Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Defection and Marriage - Posted in Christianity but locked. Help?

• 11-04-2011 4:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

I'm a little annoyed because the Mammy filled out the Census last night and put me down as a Roman Catholic, despite me telling her days in advance not to do so. "Didn't I have you baptised? Didn't you make your confirmation?," - the bleedin' hag.

Now I went on a very serious googling frenzy and found the best route for getting out of this shambolic religion( for what it is worth, each and every religion is a sham ) but found myself pausing and thinking about the future. I would like to marry in the future, will my defection from the religion put a stop to that? Will I have to become a Christian again, before they will allow me marry?

The original thread is here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=71643633&utm_source=notification&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=notify#post71643633

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

You don't have to be in a church to get married. Leave it, and have a civil service if that is your wish. Or, just do like rest of the country goes. Don't attend mass and then become a non-practicing catholic for funerals, weddings and the rest of the craic.

Actually slightly off topic, come to think of it - If you die, where do atheists get buried? an we be buried on a religious plot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

As said you don't need to marry in a Church and why would you unless your OH is Catholic? Then I think it's ok?

But I don't think you can defect anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Now that I'v gotten a little wiser and a little less rebel rebel.. I think being a non practicing christian is the way to go.

Personally, I want my body salvaged for what it's worth. After that my surviving family can do what they like with it. If it were up to me.. meh? I don't care. When I'm dead, I'm dead. But I know others in my family would want me buried 'properly'.

The OH is a Catholic. She like me, is not a practicing christian. But I know for a fact that she would like to marry 'properly'.

It's not proper unless it's a legal marriage which can be done anywhere and doesn't involve a priest

When I say proper I mean - wedding bells, the aisle etc etc. If I suggested to the OH we go to an office, sign some forms and that's it, she'd leave me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Yeah, I think just suck it up for a day and give her the church wedding. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

When I say proper I mean - wedding bells, the aisle etc etc. If I suggested to the OH we go to an office, sign some forms and that's it, she'd leave me :)
    There are other options. A friend of mine got married by a registrar on a converted farm/brewery in Spain. It was a beautiful setting: they exchanged vows in a sun-soaked courtyard surrounded by some very attractive old buildings. I've read at least one punter on here mention getting married in a disused church (or rather, an old church not now used for religious ceremonies - presumably it was used for something for it to be in decent shape). Humanist Ireland seem to facilitate things like this. The key point is that you can have any ceremony you like - the Catholic marriage is not legally binding either until you sign the civil forms afterwards.

I think, mikhail my good friend - you have just planted a seed. I can almost guarantee you that's the route we will go when the time comes.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,182 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

anyway, the thread is moot - you can't commit apostasy any more.

Yeah. Shít buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I'm a little annoyed because the Mammy filled out the Census last night and put me down as a Roman Catholic, despite me telling her days in advance not to do so. "Didn't I have you baptised? Didn't you make your confirmation?," - the bleedin' hag.

This sounds infuriating.

I just put a big fat mark through the no religion box. Nice, clean and simple. Felt great.

And yes I'm a few hours late, so sue me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Its the problem with being a heathen, when the marriage thing comes along you have to either suck it up for everyone else and be a hypocrite or stand by your morals and be shot down for it. two friends of mine annoucned at the weekend theyre getting married in the next 12 months but it'll be non church wedding, they're sticking to their guns no matter how much stink the families kick up, and fair play to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

It's strange that most people seem to think Christianity invented marriage...
    FFS, neanderthals even appear to have had a form of marriage going on and you can bet they weren't Catholics!

Galvasean wrote: »

:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭liamw

Galvasean wrote: »
    FFS, neanderthals even appear to have had a form of marriage going on and you can bet they weren't Catholics!

Interesting...
    The very earliest marriage certificate that we have was found in a bundle of Aramaic papyri, some 2,500 years old. It was found in the ruins of a Jewish Garrison, that had been stationed at Elephantine in Egypt. It's more of a "contract" than a "marriage certificate", as it documents that the groom landed himself a healthy 14 year-old girl bride in exchange for six cows.

http://www.abc.net.au/science/articles/2000/10/26/204128.htm?site=science/greatmomentsinscience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

The Catholic church seems to be trying to weed out this sort of behavior, pretending to be Catholic just to use the Catholic church for your wedding, so you might want to have a talk to her about this.

Ironically the priest would probably respect you more if you just said I'm an atheist.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

TangyZizzle, just FYI, check out point 5 of the Charter.

Not questioning moderation decisions, merely pointing out that I tried the thread in that forum and was advised to start it here.

edit: Oh, I read too fast. No discussion whatsoever? My bad. Apologies.