Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first time lamping

• 06-04-2011 8:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭

i was driving in the lane last night and spotted a pair of eyes hunting down a ditch beside my chicken pen:mad:
    got set up and into field and it was probaly an hour after i spotted fox walked over to a gap and when we went to call, the bit of polystyerene (about size of euro coin)in the pint glass had fallen out,eventually found it and started calling,
    spotted a set of eyes in ditch at bottom of field were standing in about 200 yds away,now the field were in is very steep and were at the top of it so there is a big blind spot in front us.
    switched off light and kept calling,put lamp on and nothing.tought he might have known by rabbit call was a bit iffy:o
    kept scanning field when bang set of eyes show up in front of us about 4 yds away:eek: fox was crouched down looking at us. he had ran up hill in blindspot and we couldnt see him:eek: uncle couldnt get shot of cos i was slightly behind him with lamp and he said it was reflecting in scope,:ofox ran off and i had dropped glass at this point so had to give my best attempt at rabbit call using voice:p fox actually :eek: stopped and looked for about 6 seconds but still coulnt get shot off:rolleyes: and fox thought twice about rabbit for dinner and ran off and sat in middle of next field looking at us.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

Dupont wrote: »
    i was driving in the lane last night and spotted a pair of eyes hunting down a ditch beside my chicken pen:mad:
    got set up and into field and it was probaly an hour after i spotted fox walked over to a gap and when we went to call, the bit of polystyerene (about size of euro coin)in the pint glass had fallen out,eventually found it and started calling,
    spotted a set of eyes in ditch at bottom of field were standing in about 200 yds away,now the field were in is very steep and were at the top of it so there is a big blind spot in front us.
    switched off light and kept calling,put lamp on and nothing.tought he might have known by rabbit call was a bit iffy:o
    kept scanning field when bang set of eyes show up in front of us about 4 yds away:eek: fox was crouched down looking at us. he had ran up hill in blindspot and we couldnt see him:eek: uncle couldnt get shot of cos i was slightly behind him with lamp and he said it was reflecting in scope,:ofox ran off and i had dropped glass at this point so had to give my best attempt at rabbit call using voice:p fox actually :eek: stopped and looked for about 6 seconds but still coulnt get shot off:rolleyes: and fox thought twice about rabbit for dinner and ran off and sat in middle of next field looking at us.:o
    don't worry about it, it takes a while to get the hang of this lamping craic. at least when your uncle didn't fire you'll have a chance at that fox again some time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

As the fella looking through the scope, I find when ever someone else is holding the lamp that it's best if they hold it ahead of the scope. Otherwise my view is affected by stray light from the lamp shining onto the eyepiece glass. When the lamp is kept that bit ahead of the scope, the view is perfect. Another thing to keep an eye out for is objects very close in that may reflect light back into the scope. Light coloured vegetation is a curse for that. Good that he didn't fire though. The fox will likely be wary, but won't be shy, and the chickens will always draw him in. So ye know that bit more about his habits now, next time will be better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Has anyone used one of those lamps you mount on the scope? i hate when anyone else is holding the lamp , maybe its the lad that holds it for me or somethin but its so irritating when im lookin through the scope and the lights shaking and moving, i was looking to buy one but id be nervous of mounting anything on the scope , you know yourself , the slightest bump and you have to re-zero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭vixdname

Howya rabbit Assassin, you'll find that theres a fair few lads on here that use scope mounted lamps on their rifles, myself included.
    I use a "Lightforce 170" clamped onto my NighForce scope - they're a perfect match !.
    I find the lamp very useful for solo lamping, all you have to do once you get it on and out in the field is make sure and check what the illumination is like when you look through your scope as the lamp can sometimes be shining slightly too high or low etc, but with a little adjustment you'll get it spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Has anyone used one of those lamps you mount on the scope? i hate when anyone else is holding the lamp , maybe its the lad that holds it for me or somethin but its so irritating when im lookin through the scope and the lights shaking and moving, i was looking to buy one but id be nervous of mounting anything on the scope , you know yourself , the slightest bump and you have to re-zero

It's the lad holding it for you. It's VERY hard to find a good lamp man. Some people keep getting light in your scope :mad: others shake :( My brother keeps the light too bright (scares the fox) and others keep checking other parts of the field for 'other' foxes- the one i'm aiming at is fox enough!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭lee70

i've a scope mounted lamp it's a great bit of kit, it lets you feck off out all by yourself. I've never had any problem with scope or lamp, when i click the lamp on after lt's been in storage and look through the scope its always spot on, theres never any great deal of ajustment to be done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Once you've decent mounts and everything is tightened up there shouldn't be any zero problem. Don't leave the lamp on the scope all of the time. Use it like a hand held lamp and just attach it to the scope when you've your target spotted and are thinking about taking a shot. On the Lightforce lamps, there's a screw underneath the lamp itself where it slides onto the rail on the scope, line the beam of the lamp and the scope up on something, tree, fence post, whatever, 150-200 yards away, then tighten up that screw well. You're sorted then for left/right, and the little wheel moves it up down, so pretty simple system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I leave my LED LENSER P7 www.switchcraft.ie on my Fox rifle all the time as it is very light weight and very bright for the size of it.

Still fits in rifle case no probs with it on.

I have Lightforce 170 for my Lamp man. He spots and I use the P7 for finishing, or if I am lamping on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Remmie 223

I leave my LED LENSER P7 www.switchcraft.ie on my Fox rifle all the time as it is very light weight and very bright for the size of it.

Still fits in rifle case no probs with it on.

I have Lightforce 170 for my Lamp man. He spots and I use the P7 for finishing, or if I am lamping on my own.
    The same set up myself & have the filters for the 170. I am very happy with my lamp man, but when i know where the fox is i just switch on the p7 & i am in total control from there on in. There are no arguments, lamp too high, lamp too low,go in front of me, go behind me, you are shining the lamp in my scope. No one to blame only myself if i miss :P