Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Harte named in Championship team of the year

• 17-04-2011 10:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭

Has played centre half and left back this season and scored 10 goals to boot. Congrats to Ian. :)

And yet O'Dea and Kilbane are deemed superior?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Is Harte not retired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Wes Hoolahan is there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

No Gradel in the team of the year is a joke tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Johner wrote: »
    Is Harte not retired?

33. Actually a few months younger than our current left back...

Is he not retired from international football though or is just that he hasn't been picked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

It would be hypocritical of me to congradulate Harte and especially Hoolahan because these awards are a farce but if i did take these things seriously i would say well done ;)

Is he not retired from international football though or is just that he hasn't been picked?

Just not selected. I read an interview a few weeks ago and he was bigging himself up to be picked again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Is Harte not retired?

Yes, you're right. This is all a hoax. Damn, can't fool you easily!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Trap probably doesnt even know he exists.

BOHtox wrote: »
    Yes, you're right. This is all a hoax. Damn, can't fool you easily!

From international football. :rolleyes:

Just not selected. I read an interview a few weeks ago and he was bigging himself up to be picked again.

He should be picked so! always thought he was retired from international football for some reason!

Either Trap doesn't know he exists or isn't picking him for supposedly tactical reasons because he doesn't consider him disciplined enough to play in his side (ala Andy Reid).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

jesus harte :o

I assumed he was about 40 by now :o No idea he was still even playing :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Harte was toxic in his prime. We aren't that short for options

It'll probably be JOS left back with Foley right back, but lets examine the alternatives for a moment for the Macedonia game in June. He should at least make the squad IMO.

Kilbane - playing in the league below him as a midfielder.
    St Ledger - on the verge of playing the league (possibly two) below him.
    O'Dea - in and out of an inferior team
    Cunningham - probably won't be fit as he has a broken leg
    McShane - less said the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

It'll probably be JOS left back with Foley right back
    Agree completely. When those two guys are fit, they will almost certainly start. Kilbane has been lucky, insofar as we haven't got a player who can really nail down the left back position as his own. Cunningham has a broken leg, Ciaran Clark has given a friendly game (in which he had one of the worst Irish debut appearance I have ever seen), etc.).

Paddy Kenny was also named in it. Think the vote came a bit too early for Long.

Kenny (QPR), Naughton (Leicester), Harte (Reading), Williams (Swansea), Morgan (Nottm Forest), Taarabt (QPR), Sinclair (Swansea), King (Leicester), Hoolahan (Norwich), Graham (Watford), Holt (Norwich).

Look as limited as kilbane is he does a job for us. Harte retired and made his choice. Until Clark develops and plays on a regular basis for Villa Kilbane will continue at left back. Hopefully Clark or Cunningham will be in place at left back by the September games. But no need to bring back Harte for just the macedonia game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

Harte has been super for the royals this season but how Shane Long hasnt made that side is beyond me. Holt from Norwich deserves his spot but long is ahead of graham for me

slingerz wrote: »
    Harte has been super for the royals this season but how Shane Long hasnt made that side is beyond me. Holt from Norwich deserves his spot but long is ahead of graham for me

Graham is the top scorer in the league. It was between Graham,Holt and Long I would imagine and since the voting was done months ago you can't really argue with it, if the voting was done now(which it should) then Long would get in I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Harte is terrible defensively at international level. Terrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Kenny, Harte and Hoolahan in the team of the year yet Trapattoni doesn't ever pick any of them.

Hoolahan is the only one of them I would have in the squad. When Harte did play is his later years he got crucified by the fans yet we now think he is great. Kenny at times has chosen not to come over to play for us so you cant really pick and choose .

Look as limited as kilbane is he does a job for us. Harte retired and made his choice. Until Clark develops and plays on a regular basis for Villa Kilbane will continue at left back. Hopefully Clark or Cunningham will be in place at left back by the September games. But no need to bring back Harte for just the macedonia game.

No he hasn't. :confused:

O'Shea will probably go to left back now Foley has blended in.

Kilbane doesn't even play as a defender at a club who play at a lower level. Kilbane is finished, Harte has regained form and his team could very well get promoted to the Premier League. How anyone can claim Kilbane is a better choice is beyond me. Also, say what you like about Harte, but he has a tremendous gift with set pieces. World class at them.

As an aside, bizarre how Stephen Ward who is relatively young with lots of Prem experience at left back for Wolves is constantly overlooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,531 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Jaysus, the grass really is perpetually greener on the other side for this forum when it comes to Irish selection.

- Well done to Paddy Kenny, but if people are seriously suggesting he should be ahead of Given or Westwood they're nuts;

- I like Ian Harte, I do. He was in the League One team of the year last year at center back. Please bear in mind though that his goalscoring helps gain him recognition. He banged in 18 for Carlisle last year, and double figures again this year. Yes, you would be justified in adding him to the squad while we have a mini defensive injury crises, but he remains 33, he hardly crushed International football in his prime, and he isn't going to start if everyone is available. He's not going to be THAT much better than Kilbane;

- Hoolahan should be in the squad - but not because of being in the team of the year. He's been brilliant for two full years now and offers something we are crying out for. BUT, let's not forget that Irish fans have been whinging about a number of other players not being selected ahead of him during that period - most notably Andy Reid. And while Hoolahan should be in there, Delap is more of a priority for me given that he is starting games in the higher division and a key piece of an FA Cup finalist and brings something completely different to the party;

In any case, adding Harte to the squad tomorrow in lieu of Kilbane and Green isn't going to suddenly transform us into nailed on no.1 seeds. Our problems are bigger than that (overall we just don't have enough quality) and the endless blather over fringe selection decisions is a lot of hot air.

No he hasn't. :confused:

O'Shea will probably go to left back now Foley has blended in.

Kilbane doesn't even play as a defender at a club who play at a lower level. Kilbane is finished, Harte has regained form and his team could very well get promoted to the Premier League. How anyone can claim Kilbane is a better choice is beyond me. Also, say what you like about Harte, but he has a tremendous gift with set pieces. World class at them.

As an aside, bizarre how Stephen Ward who is relatively young with lots of Prem experience at left back for Wolves is constantly overlooked.

Kilbane has done a steady job for us but he would be the first to admit that if a better option is there then he would gladly step aside. Clark or Cunningham will hopefully be that option. Until then Harte who again I say was slaughtered when he played for us is not the option. We only have one competitive game before september when either clark or cunningham if fit will hopefully be in place. No need for Harte now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

A bit harsh, he was never bad enough to be considered 'toxic'. Defensively suspect, but good going forward. As someone mentioned earlier he banged in 18 goals last season, some haul for a defender as even alot of strikers don't manage that. He's stepped up to a higher division this year and done excellently again. No need for him in the Irish squad though, we need to be bringing through younger players not going back to the likes of Harte.

Wes Hoolahan is a different matter though, he should be in the squad, he's certainly alot better than the likes of Paul Green. (how oh how did Green get into the starting 11 at one point? he's not anywhere near good enough). I think it was against Estonia he gave the ball away about 20 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭HyperSkypeWiper

What has Grant Holt done all season that Shane Long or Becchio haven't? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

RTE: Well Trap, would you not think of choosing Ian Harte again?

Trap: What! What! My heart is fine, no problem there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

CorkMan wrote: »
    RTE: Well Trap, would you not think of choosing Ian Harte again?

Trap: What! What! My heart is fine, no problem there.

Quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Grant Holt deserves to be in the team ahead of Shane Long. Holt has been performing consistently all season, where as Long only really hit form from around Christmas onwards. (For what it's worth i think Long is a better striker). I'm aghast at how Wes Morgan got into the team. Yes he's been good for Forest this year but nowhere near as good as he was last season - this team must have been picked before Forest had their dodgy spell! I would have Whitbred from Norwich in there ahead of him. Danny Graham also deserves his place up front, just because he has been so consistent in what is an average Watford team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Ian Harte totally deserves to be included in the Championship team of the year. Look carefully at his record before you post glib comments. I tell you something, us Leeds fans shouldn't dismiss defensive players like Hate when we look at our own back line.

Well done Ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭HyperSkypeWiper

oldyouth wrote: »
    Ian Harte totally deserves to be included in the Championship team of the year. Look carefully at his record before you post glib comments. I tell you something, us Leeds fans shouldn't dismiss defensive players like Hate when we look at our own back line.

Well done Ian

Think Naylor should have got in :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Harte has done well this year, but he's 33. Most peoples problems with Kilbane is his lack of pace and he can be a defensive liability. We would be getting like for like if we got Harte in to replace him. And in a way, I still havn't forgiven him for missing that peno against Spain in injury time(petty I know).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

well this is the championship, though with the likes of Kilbane and Green being picked, you then may have a point. in reality, we should have enough players playing top level football plus maybe the likes of long, to make a squad of 18 without needing the likes of harte and kilbane.

these lads above are all past it, with the exception of Weso, who i would love to see getting a run in the irish squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Harte has done well this year, but he's 33. Most peoples problems with Kilbane is his lack of pace and he can be a defensive liability. We would be getting like for like if we got Harte in to replace him. And in a way, I still havn't forgiven him for missing that peno against Spain in injury time(petty I know).

It was midway through the second half when he missed the penalty. Robbie Keane then scored his in injury time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

aidan24326 wrote: »
    It was midway through the second half when he missed the penalty. Robbie Keane then scored his in injury time.

Ya you're right sorry. My point still stands though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Hoolahan is a class act and the fact that he does not even get into the Irish squad is a joke. He is better than Keogh, Green, Treacy, Fahey, Whelan and Gibson. The fact that he is in the championship team of the year is not a surprise.

Kenny - maybe its a close call with Westwood but Murphy and Randolph?

Harte - A dodgy left back who scores goals. OK but we are not strong there and surely against the weaker teams an extra scoring option (he also crosses well) would be worth a try.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Kilbane has done a steady job for us but he would be the first to admit that if a better option is there then he would gladly step aside.

He probably wouldn't put it like that considering the reaction when Robbie Keane said the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

What has Grant Holt done all season that Shane Long or Becchio haven't? :confused:

Holt has terrorised every single team he played against. He's been absolutely immense for us. Long has most of his goals from the penalty spot. Hoolahan is just running rings around teams and some of the goals he has set up are unreal. His play last night was unreal after we demolished 1p5wich :D