Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A long shot ?

• 08-04-2011 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭

Hi all. I hope it's ok to put this here to ask for help. The night before last I was cleaned out . Anything of value was stolen, welder, drills, chainsaws, power washer, ride on tractor mower, generator, compressor, angle grinder and a double cattle trailer. Also the tank was emptied of nearly €1000 worth of green diesel.

I just wanted to ask if anyone is offered the trailer if they could message me.
    It's a Pro-Fit Agri Pro 12 double trailer, 6years old.

Things were quiet around the area for the last few years but it seems I'm the 3rd place they've targeted in the last 2 weeks

Here's a photo.

IMGP3977.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

Sorry to hear that, thats terrible:mad:

What part of the country are you in? Keep an eye on websites like donedeal, etc. If I see anything I'll be sure to report it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

Sorry to hear that, thats terrible:mad:

What part of the country are you in? Keep an eye on websites like donedeal, etc. If I see anything I'll be sure to report it

That's great Jeff, thank you. I put an ad on done deal asking for people to look out for it. I doubt thare is any chance of getting the smaller stuff back

I'm in Wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Thats terrible Paulaa. Too many of these knackers around these days. Nothing is safe now

Should i hear anything i'll let you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Put an ad up on done deal with any pictures you have of the items warning they are stolen and possibly with a reward for information leading to their return.

If they try to sell it on done deal then the item will show up on a filter search side by side.

At least make it hard for them to shift.

I see you have done the donedeal thing already! I did a search your ad came up.

Is there anywhere nearby that has CCTV on all the time? Petrol stations? Buisness? Calving cameras that see the road? Maybe you could catch what ever was towing the trailer?

Could track what route they were likely to take? Could they have headed to the ferry and if so, they are surely on camera with the trailer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

Sad to hear the news Paulaa, I'll keep an eye out. Check the Sunday market in the Unyoke this Sunday. You'll never know. Things are crazy around here at the moment in terms of stuff being lifted. Security lights and CCTV the way to go but God help you if you live away form the work sheds etc. "They" seem to see them as easy pickings...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Sorry to hear that also.

I hope it brings no luck to whoever stole it and you get your property back.

Tipp man, Thanks very much, you never know where these things turn up.

Figerty. There's nothing around with CCTV and my calving cameras are inside a shed with no windows. I wonder what an outside system would cost. Probably a fortune as I live across the road and down a small lane from the farmyard.

berettaman. The man who helps me with the cattle is going to the Unyoke on Sunday and his son is going to the car boot in Kilkenny to have a look too . They know the smaller tools better than I do. I think some chainsaws that were stolen near here were found there last week. Thanks for keeping a lookout for me.

Min wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that also.

I hope it brings no luck to whoever stole it and you get your property back.

Thanks Min. It's sickening to think that someone may have been watching the place and our movements for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

I bought one of THESE a couple of years ago. I think they are very useful if you have a single lane into the farm and you live within about a kilometer of the yard. It works by sounding an alarm in the house whenever a car/lorry passes by the sensor. The transmitter, when activated can be used to trigger text messages, open gates, activate lights etc. These all at extra cost though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You should put this post up on the British Farming Forum as well, in case it's gone North or to the UK. Sorry to hear of your troubles :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

I am sorry to hear about your stuff. Would there be any chance you could see anything from CCTV from local businesses? You might get a shot of the cowbox being towed past and maybe a reg. no.will keep an eye open down in west cork for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

I'm sorry to hear about it too. I really hope that your stuff is found and that the thieves get their justice. Isn't boards.ie a great way of getting word across the country - you can be sure that anyone who reads your post will have you in mind if they come across your property.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Hey Paulaa, Firstly sorry to hear about that, it's shocking...But they obviously had the place well scoped out!

Secondly, i think you should remove that advert.. As you probably know, Donedeal is the best place to sell things these days, and if there going to try and sell it they'll probably try on there, You could keep an eye on donedeal for trailers, but if they see an add like that, it'll scare them away from there...Keep an eye on Buy And Sell too,
    And best of luck! :)

kfk wrote: »
    I bought one of THESE a couple of years ago. I think they are very useful if you have a single lane into the farm and you live within about a kilometer of the yard. It works by sounding an alarm in the house whenever a car/lorry passes by the sensor. The transmitter, when activated can be used to trigger text messages, open gates, activate lights etc. These all at extra cost though.

That's interesting, I've never seen it before Thanks
    johngalway wrote: »
    You should put this post up on the British Farming Forum as well, in case it's gone North or to the UK. Sorry to hear of your troubles :(

Thanks John, good idea
    reilig wrote: »
    I'm sorry to hear about it too. I really hope that your stuff is found and that the thieves get their justice. Isn't boards.ie a great way of getting word across the country - you can be sure that anyone who reads your post will have you in mind if they come across your property.

I won't hold my breath about getting anything back but I couldn't just sit here and do nothing. Agree with you about the boards, people are very helpful, particularly on the farming board and some good ideas too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Heard today of an ifor williams trailer arriving at a scrap yard to be sold as scrap aluminium...... Owner ran them though, near Templemore.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Clara market. I can head there sunday for ya if ya want. Any particular marks on anything to tell if they are yours?? Basterds were around our area a few weeks ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

The whole thing is sickening. Filthy scum patrolling up and down this country.
    Most of us had a visit or knows someone that did.
    Don't suppose the trailer was insured?

I am sorry to hear about your stuff. Would there be any chance you could see anything from CCTV from local businesses? You might get a shot of the cowbox being towed past and maybe a reg. no.will keep an eye open down in west cork for you.

There no petrol station or shop within 5 miles of me here that might have CCTV. Thanks for the help
    pajero12 wrote: »
    Hey Paulaa, Firstly sorry to hear about that, it's shocking...But they obviously had the place well scoped out!

Secondly, i think you should remove that advert.. As you probably know, Donedeal is the best place to sell things these days, and if there going to try and sell it they'll probably try on there, You could keep an eye on donedeal for trailers, but if they see an add like that, it'll scare them away from there...Keep an eye on Buy And Sell too,
    And best of luck! :)

Thanks pajero. It was the Gardai who told me to put it on
    done deal but I think you have a point. I had forgotten about the buy and sell.

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Clara market. I can head there sunday for ya if ya want. Any particular marks on anything to tell if they are yours?? Basterds were around our area a few weeks ago.

Hi Dusty. Unfortunately there's no marks on them. But thanks for the offer. Did they get much ?

Bizzum wrote: »
    The whole thing is sickening. Filthy scum patrolling up and down this country.
    Most of us had a visit or knows someone that did.
    Don't suppose the trailer was insured?

I'm hoping it will be covered because I gave them the details when I bought it but you never know what clause they will find in the small print. I'm keeping my fingers crossed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Horrible thing to happen.

I don't know your setup but perhaps a rape alarm and some discrete wire/thread could make an effective cheap alarm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭invicta

sorry to hear about that Paulaa. Those fc**keres if caught should be bate. No law is bad enough for them.Will keep your gear in mind in mind if anything shows up round here(St Kerry) Stuff like that was taken here 2 or 3 years ago it all was found in a yard in nth cork bout 6 mths later.So hopefully yours will surface somewhere yet.:::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Kilmac1

do you no any cattle dealers or lads/lassies who drive cattle lorrys or factory or ferry workers ask them to look out for it you never no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭couldntthink

Padraic Nally had the right idea. Poor man locked up for a year for potecting his property. Thievery is a much more serious crime than people think.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Padraic Nally had the right idea. Poor man locked up for a year for potecting his property. Thievery is a much more serious crime than people think.
    Ah now,Theres a difference between protecting your property and standing over a man with a shotgun who's been injured, But this aint the time or place for that!

And I'm fairly sure most people think theft is very serious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭couldntthink

pajero12 wrote: »
    Ah now,Theres a difference between protecting your property and standing over a man with a shotgun who's been injured, But this aint the time or place for that!

And I'm fairly sure most people think theft is very serious!

you're right, it's not the time or place to discuss Nally.

But theft isn't taken seriously enough. Suspended sentences seem to be the norm, cops don't really follow up on it unless there were injuries involved. And I am speaking from personal experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Sorry to hear about that paulaa. Feckers. And the thought your yard isnt safe anymore is the most annoying thing. I will keep an eye out but ran them lads out of the yard years ago selling stuff from god knows where.

I put in a sensor light with camera and sd card last year after a fill of diesel stolen. I find it good as it takes a picture of anybody (and cat and dog:mad:) setting off the sensor. It was advertised in the irish indo for E170 i think. It might give a hand in catching the Bs if they come back but wont stop anything being stolen.

You would be very surprised who is in your yard when you are not around and having no reason to be