Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anyone say "it's up me ho!e pickin' daisies" anymore?

• 16-04-2011 12:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭

As per title, for some reason this popped into my head. Haven't heard it in ages. I think it's time to dust it off again. Anyone heard it in the last ten years?
    All factual replies and newspaper cuttings will be appreciated. Any other suggestions for our new language renaissance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Nope :)

Nor people saying: "That's gammie!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

cool story dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Nope :)

they do. but guess where they are...

bye bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

no it's all about honda civics and horses nowadays unfortunately.

Haven't heard the word "poxy" in a while either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

or nobody seems to say "ill burst you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

what is up your hole picking daisies ? or who is ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

I havent heard that word in years,i remember when i was in 3rd or 4th class we used to go around calling each other a poxy bastrad,for some reason we all got a great kick out of it,think it might have come from one of those smokey and the bandit movies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

As per title, for some reason this popped into my head. Haven't heard it in ages. I think it's time to dust it off again. Anyone heard it in the last ten years?
    All factual replies and newspaper cuttings will be appreciated. Any other suggestions for our new language renaissance?

This ties into something my friends and I have noticed - the re-emergence of slang from our teens ie. the mid to late '90s.

Last weekend, I lost count of the amount of times we used the words 'shift', 'ride' and 'riding'. :pac: 'Shift', FFS! We're all mid to late twenties! :D I'm just waiting for people to start saying "Schwing!" again! :P

Aw, poxy's a great word. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

when im in the pub in a group and someone goes off to the toilet i always say 'he is in the pony room' when someone asks where they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

This ties into something my friends and I have noticed - the re-emergence of slang from our teens ie. the mid to late '90s.

Last weekend, I lost count of the amount we used the word 'shift', 'ride' and 'riding'. :pac: 'Shift', FFS! We're all mid to late twenties! :D I'm just waiting for people to start saying "Schwing!" again! :P

spent a fair amount of time last weekend asking various girls if they'd shift my friend. ah 31 is a grand age!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

My little brother and some of the more culchie folk of my town. (of which we're not lacking :p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

thanks you just brought me back about 15 years with that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

hondasam wrote: »
    what is up your hole picking daisies ? or who is ?

yore ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Kinda off topic (way off topic actually :P) The other day I was on the phone to a friend, when she was hanging up she said TTFN, not to bad you might think, but she actually just said the letters TTFN :rolleyes:

Rant over, continue..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

No, but I have it on good authority, 'Hanging out of my ear singing Geronimo' is making a come back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

. Anyone heard it in the last ten years?

In my house, whenever anybody enquired about the whereabouts of anything, that was the standard reply. I can't remember the last time I heard anybody saying it. In fact, I've never seen it typed on the internet before. :)

Hmm... I think I might hide the remote control tomorrow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I said it just last sunday, just popped into my head too, saw some daisies. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Haven't heard or used that for YEARS!! :D I'm bringing it back into my everyday usage now. Thanks.
    I still hear that from time to time.
    or nobody seems to say "ill burst you"
    I say that all the time. Usually to my 4 year old son. :o hilarious when he says it back. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

If I start saying this again now, I blame you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

*witty response that should yield thanks if i actually gave 2 fcuks about what the OP was saying*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Does anybody even say "up me hole pickin daisies" any more?

Haven't heard that in years.

Might be a bog town thing though.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Thank you OP. Havent said that or heard it said in years, im gonna bring it back big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

No, haven't heard it but will often tell my 6 year old that it is "up Jack's arse picking cherries" when she asks where something is.

Similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

El Weirdo wrote: »
    No, haven't heard it but will often tell my 6 year old that it is "up Jack's arse picking cherries" when she asks where something is.

Similar.
    That is living up to your username, I hope she can escape soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

blackdog2 wrote: »
    That is living up to your username, I hope she can escape soon
    She's getting her own place next week.

*witty response that should yield thanks if i actually gave 2 fcuks about what the OP was saying*

Thanks for coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Lad in work says spa and mong a lot. Only person I know still using them. Then again, he's a complete dip****:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

people don't say "its a peach" anymore for something cool

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Last weekend, I lost count of the amount of times we used the words 'shift', 'ride' and 'riding'. :pac: 'Shift', FFS! We're all mid to late twenties! :D

Whats wrong with ride and shift? What words would you use for them? Thats what people say around here all the time!

Kinda off topic (way off topic actually :P) The other day I was on the phone to a friend, when she was hanging up she said TTFN, not to bad you might think, but she actually just said the letters TTFN :rolleyes:

Whats TTFN?

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Does anybody even say "up me hole pickin daisies" any more?

Haven't heard that in years.

Might be a bog town thing though.

A) Way to not read the first post:rolleyes:
    B) Bog town? Care to elaborate / keep digging a hole for yourself?

And what happened to the rest of it, it was "up me hole pickin' daisies, round the corner, turn to the left"

UMHPD!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Haven't said that in 20 years but will find a reason to today.

philstar wrote: »
    people don't say "its a peach" anymore for something cool

peachy keen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Frowzy

newmug wrote: »
    Whats TTFN?

UMHPD!!

(Guess)

Ta Ta For Now

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It was always strawberries round our way, not daisies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Thats the posh version afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭cml387

Is it too soon to bring back "No way,Jose"?

Yes,it's too soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭mumto3

I still say it all the time...and our longer version growing up was
    up jacks hole and around the corner,over balls bridge and into fanny lane!!!ah the memories!!!!

Oooh a thousand posts, fair play to me.
    Feck it, i wasted it talking bout daisies and arses.
    Wanted it to be epic. :(

Frowzy wrote: »
    (Guess)

Ta Ta For Now

So TTFN is Ta Ta For Now?
    Why would you replace the words with letters, theyre all one syllable anyway.
    Some people really need a kick in the hole in fairness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

remember back at school on occasions the rough guys use to say to the sissy boys "you're afraid of your sh*t"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Nope haven't heard that saying in years......ya lemon ya, now i haven't used that since i was a teenager ..must bring it back:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

ooh this thread reminded my of a common enough insult when we were younger that i don't hear any more,

"o go swing of my left tit" :P Ah the memories!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Frowzy

ooh this thread reminded my of a common enough insult when we were younger that i don't hear any more,

"o go swing of my left tit" :P Ah the memories!

Lol! Never heard that one, but if someone was bragging about something n you couldn't give a sugar you'd say - "big swing of a hairy mick3y"

I also remember instead of saying how's she going people would ask "How's she cuttin'?"
    Your answer would reflect your mood, eg smoothly like a butter knife, or rough as a saw etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I use a it... well sorta

Husband: Where's my keys?
    Me: Is my face red?
    Husband: No!
    Me: They're not up me hole then and the daisies remain unpicked!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Haven't heard that one in a while :D

It's all shifting these days again though, I actually like that word this time around

Another one I aven't heard in a while is "Well you can go and scratch my arse with a broken bottle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Don't forget the "getting browned off" bit added to the end of it too :pac:

I always liked the sarcastic, "Big swinging dicky" retort when I was younger! :D