Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

young driver classic car insurance

• 12-04-2011 12:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

im 19 and atm i hav a prov licence , i hav 2 years NCB insured as a named driver on my older brother . Iv'e been payin nearly 3 thousand every year .

now i want to get a small 1 litre classic car , starlet boxy etc. they are over 20 years and should be classed as a classic car .

And i'm wondering if i bought a starlet and my father was the registered owner and he has his own (classic insurance & open drive) policy , could i drive the car legally with me not havin an insurance policy ,??

need to find a cheap way of being insured .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

No.

Do it properly like everyone else had/has to. Yes it's expensive, yes everyone knows, and yes everyone has been there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

that would be a very roundabout way of doing things, and even if it were a success, i'm fairly sure that to be covered on somebody else's open drive policy you have to be over 21 and have a full license.

most of the young lads over on toyotaownersclub-irl are getting hammered with insurance costs on 'boxy' starlets. those cars are getting themselves a bad name very quick, and insurance companies are wise to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭kdevitt

gerd22B wrote: »
    they are over 20 years and should be classed as a classic car .

Just because a car is a certain age, that doesn't mean its eligible for a classic policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

you dont have a NCB either you have to have your own policy to rack up NCB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

andyseadog wrote: »
    that would be a very roundabout way of doing things, and even if it were a success, i'm fairly sure that to be covered on somebody else's open drive policy you have to be over 21 and have a full license.

most of the young lads over on toyotaownersclub-irl are getting hammered with insurance costs on 'boxy' starlets. those cars are getting themselves a bad name very quick, and insurance companies are wise to this.

Please explain how exactly they are getting themselves a bad name?

and wise to what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

im 19 and atm i hav a prov licence

passing your test would be your first step to cheaper insurance...
    no reason to have a provisional licence for 2 yrs plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

I think it's at least 25 years before it can be classed as classic and 30 years for vintage before you can qualify for any tax breaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭jippers87

Hiya.

I have a 1988 3series BMW. It is on classic car insurance as most insurance companies wouldn't insure it.

My partner is 41 and is the owner and policy holder but I am not allowed drive it until I am 25 on this type of policy. (I'm 24).

Aviva have since changed their terms and now must insure any age car as long as it has a valid NCT. The insurance for my partner with me as a named driver will be 600€ for the year.

It can be done, just ring around but you won't get on an actual classic car insurance policy, if you know what I mean.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I assume he ways the way that Toyota Twincams have a bed rep.

Could be,but they got a bad rep from diffin and doin rings around the place

boxy starlets are fwd so couldnt seen any of them at that craic,theyre also only 1.0 and 1.3 12v so wont be flyin around the place either..

I think it does have to be over 25 years old,but if thats the case just get and 84,85,or 86 starlet,let us know how ya get on!

Tomebagel wrote: »
    Please explain how exactly they are getting themselves a bad name?

and wise to what?

well 'boxy' starlets (as they are becoming increasingly known), are becoming the car of choice for young lads, and the more young lads that drive them and are involved in a claim with them, the worse a name they will get, in the same way as honda civics and toyota glanzas and golf tdi's before them.

naturally insurance companies are not fools, and they take note of which cars and which drivers are at the most risk hence being wise to 'it', and i'd say coming close to the top of that list are males under 21 with provisional licenses trying to dodge buying a full price policy in 'boxy' starlets. they need to be particularly wary because i'd asume a 1980's starlet has the crash protection qualities of a wet paper bag.

purely refering to it as a boxy says a lot about the owner, most people would just call it a starlet, because thats what it is.

a few examples of boxys

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2045489
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2037547
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2059263

dodgy much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Dear God; is the inability to spell a prerequisite for ownership?

nb. I spellchecked this post...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

OSI wrote: »
    Why would anyone want any of those heaps of sh1t!?

That's a complete and utter can of worms, but it's all down to personal taste and I'm sure we're big enough and bold enough to except.

(And no, I don't own one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Cheap
    Cheap insurance
    Cheap parts
    Cheap on petrol
    Cheap tax
    Cheap to get ready for nct as emission low does not hit them
    Cheap to fix
    Not the worst looking car too.

I would drive one and I am not 17...

I know fella who has monster 320 hp glanza and he is using boxy as daily runaround...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I think usually for open drive, the person driving under it must be over 25, have a full license, not be a direct family member of the policy holder and probably have to have an insurance policy of their own. That's if it's even available with a classic insurance policy?

Insurance companies pay a lot of very clever people an awful lot of money to make sure that there are no loopholes. It's very unlikely that you'll find one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

With Quinn you can drive any car as long as it's not yours, it's taxed and tested and taxed on normal tax ie. not vintage tax.

well 'boxy' starlets (as they are becoming increasingly known), are becoming the car of choice for young lads, and the more young lads that drive them and are involved in a claim with them, the worse a name they will get, in the same way as honda civics and toyota glanzas and golf tdi's before them.

Boxy is a nickname the same as cossie for cosworth,chevy for Chevrolet,rolla for corolla etc etc...Same can be said for most cars driven by young drivers,i know of 2 boxy starlets that have had a small bit of damage done to them in very minor collisions and would only need 100-200 max to be fixed attempted to be written off because insurance companies value them at sweet fcuk all.in both cases the other driver was at fault btw.

naturally insurance companies are not fools, and they take note of which cars and which drivers are at the most risk hence being wise to 'it', and i'd say coming close to the top of that list are males under 21 with provisional licenses trying to dodge buying a full price policy in 'boxy' starlets. they need to be particularly wary because i'd asume a 1980's starlet has the crash protection qualities of a wet paper bag.

Id say its more the age of the car and the age of the driver that have the premiums up so high,young drivers have a hard time insuring anything,even a yaris.

purely refering to it as a boxy says a lot about the owner, most people would just call it a starlet, because thats what it is.

What does it say about the owner?like all cars ya get good ones owned by people who value there cars and not so good ones.

a few examples of boxys

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2045489
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2037547
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2059263

You picked three examples of 'boxys' that have been modified,why bring modifcations into it?The op never mentioned wanting to modify it?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2063075
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2054382
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2051478

dodgy much?

Dodgy in what way?

I see where your coming from but the same can be said with most cars and young drivers.Maybe you just dont like the cars but thats just your opinion.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

With Quinn you can drive any car as long as it's not yours, it's taxed and tested and taxed on normal tax ie. not vintage tax.
    That's '3rd party extension', it lets you drive other people's cars on your own policy. 'Open drive' is a different thing which lets other people drive your car on your policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

cjt156 wrote: »
    Dear God; is the inability to spell a prerequisite for ownership?
    yes, as is a criminal conviction
    because them and e30 bmw's are currently in fashion for 17-19 year old drug dealers
    Cheap
    Cheap insurance - not if anto's and deco's all over the country keep buying them
    Cheap parts - wont argue there
    Cheap on petrol
    Cheap tax
    Cheap to get ready for nct as emission low does not hit them
    Cheap to fix
    Not the worst looking car too. -an opinion of a very small minority

the boxy starlets should all be dead, every single time you see one now it has some yob 'gangsta leaning' all the way into the back seat with limo tinted windows, horrible alloys and half an arm + johnny blue hanging out the window, Im sure there are propper enthusiasts with these , but for the vast majority its now the reserve of drivers nobody wants on the roads

Tomebagel wrote: »
    I see where your coming from but the same can be said with most cars and young drivers.Maybe you just dont like the cars but thats just your opinion.

i agree the same can be said for a lot of cars and drivers.

i own socks and jocks with toyota written on them, i love those little cars, as above they have cheap running costs and easy to repair. but they are beginning to get 'that' image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

passing your test would be your first step to cheaper insurance...
    no reason to have a provisional licence for 2 yrs plus

Jeez, provisional drivers really seem to bother you, don't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

yes, as is a criminal conviction

because them and e30 bmw's are currently in fashion for 17-19 year old drug dealers

the boxy starlets should all be dead, every single time you see one now it has some yob 'gangsta leaning' all the way into the back seat with limo tinted windows, horrible alloys and half an arm + johnny blue hanging out the window, Im sure there are propper enthusiasts with these , but for the vast majority its now the reserve of drivers nobody wants on the roads

That can be said about any car. No one says that about passat, but I have seen loads of then pimped out to stupid level.

Boxy is a great little car. A set of supernovas make it lovely, I would not do anything more to it, but that's ofcourse matter of taste.

What ever anyone will say... They are here almost 20 years, they will be here after anather 20... They will outlast any anther car that came out past 2004.

It's funny how young fellas find a half decent car to get insured, then all "normal" community start brushing all young drivers with same **** brush... Did you all forgot when you were young?

I sow a few of starlets with young fellas driving them, not even one was doing stupid stuff, but someone in the pub, have heard something, then told to "ze Internet", and now we got a bad image on boxy...

This will be always in Ireland:

" young people are ****, and anything they touch turns in to boyracermobile ".

as a general rule with young make drivers in ireland i reckon thats a fairly accurate statement to be fair.

there will always be a few that really do mind their cars, but the vast majority...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Problem is ShadowHearth, the general population can't see the difference between an actual car enthusiast and the boy racer brigade. So once a few idiots tart out cars that look like ones actual enthusiasts own (obvious example - 1.4 civic vs SiR/CTR) and start acting like a twat, driving around towns at 1-4am @5.5k revs in 1st gear with a stupidly loud backbox on - they start giving everyone a bad name.

Funny thing is, all you have to do is look at one of the many irish websites and you'll see them giving out about boyracers too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Jeez, provisional drivers really seem to bother you, don't they?

no, it's just the easiest way to lower your insurance given the circumstances

as a general rule with young make drivers in ireland i reckon thats a fairly accurate statement to be fair.

there will always be a few that really do mind their cars, but the vast majority...

Wouldnt say vast majority,if anything its the minority these days,the standard of car modifications these days has improved 1000 times more then the standard 5+ years ago,aswell as young lads not actin the ****e in cars as much anymore,its all calmed down greatly thanks to all the restrictions these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Andy0892

im 18.. full liecens.. 1 yr ncb n my fathers nameand almost one in my own..
    currently have a civic vti in my own name and was woundering if it is possible to get insured at 18 on a classic car.. as a second car, lik a triumph or camaor.. i no the age limit is 25 but could would i be covered if it was in m fathers name under my quinn deirect open drive (3rd party) policy

also to you man.. i recommend you geta full liecense.. den yu get insured on a small engine piece of crap car with quinn or someone else (IN YOUR OWN NAME) dat will offer you an open drive policy..( this shouldnt be too expensive because of ur named driver ncb) den insure d starlet in ur dads name.. you wont even have to go as a named driver but you cant use ur dads NCB.. it will work out at about 800 plus mayb 1800 to get insured on a 1lt piece a crap car.. its d only loop whole that i no of.. but the 1800 will drop alot faster for every yeary ncb you have in your own name..

a starlet is alot to insure because its become 'a boyracer car'.. theres alot of bad drivers driving them... its not fair on the rest of us..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Andy0892 wrote: »
    currently have a civic vti in my own name and was woundering if it is possible to get insured at 18 on a classic car.. as a second car, lik a triumph or camaor.. i no the age limit is 25 but could would i be covered if it was in m fathers name under my quinn deirect open drive (3rd party) policy

also to you man.. i recommend you geta full liecense.. den yu get insured on a small engine piece of crap car with quinn or someone else (IN YOUR OWN NAME) dat will offer you an open drive policy..( this shouldnt be too expensive because of ur named driver ncb) den insure d starlet in ur dads name.. you wont even have to go as a named driver but you cant use ur dads NCB.. it will work out at about 800 plus mayb 1800 to get insured on a 1lt piece a crap car.. its d only loop whole that i no of.. but the 1800 will drop alot faster for every yeary ncb you have in your own name..

a starlet is alot to insure because its become 'a boyracer car'.. theres alot of bad drivers driving them... its not fair on the rest of us..

Translation:
    I'm 18.. full license.. 1 yr NCB in my Father's name and almost one in my own.

I currently have a Civic VTI in my own name and was wondering if it is possible to get insured at 18 on a classic car.. as a second car? Like a Triumph or a Camaro.. I know the age limit is 25 but could would I be covered if it was in my Fathers name under my Quinn Direct open drive (3rd party) policy.

Also to you man.. I recommend you get a full license.. then you get insured on a small engine piece of crap car with Quinn or someone else (IN YOUR OWN NAME) that will offer you an open drive policy..( this shouldn't be too expensive because of your named driver NCB) then insure the starlet in your dads name.. you wont even have to go as a named driver but you can't use your dads NCB.. it will work out at about 800 plus maybe 1800 to get insured on a 1lt piece a crap car.. its d only loop whole that I know of.. but the 1800 will drop alot faster for every years ncb you have in your own name..

a starlet is alot to insure because its become 'a boyracer car'.. there's alot of bad drivers driving them... its not fair on the rest of us..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Andy0892 wrote: »

Hi Andy,

Please don't use text speak. Have a read of the Charter before posting again.

Thanks,

Chris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

Just get a proper GT Turbo and be done with it much better car boxys are rotten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Doylers

How do all these "boyracers" afford to burn petrol, Im 19 with a full licence for 2 years and my insurance is 900 named on my fathers policy. I drive close to the limit around town and with bloody low reves to save petrol :D Not all young fellas can afford to drive like a dope.

Have a 2000, 1.25 fiesta mk5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

And i'm wondering if i bought a starlet and my father was the registered owner and he has his own (classic insurance & open drive) policy , could i drive the car legally with me not havin an insurance policy ,??
    If caught without insurance you'll most likely face jail time and a driving ban lasting a few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

im 19 and atm i hav a prov licence , i hav 2 years NCB insured as a named driver on my older brother . Iv'e been payin nearly 3 thousand every year .

now i want to get a small 1 litre classic car , starlet boxy etc. they are over 20 years and should be classed as a classic car .

Right, I've just read three pages of abuse and bickering with precious little information contained therein, welcome to the motoring section, high horses please to be tied outside the door.
    Here's the facts.
    Yes, pleased try to pass your test and maybe even do an advanced driving course since this will indeed lower your costs.
    If your dad is the owner and registered main driver but you will be mainly driving the car, this could lead to problems in case of a claim.
    The age of the car for insurance purposes is not the only relevant factor, it's a bit subjective on the part of the insurance companies.
    It's only relevant for road tax, 30 years and it's tax and NCT exempt.
    However, if you drive a classic car, you must have the use of another vehicle as your full time car, with the classic only for occasional use.
    Also, most classic policies have mileage restrictions.
    Classic car insurance is not a practical proposition for an every day car.
    You could be insured under your dads policy on your own car until you can get a better deal for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭lav1

i have a classic policy and i think your clutching at straws tbh, but everyone does when starting out.
    taken from my own experience on classic policies;

the policy holder must be at least 25 with a full license.
    have another car policy for there everyday car.
    the classic car must be at least 20yrs old.
    open drive will not cover prov license drivers, definitely not 17yr old prov drivers.
    ALL cars registerd in this country after 1980 and over ten years old will need a yearly nct.
    the car will only quailify for vintage tax when it reaches 30yrs old.

as said already the first thing you should do is pass your test, then and if you father will insure a classic you could try to be put on his policy BUT the classic car should not be used as an everyday car hence the smaller insurance rate for classics.

hope this helps.