Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsene Wenger

• 11-04-2011 10:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what Arsenal fans and football fans in general think about him..

He's obviously been a fantastic manager for them but has he gone as far as he can? After his comments saying he's take 2nd and being successful isn't about winning trophies, is it time Arsenal changed manager? People say he has a great transfer record but in my opinion with the exception of Vermaleen (sp?) he's spent really poorly last few seasons. Arshavin, Koscielney, Squillaci have all failed to justify their transfer fees. IMO he's far too stubborn to lead Arsenal to anymore success... Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

He and Fabregas are keeping Arsenal from slipping down the table IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭bookie basher

who can you realistically get that is better than wenger?, he should only be replaced if the incoming manager is better than him and i dont think there's anyone better than him available, forget mourinho because he's not going to manage arsenal, arsenal are lucky to have such a talented manager when you see managers like mancini & benitez doing such bad jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Name me someone who can do what he does with the resources he has. Anyone at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

I like it when he smiles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheTosh

PHB wrote: »
    Name me someone who can do what he does with the resources he has. Anyone at all?

Hodgeson of course:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

This. He does phenomenally well on an extremely small budget (comparatively).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Great manager
    Koscielny was a good buy i think
    do Arsenal have the money to spend though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I like it when he smiles

I never saw him smile.

I'll have to watch some replays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭eugeneious

Well how much resources does he have? You don't build a big fancy new stadium unless you have a bit of cash and considering they charge fans the highest prices for tickets in the PL then I would say he does have resources and I would say the £34m spent on Arshavin, Squllaci and Koscielney could have been spent a lot better. I just think from a non-Arsenal fan perspective that Arsenal should think about a change with someone like Boas, Klopp, Loew
    who can come in after the take over and inject some new ideas into the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭revz

As an Arsenal fan,

He is God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Not fond of the guy from a personality pov but I'm sure many gunners would say same of Fergie. Credit where credit is due he's one of the best managers in the world and if Arsenal didn't have him they would struggle to stay in the top 4 IMO.

Also something people seem to be forgetting he could still win the league this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭Paleface

He is doing the best with the resources available to him. In fact I think he's over achieving when you look at what other managers\clubs have spent and what they have achieved in relation to that.

The trophy cabinet has been a bit bare of late but at least the club has remained competitive.

The money has not been there due to moving to the new stadium and he saw this was coming so adjusted the club's transfer policy to focus on youth instead. Great foresight in fairness to him and it leaves the club in prime position to exploit Uefa's financial fair play rules when they come into effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

He's a fantastic manager and they'll be worse off when he eventually goes IMO.

However, I would like to see him go out and spend big money on a top, experienced CB, CM, winger and striker. They don't need a goalkeeper so much as Sczencey is very good IMO, so perhaps an experienced back up.

Arsenal are a big draw and could attract the same players that Manchester United, Chelsea etc get and he's continually told the money's there to spend if he wants it. I can understand why he's reluctant to spend big, but he tried to sign Reina for big money in the summer so perhaps he's coming round to the idea?

If he went out and bought players who would add experience and/or steel to the side, for example, Lucio, Tiote, Snedjier, Navas and someone like Eto'o I think they'd be much better off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭eugeneious

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Not fond of the guy from a personality pov but I'm sure many gunners would say same of Fergie. Credit where credit is due he's one of the best managers in the world and if Arsenal didn't have him they would struggle to stay in the top 4 IMO.

Also something people seem to be forgetting he could still win the league this year.

But do you not think if they had a less stubborn manager who would be willing to go and spend a bit of money (I find it hard to believe he hasn't got any to spend) on a goalie and a centre back. I don't doubt his talent for one minute but I think He needs to realise when he is wrong and accept the fact that unless he solves the gaping hole at the back he's not going to win anything. It seems as though he's intent with sticking with the side he has built so considering they haven't won anything or are likely to this season has he taken them as far as possible? I think maybe he has... but thats IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

The man is a top quality manager!
    If he is given a bit of cash to spend he'll make Arsenal title winners again imo. Will he get the cash though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

TBH i am running out of patience with Mr Wenger and im an avid gooner since 1989.
    I dont buy into this argument that we would struggle without him.No one is irreplaceable anymore and there are plenty of good managers out there.
    I hate using man utd as an example but fergie is a fantastic motivator who is getting the best out of a very ordinary side compared to the treble winning side of 1999.
    I dont think we have the mentality in our team at the moment and half the squad look like they dont want to be there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Favourite manager of the Premier League era. All the time in the world for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

eugeneious wrote: »
    People say he has a great transfer record but in my opinion with the exception of Vermaleen (sp?) he's spent really poorly last few seasons. Arshavin, Koscielney, Squillaci have all failed to justify their transfer fees.

Arshavin - Had a great first half season. Faded off now and has been poor this season I agree, but I wouldn't say he's failed to justify his transfer fee.

Koscielny - Was never meant to play as much as he did. He was supposed to share the position of partnering Vermaelen with Djourou and Squillaci. When TV got injured he was thrust into a starting position and has done pretty damn well for someone in his first season in England.

Squillaci - Was bought for ~5M and was only ever supposed to be cover. He's not been great but in some quarters has been scapegoated purely for the fans need of a scapegoat. If he cost more than he did then I'd agree but Wenger probably could have done better. anything was an upgrade on Silvestre though.

This. There's no-one out there that I'd like to take over from Wenger atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Last trophy for Arsenal is when again? Flawed genius imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Mister men wrote: »
    Last trophy for Arsenal is when again? Flawed genius imo.

That was partly the price for building the Emirates which will be a fitting testament to the man when he finally does leave. I don't want him to go just yet, but I'm getting to the point where I believe he may have had enough. When he does go the club will be in a fantastic position for whoever takes over. I hope they don't mess up.

And with regards to the "bad" signings at centre back - the defence has recieved a lot of stick this year and some of it is justified but they have conceded less goals than United in the league this year without their recognised no 1 centre back for all of it - that's not bad going tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Wenger is a great manager, I love the way his teams play the game, i'd be surprise if anyone doesn't.

I do think he should have purchased another quality player or two if he really had the funds to do so , a keeper would be first on my list.

Overall on his watch Arsenal have built a new stadium and continued to be competitive without any sugar daddy investing million, he deserves huge credit for that.

He has earned my grudging admiration.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

He still has my backing, and even if he ever loses it he'll always have my gratitude and respect. Even in the last few trophyless years he's done a fantastic job to keep the club competitive on a shoestring, but it can't go on in the same manner indefinitely. One of the things about this takeover is it highlighting again how much cash Arsenal have built up - close to a £100m reserve is reported to be available. Wenger gives Arsenal a brilliant squad base at relatively little expense but when there is significant cash available and he refuses to use it to apply the final touches, it is negligent.

I know he has the best interests of the club at heart - some managers are only concerned with their own reputation and will spend recklessly as they won't be left to pick up the tab. That is part of what makes him so special, but being relentlessly prudent can only get you so far. Winning trophies isn't just a vanity thing. It generates money, both immediately and in the long term, and if Arsenal continue to miss out, how many 20 year olds are going to be Arsenal fans in 2030?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I think the takeover will help Wenger immensely. He's very shrewd in the transfer market. I'm not sure if that's to do with there being little money available or not but with this takeover seemingly imminent, he should be given free reign to splash the cash.

Might succumb to a bit of pressure to deliver a trophy next season though if is given a "war chest".

He's got good staff and has Arsenal playing some great stuff. Ok, certain decisions may not have gone their way this year but they're not the only club that has had bad decisions go against them.

One flaw I have with him is that he seems to blame everybody else bar the players after games when they lose which is the wrong thing to do.

The sooner he lays into the players, the better the team will be for it.

Great manager, no question and I've always rated him.

I don't question the style of football at all because when it's good, it's very good. A couple of new players in key areas and they'll be a formidable force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

i think he will always protect/defend the players when he is in front of the media. Not sure he'd be so indulgent on the training ground or behind close doors. For example, when Diaby dallied in the penalty area on Sunday and had the ball taken from his feet when he should have scored, you could see Wenger's frustration with the player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

He's a great manager and his philosophy is to be admired, but it also has its limits. He intends to adopt the Barcelona model of having a team rise up through the youth ranks playing together, playing the same style as the first year. His problem is that when he cashes in on his star players (Henry, Adebayor, Toure), there are seldom ready-made replacements to take their place, and he seems reluctant or unable to spend the money required to get in the players of similar quality and experience.

It works at Barcelona, because they didn't have to sell Xavi, Iniesta, Puyol once they became great players, and because when they see a player who they need, they are willing and able to spend big to get them (Alves, Villa). Arsenal have to rely almost exclusively on kids, or on second-tier signings from Europe.

It's also important to note that Arsene enjoyed his success with a team of players he brought to the club while they were at or approaching their peak. For all he's associated with developing youth, he hasn't actually won anything of note with a team developed from the youth ranks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

The only real question over Wenger is whether or not he actually has resources and isn't using them or doesn't have resources and is just toeing the party line. Funnily enough, it's the exact same question hanging over Fergie.

I think in both cases, both are severely hamstrung by finances, United for the debt and Arsenal for the stadium, but if they saw a player they really really wanted for 30 million, they could buy them, but are aware that they won't be able to do it multiple times, so are very cautious in terms of spending money.

The only real question over Wenger is whether or not he actually has resources and isn't using them or doesn't have resources and is just toeing the party line. Funnily enough, it's the exact same question hanging over Fergie.

As of the AST AGM last night it is 100% confirmed that there is £35M sitting in an account put aside solely for transfers from the sales of Adebayor and Toure that hasn't been touched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Win nothing in five years? I could name a few

Yes I applaud his style and the way he doesnt spend big but at what point does it need a change ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Yes I applaud his style and the way he doesnt spend big but at what point does it need a change ?

Get into the CL without fail, how about that? Also the domestic cup runs are nice money-spinners which I didn't realise til recently, think they generate a couple of million per match so replays aren't the worst. :pac:

No. What other manager could keep us, if not challenging for the title, at least guaranteeing a Champions League place every years as well as always making it out of the group and getting to on average the QF all the while not adding to the debt taken on by the club through a move to a new stadium?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭ClareVisitor

He's excellent and he's been overachieving with the restrictions he's had placed on him with the stadium move.

It remains to be seen what will happen transfer budget wise with the Kroenke takeover, but if possible I would like to see him move a little from the building through youth phase of recent years to buying a few established "stars". He would probably need to get more than one this Summer to kick-start it and could then augment the wider squad from the youth academy which is starting to pay dividends (as predicted by the man himself years ago when he said it would take at least ten years to bring the required level of player through the academy after taking over). After this Summer the club should be able to afford one or two top quality players per season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Frisbee wrote: »
    As of the AST AGM last night it is 100% confirmed that there is £35M sitting in an account put aside solely for transfers from the sales of Adebayor and Toure that hasn't been touched.

He should have spent that on a decent centre back and goalkeeper last summer instead of bringing in Koscielny/Squillaci and nobody.

However once that money is gone it's gone, and it's not like it's a vastly huge some of money these days. You can understand why he's somewhat reluctant to go out and spend it, if he gets it wrong he can't just buy a replacement like many of the other top clubs do. David Luiz, looks a good buy, but he was £23m. If he doesn't work out Chelsea can just go and get someone else. Wenger doesn't have that luxury.

People sometimes forget the most Arsenal have ever spent on a player is Arshavin and that was about £16m. £16m is nothing today, teams like Villa and Sunderland are dropping that kind of money without thought.

Class manager.

The fickle football fan should look at the bigger picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭Paleface

Here is an interview with David Dein around the time of Arsene's 60th birthday back in 2009 which gives an insight into Wenger the man. I personally found it very interesting!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/arsenal/8320606.stm

He reckons Wenger will be an impossible act to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I've great time for Wenger and Arsenal will benefit alot from their takeover, the financial fair play rules and renegotiating their shirt sponsorship next year. It probably put more pressure on Wenger to bring in some silverware and more scrutiny will be on his philosophy and his achievements if he doesnt tweak how he does things.
    That_Guy wrote: »
    One flaw I have with him is that he seems to blame everybody else bar the players after games when they lose which is the wrong thing to do.

The sooner he lays into the players, the better the team will be for it.
    His problem is that when he cashes in on his star players (Henry, Adebayor, Toure), there are seldom ready-made replacements to take their place, and he seems reluctant or unable to spend the money required to get in the players of similar quality and experience.

It works at Barcelona, because they didn't have to sell Xavi, Iniesta, Puyol once they became great players, and because when they see a player who they need, they are willing and able to spend big to get them (Alves, Villa).

I think the lads have hit the nail on the head with their criticisms and the problem is that Wenger doesnt look like he's going to change his thinking on those two points.

Another problem is that a 'hoodoo' has built up in the absence of winning silverware and the players seem to choke when they get close to breaking their duck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Arsenal's style of play seems to have gone to his head. People forget that his sides used to be the dirtiest in the league. People give out about Ferguson (rightly so) but Wenger is also arrogant and a terrible loser. It takes a certain kind of scum to behave towards Bobby Robson the way he did a few years ago. How many times do we see him throw the toys out of the pram and refuse to shake hands with other managers?

I love the style of play he has brought to the league. He is one of my favourite managers, but as a person he needs to cop the fuck on. Also, five years without a trophy isnt good enough at a club like Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

As a United fan I wouldnt like to see Wenger leave the EPL. I think he is a superb coach that has his faults (dont they all), but overall I think he has done magnificantly.

Arsenal have an amazing new stadium, less debt then most clubs (even after building it) and look in the best position financially to flourish in the future.

Football fans are ridiculously fickle, but the same can be said for chairman. I refer to Hull, Aston Villa and Charlton. All clubs that lost/sacked their managers when the clubs were doing well but the chairman/fans were getting too greedy and couldnt see the great work their managers were doing.

As I said Wenger has his faults, but the only managers I would want to replace Sir Alex are him and Mourhino. At least if United werent winning , we would be awesome to watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Mancini:D
    He's a great manager and his philosophy is to be admired, but it also has its limits. He intends to adopt the Barcelona model of having a team rise up through the youth ranks playing together, playing the same style as the first year. His problem is that when he cashes in on his star players (Henry, Adebayor, Toure), there are seldom ready-made replacements to take their place, and he seems reluctant or unable to spend the money required to get in the players of similar quality and experience.

This is the difference between Wenger and Man Utd, Chelsea and Man City. If he wants to buy a Nasri or any expensive player he needs to cash in on one of his other gems (Anelka, Overmars, Adebayor, Vieira, Hleb, Henry)

He always had to sell before he buys and when your up against possible the three richest clubs in the world its going to be difficult to beat them.

Man Utd were able to spend 50 million on Veron and Berbatov without a problem same for Chelsea and Man City.

That's how Arsenal break even every season while their rivals post record losses.