Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A book with blank pages becomes a best seller

• 10-04-2011 09:10AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/books/booknews/8358538/What-Every-Man-Thinks-About-Apart-From-Sex-book-of-blank-pages-become-surprise-bestseller.html
    Professor” Sheridan Simove has produced a 200 page book entitled “What Every Man Thinks About Apart From Sex”. The work has sold out online on Amazon following heavy promotion in student unions across Britain.

The £4.69 item, which was intended as a novelty gift, is being used by students as a notebook.

Nottingham university student Jess Lloyd said: “I bought a copy for my mate as a joke and he started using it as a note pad for lectures. Now everyone seems to have one. It’s started a real craze on campus.”

“Author” Sheridan Simove said: “This book is the result of 39 years of painstaking research and practical study into the subject. I left nothing to chance and really threw myself into my work.

“After many years of hard work I finally realised that men think of absolutely nothing apart from sex. It was a shocking conclusion and I realised that the world needed to be informed of my findings.
    “I never thought for one moment that my life’s work would be embraced by Britain’s students in their thousands. It is very gratifying to see my book outselling many other academic works whose authors claim to have worked even harder than I to break new ground and further the extent of human knowledge.”
    Mr Simove, 39, an Oxford University graduate who is an author, performer and entrepreneur, added: “I never anticipated that my book would be used for students to take their lecture notes in. In a sense they are proving me wrong by filling my book with content. But I wonder how many of them go back to thinking about sex once the lecture is over. I’d be willing to bet that answer is 100%. In fact I would go even further and estimate that 99% are thinking about sex even during the lecture. They probably think using my book as a notepad will help them get laid. And they are of course totally correct in that hypothesis.
    “I now intend to develop my research further and am planning a PhD at the university of life on the subject of what women think about apart from sex. I hope to publish my findings in another decade.”

Novel idea..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'd just write the title on the cover of a refill pad and spend the fiver on cheap cider... students these days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

wanky idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I need this book :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Finished it last night - Dont want to spoil the plot but brilliant read!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Finished it last night - Dont want to spoil the plot but brilliant read!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yeah sex and nothing else thats all men think about. Never quantum physics, industrial engineering or finding cures for illnesses. We're such simple dopes us men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

phasers wrote: »
    I'd just write the title on the cover of a refill pad and spend the fiver on cheap cider... students these days...

I hope you didnt study maths ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Damn..it doesn't come in Kindle edition...:(

Here's a screenshot of the plot.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Here's a screenshot of the plot.

USE SPOILER TAGS FFS :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

39 years of "research". **** me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

it kicks the **** out of men are from mars women from venus anyday, great read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Yeah sex and nothing else thats all men think about. Never quantum physics, industrial engineering or finding cures for illnesses. We're such simple dopes us men.

Usually have a better sense of humour as well.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

oh great another stupid fckuin "random lol" student craze. They must be great craic altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Wow a book that can out do the cancer that is the celebrity hardback? <clap...........................clap> Bravo. Eejits.

I wish people would stop buying sh!t books! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

oh the lulz. what a twat. ****ing genius way to make money though. hmmm i wonder is this thread going to turn into a debate on how much time men do spend thinking about sex, or is it just going to fail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

I'd just use a free public computer to send a blank ms word document entitled "What Every Man Thinks About Apart From Sex" using a free email account. Then I'd spin around a few times until I'm dizzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Usually have a better sense of humour as well.............
    You must be easily amused so.

Naikon wrote: »
    39 years of "research". **** me.

It's a joke, he's age 39...

Funny idea, good on him for making money out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

There was also one in Chapters ages ago, "Everything Men Know About Women." The author of that book should sue for plagiarism. And it was only a euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

I don't know who the biggest joke is, the "author" or the people that bought it.

I can imagine the outcry when the "what women can do better than cook and clean" version comes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    You must be easily amused so.

Certainly not so uptight and insecure as to be irked by a novelty gift.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I hope you didnt study maths ?
    I hope you didn't study economics... ever hear of exchange rates?

ever hear of exchange rates?

In that case you should have specified you were talking about Indian Rupees

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    In that case you should have specified you were talking about Indian Rupees
    I was actually talking about the currency of the ancient Mesopotamians

the ancient Mesopotamians

A great bunch of lads !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

A complete waste of paper. But unlike the books of Dan Brown, at least no ink has been squandered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

That's a profoundly sexist book. Let's burn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Make a similar book based on women and watch the outrage :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

anyone that gets upset by this is an asshole, the same goes for anyone that gets upset about a womens version. lighten up people, it's a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Meh, I'll wait for the movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

hmmm i wonder is this thread going to turn into a debate on how much time men do spend thinking about sex, or is it just going to fail.

It's gonna fail...god ure Sexy....:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Two old sayings:

"you cant polish a turn" & "you cant sell s*it" ... are proving to be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

As a first year college student, I feel sort of insulted :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

I suppose the moral of this story is that fools and their money are soon parted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭HUNK

I thought it was kinda funny. Not sure why some people couldn't just roll with the humor :pac: