Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

leprosy and the public sector

• 20-04-2011 7:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

better to be a lepper than say you work in the public sector these days
    at least the lepper would get some help

why would anyone really want to be a teacher or nurse in a country where your despised?
    these are degree educated people
    and all they are talking about is crush the croke park agreement
    hit them with pay cuts
    some of these people cannot pay their basic bills
    it s not worth it really .
    the country is emptying out fast
    the economy will not be able to cope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

(Q) What did the leper say to the prostitute?
    (A) Keep the tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

I don't hate civil civil servants, can't be the only one. I don't like many people who are civil servants as they are hypocrites, idiots or just generally a**holes but that's personal against them, not the public sector as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

...I'm not sure you're rally getting the hang of how to start a Politics thread.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Scofflaw wrote: »
    ...I'm not sure you're rally getting the hang of how to start a Politics thread.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

Just what AH needs. The dregs of the Politics forum dumped on our doorstep.

Cheers for that.

Immorally Yours,

Star Belgrade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Scofflaw wrote: »

moderately,
    Scofflaw

Ahhhh!
    Scofflaw posts in after hours

WELCOME

love you lots
    ilovesleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

jakdelad wrote: »
    lepper?
    You'll never progress from the clerical grades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,797 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

UNCLEAN ! UNCLEAN !

What's this thread about? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Burn em, burn em all ........

Overpaid, underworked, union protected slackers that they are.
    I have a great idea, create a workforce that is guaranteed incremental increases in pay every year even if they're crap at their job.
    Let them earn 50% more than the productive sector of the economy & then reward them with fine pensions come retirement.
    And even when the country is on it's last legs we should continue to borrow beyond our means to pay them no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

why would anyone really want to be a teacher or nurse in a country where your despised?
    hit them with pay cuts

Having worked in the public sector it could use a little thinning of the herd and some standard business practices and methodology. God forbid you mention process improvement, Project management, Accountability, Post mortems, career growth.......

In my personal experience there are two types of people in the public sector with little middle ground ones that work like dogs and extremely dedicated.

The second group are stuck in there ways, lazy and massively opposed to any change whatsoever and hide behind unions.

Its not all roses, smiles and chuckles in the private sector either btw, iv personally taken pay cuts and higher taxation two along with many others.

Im lucky to have a job so boo hoo to you and your victim card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Public sector gets a uniform bonus that's undeclared. Think of all the sex the Garda and nurse uniform pulls?

Fecking disgrace. BIK tax should be applied to all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Lepers in the public sector; do they help fill the 6 per cent quota?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

No it isn't. This is one of the most blantantly bull**** statements i keep seeing pop up over the past 2 or 3 years.

Young people are taking the same gap year travelling-piss ups like they did at the height of the Celtic Tiger. Now it's a negative thing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

hit them with pay cuts
    So people with degrees shouldn't be given pay cuts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

jakdelad?
    I'm going to assume that this is txtspk for Jack The Lad.

I'm of the opinion that anyone who uses text speak should be treated with the utmost contempt.

When Berite Ahern was Minister for Finance, he gave a press release entitled "@ROI ur al fuked lolzorlmaowtfomg #leppers".
    He was way ahead of the times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

themadchef wrote: »
    Public sector gets a uniform bonus that's undeclared. Think of all the sex the Garda and nurse uniform pulls?

Really?

I need to get me a Garda uniform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

And????

Degrees are ten a penny in Ireland these days! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

Unpossible wrote: »
    So people with degrees shouldn't be given pay cuts?
    ah you know what i am trying to say cut me some slack here
    everyone is suffering
    we all need to pull togeather
    what we need is thousands of skilled people to come here and start the econmy going again
    not having our trained nurses doctors tradespeople all leaving the country

accedamus genua off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Such an unfair comparison...

lepers don't choose to be lepers

Considering the ill informed whingey thread in edu about teachers' pensions, I'm beginning to have less and less sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I had to applaud yer man supporting the ASTI on the frontline the other night. Not because he was right, but because he knew how to handle the audience. Unlike the other ASTI rep. It's common knowledge at this stage how blatently unaccountable the public sector is. FFS, I had no science teacher for 3 months back back in school.

everyone is suffering
    what we need is thousands of skilled people to come here and start the econmy going again
    I'm not having a crack at you, but I still have trouble understanding your point. I think a large number of public sector workers have degrees. I agree that we all need to pull together, but I think we should do this with a view to becomming compeditive i.e. reducing wages and increasing efficiency. I have said it before on here and I will say it again, those in the public sector that are on low wages should not have their wages touched*. I consder a low wage to be 25,000-27,000 btw, not he laughable 35,000 figure that the unions came out with last year.

Re: doctors and nurses, as I understand it from discussions here, on newstalk and on news websites the problem is missmanagement, antiquated rules and vested interests trying to keep the status quo.

*edit: and frontline staff (nurses, gardai, firemen etc) should be protected from job cuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

We cannot afford the current size of this public sector, fire half of them and cut the salaries of the rest of them by 40%. If the unions start making trouble, send in the riot squad to bust some heads. That's how they roll in South America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

Unpossible wrote: »
    I'm not having a crack at you, but I still have trouble understanding your point. I think a large number of public sector workers have degrees. I agree that we all need to pull together, but I think we should do this with a view to becomming compeditive i.e. reducing wages and increasing efficiency. I have said it before on here and I will say it again, those in the public sector that are on low wages should not have their wages touched*. I consder a low wage to be 25,000-27,000 btw, not he laughable 35,000 figure that the unions came out with last year.

Re: doctors and nurses, as I understand it from discussions here, on newstalk and on news websites the problem is missmanagement, antiquated rules and vested interests trying to keep the status quo.

*edit: and frontline staff (nurses, gardai, firemen etc) should be protected from job cuts.
    25-27K is a high wage compared to many in the private sector.

whiteonion wrote: »
    25-27K is a high wage compared to many in the private sector.
    Are you thinking in pounds sterling or euro?

My first job back in Ireland was 25,000 euro in an IT job. We rented an appartment in Raheen limerick and that wage not only supported me, my wife and toddler but we were able to save some of it as well, we didn't need to touch childrens allowance. That was back in 2008/2009 when everything was still expensive, so while I have no problem surviving on that wage, I would imagine it is hard to do with older children and a mortgage so in terms of a professional career I would class it as low. I think the average industrial wage now is around 30,000 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

We cannot afford the current size of this public sector, fire half of them and cut the salaries of the rest of them by 40%. If the unions start making trouble, send in the riot squad to bust some heads. That's how they roll in South America.

Well why don't you jog on to South America then? You can "roll" that way over there. You seem quite happy to compare other countries to Ireland on a regular basis, so if things are that back here, why stay?

Edit: 25-7k is not a high wage for some in the private, it works both ways. Should I want I can earn more in the private sector. Yes lots of people have lost their jobs, but their is still money to be made in certain parts of the private sector. Threads on social welfare and the public sector should be banned from AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

In my personal experience there are two types of people in the public sector with little middle ground ones that work like dogs and extremely dedicated.

There is alot more of these than you think in there.

I know, they be wizzing around me all day grafting.... interrupting me while i play solitaire..... asking me to do things while i'm drinking my tea...... giving me dirty looks when i start to nod off etc. Don't be give them all a hard time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

No it isn't. This is one of the most blantantly bull**** statements i keep seeing pop up over the past 2 or 3 years.

Young people are taking the same gap year travelling-piss ups like they did at the height of the Celtic Tiger. Now it's a negative thing though.
    whoa there
    the country is EMPTYING out
    60 000 last year
    and heres the news bro they aint coming back>gap year my ar5e
    i live in the country the pubs are empty on weekends
    they cannot make up a football team {gaa][no to foreign games}
    where you been?? theres no work here anymore
    gap year ha ha ha good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

everyone is suffering

accedamus genua off
    I think we need some better English teachers.

If you're going to play the dyslexic card, now is the time to do it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Who do you think the riot squads will be made up of. We control the guns and the sticks. You could maybe send us a strongly worded letter threatening to bust our heads but then we'll just come round your house and f8ck you up big time. That's how we roll in the public sector.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,470 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Get rid of half the guards - :rolleyes:
    Get rid of half the Nurses - :rolleyes:
    Get rid of half the teachers - :rolleyes: etc

any other good ideas:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 keeper29

themadchef wrote: »

"uniform allowance" is included in taxable pay. The above quote has so many problems in so few words - "uniform bonus" "undeclared" "BIK". yeah, wearing a uniform to work is comparable to bringing a company car home for personal use.

I dont think you even read back over your post before you submitted it because surely somebody who is indulgong in PS bashing would have their facts straight first:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Hang on you've just sacked half the riot squad and cut the rest of their wages by 40%.

Don't think they'll be too keen on busting heads.

I see a few minor holes in your solution