Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Age card question?

• 06-04-2011 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40

Sorry if this is the totally wrong place to put this thread but...

I have recently sent off my passport to get a new one and something went wrong so I now have to wait 8 weeks for it. Now I just turned 18 and have no form of ID. Not fun.

But I'm just after getting my age card form in the post and I was over the moon initially until I read that you need a birth cert or passport and one other form of ID. I have the birth cert but will I need to wait for the passport or does other forms of ID include stuff like bank cards and school IDs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,127 ✭✭✭kirving

You won't be going out for a while anyway!

I'm failry sure you need something more than a bank card tbh, although give it a try anyway and see what they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

There's probably an answer to this question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Lol. I can walk into a pub, ask for a pint and I get it. It's great being old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Student card should do as form of ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

I used my drivers licence.

Have you any other form of photo I.D? From what i can tell you need a photo I.D to get a photo I.D :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Blackdragon

I have recently sent off my passport to get a new one and something went wrong so I now have to wait 8 weeks for it. Now I just turned 18 and have no form of ID. Not fun.

But I'm just after getting my age card form in the post and I was over the moon initially until I read that you need a birth cert or passport and one other form of ID. I have the birth cert but will I need to wait for the passport or does other forms of ID include stuff like bank cards and school IDs?

PPS card should do the trick - did for me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Pubs really should be 21+ imo :p

You'll have to wait pretty much 8 weeks for your age card too

I only waited a full week for mine from when i dropped the form into the garda station. This is only a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 parmaviolet

I got mine with my birth cert and a student card a few months ago. Anything with a photo would probably be ok :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

if you have your garda age card, why do you need other i.d's? i must not understand this at all?

brembo26 wrote: »
    I only waited a full week for mine from when i dropped the form into the garda station. This is only a month ago.

I waited two months, just got it last week (I'm waaaaaay too old to need one but for some unknown reason I get asked for ID a lot :o) maybe my garda person didn't send it on for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Wolfbrand Morro

PPS card should do the trick - did for me anyway

Yes! That is the kinda answer I am looking for! Thank you muchly!

@geetar I said Age card form lol

@kevin Irving yeah I guessed as such but thats why I'm here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

An age card is the ONLY form of identification legally allowed now in public houses, Even passports/ drivers Licences will get the publican into bother should something arrise. Although they are usually accepted, legally, an age card MUST be produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

https://www.agecard.ie/terms.html

You must have either a Birth Certificate, Passport or GNIB Card to apply for an Age Card

maybe my garda person didn't send it on for ages.
    probably :P they make a balls of the picture too, they brightened mine up so much you can hardly make me out in it!

maglite wrote: »
    https://www.agecard.ie/terms.html

You must have either a Birth Certificate, Passport or GNIB Card to apply for an Age Card

There's alot of people here pointing out the obvious. I already said I have a birth cert but you also need another form of identification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

applied today. lost my passport twice not risking using it on nights out anymore. better get here quick

There's alot of people here pointing out the obvious. I already said I have a birth cert but you also need another form of identification

have you not got any other form of photo I.D? anything at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Made that mistake myself recently, Passport and Birth cert is what you need.

College id etc is useless.

have you not got any other form of photo I.D? anything at all?

I have a secondary school ID and the picture is really badly taken. As I only turned 18 at the start of april I have yet to accumulate a variety of photo ids

I had my old secondary school ID, Student travel card, college ID card, laser cards with my name, and my forklift licence, coppers wouldn't accept any of them.

Its retarded, I had my passport too, so instead of accepting any of the above as a second id they insisted on having my birth cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Just get a fake id less hassle

I would chance that with your birth cert. They will accept other photo I.D's (even if not listed on the agecard.ie site) once it proves who you are. Like i said i used my drivers licence and another poster here used there student I.D card. Its all down to the garda you get at the end of the day i suppose. But do try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

I waited 8 months for my age card. Glad to see there are some improvements on the initial delays

I would chance that with your birth cert. They will accept other photo I.D's (even if not listed on the agecard.ie site) once it proves who you are. Like i said i used my drivers licence and another poster here used there student I.D card. Its all down to the garda you get at the end of the day i suppose. But do try it.

Yeah I suppose. I'll go down tomorrow and bring a vast amount of identification forms I hadn't thought of before. See if any of them work. Unfortunately only the shoddy taken school ID has a photo of me. Its so bad one of my eyes is blue and the other brown.

The guy I got must have been a grade A wanker then.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I had my old secondary school ID, Student travel card, college ID card, laser cards with my name, and my forklift licence, coppers wouldn't accept any of them.

Its retarded, I had my passport too, so instead of accepting any of the above as a second id they insisted on having my birth cert.

Must depend on the Garda because I only had one form of ID and he signed it straight away. It was a passport too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

8 weeks? I had mine in just over three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Why the fook did ya order the form through post, when you could have simply gone into your local Garda Station, got a form, filled it out, left your photos/documents there, and had it sent off for processing there and then?

Wasted a good few days there I tell ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Must depend on the Garda because I only had one form of ID and he signed it straight away. It was a passport too.
    But you also have bewbs, no?

Why the fook did ya order the form through post, when you could have simply gone into your local Garda Station, got a form, filled it out, left your photos/documents there, and had it sent off for processing there and then?

No its different now, you pay online and they send forms out.

Went to do that and they said you have to apply online =S

El Weirdo wrote: »
    But you also have bewbs, no?

*checks*

Yes, yes I do!

Also, no make up and all that jazz the dude was probably like WTF is this oul one applying for one of these yokes for!

Actually what ID did you say you were gonna use when you filled out the form?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

It probably depends what your student card looks like. If it looks like it could be easily faked, they mightn't take it. You're probably best off just going into the Garda station and asking.

I didn't know I'd need my birth cert when I went to get mine and had to go home and get it... Even though I had my passport, which I couldn't have had without owning a birth cert :rolleyes:

Haven't ticked the box yet but birth cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

Yes! That is the kinda answer I am looking for! Thank you muchly!

@geetar I said Age card form lol

@kevin Irving yeah I guessed as such but thats why I'm here.

:rolleyes: sorry about that, i read your post as "i got my age card from the post..":pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Weedikins

I brought my son to the garda station recently with his age card application form, along with his passport and UCD student card. Garda says he needs birth cert and passport. My son point out politely thatt he form says 'Birth cert OR passport AND other form of ID'. Garda disagreed.

No point arguing with them. So OP's birth cert and other ID might be acceptable and it might not, depending on the garda. Frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭TrollHammaren

Jaysis, sounds like a pain.

I can't help you with the age card question, but I'm a doorman at a nightclub and I wouldn't advise chancing your arm getting into a nightclub with a student card or anything like that. I'm a TCD student, so I'm usually a bit lenient when it comes to accepting student cards, but you'll most likely end up being unlucky and not getting in anywhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

MoyVilla9 wrote: »
    8 weeks? I had mine in just over three.

They send them off in batches, so it could take three weeks or even three months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Lol. I can walk into a pub, ask for a pint and I get it. It's great being old.

I'm old too but still get asked for ID. I'm 29 but I suppose I look younger, maybe 4/5 years max. I find at local supermarkets I often get asked by African women at checkouts for ID. I point out that they're African because they all have been, and it's understandable to an extent, if I was in Nigeria or Ghana or somehwere I probably wouldn't be able to tell a 17 year from a 29 year old because the men look a bit different from Irish men and vice versa (big breath after the "I'm not a racist" disclaimer).

So this scenario has happened to me 4-5 times. I get asked for ID. When I have it, all I have is my driver's license, which is a full license and was issued six years ago. I produce this and get refused on the basis that "We can only accept age cards". Age cards weren't even around when I turned 18 so of course I don't have one and don't ever intend on getting one. At this point I usually stand bemused for a few seconds and just ask for the manager.

Why don't they just go all out and rename the age card to something more appropriate like "drink card" or "Alcohol License" It's absurd in this country that we have to have a seperate card for 18-20somethings to just buy drink. If a driving license or passport is good enough for the guards then it should be good enough for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Why don't they just go all out and rename the age card to something more appropriate like "drink card" or "Alcohol License" It's absurd in this country that we have to have a seperate card for 18-20somethings to just buy drink. If a driving license or passport is good enough for the guards then it should be good enough for everyone else.
    I find Aldi, Lidl and sometimes Tesco are the worst for this. Tesco will accept passports or age cards, Aldi is only age card, and I think Lidl is only age card. Almost every off license will accept passports and a lot will accept driver's license.

I lost my age card in Dublin a month or 2 ago and it's a pain carrying around the massive passport (not to mention the fear of losing it). Sending off the form for a new age card next week, but judging by how long the first one took I could be waiting a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

ardinn wrote: »
    An age card is the ONLY form of identification legally allowed now in public houses, Even passports/ drivers Licences will get the publican into bother should something arrise. Although they are usually accepted, legally, an age card MUST be produced.

Sorry to drag this up again, but I was wondering what if you're not entitled to a Garda Age Card (eg not living in Ireland) I'm Irish but living abroad, so I probably couldn't get one (not that I'm likely to be asked, whereas I look young for my age, I would never be mistaken for under 18).

If passports aren't accepted, what do 18 year old tourists use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭TrollHammaren

Apanachi wrote: »
    Sorry to drag this up again, but I was wondering what if you're not entitled to a Garda Age Card (eg not living in Ireland) I'm Irish but living abroad, so I probably couldn't get one (not that I'm likely to be asked, whereas I look young for my age, I would never be mistaken for under 18).

We were actually told at DSP training to be wary of Age Cards, and that passports or driving licences are generally better. A passport is fine, as is a foreign driver's licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Apanachi wrote: »
    Passports carried by young foreigners usually work, at least when I've been to clubs with young foreign friends.
    Irish are expected to use age cards or similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 plug-in-baby

ahhh the same situation happened to me when i turned 18 !
    passport got stolen and had no id ! went down to the garda station with my birth cert when filling out the form and my dad came down with me with his drivers licence to prove i was his daughter and they were likee yea grand and processed it!