Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Cancelled] Drifting Day in Killmallock **Please sign petition to get it going again

• 06-04-2011 4:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭

Trying to do something abit different,

Drift day.

NOTHING to do with the event that was held in the Mart last year.

On Sat 21st of May 2011

Gates open at
    8am for cars,
    Midday to spectators.

Price list,
    Cars €20 for Drfiting,
    Spectators €5

If you want to enter please email, your name, car (Reg if possible), and where your from so we can get together a list of cars attending.
    Email to theoldmilldriftingday@hotmail.com

Also Traders please contact if you want to bring a stall for a small cover fee.

PLEASE VISIT US ON FACEBOOK http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=204896596196107

Video of track layout, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rN-BgmxxGkQ

Please note : Any damage which may occur to your car during the day, is your responsibility and not that of the organizers. You enter at your own risk.

Also all entrants please make sure you have your licence, insurance etc.. with you incase of a Garda Checkpoint.

PS : Can a mod sticky this so we can get a better response ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Threads merged, don't be posting new threads, keep all your information in this one thread and don't bump it without new information either.

You are technically not allowed to advertise here on Boards.ie without paying, the only reason this has been left here is because it helps get drifting off the public roads.

Stickying it is not an option and if you fail to contribute to the Modified Motors forum and just use it to advertise events then your posts will be deleted.

You should include a link in your sig and be proactive in this and other forums to help promote it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

Just to inform people this is all legal and the Guards have been informed about it and are quiet happy to leave it go ahead, provided there is no messing on the public road.

If anyone is interested in entering a car please put your name down. :)

Feedback welcome

ETA: Video of track layout: http://www.youtube.com/v/rN-BgmxxGkQ

C'mon lads only a few days left.

Very succesfull day, will be held again next month :)

Thanks to everyone who came.

Pics + Vide here http:

//www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002384958599&sk=wal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

I was there as a spectator, well until my mates car went off and we had to go get it sorted! Nice track layout and I look forward to going again!

Testament1 wrote: »
    I was there as a spectator, well until my mates car went off and we had to go get it sorted! Nice track layout and I look forward to going again!

Unlucky with the car, did ye get sorted ?

Will hopefully be on again next month, keep an eye on our facebook :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

Ya he cracked the sump so we had to go to Abbeyfeale to get another. Got it going again anyway but it was late in the evening by then ha.

Testament1 wrote: »
    Ya he cracked the sump so we had to go to Abbeyfeale to get another. Got it going again anyway but it was late in the evening by then ha.

Atleast ye got going anyway :)

Hope to see ye down here again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

YBTurbo wrote: »
    Very succesfull day, will be held again next month :)

Had an eye on this thread, but was rallying in monaghan yesterday. Hopefully make next months meet.

Hello,

After a very successful first event on May 21st we have decided to have another one due to the very high interest.
    Held in the same venue and we are running the same track layout.

Gates open at 8am for drivers and noon to spectators.
    Track Entry : €20
    Spectators : €5 (Under 12's free when accompanied by an adult)

Also if there is enough beginners we will just leave the track free to beginners from 9 - 11am so ye can get a good feel for the place and maybe get a few tips from others

We hope to have an even better turn out than our previous event.

Also will have a Chipper + Tea/Coffee facilities on site.

Please add us as a FaceBook friend, http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002384958599

Pics from the first event are located on there

Thanks again to everyone for making this a success :)

I am sorry to say that we have to cancel all further events due to unforeseen circumstances, sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Can a mod please edit the title to represent this.

I am sorry to say that we have to cancel all further events due to unforeseen circumstances, sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Can a mod please edit the title to represent this.

We have set up a petition to try and get this up and running again.

So Please sign it ----> http://www.petitiononline.ie/petition/old-mill-drifting-track/109

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

YBTurbo wrote: »
    We have set up a petition to try and get this up and running again.

So Please sign it ----> http://www.petitiononline.ie/petition/old-mill-drifting-track/109

Done, What exactly did they complaints involve? What time was the events taking place at?

If its during the day then I dont see how these complaints can hold water? When I worked in the construction industry if we were beside housing estates then we had to stop between 8am and 7pm due to noise but inbetween those time's we could make as much noise as we needed to.

To do this the site had a noise permit, something which seemed easy enough to get.

How close is it to residential housing? Would it be viable to impose a DB limit on those taking part? If they were under 99DB then there public-ally viable so no one's complaint should matter.

draffodx wrote: »
    Done, What exactly did they complaints involve? What time was the events taking place at?

If its during the day then I dont see how these complaints can hold water? When I worked in the construction industry if we were beside housing estates then we had to stop between 8am and 7pm due to noise but inbetween those time's we could make as much noise as we needed to.

To do this the site had a noise permit, something which seemed easy enough to get.

How close is it to residential housing? Would it be viable to impose a DB limit on those taking part? If they were under 99DB then there public-ally viable so no one's complaint should matter.

We were told that there was complaints about noise, there is a residential housing estate fairly near but most of them were happy for it to go ahead.

Events were taking place on weekends, the earliest we started was 9:30am and that was only 2or3 cars max on the track, and we were done at 5pm, and it is private property.

Could you give me more information about how to apply for a noise permit ?