Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Streets Of Sligo 5k 15/5/2011

• 13-04-2011 9:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭

New 5km taking place through the streets of Sligo on May 15th. I contacted the Sligo Champion to get the route and have stuck it on mapmyrun.com

See http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/31642118

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 8 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    37%
    Radharc na Sleibhtedna_leriduck1312 3 votes
    3 stars (average)
    37%
    Mint SauceyungwanDULLAHAN2 3 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    12%
    stunner2011 1 vote
    1 star (terrible)
    12%
    ectoraige 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭redz11

I'm definitely doing this one! It'll be my second 5k - first was the St Patricks 5k in Dublin - so I'm hoping to beat my time in that one!

Any idea what kind of numbers they're expecting for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

3 stars (average)
    Thanks for this, only getting into running and seen this advertised this morning in one of the Sligo Papers, with no mention of a date/time/route.

Entry is €15.

Thats one marked for the calander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Will definitely make it home for this one.
    Rarely would a route cover the town of Sligo like this, hopefully all goes well and they can make a series with a 5m/10k in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

Will definitely make it home for this one.
    Rarely would a route cover the town of Sligo like this, hopefully all goes well and they can make a series with a 5m/10k in the future.

Exactly my thinking. It will be a tough pull up the MCR but after that the course will be fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

4 stars (good)
    A few tight turns and hills probably mean it won't be a fast course but one to look forward to anyway. Note I believe entries must be in advance via Champion or RunIreland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭stmochtas

dna_leri wrote: »
    A few tight turns and hills probably mean it won't be a fast course but one to look forward to anyway. Note I believe entries must be in advance via Champion or RunIreland.

Indeed. it will be fun flooring it down castle st etc. to the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

Nice one, looking forward to it.
    Anyone know what this in aid of? Maybe it's just me, but 15 euro seems a lot for a 5K?

4 stars (good)
    MoonDancer wrote: »
    Nice one, looking forward to it.
    Anyone know what this in aid of? Maybe it's just me, but 15 euro seems a lot for a 5K?

I don't think it's in aid of anything, does it need to be?

I think 15 euro is reasonable for any (non-marathon) certified race with street closures, t-shirt, refreshments, prizes. A quick look through RunIreland does not show much better value out there.

Fair play to the organisers (Sligo Champion) for putting it together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

Oh I didn't realise there'd be a t-shirt. I figured it would just be a race & that was it. Doesn't have to be in aid of anything, just a few "places of business'" I wouldn't want to support, personal reasons really.
    I like t-shirts :D

Edit: Just saw the event on run ireland, there's chip timing too! brill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭yungwan

3 stars (average)
    Going doing this on Sunday. Starts 1.15pm.

Accepting entries online and on the day up to 12 on that morning.

€15 includes chip timing, t-shirt and goody bag.
    And I think there are proceeds going to Sligo Cancer Centre

Facebook event page here: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/event.php?eid=164648990255684

Should be fun. :)

4 stars (good)
    yungwan wrote: »
    Going doing this on Sunday. Starts 1.15pm.

Accepting entries online and on the day up to 12 on that morning.

€15 includes chip timing, t-shirt and goody bag.
    And I think there are proceeds going to Sligo Cancer Centre

Facebook event page here: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/event.php?eid=164648990255684

Should be fun. :)

I hear there is no chip timing available but shoudl still be a great event.

3 stars (average)
    Was in the champion offices yesterday, cant remember the number pick up times now, but it was either midday to 3, or 3 to 6 on saturday afternoon, or up to midday on sunday.
    I hear there is no chip timing available but shoudl still be a great event.

Where you hear that, was sure run ireland stated there was.

4 stars (good)
    irish-stew wrote: »
    Was in the champion offices yesterday, cant remember the number pick up times now, but it was either midday to 3, or 3 to 6 on saturday afternoon, or up to midday on sunday.

Where you hear that, was sure run ireland stated there was.

Heard it from one of the finish line volunteers who will be manually tracking the finishers. Apparently none of the chip suppliers was available by the time they organised this event, as they get booked up a year in advance.

4 stars (good)

Collect your numbers and register 3-6pm on Saturday or up to 12 on Sunday.

3 stars (average)
    Looking forward to this now. My first running race of any discription.

Lets hope we dont get that cold rain we got this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

should be a bit of fun, despite my lack of fitness at the minute.

My g.f's dad is going to walk it. He's never done any form of exercise before except go to work then work on his farm. He had a quintuple bypass (is that right?? 5 of them were done anyway) 6 weeks ago today, and he's been out walking all the time to help himself fight the boredom and keep active.

If he can do it, there's no excuse for anyone else....the man's even going to mass before it :o

It was a pretty good race today and the weather was refreshing :rolleyes:. I think it also played a part in some girl falling at the turn off at the Glasshouse, she may have gotten hit by a few runners while she was down too.

I had to bust a blister on each foot and put a plaster on my toe before the race.......never wear new football boots to play a game of football the day before a race.

Still haven't done any training, but managed to do an okay time considering my fitness, finished it in 23:55 (according to my garmin). I did the first 1k in 3:55 and realised I was an idiot and really had to slow down or my legs would not be happy tomorrow. I want to get under 20mins before the summer is over.

The organisers did a good job, even with the lack of chip timing (which I knew of thanks to this thread).

3 stars (average)
    cloneslad wrote: »
    It was a pretty good race today and the weather was refreshing :rolleyes:. I think it also played a part in some girl falling at the turn off at the Glasshouse, she may have gotten hit by a few runners while she was down too.

I had to bust a blister on each foot and put a plaster on my toe before the race.......never wear new football boots to play a game of football the day before a race.

Still haven't done any training, but managed to do an okay time considering my fitness, finished it in 23:55 (according to my garmin). I did the first 1k in 3:55 and realised I was an idiot and really had to slow down or my legs would not be happy tomorrow. I want to get under 20mins before the summer is over.

The organisers did a good job, even with the lack of chip timing (which I knew of thanks to this thread).

I made a similar mistake with the trainers. Wore a new pair yesterday for an hour or two with no intentions of wearing them today. Ended up having some taping and a thin trainer liner sock under my running socks to cover the blister that developed.

Didn't notice the damp my self after a few minutes, was already preety wet at that point.

There seemed to be alot of jiggling for position over the first few turns, not surprised there was a fall. Hopefully she was able to get up and finish.

For my first race really enjoyed it, even tried a little sprint on the final straight. Cant wait for the next one. Think I might be getting hooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

3 stars (average)
    I made a similar mistake with the trainers. Wore a new pair yesterday for an hour or two with no intentions of wearing them today. Ended up having some taping and a thin trainer liner sock under my running socks to cover the blister that developed.

Didn't notice the damp my self after a few minutes, was already preety wet at that point.

There seemed to be alot of jiggling for position over the first few turns, not surprised there was a fall. Hopefully she was able to get up and finish.

For my first race really enjoyed it, even tried a little sprint on the final straight. Cant wait for the next one. Think I might be getting hooked.

Yeah not surprised someone fell either, going up mail coach road wasnt as bad as i taught. Thank god, got a PB by over min and a half so very happy. 23.15 according to my garmin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

1 star (terrible)
    I love running in the rain so other than a bit of wind on Pearse Road conditions were percect as far as I'm concerned. Was dissapointed in the lack of chip timing although I was pace setting for the OH so no biggie. No godie bags though and ended up sidetracked on the way to the glasshouse and the sambos were all gone :(

Still, was great to race where we train so hopefully they can do it again.

DULLAHAN2 wrote: »
    Yeah not surprised someone fell either, going up mail coach road wasnt as bad as i taught. Thank god, got a PB by over min and a half so very happy. 23.15 according to my garmin

we weren't far from each other at the finish line then. what distance did your garmin give you when you crossed the finish line, mine was 4.98, not a big difference in the actual distance, may have been when I had to go on a footpath to avoid running into a car when I was going around a corner.

Not as bad as the young kid who ran through the petrol station on the junction of pearse / mail coach road, he must have passed about 40 people by not going around, I could only laugh at him, then wonder if he ran through the car park on abbey street rather than around it.

ectoraige wrote: »
    I love running in the rain so other than a bit of wind on Pearse Road conditions were percect as far as I'm concerned. Was dissapointed in the lack of chip timing although I was pace setting for the OH so no biggie. No godie bags though and ended up sidetracked on the way to the glasshouse and the sambos were all gone :(

Still, was great to race where we train so hopefully they can do it again.

Yeah, I ran back out to meet my g.f and her father who were walking it, ended up having to go up to cranmore the meet them again, by the time they finished and I went to my car to get a hoody they were all gone. Not really the organisers fault as it was about 40 mins after I actually finished. I did see that the sandwiches looked like they were mainly just lettuce. I went to O'hehirs in Tesco arcade anyway.

3 stars (average)
    we weren't far from each other at the finish line then. what distance did your garmin give you when you crossed the finish line, mine was 4.98, not a big difference in the actual distance, may have been when I had to go on a footpath to avoid running into a car when I was going around a corner.

Not as bad as the young kid who ran through the petrol station on the junction of pearse / mail coach road, he must have passed about 40 people by not going around, I could only laugh at him, then wonder if he ran through the car park on abbey street rather than around it.

I noticed that kid as well.

How did you get on with you garmins. I have an oldish one thats designed for bike use. Have been using it during my training runs holding it in my hand, but couldn't get a lock on the satalites whislt waiting on the start on O'Connell St.

I have the garmin 305, it works great. I've had it for 2 years now, bought it on ebay for about €120 inc delivery. I walked up to the O2 store to get signal so i'd be away from the buildings and people blocking it out.

The watch looks big, especially on my tiny wrist but its design is really comfortable as it fits really nicely around your wrist. The size of the digits on the face are also good, you can see your pace, time, distance etc really easily and I don't wear my glasses when I run (obviously)

4 stars (good)
    Really enjoyed this race. Got 50s PB. Well marshalled and organised. Hope they do it again, maybe with chip timing.
    Good to have event after wards in Glasshouse, even if they struggled to keep up with demand for sambos and tea.

3 stars (average)

Mine was 4.98 aswell, i started the watch abit late mind. I tried to start it when i was running past the pa. not sure if i did. If they did the race again with chip timing would be a much better race.

Next up is the careers 10 km in a couple of weeks if i can make the time to get back in time for it.

yeah, I grabbed a couple of leaflets for one at the end of may and one at the end of june or something like that, haven't had the chance to read them, but I know one is in rosses point. I used to go running out around there when I was training for 'tough guy 2010' in dec 2009 / jan 2010 and would jump in the sea afterwards to help me prepare.

I wouldn't mind doing it this time without the thought of jumping into freezing cold water when I was done.

3 stars (average)
    Really enjoyed this as I ran it with my 7 year old. He was so proud of himself. Dissapointed there was no race timing (even a clock!!) as I forgot my Garmin and have no idea what time we finished in.

My son was very dissapointed there were no medals either, for his reward for completing his first race.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 duck1312

4 stars (good)
    well done to the organisers they did a great job. bit of a battle for clean cups at the tea stage. for the person earlier who was asking the race was to celebrate the champions 175th year in business and money raised went 50/50 to sligo ac and some charity, dont remember what it is. but great race, loved it. i thaught it would be a slow course but was quite fast. i got a pb of 17:52. was mostly downhill in second half. hope they do it again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 stunner2011

2 stars (poor)
    Enjoyed the race - shame about not being able to get times - especially when it was sold as having the chip devices!! Also - I nearly got hit with a car over at Dunnes in Cranmore - car actually skidded towards me - other firends of mine had to stop and let traffic pass on Pearse Rd before they could cross it - shame that these things let it down!!

Does anybody know where and when the results will be posted??

3 stars (average)
    Enjoyed the race - shame about not being able to get times - especially when it was sold as having the chip devices!!

Yes I thought it was poor that they didnt even have a clock as I said earlier.

I dont have a clue about the results, perhaps it will be on the Champion paper this week?

3 stars (average)
    yeah, I grabbed a couple of leaflets for one at the end of may and one at the end of june or something like that, haven't had the chance to read them, but I know one is in rosses point. I used to go running out around there when I was training for 'tough guy 2010' in dec 2009 / jan 2010 and would jump in the sea afterwards to help me prepare.

I wouldn't mind doing it this time without the thought of jumping into freezing cold water when I was done.

Is that a 5 or 10k at Rosses Point. Seen a 10km advertised starting at the Radisson end of May. But not sure if I'm quite ready for that distance yet.
    Enjoyed the race - shame about not being able to get times - especially when it was sold as having the chip devices!! Also - I nearly got hit with a car over at Dunnes in Cranmore - car actually skidded towards me - other firends of mine had to stop and let traffic pass on Pearse Rd before they could cross it - shame that these things let it down!!

There was a couple of indecisive drivers on that roundabout, had to do a little dodging my self.

Apart from that thought the traffic control was quite good.

The Champion are posting the results in the paper on Wednesday.

Only slight downer I had was the finish line. Was invloved in little bit of a sprint at the end, had to stop quick on the line to be funnelled though the cordon to be ticked off, thought there might have been a little of a run off area (or what ever you might call it). Apart from that it was all good.

Edit

Posted results are almost 20 seconds slower than my own watch. Started the watch at the PA, and stopped it on the line. Any ideas in the difference. Either way, it was a huge increase over my training times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

1 star (terrible)
    My time was correct as per my watch, but I know somebody else who thought they'd finished faster too. Also my wife and I pipped another girl just at the line, we went either side of her and then finished together, but the published order was me, the other girl, and then my wife, with a three second spread. We could have done with a run-off too, but these are minor quibbles. I'd love to do it again, hopefully they'll make it an annual thing and get chip timing sorted.

Is that a 5 or 10k at Rosses Point. Seen a 10km advertised starting at the Radisson end of May. But not sure if I'm quite ready for that distance yet.

it's a 10k run, starting at the Radisson on sun may 29th at 12pm. Registration closes on thurs 26th of may (no time given).

You can register on www.runireland.com or www.carersireland.com

I will prob wait until 25th or 26th to see if I am going to do it or not.

were the results taken down? I can't seem to see them, I'd like to know if they have the same time as me on there thing, considering the messy finish line area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 stunner2011

were the results taken down? I can't seem to see them, I'd like to know if they have the same time as me on there thing, considering the messy finish line area.

See attachment.

well, I can't find my time as I'm not listed on it. The young lad who finished about a second ahead of me is on it, but I'm not. My name or number is nowhere to be seen on it. I was number 179.

I know my own time anyway, so I'm not too worried. Though they did put the young lad down as 23:43 or something like that, according to my watch he was about 23:53 or 54

EDIT: no, the kid that finished before me was down as 23:57, I just remember some people shouting his name at him as he was on the home stretch. It would have put me down at 23:58 or 59 according to their timing (23:55 according to mine) but I wouldn't worry about the small difference between mine and theirs, especially as my garmin only has me down as 4.98km.

4 stars (good)
    well, I can't find my time as I'm not listed on it. The young lad who finished about a second ahead of me is on it, but I'm not. My name or number is nowhere to be seen on it. I was number 179.

I know my own time anyway, so I'm not too worried. Though they did put the young lad down as 23:43 or something like that, according to my watch he was about 23:53 or 54

EDIT: no, the kid that finished before me was down as 23:57, I just remember some people shouting his name at him as he was on the home stretch. It would have put me down at 23:58 or 59 according to their timing (23:55 according to mine) but I wouldn't worry about the small difference between mine and theirs, especially as my garmin only has me down as 4.98km.

There are a lot of mistakes in those results, maybe 18 duplicates - one of which should probably be you cloneslad. I'd suggest emailing the organisers and let them know who you finished near. They may have some unidentified numbers in their list that they can correct and reissue.

I was probably a bit generous in my scoring above - it's nearly impossible to get results right without chip timing in a race like this. How did they do it in the good old days before chips were invented.

There are a lot of mistakes in those results, maybe 18 duplicates - one of which should probably be you cloneslad. I'd suggest emailing the organisers and let them know who you finished near. They may have some unidentified numbers in their list that they can correct and reissue.

I was probably a bit generous in my scoring above - it's nearly impossible to get results right without chip timing in a race like this. How did they do it in the good old days before chips were invented.

I might do that, but don't know if there's any point. I know my time anyway, and I know it's what i have to beat in the future.

A clock at the finish line would have been a start. It's their first race, I'll give them the grace of some mistakes, if they keep going and make it an annual thing, I'm sure they'll get it right.

3 stars (average)

Thats great, Pretty much the same time i had on my watch. So very happy with that. Hopefully they will make this an annual thing and have chip timing.

3 stars (average)
    Any pictures of the event or was it only covered by the champion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭KayTee

Some picture on legginit.com - you have to register on the site to see them

saw a few of myself in it, at least I know for sure that I did it and that I wasn't dreaming it...despite the results information :rolleyes:

Though I do look horrendously unfit, tired and my eyes are closed.....maybe I was dreaming afterall.