Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeanie Mac!

• 12-04-2011 11:45am
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This site states that the Irish expression 'Jeanie Mac' comes from the opening words to a Wolfe Tone's song.

Does anyone know if this is true and if so what the name of the song is ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

A UK site telling you where a hiberno Irish-English came from?

Do you get German sites telling you where Polish-German phrases come from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

American shite.
    It's not even "Jeanie"
    Next they'll be telling you we eat corned beef and cabbage all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Janie Mac I'm Nearly 40 lyrics and chords-The Wolfe Tones, written by Brian Warfield

[D]Well, I've been singing most my[G] lifetime
    Of Rock[D]all, Strong Men and Botany[A] Bay;
    Singing[D] songs of love and hope and[G] freedom
    While[A] time has slowly slipped a[D]way.

Have you noticed the policemen getting younger?
    And the busmen, they're getting younger too.
    While all my friends are getting older,
    I have stayed the same, you know, it's true.

CHORUS: And, Janie Mac, I'm nearly forty.
    I think my hair is turning grey.
    I'll be on the pension very shortly,
    And how I long for yesterday!
    We're so long together it's a record.
    We should be in the Guinness Book of Fame.
    For twenty-five long years we've been together,
    And just for spite, we'll do the same again.
    But there's silver threads in Tom's whiskers,
    And Derek with the beard, he's getting bald.
    While though he's getting kind of grumpy,
    While I, I'm not just getting old.

So all you knockers and begrudgers
    You will admit we have that touch of class.
    If not, we'll send you our new record
    And you can stick it up your....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

A UK site telling you where a hiberno Irish-English came from?

Please send me the link of the Irish site which has the information I'm looking for thanks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Janey Mac?

Is it not just a way of saying Jaysus christttttt..... without taking the lords name in vain?
    I'm sure its around a lot longer than the Wolfe Tones song.
    Ta be sure, ta be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

'' Jeanie Janey Mac , me shirt is black and I dont know what to do '' was / is a popular ditty heard from the mouths of many a Dublin child .

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

The one I’m familiar with is:

Janey Mac me shirt is black
    What’ll I do for Sunday?

Go to bed and cover your head
    And don’t get up until Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭HooterSnout

Always thought it came from Holy Mackerel, Holy Mac. Jeanie is a common Irish name so maybe it was just thrown in there instead of Mary so there was no blasphemy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Just found this on Yahoo!

there was once a girl called Jane McCartney, People used to always tease her by saying 'Janey mac' to her a lot which wasn't as offensive as saying "Hey Harelip! Fancy a carrot?" to her but it did get quite annoying and one day she clobbered Anto Shields around the face with her brother's hurley, knocked most of his teeth out and left him a nice scar on his top lip.

"That'll teach you to call me Harelip!" she yelled as made him one of his own.

"But he called you Janey mac" piped up little David Kenny.

"DON'T TELL ME WHAT I SAID" she howled and chased him around the streets for an hour trying to bash his head in. Most people gave up calling her Janey mac after that.

She left Dublin when she was around 17 to go work in London and then we heard she was a beggar working in Victoria Station. Jimmy the Bollix said he saw her when he spent his time living in there and shouted out 'Janey mac!' as a security guard was walking past her. She battered him to within an inch of his life before passers-by rescued him.

She died not long after when she found accomodation in a shelter and was being helped get her life back together. She was on the bottom bunk when an enormously girthsome woman collapsed the top one and crushed her to death.

Her final words? You guessed it.

"Fat ****."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Ponster wrote: »
    Please send me the link of the Irish site which has the information I'm looking for thanks !

You missed the point entirely...

'Oh be the lord livin light of lamb of Jaysus' is a popular one in these parts.
    Ya hve to say it a fast a possible in a slightly shocked old man voice to get it right though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ponster wrote: »
    Just found this on Yahoo!

She gave out about being called 'Harelip' when someone was known as 'Jimmy The Bollix' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

It says 'as far as we can tell' ....

As far as I can tell the moon is made of fondue and inhabited solely by gangs of feral cats.

Schism wrote: »
    It says 'as far as we can tell' ....

As far as I can tell the moon is made of fondue and inhabited solely by gangs of feral cats.

Actually it's made of cheese. That is a fact provided by the local national school.

(All facts may be false)