Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird Problem

• 19-04-2011 9:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

Ok so the problem is that I have a fta sat receiver and it is going grand for about 4 minutes out of five. This is hard to explain so i'll try harder.

I have a fixed dish pointing to 28.2e But on every channel I get breakup every 1 to 3 minutes. Whilst looking at the tp settings I an getting quality 77% and then it is falling to 14% for a while. Its not the sat receiver because I tried it with 2 other boxes and the same thing happened. I tried it on a no. of tps so the problem must lye with either the cable the lnb or the sat dish itself (which I don't think is out of position because then you would be getting 14% all the time)

So any suggestions on were the problem could lye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

Trees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭sob1467

kbell wrote: »
    Trees?

No, I have a motorised dish beside it and there are no problems with trees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Lucy1982

Most likely problem with line of sight , otherwise sth to do with cable

Lucy1982 wrote: »
    Most likely problem with line of sight , otherwise sth to do with cable

No, its not a problem with the line of sight as mentioned earlier I have a motorised dish under it which is working perfectly.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

you probably need to Skew the LNB

I'll try that. Would you suggest to the right or to the left from the back of the dish?

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

sob1467 wrote: »
    I'll try that. Would you suggest to the right or to the left from the back of the dish?

As you stand in front of the dish have the thread of the LNB pointing at
    7 o'clock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭rob the satman

Ok so the problem is that I have a fta sat receiver and it is going grand for about 4 minutes out of five. This is hard to explain so i'll try harder.

I have a fixed dish pointing to 28.2e But on every channel I get breakup every 1 to 3 minutes. Whilst looking at the tp settings I an getting quality 77% and then it is falling to 14% for a while. Its not the sat receiver because I tried it with 2 other boxes and the same thing happened. I tried it on a no. of tps so the problem must lye with either the cable the lnb or the sat dish itself (which I don't think is out of position because then you would be getting 14% all the time)

So any suggestions on were the problem could lye?

check the cable first, any loose connections, any joins etc, especially where the cable goes in to the lnb,
    if this dish has been up a while and this problem has only started occuring recently it's unlikely a skew would do,
    once you know all cabling is correct, you could also get someone to look at the tv while you move the dish, but dont undo/loosen the bolts, just bend the dish slightly in all directions, see if any thing happens,
    i would like you to check all channels for me, then get back to me, i would like to know signal quality levels before it goes to 14%, i find it strange you are getting same quality on all channels, what make of receiver is it, and your signal readings, strength or quality?
    it's loose cables or dish slightly out of line, but i need some more info from you too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭montgolfiere

could well be the LNB failing..
    the skyman

check the cable first, any loose connections, any joins etc, especially where the cable goes in to the lnb,
    if this dish has been up a while and this problem has only started occuring recently it's unlikely a skew would do,
    once you know all cabling is correct, you could also get someone to look at the tv while you move the dish, but dont undo/loosen the bolts, just bend the dish slightly in all directions, see if any thing happens,
    i would like you to check all channels for me, then get back to me, i would like to know signal quality levels before it goes to 14%, i find it strange you are getting same quality on all channels, what make of receiver is it, and your signal readings, strength or quality?
    it's loose cables or dish slightly out of line, but i need some more info from you too

I have sat meter so that will be do the job instead of getting someone to watch the tv. I'll check the cable into were it goes into the lnb. All the channels and tps are the same. Its gotten worse now and there is more breakup.

I'm using a triax but I also tested with a fortec star and a Kaon hd and the same happened so I very much doubt that it is the receiver. The % that I was talking about was quality because thats more important than intensity.

could well be the LNB failing..
    the skyman

yes of course it could be the lnb, but we need to eliminate the basics first

Just down from the ladder and yes it is the lnb that is the problem. I moved about the dish and I could not pick anything up at all this time. Its a 65cm so should be able to get astra 1 and hotbird but no joy. So I just need to buy a new lnb. Any suggestions on which one to purchase?

yes of course it could be the lnb, but we need to eliminate the basics first

It just sounded like a failing LNB to me......
    The Skyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

Just down from the ladder and yes it is the lnb that is the problem. I moved about the dish and I could not pick anything up at all this time. Its a 65cm so should be able to get astra 1 and hotbird but no joy. So I just need to buy a new lnb. Any suggestions on which one to purchase?

Are you looking for a quad or a single?

It just sounded like a failing LNB to me......
    The Skyman

yes, and now he's checked the basics he knows 100% its the lnb,
    you don't just change the lnb without checking the basics first, that's a cowboy way of doing things, many satellite receiver's signal meters behave exactly the same way when a cable is loose or dish slightly out, good guess, but not exactly a 40 to 1 shot was it:D

12 element wrote: »
    Are you looking for a quad or a single?

Just a single

yes, and now he's checked the basics he knows 100% its the lnb,
    you don't just change the lnb without checking the basics first, that's a cowboy way of doing things, many satellite receiver's signal meters behave exactly the same way when a cable is loose or dish slightly out, good guess, but not exactly a 40 to 1 shot was it:D

if you read my original post i did not tell him to just 'change the LNB'....other posters before me had suggested the other tests/checks.....however the symptons he was describing fitted my experience in failing LNB's....it wasn't a 'Guess' but rather a deduction on reading his symptons....
    I resent your 'cowboy' slur.....
    The Skyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭jonnygee

Dont want to butt in here lads but when i read the op,s original post then he asks a question to which he has already provided the answer himself. He rules out the box and the dish and states that it must be the cable or lnb. So if no one had replied anyway it wouldnt have made any difference. op already knew the answer.

OP was not 100% sure, now he is 100% sure, lad:D