Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enniscorthy Strawberry Half Marathon 26/6/2011

• 11-04-2011 2:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭

Course
    Race website
    Last years thread including poll results

It's 11 weeks away until the Strawberry Half Marathon in Enniscorthy. There will also be a 5-mile race and a 15km walk on the day.

Is anyone else here running it, or has anyone here ran it before?

Signed up:
    Micilin Muc

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 13 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    100%
    bazmanOryxDigiJemSlogger JoggermenoscemodonothoponpopRAL3MisterDrakkandikaneRaighnePolly_12dev123My Sport 13 votes
    3 stars (average)
    0%
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

4 stars (good)
    Ran it last year. A great event. The organisers, Jane and Graham Porter, always put on rewarding events, race-wise and socially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Paced this last yr. Great run with plenty of strawberrys after it. Very competitive race so plenty of runners in it. PB potential as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

This was the first half I ever did, last year, and I really enjoyed it, helped along by the pacing of RQ and GHOGH. It's a nice course, takes in some lovely countryside. I'll be back to do it again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Are there many hills on the route? Has anybody here got a link to their run on Garmin from last year?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

RubyK wrote: »
    This was the first half I ever did, last year, and I really enjoyed it, helped along by the pacing of RQ and GHOGH. It's a nice course, takes in some lovely countryside. I'll be back to do it again this year.

Our pacing? You fecked off on 10 miles and disappeared into the distance. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Pacers this year maybe?
    Someone sort it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Raighne

4 stars (good)
    Are there many hills on the route? Has anybody here got a link to their run on Garmin from last year?

It's not particularly hilly, few bumps on the first 10k but not a slow course in my book.

Link here: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/38380175

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

4 stars (good)

I was just wondering if the pacing groups have been arranged for the Enniscorthy half and if so what will be the group times i.e.

1:30, 1:45 and 2:00

versus

1:30, 1:40, 1:50 and 2:00

What would be the typical pacing times for a half?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

4 stars (good)
    dev123 wrote: »

I was just wondering if the pacing groups have been arranged for the Enniscorthy half and if so what will be the group times i.e.

1:30, 1:45 and 2:00

versus

1:30, 1:40, 1:50 and 2:00

What would be the typical pacing times for a half?

I helped organize the pacers for last year- haven't been in contact with the organizers this year, so don't know if there are pacers or not. Your best bet is to contact them via their website.

4 stars (good)
    Will do

4 stars (good)
    The power of Boards...;)

The RD phoned me, they are looking to have pacers again this year. Two for each time band (pacers for 1:30, 1:45, 2:00). Pacer gets free entry and free entry for a mate, and whatever goodies are going. And two balloons:)

This was a very well organized race last year, I'd imagine that it will have even larger crowds from last years positive word-of-mouth, so pacers will have their work cut out for them. I'll start a thread over on the (private) pacers forum if anyone is interested in pacing. PM me if you want access to that forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭fitness fan

Good man I saw you in action last year , a job very well done sir.
    A very well organised race last year, one of the better ones on the calender ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I think i might have a stab at this, the dates suit me even if i'll be working until 5 am the night before !

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

4 stars (good)
    Am signed up for this (in spite of not really running much right now) did it last year and tho it wasn't one of my best running days its a great race. I still have my mug. :) Its a little bumpy in places but flat for the last 3 miles.

Looking forward to meeting a few fellow boardsies on the day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭deisecelt

Hows it goin, doin this as my first half. Hopefully ill finish it. Anyway just lookin for accom in enniscorthy that night. Its lookin like €70 in the riverside hotel for a single room is the cheapest ill get, anyone know of anything cheaper than that? Maybe a b n b or somethin.... Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ac20

deisecelt wrote: »
    Hows it goin, doin this as my first half. Hopefully ill finish it. Anyway just lookin for accom in enniscorthy that night. Its lookin like €70 in the riverside hotel for a single room is the cheapest ill get, anyone know of anything cheaper than that? Maybe a b n b or somethin.... Cheers.

You could try Treacys Hotel for €59.00 for the same night, I stayed there a few years back and it was a decent place. As you come into town from Dublin direction its just accross the bridge.

Oryx wrote: »
    Am signed up for this (in spite of not really running much right now) did it last year and tho it wasn't one of my best running days its a great race. I still have my mug. :) Its a little bumpy in places but flat for the last 3 miles.

Looking forward to meeting a few fellow boardsies on the day :)

I'll pace the 4 hr group:D

Does anyone know when the closing date to register is, i can't see it on the website ?

4 stars (good)
    Hi Elvis,

I contacted the race organisers regarding the closing date and I got this reply:

It will be possible to register in person on Fri 24th, Sat 25th and up =
    to 9am on the morning of the race. Online registration will close on Fri =
    24th.
    All the best,
    Jane and Graham

Hope this helps

Thats perfect,

Going to up the mileage over the next 2 weeks and want to see how my lower legs hold out.

4 stars (good)
    Just wondering if the pacers have been arranged for this on Sunday week?

Thanks,
    dev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Yes 1.30 1.45 and 2 hour ones.
    I paced 1.30 last year and myself and a mate are doing it again this year.
    Found the last 3 miles fast last year so if a little behind after 10 miles you are still on for it. A couple of hilly miles that wont be run at 90 min half pace.

4 stars (good)
    See you there VR. Pacing 1:45 myself. Almost sorry I'm not 'racing' it, but others need the opportunity :-)

4 stars (good)
    Thanks VR and SJ,

While both of ye will be clipping along at 1.30 and 1.45 I will be behind ye tryin to break 1.55.

I would know most of the route and I'm glad to hear that the last few miles back into town are fast.

From mapmyrun it looks like the bridge at Edermine is at around 9miles and then we turn back towards town.

The only issue I will have, which is hopefully a mental one, is the long straight all the way back in by the mental hospital. Having driven the road many times there are not a lot of distractions to keep the mind busy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Mr Marri

Signed up for the 5 miler, it's my only race of the year, so I'm hoping for a fast time* I wish it was this Sunday as weather looks perfect and I'm itching to get it out of the way.

* you listening weather gods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Mr Marri

Just looked at the long term weather forecast on windguru, dry, calm and sunny :D.

So what's everybodies plan for the week? I'll be hanging up my runners after training on friday, resting on saturday, before the big day on sunday. Also thinking of cutting back on the pies for the week in the hope of sheding a kilo :o. It's just a pitty it's not a down hill race.

4 stars (good)
    I havent trained for it and its too late now! My garmin is still broken so pacing will be tricky. But will turn up and see how far off my previous form I am. It will be a training run with a medal at the end. Glad the weather should be ok. Tis the only upside for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Nialloooo

last 3 miles killed me last year, long and gental slop and had it spent, but finished well and the h2o stations were perfect, going to run sunday as apost to race and enjoy the event and the saw doctors afterwards, best of luck to all running,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

4 stars (good)
    Anyone doing this as day trip from Dublin and interested in car pool?

4 stars (good)
    Its so easy to forget how many hills are in this race. :) Well organised as usual even if the tshirts are a bit cheap this year. The medal is a nice touch. Said hi to slogger even tho he hadn't a clue who I was. :) Think the 1.45 pacers had a falling out they were half a k apart at one stage. But kept em in sight. Almost. Well done to all involved.

4 stars (good)
    Very well organized race, no hassle with parking, turn up and register, loads of marshalls, bottled water- it's a great race from the Porters. What hills?;)
    Think the 1.45 pacers had a falling out they were half a k apart at one stage.

I ended up on 1:45 pacer duty with Slogger Jogger. There was a huge group with us, far more than when I paced it last year (about 70-80 after three miles). By 8 or 9 miles, there was still a core, but more strung out. I remembered from last year that many runners died on the last three miles from home, so told a few that I was going to push on a bit along the motorway. That way we had a large group between us. Several went on to get 1:43ish, and I slowed up while SJ caught me, and we brought quite a few over the line before cut-off (although one too few it seems:)). I'll wait to compare the 1:45 times from last year, but I think it worked better than two pacers running along the long final stretch together.

4 stars (good)
    Thought that was you. :) I recognised the motivational commentary you had goin the whole time. I knew I'd never stay with ya, glad to get as close as I did.

4 stars (good)
    Thought that was you. :) I recognised the motivational commentary you had goin the whole time. I knew I'd never stay with ya, glad to get as close as I did.

When you said you'd be running slow, I figured you were aiming for 2hrs+. Had I known you were right behind, I'd have delivered some of that "motivational commentary" and got you under 1:45:D

Great time all the same, given no long runs and the heat. You should be well pleased with how you ran.

4 stars (good)
    Nah I did the best I could hope for :) If I had any hope of catching you I woulda done! Good job on the pacing. Even tho from my perspective it was too fast. :)

4 stars (good)
    bazman wrote: »
    Anyone doing this as day trip from Dublin and interested in car pool?

I'd say that was one cheery car pool back to Dublin. Fair play on the win, and the course record against stiff opposition to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭DigiJem

4 stars (good)
    A really well organised and supported race. A very scenic route, and a nice t-shirt & medal as well. Nothing to fault really.

4 stars (good)
    I'd say that was one cheery car pool back to Dublin. Fair play on the win, and the course record against stiff opposition to boot.

Ended up driving myself - I was singing to myself all the way home :) One of my best runs ever - 68:04 on a tough course. Undulating all the way, with 4 very hilly kms - #4,10,13,19. Would like to get feedback from others, but reckon it's at least a minute slower than flat course.

Great scalp for me, but in fairness Sergiu is only 3 weeks after Cork marathon. I got a gap at 8km, so impressed with Sergiu for being so close at finish - any weakness and I would have been toast!

Great organisation - I could find nothing to fault - congrats to Jane & Graham.

4 stars (good)
    Results: http://www.redtagtiming.com/
    Even got text with my time - great stuff. My splits: 3:10,3:15,3:15,3:26,3:16,3:17,3:16,3:08,3:10,3:25,3:03,3:09,3:25,3:04,3:10,3:17,3:12,3:15,3:22,3:15,3:03,0:12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

4 stars (good)
    Even got text with my time - great stuff. My splits: 3:10,3:15,3:15,3:26,3:16,3:17,3:16,3:08,3:10,3:25,3:03,3:09,3:25,3:04,3:10,3:17,3:12,3:15,3:22,3:15,3:03,0:12

Brilliant performance - congratulations

4 stars (good)
    Well done Barry, cracking run.

Another great event. Looking forward to next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Well done Barry. Hopefully things will keep going well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Great scalp for me, but in fairness Sergiu is only 3 weeks after Cork marathon. I got a gap at 8km, so impressed with Sergiu for being so close at finish - any weakness and I would have been toast!

Great organisation - I could find nothing to fault - congrats to Jane & Graham.

Pretty consistent running from Sergiu. 3 seconds quicker than last year!

Great time Barry. Were you running with the record in sight or were you just trying to stay ahead of Sergiu. Did you try to open a gap at 8k or did he fall (ever so slightly) off the pace?

Is that a PB for you?

4 stars (good)
    Pretty consistent running from Sergiu. 3 seconds quicker than last year!

Great time Barry. Were you running with the record in sight or were you just trying to stay ahead of Sergiu. Did you try to open a gap at 8k or did he fall (ever so slightly) off the pace?

Is that a PB for you?

PB, yes :) Knew I was in shape, but I even surprised myself. Had the eye on the clock alright - knew the record bonus going into race, so I'd be lying if I said it wasn't on my mind :) I simply ran as hard as I could throughout - was conservative for first 8km, but once I opened gap I just pushed all the way home - didn't save myself - was prepared to blow, but thankfully it didn't happen ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

Well done bazman, thats great running, sets up a nice battle for the Dublin marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭In the Woods

Had a crap race. The hills killed me and the 3 months off injured really showed. At least it gives me a good idea of where I'm at in relation to starting training for Berlin. I'd probably do it again, the course (although hilly) was nice and there was a real nice atmosphere before and after.

Big thanks to the Galtee Runners (bib 241) bloke who got me going and kept me going around miles 9 / 10 when I'd stopped (again). Just showed me that it was as much a lack of mental toughness as lack of endurance and speed training. Really appreciated the encouragement.

Despite my moaning, I still pb'd, but race times around Jan / Feb would have led me to believe that another 4-5 mins would have been possible. Just need to get back to that level and give the National half marathon a shot.

Thanks to all the volunteers and families and friends out marshalling and cheering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

4 stars (good)
    Great race again this year, super organisation and perfect weather on the day.

Pretty happy with the time of 1:37:28, was reflective of the effort level put in.

Ran with a Girl for last 3 miles, and pushed her hard. Just checked results she got 10 place... Well done to her...

Ill be back again next year...

Also well done to Bazman on the win !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Middle Distance

Anyone got any results from yesterday's half marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Formosa

Anyone got any results from yesterday's half marathon.

http://www.redtagtiming.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Raighne

4 stars (good)
    www.actionphotography.ie have the main photo set up as well.

Great event once again from the Porters, let's hope this half-marathon has a long future on the fixture list and keeps growing the numbers. On a good day (like last year) the hills were barely noticeable, on a tough day (like yesterday) you'd know they were there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Good selection of photos - plus some of my own - now on Racepix.com.