Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

06 Focus 1.6 v Avensis (06)

• 12-04-2011 7:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭

Looking at two cars the 06 focus 1.6 and an 06 Avensis. Any experience on these cars as regards reliability or possible problems ? Also curious as to what mpg one should get from these :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

The Focus is an infinitely better car, though it is a competitior to the Corolla and the Mondeo is in the same category as the Avensis, so I'm not quite sure why you're comparing two different classes of car:confused:?

Either way, Fords are much better cars than Toyotas to drive, much nicer to be in, more comfortable, and every bit as reliable as any Toyota. Don't let the reputation of Toyota deceive you into thinking you'll be buying a better built car, because Ford have been good for a very long time now while Toyota have slipped compared to where they were in the 90s;)!

A 1.6 petrol in either an Avensis or a Mondeo will guzzle fuel, especially on main roads and motorways becuase that size engine is far too small and underpowered to be pusing around cars that size and weight. To be honest, the 1.8 is about as low as you'd want to go in an Avensis, and that engine is weedy enough at times too.

Mondeos from 2006 were all 1.8 minimum, but the Zetec has a slightly more powerful engine than the LX, and that would be the car to go for really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

I picked up an 05 focus 3 years ago with 24,000km on the clock. I recently traded it in with 105,000km on the clock. In that time I had the following replaced:
    1. Alternator (55,000km)
    2. Both rear wheel bearings (72k and 90k ish)
    3. Alternator belt (90k ish)
    4. Washer pump (100k)
    Obviously I'm not counting plugs, filters, brakes etc in the above. Seemed like I was taking a hit of a couple of hundred every service from about 60k up. The Alternator and washer pump were the only failures, the rest was replaced at regular service.

There was a few warnings on the last service (main Ford dealer) of potential trouble down the road too. There was a crack in the power steering pipe which wasn't causing an issue but if it got worse I'm sure I would have been facing an expensive bill.

I'm not sure if my story is typical, but if you're buying a MkII Focus in the 60,000km to 100,000km range, I'd try to get as much information as possible on whats been done to the car to date, and I'd definitely get it checked over by a mechanic who knows the Focus, to avoid a long list of problems at your first service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

I would choose an avensis hands down.

Sounds like you were unlucky - the Focus is normally a very reliable car.

The only problems are with frost plugs and water getting into the spark plugs as a result - a cheap fix (part is only €2). Mk2 Focuses are usually 100% reliable though.

If you think you're unlucky with your Focus, I've replaced a gearbox in a five year old Avensis, and VVTi Toyotas like to start burning oil as the miles pile on.
    Wetbench4 wrote: »
    I would choose an avensis hands down.

And as someone who has one, I would choose anything other than an Avensis (bar some other crappy Toyota) hands down - they are so overrated by the general public - the blind loyalty towards Toyotas in this country is frightening ;)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The avensis is a lighter car despite being bigger and safer. Unless you get the upgraded 1.6 in the focus the avensis has more power. I've sold countless 1.6 Avensiss new and used and they never gave the owners any grief.

I know its fashionable around here to slag Toyotas, but if its a 1.6 saloon you're after and you don't mind the overly assisted steering, the Avensis is a good choice.

The vvti engine uses a timing chain which means no belt to change (focus has a long 100000 mile interval)

The avensis admittedly isn't the best on fuel if you exceed 120kmph haven't driven the focus enough to compare but the brother has the older focus which is roughly the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

I had a 06 Focus 1.6 and it was the most troublesome car I have ever owned so therefore could never recommend it to anyone with a clear conscience. It guzzled petrol, bonnet lock broke while driving leading to extensive damage, steering pipes had to be replaced at a hefty cost, 2 x wheel bearings, the tracking was constantly off - I could go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Sounds like you were unlucky - the Focus is normally a very reliable car.

The only problems are with frost plugs and water getting into the spark plugs as a result - a cheap fix (part is only €2). Mk2 Focuses are usually 100% reliable though.

If you think you're unlucky with your Focus, I've replaced a gearbox in a five year old Avensis, and VVTi Toyotas like to start burning oil as the miles pile on.

And maybe you have been equally unlucky with your Avensis. My father has my old Avensis with over 200k miles on clock and it's still going with the original gearbox and engine. Uses a little more oil these days but still nowhere near what the likes of VW would tell you is normal for their engines.

OP, I've experience of owning both cars. Had a 03 Avensis 1.8 Luna and racked up some serious mileage on it. Comfortable, refined cruiser with a decent size boot, does exactly what it says on the tin. Replaced it with a 05 Focus TDCi and while the Focus handles better than the Avensis it could not match it for refinement especially for motorway driving. The road and engine noise in the cabin was very noticeable (also noticed this in the Mondeo). Fords are good cars, reliable and are entertaining through the bends but cabin refinement has always been a let down for me.

I would not buy a 1.6 litre Avensis though, underpowered and not that much better on fuel over the 1.8 litre. 1.6 ones are pretty basic too. 1.8 litre models are usually that bit cheaper to buy too as the Irish public don't want to pay the extra €100 or so in tax per year.

Test drive both and see which one you prefer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

I have been a bit disappointed with Mondeo tdci (road noise) reliablilty etc. I believe I am not really doing enough mileage to warrant a diesel. Am doing around 12/14k miles per year. My experience with the modern diesel engines is that while they are much more powerful and refined than the older diesels, they are also much more troublesome. When they go wrong , they go wrong bigtime. I don't think that the 06 to 11 engines will be competing with the old mercs or carinas or golfs putting up 300 plus miles on the clock without much trouble.
    I will test drive a few today and see which one floats my boat ! thanks for the experience/opinions as this is the only true reflection of how cars run. The advertising etc and many of the reviews can be a little biased ;)

Drove a few cars and liked the focus. Drove an 05 zetec 1.4 at main dealer and was a bit dead I thought. Got to see an 06 ghia 1.6 and thought it was a much zippier engine and a nicer drive. Price was nearly two grand less than the one at main dealer. So I am tempted with the 1.6 !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

The Focus is an infinitely better car, though it is a competitior to the Corolla and the Mondeo is in the same category as the Avensis, so I'm not quite sure why you're comparing two different classes of car:confused:?

Either way, Fords are much better cars than Toyotas to drive, much nicer to be in, more comfortable, and every bit as reliable as any Toyota. Don't let the reputation of Toyota deceive you into thinking you'll be buying a better built car, because Ford have been good for a very long time now while Toyota have slipped compared to where they were in the 90s;)!

A 1.6 petrol in either an Avensis or a Mondeo will guzzle fuel, especially on main roads and motorways becuase that size engine is far too small and underpowered to be pusing around cars that size and weight. To be honest, the 1.8 is about as low as you'd want to go in an Avensis, and that engine is weedy enough at times too.

Mondeos from 2006 were all 1.8 minimum, but the Zetec has a slightly more powerful engine than the LX, and that would be the car to go for really.

I haven't much experience in the 1.6 Avensis but I have to say the mk2 Focus in 1.6 or 1.4 is the worst car I've ever driven, in their basic spec they're very plastic and mundane to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The avensis is a lighter car despite being bigger and safer. Unless you get the upgraded 1.6 in the focus the avensis has more power. I've sold countless 1.6 Avensiss new and used and they never gave the owners any grief.

I know its fashionable around here to slag Toyotas, but if its a 1.6 saloon you're after and you don't mind the overly assisted steering, the Avensis is a good choice.

The vvti engine uses a timing chain which means no belt to change (focus has a long 100000 mile interval)

The avensis admittedly isn't the best on fuel if you exceed 120kmph haven't driven the focus enough to compare but the brother has the older focus which is roughly the same
    This is a good post, unlike captainspeed's fanboy opinion. Infinitely better? Come on, what a load of crap. The Focus handles better, but it's no sports car. The Avensis is bigger, more refined, more comfortable and more reliable. Granted it's boring, but the Focus isn't a theme park of excitement either. Nor does it have a fantastic interior.
    OP, I'd go for a 1.8 in the Avensis if looking, they're the same price or less than the 1.6 thanks to the Irish fear of €40 per year more Tax! :)

I haven't much experience in the 1.6 Avensis but I have to say the mk2 Focus in 1.6 or 1.4 is the worst car I've ever driven, in their basic spec they're very plastic and mundane to drive.

The car I drove was the 1.6 GHIA. Good spec on it, alloys, a/c , heated front windscreen , centre armrest etc. I certainly found the 1.6 had plenty of poke and would match the 2.0 tdci mondeo. Much better car to drive than the 1.4 or indeed the Toyota Corolla. The reason many find the focus boring is they are all over the feckin place, but then there's a reason for that !:D

shawnee wrote: »
    The car I drove was the 1.6 GHIA. Good spec on it, alloys, a/c , heated front windscreen , centre armrest etc. I certainly found the 1.6 had plenty of poke and would match the 2.0 tdci mondeo. Much better car to drive than the 1.4 or indeed the Toyota Corolla. The reason many find the focus boring is they are all over the feckin place, but then there's a reason for that !:D

Yes the Ghias are nice (apart from the fake wood), and contrary to the Toyota fanboys (I thought this was a forum for those who see cars as more than just white goods on wheels?) have told you, the Focus IS nicer inside in a decent spec and is quite simply a far nicer car (IMO) than a Corolla or an Avensis.

Also, all the 1.6 Avensis are poverty spec cars with shiny black plastic interiors, yet the Toyota fanboys are insisting that the Avensis is nicer inside :eek::confused:?

If you're going focus, make sure its the higher hp 1.6, think its called ti-vct
    Maybe all the 1.6 ghias have it, maybe not.

All Irish spec 1.6 Ghias and Titaniums have the more powerful 1.6 with 115 PS - the poverty spec LX and decent spec Zetec models have the regular 100 PS 1.6.

Thanks for the info Captainspeed, I did think that the 1.6 ghia was a big improvement on the 1.4 zetec (strangely the main ford dealer was asking for 1.500 more for the 1.4 zetec. :confused:

Yes the Ghias are nice (apart from the fake wood), and contrary to the Toyota fanboys (I thought this was a forum for those who see cars as more than just white goods on wheels?) have told you, the Focus IS nicer inside in a decent spec and is quite simply a far nicer car (IMO) than a Corolla or an Avensis.

Also, all the 1.6 Avensis are poverty spec cars with shiny black plastic interiors, yet the Toyota fanboys are insisting that the Avensis is nicer inside :eek::confused:?

I had a Ghia Focus and the interior was nothing to get excited about either. Fake wood aside it was the same quality of plastics as in a LX or Zetec.

And regarding white goods on wheels, chances are the majority of people tend to look at buying both Fords, Toyotas, etc with the same criteria in mind. Imo Ford are no less a white goods product than Toyota. Both produce mass market affordable vehicles.

If you hate them that much why drive one to begin with and why haven't you parted with it for something more interested?

The Ford dealer network has always been more expensive for their own brand of used cars. Outside the Ford dealer network they are better value. When I bought mine I saved about €2k too by buying from a non Ford dealer. It was alot tidier car too.

bazz26 wrote: »
    I had a Ghia Focus and the interior was nothing to get excited about either. Fake wood aside it was the same quality of plastics as in a LX or Zetec.

And regarding white goods on wheels, chances are the majority of people tend to look at buying both Fords, Toyotas, etc with the same criteria in mind. Imo Ford are no less a white goods product than Toyota. Both produce mass market affordable vehicles.

If you hate them that much why drive one to begin with and why haven't you parted with it for something more interested?

While I do enjoy my cars ( I have an old merc that puts the smile on my face every now and then) the most important thing for me is reliability and I do not like paying main dealers fortunes to fix these modern yokes. Most of the modern cars need to be taken to a computer to find out what's wrong. The repair costs for even a starter are astronomical. I would like to have something that is comfortable, and has a good few extras and wouldn't be dead to drive. The modern mercs/bmws/saabs are not as good as reliable as the older ones and really do not appeal to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Focus all day long.. Those 1.6 Avensis are terrible in every way. A mate of mine had a 95 Corolla drove one for a week and thought it was just as horrible to drive and it was a pig on juice..

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Those 1.6 Avensis are terrible in every way. A mate of mine had a 95 Corolla drove one for a week and thought it was just as horrible to drive and it was a pig on juice..

I take it from this you are trying to say your mate had a 1.6 avensis for a week?
    It also appears you are saying he found the avensis to be just as bad to drive as a 95 corolla. An avensis is to a 95 corolla as F1 is to go-karting. I suggest your mate doesnt know much about cars if that was his conclusion.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Earlier ones didn't. Titanium's all did though.

100bhp vs 115bhp with v.v.t. Not a huge difference in reality.

100hp in a focus is like a 1.4 Avensis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

Avensis
    avensis_80b.jpg

Focus
    06_Focus_Interior.jpg

Look much the same to me

Wetbench4 wrote: »
    Paddy spec 1.6 Avensis
    51577643.jpg

Focus Ghia
    50673_1421hnJfwyNLa9n4.jpg

FYP;)!
    the Focus you linked to is a facelift US spec Mk1 and was not sold outside of North America, while the Avensis you linked to is a high spec UK car, the bulk of the Irish cars look like the photo above, and all the 1.6s certainly do

I think any objective reader knows which one of those two interiors is nicer:).

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

100hp in a focus is like a 1.4 Avensis.

Couldn't agree with that at all. The 1.6 100bhp engine in a Focus is sweet and willing. 0-60 in 10 and a bit seconds. It's well up to the task.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

FYP;)!
    the Focus you linked to is a facelift US spec Mk1 and was not sold outside of North America, while the Avensis you linked to is a high spec UK car, the bulk of the Irish cars look like the photo above, and all the 1.6s certainly do

I think any objective reader knows which one of those two interiors is nicer:).

And then you go and link a basic spec 1.6 against a top spec Ghia O.o

Edittoyota_avensis_interior_28_01_07.jpg:

That's nicer than the ugly wood of the Focus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Focus all day long.. Those 1.6 Avensis are terrible in every way. A mate of mine had a 95 Corolla drove one for a week and thought it was just as horrible to drive and it was a pig on juice..
    More annoying crap. Your mate had a 95 corolla... what a lovely story.. so what? What's that got to do with anything? I once drove a 95 Escort and I can friggin tell you what I'd like to have done with it.
    1.6 Avensis is terrible in every way? List the ways. It's bigger than the Focus, is that terrible? The engine is reliable and more refined than many of its competitors, too small for the Avensis maybe, but terrible? The interior is bland enough, but the Fords is bland too, cheap plastic with buttons everywhere that actually don't do much at the end of the day. Neither are award winners. The Avensis is comfortable and more refined than the Focus, but if that's what you call terrible, then fair enough.
    I'm not a Toyota fanboy, but this Toyota bashing is very annoying. Especially since you'd swear Ford were Ferrari.
    If the OP wants my advice, I think he should just find a 1.8 petrol new shape Mazda 6.
    But this Focus is fantastic and Avensis is dirt crap is pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    More annoying crap. Your mate had a 95 corolla... what a lovely story.. so what? What's that got to do with anything? I once drove a 95 Escort and I can friggin tell you what I'd like to have done with it.
    1.6 Avensis is terrible in every way? List the ways. It's bigger than the Focus, is that terrible? The engine is reliable and more refined than many of its competitors, too small for the Avensis maybe, but terrible? The interior is bland enough, but the Fords is bland too, cheap plastic with buttons everywhere that actually don't do much at the end of the day. Neither are award winners. The Avensis is comfortable and more refined than the Focus, but if that's what you call terrible, then fair enough.
    I'm not a Toyota fanboy, but this Toyota bashing is very annoying. Especially since you'd swear Ford were Ferrari.
    If the OP wants my advice, I think he should just find a 1.8 petrol new shape Mazda 6.

I never said they were dirt. I do not think they are great though and if I had the choice I would take a Focus with a good spec. I agree with you on buying the 1.8 Mazda though.

Tea 1000 wrote: »

I would have thought that the Mazda 6 petrol , would be pretty heavy on fuel. Hadn't considered them :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

as many on here well know i was on the verge of buying a 05 1.8 mazda 6. but they are mighty thirsty and there has been a flood on donedeal of late. i wouldnt imagine selling one in future would be a fun experience. i decided to stick to the astra and am very glad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

HOWEVER, i can say that the 6 is defo the nicest looking, comfortable and has a nice interior especially on the facelift 06+ models

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

Two very different cars for two very different consumer groups. Focus is the much younger end of the market (hatch in particular) while the Avensis is the "Da's car". I don't particularly like either of them but I know there's a poster on here called "I was VB" who has a 1.6 petrol Avensis with insane mileage on it (300-350,000 miles I think), still on its original engine/gearbox and still putting up 800 miles a week as a taxi. Lets see any Ford do that. In fact I know a couple of Mondeo drivers who are on their second engine after a quarter of that mileage.

I would have thought that the Mazda 6 petrol , would be pretty heavy on fuel. Hadn't considered them :confused:

They're a very nice car (completely underrated by the general public) but they are supposed to be heavy on juice - and they're noisy on the motorway.

I still think they're a great car though - it is yet another car that will be every bit as reliable as any Toyota (actually a Mazda would be even more reliable once you don't buy their in-house 2.0 diesel - which is a complete moneybit) but will be vastly superior to drive and much more satisfying to own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

TheAnswer wrote: »
    Lets see any Ford do that.
    I know a taxi driver who comes in to us. He got a new mondeo in 2009 but he had one before that. About 400000miles on the clock. No bullcrap, same engine etc. It was 2 litre diesel. All depends on how well the car is looked after, the dogs in the street will tell you that.

Plug wrote: »
    I know a taxi driver who comes in to us. He got a new mondeo in 2009 but he had one before that. About 400000miles on the clock. No bullcrap, same engine etc. It was 2 litre diesel. All depends on how well the car is looked after, the dogs in the street will tell you that.

Not many modern diesels around doing that mileage. Probably one of the older Mondeos I would suggest. You are probably right as regards looking after our cars, it is common to find cars in the UK with full service history, here it is quite unusual !!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭TheAnswer

Plug wrote: »

I won't disagree with you but huge miles on diesel engines is not that unusual however this thread is about 1.6 litre petrol engined Focus/Avensis.

TheAnswer wrote: »
    I won't disagree with you but huge miles on diesel engines is not that unusual however this thread is about 1.6 litre petrol engined Focus/Avensis.

Yes that is correct !

On the 1.6 focus, when does the timing belt need to be changed ? car that I am looking at has 110k and has not service history.:confused:

Yes that is correct !

On the 1.6 focus, when does the timing belt need to be changed ? car that I am looking at has 110k and has not service history.:confused:

On the Mk1 Focus, it was every ten years or 100,000 miles (160k km).

I think the 115 PS 1.6 in the Mk2 Focus Ghia has a timing chain though (the regular 100 PS 1.6 and the 1.4 have belts as these engines were carried over from the Mk1 Focus) :confused:?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Yes that is correct !

Hardly a rare car. Would you not try and find one with proof of servicing work? Wont be that hard to find one.

EPM wrote: »
    Hardly a rare car. Would you not try and find one with proof of servicing work? Wont be that hard to find one.

No , indeed not a rare car, however was offered one from a non Ford dealer in pretty good nick without service history for almost 2 grand less than the Ford dealers car (again with limited history):o