Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oldest Taxi In Ireland??

• 19-04-2011 12:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭

SI Dublin '86

Conamara_002.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

So much for the 9 year rule :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Permission to ask a question ?

I haven't the faintest notion how to tell the age of a car from a registration plate like that - how old is that taxi ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

i love it, "your car" downarrow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I heard about this car before, or one very like it, apparently it's running a Nissan Diesel engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 giz_a_job

Early-mis 80's I'd guess, around 1983-86, looks great, fair play to the owner/driver.
    I'd say its in much better condition than many of the 10-15 year old Jap-import Camry's, and those heap of junk 99/00 Fiat Scudo taxis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

I had an Opel Ascona 1.6sr hatch in 1991. It was ASI-142
    If my memory serves me correct it was 1983.. I think that should make this merc 1986 :confused:
    Onkle wrote: »
    I heard about this car before, or one very like it, apparently it's running a Nissan Diesel engine

That was a big thing in the late 80's ... Diesel conversions
    Big Nissan engines... Big Toyota engines.

ASI 1 to ZSI 999 ran from August '82 to June '83 so it's either late '82 or early '83. Older than me so :)

SI 1 to SI 9999 ran from January 86' to April '86 so that's where the initial confusion came from

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I saw a Nissan Bluebird going around with a taxi plate on it a few months back. I had to look again as I thought I was dreaming.. :D

It was driving down towards the O2 one evening.. Didnt get the reg so no idea how old it was, but from what I recall, didnt they stop producing them in the mid to late 80s???

Yep, think the first Primeras were 90 reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

History checkers dont say the year, it is a diesel though

motorcheck.ie
    cartell.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It was very common in the 80/90s to put old Nissan Patrol diesel engines into luxo barges likes these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

And all these people complaining about the age of taxi's etc.

I'd love to get a lift in that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

It's a far cry from 97' Carina.

ASI 1 to ZSI 999 ran from August '82 to June '83 so it's either late '82 or early '83. Older than me so :)

Does this mean that next year it could qualify for vintage tax/insurance if still functioning as a taxi?

greenfly wrote: »
    Does this mean that next year it could qualify for vintage tax/insurance if still functioning as a taxi?

Sure Taxi tax is in around the same price is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

And all these people complaining about the age of taxi's etc.

I'd love to get a lift in that!

Back in the early - mid 90s, many taxis were W116 / W126 Mercedes S-class cars with the Nissan 2.8l diesel conversion. Rattly, but comfy and spacious. Unfortunately, a few years later most taxis seemed to be crap basic small cars from Japan, like Corollas and Carinas :(

mondeo wrote: »
    It's a far cry from 97' Carina.
    unkel wrote: »
    most taxis seemed to be crap basic small cars from Japan, like Corollas and Carinas :(

Lads.... He'll go postal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Thing about that car is that if it wasn't doing an NCT every year I'd have serious concerns about its structural integrity (i.e. rust). Aside from that I'd also be concerned about lack of safety features if it was in an impact.
    Unfortunately, a few years later most taxis seemed to be crap basic small cars from Japan, like Corollas and Carinas :(
    Don't think I've ever seen a Corolla taxi.

Wonder do taxi drivers know something you don't?

n97 mini wrote: »

Live under a rock much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Live under a rock much?

yeah a black one ;)

n97 mini wrote: »
    Thing about that car is that if it wasn't doing an NCT every year I'd have serious concerns about its structural integrity (i.e. rust). Aside from that I'd also be concerned about lack of safety features if it was in an impact.

Wonder do taxi drivers know something you don't?

PSVs do an annual NCT so your serious concerns about rust aren't hugely valid. Loads of Corolla taxi and hackneys about a few years ago. Admittedly the Octavia has taken over from them now, still a few about though. When I lived in Dublin I used to see loads of them. Here in Cork, white jap Corollas were everywhere in the 90s

Sure Taxi tax is in around the same price is it not?

After a bit of searching i found this, so yes it is ;)
    Guvnor wrote: »
    I saw that hackneys or taxis pay €77 road tax annually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Back in the early - mid 90s, many taxis were W116 / W126 Mercedes S-class cars with the Nissan 2.8l diesel conversion. Rattly, but comfy and spacious. Unfortunately, a few years later most taxis seemed to be crap basic small cars from Japan, like Corollas and Carinas :(

About the same time MB's engineering and quality took a nose dive down the drain. Coincidence perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

1982, registered 15/11/1982. Just checked our system here... Feck that is older than most people I work with here. Can't be for tax reasons, isn't vintage tax cheaper than Taxi tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Lads.... He'll go postal

1982, registered 15/11/1982. Just checked our system here... Feck that is older than most people I work with here. Can't be for tax reasons, isn't vintage tax cheaper than Taxi tax?

Wow, so its actually nearly 30 years old??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Picture taken from drivers seat of what looks like an E class merc. Is there something you are not telling us VB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭a_v525

mickdw wrote: »
    Picture taken from drivers seat of what looks like an E class merc. Is there something you are not telling us VB?

...he was VolvoBoy...

now he's MercMan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

a_v525 wrote: »
    ...he was VolvoBoy...

now he's MercMan!

No, now he's AvensisBoy pretending to be MercBoy. I think he said that's his dads car or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Confab wrote: »
    I think he said that's his dads car or something.

His dad has a "Bentley" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

It's €82 for annual Taxi roadtax
    and
    It's €48 for annual vintage roadtax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

It's €82 for annual Taxi roadtax
    and
    It's €48 for annual vintage roadtax.

It's €82 for annual Taxi motortax
    and
    It's €48 for annual vintage motortax

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

i saw a renault 19 diesel 1996 blue taxi in cork. looked very fresh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

a chap i know has a mark 1 honda accord as a taxi ,lovely car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Ya mean this?

DSCF0609.jpg

i saw a renault 19 diesel 1996 blue taxi in cork. looked very fresh

Recently?
    I haven't seen a 19 in years, don't think I ever saw one on 96 plates.