Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda checking speed from overpass - What's the story?

• 06-04-2011 6:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

So I was on the motorway going about 130 today, and noticed a squad car pulled up on the overpass above me, presumably checking for speeding. My question is, can tickets be issued based on speed checks on overpasses? Is this standard Garda practice? Is it a physical camera, or how does it work?

Not particularly worried about whether I get a ticket, I'm just kind of baffled as to how it would work if I do get one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

They probably had a camera on a tripod that will record your speed and your car details. It could have been the hairdryer either but he would have followed you.

I cant see you being done for 130 BTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

It can. Once drove to Dublin from cork. Was night time. Garda were on overpass with theyr camera. Click click - got a ticket in post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 stack0487

-Corkie- wrote: »
    They probably had a camera on a tripod that will record your speed and your car details. It could have been the hairdryer either but he would have followed you.

I cant see you being done for 130 BTW.

Ahh, ok. So they have those tripods in normal looking squad cars now? That's worrying :) Hopefully won't end up with a ticket, thanks for the advice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

I cant see you being done for 130 BTW

Think again. I was done for 130 outside of Limerick on Sunday by a garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Think again. I was done for 130 outside of Limerick on Sunday by a garda.

Ya! Was it on the motorway? I normally stick the cruise on at 140 on the M8 and have passed the boys a few times.

It can. Once drove to Dublin from cork. Was night time. Garda were on overpass with theyr camera. Click click - got a ticket in post

Did it take long for the ticket to issue to you? Pure sneaky s*** isn't it?! In the US I heard of cops using the hairdryer on overpasses alright, radio a squad car ahead of you so they can catch you and flag you down. But this just makes it too easy for them doesn't it?! :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Crackity Jones

I've noticed this recently on the N7 between Rathcoole and Naas too, their usual hunting ground. I've also seen a motorbike cop with the squad car so presumed the bike would chase after you if speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

On German motorways these things are fully automated, including cameras for distance measuring

12_2003.jpg

Here you see the road markings for the distance measurements
    post-904-1155920330.jpg

Since the invention of wireless technology (where nobody has to get the film out of the camera anymore) you find them not only on bridges, but also on overhead signage gantries

stack0487 wrote: »
    Did it take long for the ticket to issue to you? Pure sneaky s*** isn't it?! In the US I heard of cops using the hairdryer on overpasses alright, radio a squad car ahead of you so they can catch you and flag you down. But this just makes it too easy for them doesn't it?! :/

My m8 even said that he had a feeling about " picture being taken". We were expecting them to catch up with us or something... Them in a few days he just got a ticket... I did not even knew they do these speed check in pitch darkness...

I've noticed this recently on the N7 between Rathcoole and Naas too, their usual hunting ground. I've also seen a motorbike cop with the squad car so presumed the bike would chase after you if speeding.

This gives me hope that I won't be getting a dreaded automated ticket!

My m8 even said that he had a feeling about " picture being taken". We were expecting them to catch up with us or something... Them in a few days he just got a ticket... I did not even knew they do these speed check in pitch darkness...

Sorry to hear that, I suppose I'll know this time next week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Thats it, but chances are you might be alrite, they might have had their "quota" for the day done.

I've noticed them on the Naas rd and near the Cherrywood junction on the M50 at night a few times, so try and keep the limit folks :)

Muckie wrote: »
    Thats it, but chances are you might be alrite, they might have had their "quota" for the day done.

I've noticed them on the Naas rd and near the Cherrywood junction on the M50 at night a few times, so try and keep the limit folks :)

Haha, yeah, I'm so preoccupied looking out for those new speed camera vans I didnt even think to look above me! They'll be hanging out of helicopters with speed cameras next!!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

ive seen the feckers stopped on the down ramps to join the n7 around there too, trying to catch people from behind i presume. sneaky bstards

Cheers m8. I usually not expecting to see Garda so late, specially with hair dryers... You live you learn... Trip to Dublin airport cited more then expected...

So careful lads

Ya! Was it on the motorway? I normally stick the cruise on at 140 on the M8 and have passed the boys a few times.

Ya it was after the tunnel when you come onto the motorway first. Sickened because it was a really long straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

Ya it was after the tunnel when you come onto the motorway first. Sickened because it was a really long straight.

Heading away from the tunnel? Did they get you from behind?

I was heading towards the tunnel at around 1.10am and I just noticed the sneaky f***s parked on the overpass about 150-170 yards away but on the side furthest from the tunnel looking east, I slammed on but I don't think I got away with it as it's a 100k zone. I've no idea what part of the road they were aiming at and how far along it covered but I'm expecting a letter.

It's not sporting doing at that time on cars with nobody on the roads. You get the odd car and 80% of them are over the limit.

Heading away from the tunnel? Did they get you from behind?

I was heading towards the tunnel at around 1.10am and I just noticed the sneaky f***s parked on the overpass about 150-170 yards away but on the side furthest from the tunnel looking east, I slammed on but I don't think I got away with it as it's a 100k zone. I've no idea what part of the road they were aiming at and how far along it covered but I'm expecting a letter.

It's not sporting doing at that time on cars with nobody on the roads. You get the odd car and 80% of them are over the limit.

It was first section of motorway a good bit after the tunnel heading towards galway. It was my first time on that road so im not to familiar with it:(

So you were on the M18? (After Shannon heading towards Galway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

From Limerick tunnel out as far as the interchange for Shannon town/airport, is the N7/N18 dual carriage way and has a 100kph speed limit. M18 motorway starts just at the interchange for Shannon and on towards Ennis/Gort which has a 120kph speed limit.

bazz26 wrote: »
    From Limerick tunnel out as far as the interchange for Shannon town/airport, is the N7/N18 dual carriage way and has a 100kph speed limit. M18 motorway starts just at the interchange for Shannon and on towards Ennis/Gort which has a 120kph speed limit.

Funnily enough I was caught along this stretch too, coming the opposite direction though, still on the motorway towards Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

Yup they are out at night alright and contrary to what I thought the speed guns work at night. I was caught in November at 6:30pm while it was dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

They used to sit UNDER the dual carriageway overpass' on the M3 before it became the M3, nailed alot of people with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I noticed 2 wireless camera's on a bridge(Cappagh road) over the M50 directed at northbound traffic a few months back. They(2 camera's) were strapped to the top railing of the bridge but no gardai around to monitor. What was that about? The Gardai went on an errand and will come back to collect the camera's? :)

How long on average should it take points to reach me? Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

My question is, can tickets be issued based on speed checks on overpasses? Is this standard Garda practice?
    Did they have their hats on? (oh come on, some one was going to ask it!)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

They sometimes sit at the top of the slip road on the M4 heading after out after kilcock. It always makes sense to drop to 120 (if you're speeding) passing slip roads, service stations and overpasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Vicxas wrote: »
    They used to sit UNDER the dual carriageway overpass' on the M3 before it became the M3, nailed alot of people with that.
    There's a spot on the M9 about 4km south of J2 just beside an overpass which is an emergency access to a house/farm and so has a cut-out in the main embankment. They often tuck a marked car or jeep in there and you'll never see it until it's way too late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭jippers87

Hmmm I have the answer to all your problems!

Don't speed, you dim wits. 130kph?? 140kph??

That could be my loved one you hit and kill. Shame on you all.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

jippers87 wrote: »
    Hmmm I have the answer to all your problems!

Don't speed, you dim wits. 130kph?? 140kph??

That could be my loved one you hit and kill. Shame on you all.

In Bold:- Don't think there is a need for this to be fair!

Underlined: Did they hit something, must have missed that bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

The OP has had their question answered so we'll leave it at that.