Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car crashes to become a thing of the past?

• 15-04-2011 1:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

Just saw an ad for the new Ford car. It does all sorts of magical things like parallel park itself.
    But it also has a feature called active city stop.
    Here's a video of it in action.

I assume we'll see this feature become even more effective in the future and appear in all cars.
    So is this the beginning of the end for the majority car crashes?
    Good news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I bet you that some kerry men have been involved in that, gimmick toy wont work when needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I see your Video and raise you this:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

yeah under 10mph. anything over you will still have impact.

I wouldnt trust it myself. I have no confidence in people that will rely on technology to prevent such accidents, only masks bad drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

lol. All the crashes then might be people trying to turn their car into a funderland ride by driving as fast as they can into a wall and then it fails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

They should put that sh*t in the new Airbus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

They should put that sh*t in the new Airbus.

lmao:pac:
    Were there people in that little plane.
    Or is that big plane crazy big?

qz wrote: »
    I'd like to watch that show, but I just hate those two,
    neutral towards James May.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Just saw an ad for the new Ford car. It does all sorts of magical things like parallel park itself.
    But it also has a feature called active city stop.
    Here's a video of it in action.

I assume we'll see this feature become even more effective in the future and appear in all cars.
    So is this the beginning of the end for the majority car crashes?
    Good news.

Any vid of this ?

In the ad it looks a lot better.
    Didn't know you had to operate the accelerator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Saila wrote: »

Me thinks not

KeithM89 wrote: »
    I see your Video and raise you this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The lads seemed pleased enough with the frankly pathetic attmept at parking here:

it would make even my mother's driving look good.

Edit: *insert Jeremy Clarkson's dulcet tones* How in the name of all thats unholy does one successfully post a youtube in here?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

sdonn wrote: »
    The lads seemed pleased enough with the frankly pathetic attmept at parking here:

it would make even my mother's driving look good.

Edit: *insert Jeremy Clarkson's dulcet tones* How in the name of all thats unholy does one successfully post a youtube in here?

In the you tube link, there is usually an "v=" followed by a series of letters and numbers. In this case "lftBO93Vs30" < copy that without the "" and when you click the you tube tag above paste inbetween the two you tubes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I for one wont be needing this technology especially when it only works at speeds of upto 30kmph. I will just use the 3 second rule and make sure that when driving my car I am not also applying makeup, texting someone that I cant talk right now or generally daydreaming about celebrities and relationships and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 zirazira

anyway, not bad technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

Saila wrote: »

Not too sure about that. Every time a stupid pedestrian carelessly crosses the road in front of me I'll end up getting whiplash and maybe even spilling my coffee. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

I for one wont be needing this technology especially when it only works at speeds of upto 30kmph. I will just use the 3 second rule and make sure that when driving my car I am not also applying makeup, texting someone that I cant talk right now or generally daydreaming about celebrities and relationships and the like.

Yeah, I always make sure I don't get sidetracked by some bint wearing a nearly see through summer dress, a passing penis extending BMW, picking my nose or frantically wondering how to ensure that when I meet up with my partner we don't end up passing any jewellers' windows on the way to the pub. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

lmao:pac:
    Were there people in that little plane.
    Or is that big plane crazy big?
    the A380 is crazy big!

These auto-break/parking sensors are only meant to be for assisting drivers and not for replacing actual safe driving.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

You've enough to be worrying about with that sticky handbrake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

there are already cars that can drive themselves completely safely, once laws are sorted out they will be on the market immediately I would say in the next ten years even if it is only for motorway driving initially and you take over when it pulls off the motorway

can you imagine the craic that you could have in a car that you didnt have to drive on the motorway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

<Insert criticism about how wimmin drivers will circumnavigate this without fail>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I can see the benefits even for "good drivers". Who hasn't nearly tipped the car in front when stuck in a bumper to bumper traffic jam for an hour? I wouldn't like to rely on it for anything faster than that tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

doesnt matter how many safety features a car has, once you have eejits behind the wheel of them, crashes will still happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

SeaFields wrote: »
    I can see the benefits even for "good drivers". Who hasn't nearly tipped the car in front when stuck in a bumper to bumper traffic jam for an hour? I wouldn't like to rely on it for anything faster than that tho.
    I can't see anybody actually relying on it tbh. If it was some kind of braking assist, then you might find that people get lazy, but as the video shows, it basically slams on and then flashes and beeps to let all and sundry know that, "The numpty in this car just nearly crashed".

It's an emergency countermeasure, like an airbag or seatbelt pre-tensioner. It's not something that will ever come into use in people's normal driving.

This is something that could actually save lives. Above 15km/h you will still hit the object, but the brakes will kick in much faster than any human could react.

As the technology develops, it could also be used for emergency braking from much greater distance. That is, if you're doing 60km/h and an obstacle is in your path, the car can calculate the "point of no return" - i.e. the point at where maximum braking force will bring the car to a stop at the object - and apply the brakes an instant before that, again much quicker than a human could react and reducing the seriousness of accidents. This requires multiple calculations, such as the speed of the object, the speed of the car, etc, but thankfully computers are pretty good at that kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

"And it turns on the indicator lights to show the person behind what happened"

I think he means the hazard lights.

And I dont even feckin' drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

Nuts to this, how will I run over people I don't like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

As long as there are idiots, there'll be car crashes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

From After Hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

FTGFOP wrote: »
    Nuts to this, how will I run over people I don't like?

Hehe, was thinking the same thing.

I wonder is it like TCS, and that you can turn it off when you don't want it.

Mobsters and gangsters would have a torrid time trying to run people down if the car kept slamming on the brakes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

This is fantastic news! no more crashes means no more need for motor insurance! (obviously not today or tomorrow but....) If everybody is driving a car that cannot crash how could insurance companies justify selling policies or govt making motor cover mandatory?

Ri_Nollaig wrote: »
    the A380 is crazy big!

These auto-break/parking sensors are only meant to be for assisting drivers and not for replacing actual safe driving.
    I can only imagine what it's like to be in one of these going down, it's bad enough when you think a normal plane is looking like crashing but this would be worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

TheAnswer wrote: »
    This is fantastic news! no more crashes means no more need for motor insurance! (obviously not today or tomorrow but....) If everybody is driving a car that cannot crash how could insurance companies justify selling policies or govt making motor cover mandatory?

They'll just bring out a new "auto-brake system failure leading to collision" policy.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I tested that on the Focus at the Ford Launch. First demo went through the cardboard cutout, to great applause all round.....

Worked after that at varying speeds. 20 km/h or under it stops in time, 25 km/h it tipped the cutout, but didn't knock it over - would probably end up a touch up on a bumper rather than a new bumper and expensive repairs.

Think it's around €480 as an option, which is a damn sight cheaper than replacing a bumper and bumper arms. Was a very strange feeling driving towards something without breaking, completely against what's sane and normal in everyday life.

There is an option to specify lane assist so it keeps you between the white lines automatically, and RADAR cruise control that keeps you a set distance from the car in front, even if they slow down. But the killjoys at Ford have fixed ot so that if the car senses your hands off the steering wheel for more than 3 seconds it beeps like mad and turns off the electronic aids - bang goes my idea of reading the paper all the way down the M8 ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

TheAnswer wrote: »
    There is no machine that cannot crash... least of all a machine operated by humans.