Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fukishima contamination found in Irish milk

• 06-04-2011 9:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭

The Food Safety Authority says small traces of radioactive iodine have been found but the levels are minuscule and pose no concern for consumer health.

Can you believe them or is it time to go back on the ma's t?t?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

AAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!*

*flips over desk in panic and jumps out the 3rd floor window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Bobjims

Harmless levels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Let us know how you get on at your ma's tit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Im on your ma's t?t already. Cant bate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I think I'd rather get poisoned than suck my oul one titties again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭cml387

Far be it from me to lower the tone of Ah by posting a serious article but...

George Monbiot is the Guardian's Uber-environmentalist.

However he has become more and more cynical about the anti-nuclear lobby and the methods they have used to scare people about the effects of radiation.

He engaged a well known anti-nuclear campaigner,Helen Caldicott, in correspondence about her books and was not impressed.

Heres the exchange:
    http://www.monbiot.com/2011/04/04/correspondence-with-helen-caldicott/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

SO THATS WHY PAUL O' CONNELLS SO BIG.......:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Cows now have super powers thanks to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

I cant wait to break this to my family over breakfast in the morning when they are having cereal.

"Look out, Radioactive man!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

FFS :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: Spits out tea I have just taken a sip from, I'm doomed :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Noooooooooooo! I love milk :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

apparently you need to drink 96,000 litres to reach you annual safety limit thats 263 litres a day

PANIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

None of my milk is Irish anyways, it's that fordin' Lidl milk I use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Radioactive milk?

Fucking deadly... you can add that stuff straight to Ready Brek & save having to nuke it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Kiera wrote: »
    Noooooooooooo! I love milk :(

Not as much as me I bet. Milk is so full of milky goodness.

mmmmmmm milky goodness......

mmmmmmmm, goodness

Milk, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

And whats better than milk?

Milk that lights up in the dark, in your face broken fridge light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Reading this thread and my eyes are already twi...twi...twi...twi...twitching

/ lump sprouts out on neck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Paleo - First and last men standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

is that where Avonmore get Super Milk from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Mickey, you have to stop confusing me, you damn thief :mad:

For a second there I thought Kiera was fúckin nuts and just talking to herself about Milk.

Damn you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

I suppose we could drink that uht milk but it tastes like s**te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

What if Yore Ma's milk is radioactive too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

cml387 wrote: »
    ..........[snip]
    He engaged a well known anti-nuclear campaigner,Helen Caldicott, in correspondence about her books and was not impressed.

Heres the exchange:

the scepticist : dear helen can you provide references to your claims which you have made on the effects of radiation

helen: dear scepticist em.....no, but I hope this picture of a spider will do in the mean time and help to enforce my arguement on the effects of radiation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Carlow52 wrote: »
    The Food Safety Authority says small traces of radioactive iodine have been found but the levels are minuscule and pose no concern for consumer health.

Can you believe them or is it time to go back on the ma's t?t?
    Wait.. I thought it was Iodine that cured radioactivity?? How can it be bad and good? I'm confused and worried about what I just eat in a blind panic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ScumLord wrote: »
    Wait.. I thought it was Iodine that cured radioactivity?? How can it be bad and good? I'm confused and worried about what I just eat in a blind panic.
    the tablets you take are - well, radioactive. what they do is fill up your thyroid and they have very little damaging effect on you. it prevents other, far worse isotopes to be absorbed into your thyroid. In laymans terms.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potassium_iodide

In an accidental event or attack on a nuclear power plant, or in nuclear bomb fallout, volatile fission product radionuclides may be released. Of these products, 131I is one of the most common and is particularly dangerous to the thyroid gland because it may lead to thyroid cancer. By saturating the body with a source of stable iodide prior to exposure, inhaled or ingested 131I tends to be excreted, which prevents radioiodine uptake by the thyroid. The protective effect of KI lasts approximately 24 hours. For optimal prophylaxis, KI must be dosed daily until a risk of significant exposure to radioiodine by either inhalation or ingestion no longer exists. Emergency 130 milligrams potassium iodide doses provide 100 mg iodide (the other 30 mg is the potassium in the compound), which is roughly 700 times larger than the normal nutritional need (see recommended dietary allowance) for iodine, which is 150 micrograms (0.15 mg) of iodine (as iodide) per day for an adult.
    Potassium iodide cannot protect against any other causes of radiation poisoning, nor can it provide any degree of protection against dirty bombs that produce radionuclides other than radioisotopes of iodine. See fission products and the external links for more details concerning radionuclides.

Basically those tablets only protect against radioactive iodides: they have no effect on Plutonium or Uranium, for instance. Nor do I believe would they prevent cell damage from gamma rays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Sure its grand who gives a Fukishima.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Meh I had a gallon yesterday...Wait is it normal to hear colours?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

Agricola wrote: »
    Im on your ma's t?t already. Cant bate it!

A bit of bate'in goes a long way I find.

Those Levels are nothing to lose the plot over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

However he has become more and more cynical about the anti-nuclear lobby and the methods they have used to scare people about the effects of radiation.

Heres the exchange:
    Guy looks like a cross bewtween McLovin and Ashley Hames from Sin Cities in that picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

If you boil the milk it will kill off the radiation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Lemegeton

Heres the exchange:

there is some excellent reading and articles from this guy on the subject.
    his point about coal mines killing more workers then nuclear plants was something i never considered but now it makes perfect sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

The taxi driver I had this morning was talking about this and somehow turned it into a conversation about the banks..

On topic - I love milk, I hope this doesn't get worse! I can't imagine not being able to have my cuppa tae in the morning! Will they be taking bottles of milk off the shelves eventually or is this just some warning to strike panic into our little Irish hearts???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

I'm not a big drinker of milk but nonetheless

FUCK YOU SHIMA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

They'll rebel now, mark my words...

Holy shite! They will!! They'll don capes and eye-masks and blast us with.. radioactive milk!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Wait.. I thought it was Iodine that cured radioactivity?? How can it be bad and good? I'm confused and worried...
    "Flammable and inflammable mean the same thing? What a country!"

Now now all this grazy talk is udderly ridiculous.. Look, the steaks are high but we butter not panic!

I'm so so sorry I just couldn't help myself.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

iodine tablets are taken to stop you from taking in radioactive iodine since you are already full of non radioactive iodine. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Overheal wrote: »
    the tablets you take are - well, radioactive. what they do is fill up your thyroid and they have very little damaging effect on you. it prevents other, far worse isotopes to be absorbed into your thyroid. In laymans terms.
    Ok, but what about lead pellets, they protect you from radiation too right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Firstly, change your avatar please, it's confusing me! :D

Secondly, milk is only good in cereal and tea/coffee so I wouldn't be too worried.

Finally, come on, it's the smallest trace amounts, it's not gonna hurt anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

It didn't get into the free cheese stock did it? If it did then I don't know how I'll make it through next Christmas.