Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

water pump from river

• 12-04-2011 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭

met a next door neighbour the other day and we both rent a bit of land beside each other. we both a shift water with tanks as there is no elec only a stream at the bottom of the land. he was telling me that some one was telling him about some water pump you can put into a river and the flow will drive it for you .not a pasture pump. any body know anything bout it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭what happen

keep going wrote: »
    met a next door neighbour the other day and we both rent a bit of land beside each other. we both a shift water with tanks as there is no elec only a stream at the bottom of the land. he was telling me that some one was telling him about some water pump you can put into a river and the flow will drive it for you .not a pasture pump. any body know anything bout it
    yes i have seen a video of it working.www.connachtagric.ie sell that it looks a great job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

yes i have seen a video of it working.www.connachtagric.ie sell that it looks a great job.

Looks ingenious.

The correct link is

http://www.connachtagri.ie/index.php?p=97

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Looks a powerful job.
    Anyone seen one in action?

On a side note: Be careful with instream works, talk to the relevant authority before works commence, particularly important in SACs or Salmonid waters etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

looks super,m almost too good to be true and looks very suitable to location. ring connaught agri in morn for price that could be where it all goes horribly wrong but we might split it between us as we are both fed of drawing water and the cattle being thirsty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

A screw pump is what your after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

A screw pump is what your after

No. A ram pump is what he is after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

have not seen that paticular one working but seen a similiar one last autaum. it pumped water to a holding tank and then gravity to the drinkers.He had alot of cows on it. you would need large drinker to store water as there would not be enough of a flow to keep filling drinkers. Connaght agri have other ideas for water supplies on their website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Atilathehun

Speaking of water. We have an old domestic will on the land. Just use it for a bucket of water for the house for drinking purposes. Beats the council supply for taste.
    If I wanted to install a pump, and pump it to the house before water charges come in, what would need to be done.
    Is it a case of digging out a hole with a digger, and putting in some sort of precast concrete tank, with the pump submerged in it?
    Are there potential dangers of losing or diverting the supply in the course of digging out?
    Really want to do something to increase capacity but dont want to lose what I have.
    I have never seen this well dry up in summer, so I think the supply is sound.

Appreciate any inputs on this based on experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Speaking of water. We have an old domestic will on the land. Just use it for a bucket of water for the house for drinking purposes. Beats the council supply for taste.
    If I wanted to install a pump, and pump it to the house before water charges come in, what would need to be done.
    Is it a case of digging out a hole with a digger, and putting in some sort of precast concrete tank, with the pump submerged in it?
    Are there potential dangers of losing or diverting the supply in the course of digging out?
    Really want to do something to increase capacity but dont want to lose what I have.

you would probably have to go down abit i reckon? it may have never dried up but them its never had to suply house or farm, you can get the above ground pumps but i believe they are more susceptible to frost and burning out or i suppose if the hole was deep enough you could get the submersible pump, after that you would need a pressure vessel to pressurize the system and off you go, have a new well working the last few months and am happy with it although the water must be a little hard as i see scale i the kettle , anyway its good to have the well i reckon so its probably worth your while to look into it, what part of the country are you in, i know 2 good pump lads in clare that could advise you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭cjpm

Neighbour of mine dug down to the rock ( approx 10ft). You could see the water trickling up through the cracks in the rock. He then put large precast pipe units on their ends, starting on top of the rock and building up to ground level. The pipe joints should be sealed as the bottom pipe on top of the rock.
    Capped it off with a slab with a 6" hole to drop down the submersible pump.

The pipe units provide capacity for during the day and it recharges fully at night.

About 3' before the slab (which is 3 foot underground too) he put in a 4" outlet pipe to drain away the extra water as this spring would soak the surrounding fields

You'll need a pressure vessel to pressurise the system.

Submersible pumps are way cheaper to run.

rang conn. agri about the pump 2200 for the small one and3000 for the big one ,i have to talk to your man but it might be a bit steep for nine arces of land whats a screw pump, do you mean a spiral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭aidanki

wish I had thought of it, reckon the dragons on dragons den woudl be well impressed

fair play to the man who put it together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Tora Bora wrote: »

I stand corrected said the man in the orthopedic shoes. I engaged the fingers before the brain :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

rang conn. agri about the pump 2200 for the small one and3000 for the big one ,i have to talk to your man but it might be a bit steep for nine arces of land whats a screw pump, do you mean a spiral

That's mad money. You and your neighbour need to look at investing in a pasture pump each. They cost less than €300 and you could sink a hole in your stream to operate the pump from. They can draw water over 200m meters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

reilig wrote: »
    That's mad money. You and your neighbour need to look at investing in a pasture pump each. They cost less than €300 and you could sink a hole in your stream to operate the pump from. They can draw water over 200m meters.

any web links where i could see this reilig,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Was that the price of the Glockemann pump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

@ kboc
    I was looking at the internet when reilig mentioned the pasture pump, they are available in sligo anyway http://www.sligowater.com/productDetails.aspx?pid=8

I never seen them before and looks like it would suit me perfect also as we have a drain that almost never goes dry.. think now that I might dig it out deeper in one area, fence it and set this baby up beside it.
    300 euros in cheap too

Connacht Agri have them - see the link earlier in the thread.

Spaldings have them too www.spaldings.ie

I have one on a small drain - I made a kind of waterfall on it out of large stones - about 1 ft high. I suck out of the built up water. Its never empty even in the hottest of summers

problem is it has to rise about 100 to120 ft and ican get water from stream when they are grazin there its just i am running 22 yearling on the peice so i want to graze in rotation last year i just set stocked it as ihadnt fencing done (it is now)either but i think thats a balls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 AtillaTheHun

sounds like your neighbour was trying to sound out if you'd be interested in going in 50/50 with him on the 'ram pump' but as you are both renting and its a piece of infrastructure that cant be easily moved having a chat with the landowners sounds worth while. You might be able to spread the cost between a number of you.

Sorry 'Atilathehun' i did not realize it was possible to have 2 user names so similar. I don't know if the MODs would have a way of altering my user name. If not I'll re register.
    Atillathehun

I don't know if the MODs would have a way of altering my user name. If not I'll re register.
    Atillathehun

AFAIK you need to be a subscriber to do a name change. Or, reregister.

johngalway wrote: »
    Was that the price of the Glockemann pump?
    yeah if it was a grand or if we owned the land id say we would go a head but happens if one of us gets turned out as we are renting we,ll see

Ah crap, I was looking at them myself. But as you say, bit steep :eek: I wouldn't be keen on it for rented land either, big outlay for uncertain time frame I guess. Was thinking of getting a small one, would do my farm and the sisters house. Mains supply is rubbish, no pressure, or just no water, don't know why they installed a meter, won't move much :pac:

Googled them and they were just over 1k Canadian, only price I found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭St. Leibowitz

What you need is a Ram Pump. If you're any way handy and have a day or two, Google for "ram pump plans" or "ram pump schematics", and you'll get lots of hits like below.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Hydraulic-Ram-Pump/

http://outlands.tripod.com/farm/rampump.htm

The examples above are just samples picked at random, although instructables articles are usually quite good. I'm planning to build one of these myself one day, along with the hundreds of other projects which catch my fancy. Maybe when I retire !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

What about this system? Looks neat.

http://www.riferam.com/river/index.htm

BeeDI wrote: »

http://www.riferam.com/river/index.htm

Looks cool!!!!

Good find

thanks lads seems to have caught yer imagination a bit.what price is on the river pump. only just read the "mothers" one now, you know what i ll be thinking of when im harrowing tomorrow

Tora Bora wrote: »

There are plans for DIY ram pumps online. Doesn't look like rocket science to put them together. Been thinking of my own place, may need to make two or three of them. Not sure what length and height they'd go to yet, but could pump the water from no. 1 into a barrel or something, then use that as the head for pump no. 2 and start the process again...

Lots of messing but I like that :pac:

Just one link, handy as it details parts that can be got in the UK so would be similar to here:

http://www.judyofthewoods.net/ram_pump.html

Interesting YouTube clips

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pJ-2Dh0EuA&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭jeffwode

Is there any legal impediment to taking water from a river? Are there any restrictions or limits on how much you can take?

well lads threw one together the other night out of 4" sewer pipe and did a small test at home. even though i didnt really have enough flow it seemed to actually work.i have to improve the flap on the end which i made using a hinge and a bit of plastic,it works grand only have to make it water tight.as for the question on taking water from a stream ,i dont know but a water ram takes only 1l for every 10l that flows through it and even less if you require high heads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

jeffwode wrote: »
    Is there any legal impediment to taking water from a river? Are there any restrictions or limits on how much you can take?

Now that the tree hugging, bicycle clip wearing, carrot eating, do gooder greens, have been permanently pre forty fived, you take the whole lot out and no one will say boo to you.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

hi i was wondering if you had any luck wit pumping water from stream .....cheaply need to do the same but haven t a great flow on stream.

jerdee wrote: »
    hi i was wondering if you had any luck wit pumping water from stream .....cheaply need to do the same but haven t a great flow on stream.

not yet cattle were away from that ground but back in there now.got pipes today so will do something this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

i have a ram pump working on a river at the edge of the farm .it pumps over 2000gals in 12 hours , if u take levels on the fall of your river with a laser level in 200 feet sections and pick the best spot with the greatest fall, i have a natural fall of at least 3 foot in every 150 feet along the river , you can construct a wee dam 3 foot high and bring the flow downstream in a 6 inch ducking pipe i get 7 foot of head at 200 feet away from the dam , than its 60 foot of drive pipe down into the ram pump which can be made up with a few plumbing fittings . steel fitting are best as plastic or pvc fittings will just crack over time with the water hammering effect of the pump working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 dizzle with ur frizzle

6480 wrote: »
    i have a ram pump working on a river at the edge of the farm .it pumps over 2000gals in 12 hours , if u take levels on the fall of your river with a laser level in 200 feet sections and pick the best spot with the greatest fall, i have a natural fall of at least 3 foot in every 150 feet along the river , you can construct a wee dam 3 foot high and bring the flow downstream in a 6 inch ducking pipe i get 7 foot of head at 200 feet away from the dam , than its 60 foot of drive pipe down into the ram pump which can be made up with a few plumbing fittings . steel fitting are best as plastic or pvc fittings will just crack over time with the water hammering effect of the pump working

Hello there, I have been thinking of trying to make a water pump for several years now from the river at the bottom of my farm up to my yard, reason being is the well runs dry in winter from with the cattle. only problem is, the river is the guts of 1km away from farm.. from reading your comment here, i was just wondering, do you think it would travel this far, worse again, from the river to the yard, its up hill.

it will work no bother i can show u a local one working as mine has some flood damage at the min , u have to see one working to get ur head around it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 dizzle with ur frizzle

that would be brilliant, im over seas at moment working for a few months but could i hold you to that for when im back.

I'd say seeing it would really help alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

I have a book my Dad got in the 1940's or early 50's, an American publication called "Farm Innovation", I think published by the crowd who publish Popular Mechanics. I has a pretty good chapter on building a water ram. I'll scan it and put it up, the copyright is well gone now I reckon! Mack in Cavan

that would be brilliant, im over seas at moment working for a few months but could i hold you to that for when im back.

I'd say seeing it would really help alright.

for every foot of fall going into the ram pump it will pump water 10 foot higher so in your case u need 12 foot of fall on the river , erect a dam an go downstream till u get a head of 12 foot , i have the flow of the river going downstream about 200 feet in a 6 inch sewer pipe till i got about 8 foot of head , i must try and measure the head i am pumping to its the highest point of the farm to a 4000 gal tank and the water gravity flows out to all the padocks , it doesnt take much of a flow to work the pump but u need a constant flow or the pump will sut down but if u can catch enough flow from the river u have a pump working night and day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Here is a very useful link for anyone considering this idea.

http://www.fishingireland.net/pdf/cfbhydro.pdf

Good bit of reading in it but should prove to be useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 knownothing

look up vulcan ram pumps. not new technology by any means, but well proven.there are also composite ram pumps, which pump clean water by using a dirty supply AS POWER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

I have a book my Dad got in the 1940's or early 50's, an American publication called "Farm Innovation", I think published by the crowd who publish Popular Mechanics. I has a pretty good chapter on building a water ram. I'll scan it and put it up, the copyright is well gone now I reckon! Mack in Cavan

Would it be this one???

http://www.icar.org.in/files/Farm-Innovators-2010.pdf

Probably not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Sorry for digging up an old thread but I've a digger in at the moment and I was planning on putting in provision for a pump to use river water for a cattle shed and 2 fields.

Currently on mains but with meters coming want to be prepared.

river is about 80metres from the slatted shed, difference in height from the river to the shed is about 20 feet, so wondering what are my options.

Rang EPS and they said river water is too sandy for a submersible pump so I should use a pump on the river bank instead and have a pipe down into the river where I'd have a concrete ring or plastic barrell.

I'd rather not build a pump house when the shed is so near so question is are there any other options?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Bigduke

BeeDI wrote: »

Anyone know of how to get one of these in Ireland/UK or if there is a company selling them here?
    Got a pasture pump but cattle are in separate plots and I don't really want to buy another one and special suction hose if I can just pump into a tank directly from the stream and flow into 2 troughs. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭pure breed

Bigduke wrote: »

Anyone know of how to get one of these in Ireland/UK or if there is a company selling them here?
    Got a pasture pump but cattle are in separate plots and I don't really want to buy another one and special suction hose if I can just pump into a tank directly from the stream and flow into 2 troughs. Thanks

Hi
    As part of the Glas Scheme we have recently applied for as of next year all our rivers will be closed off to cattle (if we get accepted to the scheme that is)
    I'm waiting on delivery of a Ram Pump from the states and it works out at approx €230 delivered. I'm hoping it'll work for supplying water troughs that have ball cocks with the Ram Pump still working (hopefully!)
    If it works for me I hope to build a couple more myself as the one I'm buying is mainly PVC I think and wouldn't take much punishment.

Earlier this summer I bought a Pasture Pump with suction hose for €254 and it is working perfectly from the river screwed onto a weighted crate near/under the electric fence that can be moved easily with tractor an fork when cattle are moved.
    My only concern is that it requires a lot of work from the cattle for little water and I'm concerned they mite not be getting enough water in a warm day, we only tried it out on 7 in-calf heifers we have grazing together and I've seen them all drink from it except for one lady. I'm not confident yet it is suitable for suckling cows hence the Ram Pump experiment. Also prob better to introduce it to cattle coming out of the shed in Spring where they are used to pushing for water inside.
    Any opinions or advice appreciated here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Pure breed
    Can you let me know if the ram pump works.
    Could be in a similar situation, with no mains/electric available

Yeah Farrell will do
    Only bought yesterday so will be week or two before delivery.

6480 wrote: »

Hi there
    just wondering what size check valve your using for your pumps?
    I;m using 1 1/4 inch with the same size drive pipe and only getting a trickle of water over a 100ft with about head of 1ft
    thinking should be using smaller?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭PureBred

pure breed wrote: »
    Hi there
    just wondering what size check valve your using for your pumps?
    I;m using 1 1/4 inch with the same size drive pipe and only getting a trickle of water over a 100ft with about head of 1ft
    thinking should be using smaller?
    thanks

Did u ever get this working?

PureBred wrote: »
    Did u ever get this working?

All pipe work and fittings are 2 inch