Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Max Keiser, Gurdgiev, Sommerville & Lucey - Tonight, Vincent Browne

• 13-04-2011 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭

So, from what I gather Max Keiser will be on Vincent Browne tonight.

I've also read that Paul Sommerville, C.Gurdgiev and B. Lucey will be the other guests.

DOOM AND GLOOM CITY from the way I read people discussing it on the interwebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Im amazed Lucey has managed to drag himself away from Twitter!
    I swear he's never off the dam thing!

He was having bit of a rant today because someone suggested academics should spend more time teaching rather than becoming media celebs.

TBH I think the man should realsie he is an academic rather than a societal leader..so he should leave politics to the politicians!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Voltex wrote: »
    TBH I think the man should realsie he is an academic rather than a societal leader..so he should leave politics to the politicians!

I'm not sure, I think the country is currently sooo ****ed because everyone left politics to the politicians over the last decade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Guirgedev and Lucey... One bought his house at the top of the boom, the other predicted the "soft landing" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

Lucey : 'A Plague of Locusts will swarm o'er the land'.... Um Wha? Who does he think he is? David McWilliams? :D

V.Brown program is very annoying lately, but weirdly I put it on to get annoyed anyway - and who the heck is the yank? Right my shoe is coming off now and I'm taking 'aim' - a high heel between the eyes..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

lmaopml wrote: »
    Lucey : 'A Plague of Locusts will swarm o'er the land'.... Um Wha? Who does he think he is? David McWilliams? :D

V.Brown program is very annoying lately, but weirdly I put it on to get annoyed anyway - and who the heck is the yank? Right my shoe is coming off now and I'm taking 'aim' - a high heel between the eyes..

I've given up watching it now, its the banks day in day out... I'd rather not know rather than go to bed angry and depressed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

I can't help myself, it must be a form of self torture or something, a new hobby! I'm one of those people who knew little to very little about the economy, a vague interest, and has learned lots in the last couple of years, through sheer terror - but alas resorts to shouting things like, 'Gah, you feckin eeejit...' at the TV. Or, 'just shut up you fooool'...

...or run for Government or something and stop with the 'Twittering' and media hooring gombeens..

Ahh that feels better. Sorry Mods :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Athlone_Bhoy

I've given up watching it now, its the banks day in day out... I'd rather not know rather than go to bed angry and depressed...

Isn't it the truth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Ahhh, Max Keiser!?!? Cant miss this!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Missed it, would TV3 host it on their website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

guitarzero wrote: »
    Missed it, would TV3 host it on their website?

Will be up here tomorrow:
    http://www.tv3.ie/shows.php?request=tonightwithvincentbrowne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

I've been too busy to follow it lately (training hard atm) and have to say I don't miss it.
    I generally just check on here to keep up with new developments and try to get the bare facts, rather than the sensationalism.
    Nothing is going to change by me being a spectator and there are more productive things I ought to be doing with my time.

Only time I've listened to anything political in the last week was when I tuned into Newstalk, on Tuesday iirc, to hear George Hook tear Mary Lou McDonald a new A-hole.
    Normally, I find George can be hard work at times, but he was magnificent and made her look like an utter clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭drdoon

lmaopml wrote: »
    who the heck is the yank? Right my shoe is coming off now and I'm taking 'aim' - a high heel between the eyes..

Thats Max Keiser and he's got more financial know how than our whole government finance department

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭beeftotheheels

drdoon wrote: »
    Thats Max Keiser and he's got more financial know how than our whole government finance department

Based on his performance tonight that is one damning indictment of our Dept of Finance! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭danger man

at last Keiser on irish t.v.i think hes talking in dublin today somewere.anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

I was completly unimpressed with Keiser. He showed a complete lack of knowledge about the Irish banking crisis.

He was very good though at coming out with populist crap (eg bankers guilotine etc etc) and shouting his way through answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Dannyboy83 wrote: »

Brief highlights here Danny ;)

Vincent Browne

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

That Laura Noonan one from the Independent was embarrassing. She sounded like a FF politician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

Tipp Man wrote: »
    I was completly unimpressed with Keiser. He showed a complete lack of knowledge about the Irish banking crisis.

He was very good though at coming out with populist crap (eg bankers guilotine etc etc) and shouting his way through answers
    tbh I think he knows what hes talking about regarding the banking/housing crisis. But I dont think he really knows what hes talking about regarding our situation i.e. the big chunky hole in our public finances. Well, he probably knows but choses to ignore it.

I like him all the same, and he is right in alot of what he says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

That man with an Eastern European accent made most sense. He said that default is inevitable and I agree with him. There will come a time when the interest payments on the loans will require such high portion of tax revenue that government has to choose to default on it's obligations towards pensioners or default on the sovereign debt. Laura seemed to be a complete moron to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

He was on 10 O'Clock live tonight doing same thing on Channel 4.

Should be viewable on 4OD for anyone interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Have to agree totally. Watched this last night (recorded) and he was a waste of space on the panel and in fact detracted from the debate. He was clearly ignorant of the specifics (or even the big picture) of the Irish problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

whiteonion wrote: »
    That man with an Eastern European accent made most sense. He said that default is inevitable and I agree with him. There will come a time when the interest payments on the loans will require such high portion of tax revenue that government has to choose to default on it's obligations towards pensioners or default on the sovereign debt. Laura seemed to be a complete moron to be honest.
    That guy with the eastern european accent is Constantine Gurdgiev.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

That Laura Noonan one from the Independent was embarrassing. She sounded like a FF politician.
    Really? I thought she made some very good points; very calm and measured, rarely spoke, and when she did she was worth listening to.

For example, what about the bit where Constantin Gurdgiev repeatedly referred to the Blackrock stress tests as "forecasts", and didn't seem to get what Noonan's point was when she reminded him that they were not forecasts. I can't remember the entire interview but I found myself agreeing with herself and Paul Sommerville throughout - the more vocal contributors didn't have much to say that was useful (as is often the way) and poor Vincent just sat there wondering what vanilla means!