I think he should be entitled to a refund, bike is not fit for purpose.

The bike is definatley not fit for purpose, you could argue that they will never be fit for it, they are crap, and I make no mistake telling people just how ****e these things are, Id rather not sell them.

I suppose he could have been killed, but even riding a **** bike assembled arseways, what are the odds of being killed stone dead in this instance? while Im not trying to defend Halfords or these pieces of crap, There is a certain onus on a rider to make sure that the bike is in decent condition before riding, even if it has been assembled "Professionally" , again Im not defending poor mechanics, but these things happen especially on cheap bikes.