Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Soft Information' on Garda Vetting

• 15-04-2011 9:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

I wonder does anyone know the current status regarding the use of soft information in Garda Vetting.

What determines if soft information is included or not in a vetting form?

For example:

If somebody is questioned over a robbery but is not charged, would (or should) this be included if a person is going to work in a bank? Is there a threshold for inclusion, e.g if someone is questioned over child porn but not charged, would (or should) this be included if the person is going to be a teacher?

I just wonder where the law stands regarding suspicion Vs presumed innocence ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Arrests should not be included. Failed prosecutions should as they are public record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 minners

Hi guys,

Can I ask if anyone knows what happens in this situation...

My friend works in childcare, special needs etcand her Garda Vetting back recently...
    6 years ago she lifted something outside a shop messing, few friends and few drinks on board and the security called the cops, the Garda laughed at the minor nature of the situation but the store owner pushed it along. Now nothing came of this, and the Gardai were adament that this wasnt something that would ever appear on any form of record... BUT it just showed up on the vetting as "damage to value of 3 euro" or something ridiculous like that.

Now my questions are:
    A. Can she be fired?
    B. Does she have any legal standing where she is being criminalised now. They have not mentioned that they know about this, she simply saw it herself in the staff area and they have taken away keys, made comments etc?
    C. Can it be taken off her record since it shouldnt have been there to start with?

Thanks guys,

Min

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

k_mac wrote: »
    Arrests should not be included. Failed prosecutions should as they are public record.

Failed prosecutions should absolutely not be put into a vetting form. If someone has been acquitted for something that they didn't do or worse, the gardai have deliberately stiched them up, that should not be a stain on their character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

minners wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Can I ask if anyone knows what happens in this situation...

My friend works in childcare, special needs etcand her Garda Vetting back recently...
    6 years ago she lifted something outside a shop messing, few friends and few drinks on board and the security called the cops, the Garda laughed at the minor nature of the situation but the store owner pushed it along. Now nothing came of this, and the Gardai were adament that this wasnt something that would ever appear on any form of record... BUT it just showed up on the vetting as "damage to value of 3 euro" or something ridiculous like that.

Now my questions are:
    A. Can she be fired?
    B. Does she have any legal standing where she is being criminalised now. They have not mentioned that they know about this, she simply saw it herself in the staff area and they have taken away keys, made comments etc?
    C. Can it be taken off her record since it shouldnt have been there to start with?

Thanks guys,

Min

As far as I'm aware from attending the childcare garda vetting information session her information must be kept private by the creche and not left where other staff can read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭syd barrett

would a fixed penalty notcie come up in it? i am awaiting a fine in the post from the guards and already have a conviction, as it does not result in court or conviction will it come up? if someone could answer this it would be great as i realy am bricking it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Nope. They won't show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭syd barrett

Nope. They won't show up.

thanks for that info buddy