Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Berbatov Finished At United?

• 19-04-2011 6:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭

So Berbatov has been left completely out of the squad for tonights game against Newcastle - Now, that's nothing to be worried about, he may be carrying a knock or something - but he has seemingly become third choice behind Rooney and Hernandez. Is it now likely that he'll be leaving in the Summer? Hard to see a 30m striker wanting to sit on the bench too often.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Ha. Brilliant thread. Know why he's not in the squad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

Ferguson just said he wasnt feeling well this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Even if he IS third choice? Why on earth would he be finished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I've seen kneejerk threads before but this takes the biscuit.

CraigNorwood Craig Norwood
    Berbatov was feeling unwell through this afternoon in Newcastle, thus leaving him out tonights squad #MUFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

His form was hardly smoking on Saturday.............

berb460.jpg

Anyway, he's been delivering this season whether people like it or not. But Fergie knows what he wants. And if he wants Berba out of the squad then so be it. Let's just hope he doesn't ask him to run home, it'll take him the best part of 2 weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

He'll be at Manchester United next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,240 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Yeah he's quite obviously finished. When he's slinging his bag over his shoulder and waving farewell at the end of the season you can be the first to say "I told you so".

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Suppose Giggs was finished at United last saturday but he has somehow redeemed himself since then and is in for tonights game. How Strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

I love the way he hasn't just been left out of the squad according to the OP but been COMPLETELY left out of the squad.

Fleet street beckons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

He's just walked down the steps with Fergie rocking the shirt/tie/tracksuit-top look.

Ill, yes
    finished, no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

What a sh*t thread this is.

smokedeels wrote: »
    He's just walked down the steps with Fergie rocking the shirt/tie/tracksuit-top look.

Ill, yes
    finished, no

he looked like count dracula walking down those steps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

he looked like count dracula walking down those steps

Just as well he doesn't have an aversion to crosses

sorry I'll get my cloak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

On his first day of training at Man United Hernandez was surprised to see Fergie pick up the ball and said 'BALL' then pointed at the goal and said 'Goal.'

Then he demonstrated a kicking motion and said 'Kick' understand, 'Kick ball, goal, GOOOOOAAAALLL!'

Eventually the young Mexican plucked up courage to say "Excuse me Mr Ferguson but I speak very good English", to which Fergie replied ' Sit down son, I'm talking to Berbatov.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

Top scorer and named in the team of the season. Hardly a complete disaster.

Dimitar-Berbatov-joke.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

lordgoat wrote: »
    Ha. Brilliant thread. Know why he's not in the squad?
    I said that it's probably nothing to be worried about. Love it when people (you and others) put words into my mouth.

Anyhow, i hope he's not. I admire him as a player alot, fantastic vision and first touch etc, but i just don't see him wanting to sit on the bench on a regular basis - nor do i see Fergie wanting the same considering he cost 30m. When was the last time the top (or joint?) scorer in the league has had so much bench time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

He'd be more than welcome back at spurs top player.

Spurs couldn't afford him. :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Degag wrote: »
    I said that it's probably nothing to be worried about. Love it when people (you and others) put words into my mouth.

Anyhow, i hope he's not. I admire him as a player alot, fantastic vision and first touch etc, but i just don't see him wanting to sit on the bench on a regular basis - nor do i see Fergie wanting the same considering he cost 30m. When was the last time the top (or joint?) scorer in the league has had so much bench time?

Love it when people (you) start **** threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,170 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I can't see him being at United beyond this season. There will be many suitors for his services and with Hernandez and Rooney looking like the starters for a long time to come I don't think its feasible having a player on his wages on the bench.

United need to invest in central midfield to get better and I think you could see a good portion of his transfer fee being used to improve there. Wellbeck has shown in his time at Sunderland this term that he has a big future in the game. Ferguson can go out in the summer and take a risk on somebody young like Hernandez again knowing that he has Hernandez, Rooney and Wellbeck who are well up to starting at any level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

How much would the D-man be worth in the transfer market roughly?
    20 odd?

lordgoat wrote: »
    Love it when people (you) start **** threads.
    Jesus, what crawled up your arse? I don't think it's so inconceivable. A few more people obviously don't either. Perhaps if you don't agree with my opinion, just say so without being so condecending.

eagle eye wrote: »
    has Hernandez, Rooney and Wellbeck who are well up to starting at any level.

Wellbeck is nowhere near up the standard of Rooney, Hernandez or Berba.

Berbs won't be going anywhere this season - he's far too valuable a player to have in the squad.

Now, Michael Owen.. that's a different matter altogether.

But wait.......... isn't the thread called "Berbatov finished at United?"

I don't think anyone needs to put words into your mouth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Twigster

Predator_ wrote: »
    Top scorer and named in the team of the season. Hardly a complete disaster.

yeah but considering he scored 5 goals one game and two hat-tricks, over the rest of the season he's contributed what, 10 goals in thirty games? considering its only the past month or so that hernandez has been getting his game in front of him i'd say it not as great as people are making out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Michael Owen, now that was a different storey altogether...
    We had to beat him to death with his own shoes..

(completely irrevalent "Wayne's World" quote insert)

MrStuffins wrote: »
    But wait.......... isn't the thread called "Berbatov finished at United?"

I don't think anyone needs to put words into your mouth!
    It wasn't a statement, it was a question - hence the use of a question mark after the sentence.

I'm Ron Burgundy?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I'm Ron Burgundy?
    Anyhow, that was referring the the fact that i said that Berbatov not being in the squad tonight was probably nothing to worry about since he could simply have a knock, before i knew he was ill.

In fairness, it was more of an implication than a question.

If it were based on something concrete, that would be different, but it wasn't. For example, it would be a reasonable question to ask if Hargreaves was finished at United due to his ongoing injuries & now his most recent one.

Berbs didn't make the bench today - hardly a big deal. Possibly worthy of some speculation in the United Superthread, but not really worth starting a thread about, seeing as there's nothing in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

Dimitar-Berbatov-joke.jpg

I never knew Berba played with the number e on his back ;)

barbarians wrote: »
    I never knew Berba played with the number e on his back ;)

Berbatov playing on E.

Now that'd be interesting to see. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

It was a leading question.

If you want to ask an open question you should say something like, "Berbatov's Status At United?"

TheTownie wrote: »
    It was a leading question.

If you want to ask an open question you should say something like, "Berbatov's Status At United?"
    TBF wasn't looking to get technical in terms of pronounciation, grammar etc. Just wanted to start a thread on the topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Berbatov offers something completely different to any other striker on the books at the moment, dont see him going anywhere next season tbh, unless a replacement is brought in who will be happy to be part of a squad, who can you get with his quality that is happy to warm the bench when its best for the team??

The man is still looked upon with scorn by sections of the united fanbase and he has never once moaned or complained when dropped to the bench, he sacrifices personal glory for the good of the team and deserves the fans respect for that alone, forget about when he carried the attacking threat of the team (along with Nani) while Rooney was in the wilderness. He tried to set Rooney up a couple of times when better placed to score himself to help build the lads confidence

He is a Manchester United player through and through and although he is not everybodys cup of tea, he is a fantastic asset to have in the squad, with a fantastic attitude to boot

I hope he stays around since his game is not based on pace, he can potentially be a very useful player to have around for another 3-4 years

Besides at this stage of his career he has no real resale value and I dont think Fergie spect that kind of money on him if he didnt intend keeping him around for a long time

Despite what you say, I think you're trying to tell us something..
    kryogen wrote: »
    Berbatov offers something completely different to any other striker on the books at the moment, dont see him going anywhere next season tbh, unless a replacement is brought in who will be happy to be part of a squad, who can you get with his quality that is happy to warm the bench when its best for the team??

The man is still looked upon with scorn by sections of the united fanbase and he has never once moaned or complained when dropped to the bench, he sacrifices personal glory for the good of the team and deserves the fans respect for that alone, forget about when he carried the attacking threat of the team (along with Nani) while Rooney was in the wilderness. He tried to set Rooney up a couple of times when better placed to score himself to help build the lads confidence

He is a Manchester United player through and through and although he is not everybodys cup of tea, he is a fantastic asset to have in the squad, with a fantastic attitude to boot

I hope he stays around since his game is not based on pace, he can potentially be a very useful player to have around for another 3-4 years

Besides at this stage of his career he has no real resale value and I dont think Fergie spect that kind of money on him if he didnt intend keeping him around for a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Dont know why people use the whole "He is 30..." thing with Berba. He would hardly lose a yard of pace like...

He could continue at the rate he is going for a good few years, and as long as he keeps plucking asteroid passes out of the sky with his baby toe, and pulling off moves with a football that the bitches in Black Swan would be jealous of, I dont think Fergie will be in a rush to sell, so as long as he is content I think he will stay.

He is a Manchester United player through and through
    Rofl.

In these times I always laugh hard at comments like that.

Rofl.

Congrats on missing the point

Nothing to do with loyalty pal

Need me to spell it out??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Rofl.

Rolf.

Don't you remember he could have went to City instead of us where he could have gotten at least double his current wages?

Manchester United is and always was his dream club and he is currently living that dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

Is the leading scorer at Man U and in the Premier League finished? Hmm? For the love of jaysus man!!

Thats not the question that was asked. Its whether or not he is finished with United after this season. He has only one year remaining on his contract at the end of this season.

Rolf.

Don't you remember he could have went to City instead of us where he could have gotten at least double his current wages?

Manchester United is and always was his dream club and he is currently living that dream.
    A United player through and through would be somebody like Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Gary Neville, John O'Shea who have always been there or Rio Ferdinand who has something like 10 years at the club. When people say things like that about a player who is in this third season at the club its completely ridiculous. And his style of play is not something that one would consider as a United way of playing ball either. He has worked harder for the team when I've seen him this year but this is the first season he has done that so its not like he has been playing that way since he arrived at United so this United player through and through rubbish is just that.

Most people when they miss a point, get something wrong, stuff like that, are able to be a man and pull the horns back in..shame your not one of them, like iI already said, NOTHING to do with loyalty, if I have to ill spell it out, however I was working on the basis that you were intelligent enough not to need me to

Was I wrong?

The reason many united fans havent been on berbatovs side is because he has not fullfilled the promise that led to Ferguson paying 31m for him, if he had he'd be on the team. Theres one thing scoring goals at home to the likes of blackburn but he hasnt dont it against title rivals and his record in europe is woeful, what sickens me is he has this talent that no other player possesses,brillant at holding up the ball, skill wise hes as good as Cantona, Bergcamp, Zola etc but he just doesnt have the confidence to let it shine through in the big games.

In berbatovs defence he should not be played as a lone forward and part of the reason ferguson does this is because our central midfield is not good enough with just 2 to allow him to have a strike partner so we have to sacrifice the striker to allow 3 in midfield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I do think that people are being far too harsh on the OP. I also think there is a question mark over Berbatov's immediate future at Man Utd.

The interview last night were saf said he was feeling unwell, he said it in a very evasive manner. He almost said it under his breath and changed the subject immediately to how Hernandez is fresh and raring to go after his rest. I may be reading to much into it, but it's what I picked up at the time.

I don't think it's Berbatov that may want out, but the club MAY want to recoup a decent transfer fee from him and offload his wages. I think Berbatov has proven his commitment to the cause by accepting a bench role in big games and shown his love for the club by choosing to sign for us over City, but the at the end of the day that isn't a reason to keep him at the club if saf thinks it's a good idea to cash in. Beckham had the exact same commitment and love for the club, he has said that he would have loved to have stayed at Man Utd and would have turned down a move to Madrid in a heartbeat, had saf wanted him to stay.

And to those of you how say ''He's the premier leagues top goalscorer:pac:'', I think that's extremely naive. Berbatov has the same amount of league goals as Ruud Van Nistelrooy had on the back of the season that he was offloaded. Also, Van Nistelrooy was benched for games at the end of that season in a very similar fashion to the way Berbatov is being benched now. Saha was getting the nod constantly ahead of him just like Hernandez is getting the nod ahead of Berbatov now.

Maybe saf wants to work with Rooney, Hernandez, Welbeck, Macheda next season and blood Pogba and King in by giving them a few first team opportunities here and there.

Maybe he wants to recoup a decent transfer fee and put it towards a top quality central midfielder.

There's plenty of reasons why saf may want to cash in, and there's plenty of reasons why he should keep Berbatov but it's very naive to believe that there's no chance Ferguson will offload him in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

United players are ones that are happy to be bench warmers?:)

He might be our leading goalscorer and has played fantastic for us in a lot of games this season but the Hernandez has scored far more important goals for the team and gets the best out of Rooney at the same time.

I've said plenty of times before that Van Nistelrooy had scored the same amount of goals that Berbatov has now in his last season in a Utd shirt. It won't stop saf moving the player on if he feels it's right for the team. There are also glaring similarities to the RVN exit. Both were at a similar age and both were benched towards the tail end of the season in favour of Hernandez now and Saha back then. I wouldn't be surprised to see him go in the Summer, at all.

I've mixed feelings on wether he should go or not. On one hand he offers us a different dimension with his skill and ability to keep the ball but on the other hand with Hernandez and Rooney first choice, Wellbeck and Macheda would hardly get any sort of chance to develop at the club with Berbatov around. Also he is 30 and it would be our last chance to recoup any sort of decent transfer fee for him.

I reckon Fergie thinks that Wellbeck is more than an adequate replacement given his performances for Sunderland this season. He has said that both him and Macheda will be coming back to the club next season, and what's the point in that if they're not going to get any chances with Berbatov second choice?

The more I think about it, the more I think he will be moved on if I'm being honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Most people when they miss a point, get something wrong, stuff like that, are able to be a man and pull the horns back in..shame your not one of them, like iI already said, NOTHING to do with loyalty, if I have to ill spell it out, however I was working on the basis that you were intelligent enough not to need me to

Was I wrong?
    I may be a bit drunk, but it's eagle eye, so im going to say yes, he's not intelligent enough to figure it out.