Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating in Golf

• 06-04-2011 3:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭

Has anyone experienced this or have any instances they wish to share?

I haven't witnessed it, but at some competitions (singles and 4 balls etc) you see guys making outrageous scroes and it does raise an eyebrow......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Used to play with a fella who was the the worst kind of shameless, blatant cheater ever - ie, he would just tell you had one (maybe even two!) shots less on a hole than he'd had. Even though you'd have played the hole with him and watched him hack it all around the gaf. Was famous for it - a neck like a jockey's b*llox he had.

Playing with him one day, on a long hole, one of the lads said 'what you have there?' - he says 'Five' and yer man says 'Par, did ye??' and he goes 'Oh, that was a par five was it?? Six then...' :D

He was also a prolific 'dropper of balls' in the rough. We were playing in Millicent a few years ago I think it was, there's hole up the back (doglegs left, OB right, following hole is a nice par three I think) and we all stood and watched him slice his tee shot a good 10/15yds into the field. 'Better reload there' someone said. 'Ah no, I'll get that" came the reply... sure enough, he 'found' his ball about a yard into the rough.

The sad thing was, he was brutal. Never brough in a score. We were all beginners, all playing off 20-plus, and he was off 17 cos he used to sit in the local talking about this score and that score that he'd shot.

I can't remember him ever breaking 30 points, even with all the cheating.

Have to say though, forgetting about the golf 'misdemeanours' - he was a lovely bloke! :D

I don't play golf with him anymore needless to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Has anyone experienced this or have any instances they wish to share?

I haven't witnessed it, but at some competitions (singles and 4 balls etc) you see guys making outrageous scroes and it does raise an eyebrow......

Plenty of threads on here with 'Cheating' stories.

As the winter placing is now over this doesn't come in to play any more, but I've always been amused (and bemused) by people's interpretations of 'placing within six inches'. I played with a guy last year who actually picked up the ball and walked five paces so he could see the green for his next shot. I assumed he was just having a look, but after he placed and played the ball 15 feet from its original position I told him he was penalised. He threw a wobbly, saying he was allowed to place the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

not sure if this is an urban legend but i was told a story of a guy who was playing an inter club match. not sure where, Par 3 17th anyway. both tee off into a low sun. both balls went towards the green but were lost in the sun. when they got up the green they could see 1 ball. no sign of the other. after a few min your man at the back of the green say he fould his ball. chipped into a few feet. his partner went to take the flag out and noticed a bal lin the hole.

bingo dingo, penny drops, fecker got a hole in one a "dropped" a sneaky ball at the back of the green when nobody was looking. he would have won the match if he counted his hole in one!! Banned by club forever and GUI for a year. deserved every bit of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭jod1983

As Facebook would put it 'Like'
    seanmc1980 wrote: »
    not sure if this is an urban legend but i was told a story of a guy who was playing an inter club match. not sure where, Par 3 17th anyway. both tee off into a low sun. both balls went towards the green but were lost in the sun. when they got up the green they could see 1 ball. no sign of the other. after a few min your man at the back of the green say he fould his ball. chipped into a few feet. his partner went to take the flag out and noticed a bal lin the hole.

bingo dingo, penny drops, fecker got a hole in one a "dropped" a sneaky ball at the back of the green when nobody was looking. he would have won the match if he counted his hole in one!! Banned by club forever and GUI for a year. deserved every bit of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

A good story weather it's true or not:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Delighted for him.
    It is crazy though the amount of cheating that actually goes on in every competition whether it be on purpose or not.
    You would also think that it would be mainly high handicappers who would be a fault but there are a serious amount of single digit handicappers
    who never seem to "loose" a ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

Once played with a lad who would drop any ball in a bunker out of its rabbit "paw" print

I dont go up to the course after dark due to the 16ft rabbits roaming around the place:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Young_gunner

not cheating, but a lad once asked a friend of mine if he could take a ''practice putt'' before he took his real putt !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

similiar story to the above.....interclub seniors something (non gui)....guys looking for oppositions ball for ages when the opposition locate it.....home guys look at each other and laugh....only cause one of them have it in their pocket :) wrong on both counts i know....hard to say whos worse....but these seniors with their bandit H/Cs are cheats in me eyes :p
    nothing said till the guys arrived home to their home club.....they didnt care.....they arent far off the coffin yet still super competitive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I think if it was true he would have won the hole, as once holed out it is over,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Garda S Horgan

I think if it was true he would have won the hole, as once holed out it is over,

It's a joke the amount of cheating that goes on, but I think alot of it is just not being 100% up on the rules.
    moving twigs in bunkers, marking the ball on the green and placing it in a different position, not seeing a ball going into a hazard and then looking in the rough for a few minutes before saying that it must therefore be in the hazard, teeing off in front of the markers. replacing plug marks off the green that is not their own or their team mates, placing within 6 inches, free drops when there should be none and my favourite is seeing people dropping on the near side of a yellow hazard instead of the point of entry.
    moving branches out of your way if you're taking a shot in the trees. Pushing the club forefully behind your ball at address to give yourself a better lie, standing behing the ball at address, grouding clubs in a hazard
    I would imagine that people would know these rules off as they are the main ones that might catch you out.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

...replacing plug marks off the green that is not their own or their team mates...
    Yours etc,
    GSH.
    Wha?
    What is a "plug mark off the green" and how do you "replace" it???

Licksy wrote: »
    Wha?
    What is a "plug mark off the green" and how do you "replace" it???

If you are, for example, 2 foot off the green and decide that you want to putt but there is a pitch mark or a hole where a ball was plugged and it's in your line then you cannot repair it.
    You can repair it if it was made by one of your team mates as long as it was made AFTER you played. I think you can repair it if it's your own mark also.
    However you can't repair it otherwise.
    Same as if you are chipping and looking to bounce the ball on the fringe of the green, you can't go over and repair any pitch/plug marks there.

I meant repair, not replace.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I get you..
    But you can't repair any plug mark off the green unless it was made after your ball was at rest... It doesn't matter who made it (partner or opponent), if it was made after your shot then you are entitled to put things the way they were (in equity) so to speak. It's a rare occurrence that it would happen anyway but it has happened to me once, that one time I missed a green... :rolleyes:

I get you..
    But you can't repair any plug mark off the green unless it was made after your ball was at rest... It doesn't matter who made it (partner or opponent), if it was made after your shot then you are entitled to put things the way they were (in equity) so to speak. It's a rare occurrence that it would happen anyway but it has happened to me once, that one time I missed a green... :rolleyes:

Yep, thats what I understand.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭G1032

It's a joke the amount of cheating that goes on, but I think alot of it is just not being 100% up on the rules.
    moving twigs in bunkers, marking the ball on the green and placing it in a different position, not seeing a ball going into a hazard and then looking in the rough for a few minutes before saying that it must therefore be in the hazard, teeing off in front of the markers. replacing plug marks off the green that is not their own or their team mates, placing within 6 inches, free drops when there should be none and my favourite is seeing people dropping on the near side of a yellow hazard instead of the point of entry.
    moving branches out of your way if you're taking a shot in the trees. Pushing the club forefully behind your ball at address to give yourself a better lie, standing behing the ball at address, grouding clubs in a hazard
    I would imagine that people would know these rules off as they are the main ones that might catch you out.

Yours etc,
    GSH.
    Need to brush up on the rules yourself a bit........!!
    Always thought that you can't repair any plug mark that is off the green, whether it's yours or not.

G1032 wrote: »
    Need to brush up on the rules yourself a bit........!!
    You can't repair any plug mark that is off the green, whether it's yours or not.

Indeed, you can't repair your own, but if you hit first and your team mates all then hit and put pitch marks between you and the green you can repair them all.
    Yours etc,
    GSH.

I get you..

Just to get clarity on this.......
    So if for example......
    I'm playing a par 3 along with another guy.
    I hit first and miss the green by 2 feet.
    He then hits, and his ball lands between my ball and the hole, 1 foot off the green.
    Can I then repair the plug mark his ball made even though it's off the green? Or am I misunderstanding something?
    How can you be sure that the plug mark you are about to repair was made after your ball had come to rest?

Just to get clarity on this.......
    So if for example......
    I'm playing a par 3 along with another guy.
    I hit first and miss the green by 2 feet.
    He then hits, and his ball lands between my ball and the hole, 1 foot off the green.
    Can I then repair the plug mark his ball madem even though it's off the green? Or am I misunderstanding something?

Thats right.
    You are entitled to have the shot you had when your own ball came to rest.
    If he or others then hit and cause pitch marks off the green that were made after you, then you can repair them to have the same conditions you would have had when your own ball came to rest.
    I was not 100% sure on what you could do with your own pitch mark but it seems you can't repair that as it was not caused 'after' the shot but during.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

Indeed, you can't repair your own, but if you hit first and your team mates all then hit and put pitch marks between you and the green you can repair them all.
    Yours etc,
    GSH.

Never knew that. What's the rule number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

i played with someone who once asked, after me getting a three and him getting a four, to pretend that i had a two and he had a three....

i gave him a filthy look... shouldnt have signed his card

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

i drove into the water(misjudged driving distance) put 3rd on middle of fairway. he drove in the bunker. i duffed my next shot in the water, took my drop and played my 6th onto green and two putts for an 8( ruined my round i was 5 over till that point.
    he took 3 shots in the bunker at this stage and proceeded to pick the ball up and volley it out of the bunker. hit his next to within a foot. as we walked as asked what he had, 6, i lol'ed and said you volleyed a ball out of a bunker. he goes, oh yeah i'll take a 7, needless to say he go a big dirty scratch on the card

Never knew that. What's the rule number?

13-2/8 Player's Lie or Line of Play Affected by Pitch-Mark Made by Partner's, Opponent's or Fellow-Competitor's Ball.

Q. Affected by a pitch-mark made by his partner's, his opponent's or a fellow-competitor's ball. Is the player entitled to relief?

A. If the pitch-mark was there before the player's ball came to rest, he is not entitled to relief without penalty.
    If the pitch-mark was created after the player's ball came to rest, in equity (Rule 1-4) he may repair the pitch-mark. A player is entitled to the lie which his stroke gave him.

Also.

25-2/1 Ball Bounces Out of Its Pitch-Mark and Spins Back into It

Q. A player's ball lands in soft ground in a closely mown area through the green, bounces out of its pitch-mark and then spins back into the pitch-mark. Is the player entitled to relief under Rule 25-2?

A.Yes. If a ball spins back into its pitch-mark, it is embedded in the pitch-mark.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

geetar wrote: »
    i played with someone who once asked, after me getting a three and him getting a four, to pretend that i had a two and he had a three....

i gave him a filthy look... shouldnt have signed his card

this sort of approach is pretty common as far as I recall - its like people take an attitude shure everyone else does it

manipulating your handicap is my biggest area of frustration without a doubt - losers adding a few shots in the run-up to competitions etc
    wasn't there some high profile outing of this for some newspaper national competition - the star or something like that??
    a club from clare all agreed to up their handicaps for the competition - blokes playing off 12 were suddenly 16/17
    farce in my book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mrbright

Great story, another possible urban legend. Very long par 3 at a society meeting was "closest the pin hole" - when the golfer was collecting her prize she was asked what she hit she replied driver and a nine iron!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Ok this is gonna hurt.

Club put in CCTV on a car park which was close to our 18th fairway, fast forward to the captains prize a few weeks later, and one of the bar staff call the club sec into have a look at some of the CCTV coverage.. cut to the prize giving .... and in first place we have Mr...XX..XX. if you want to step up and collect your prize (round of applause and whoops whoops) but first Mr (captain of the golf club) we want to show this video, and can you explain your cheating incident on the 18th fairway which we have on video here for everyone to see....

Mr captain walks out and is never seen again..

Was a bit harsh TBH...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Ok this is gonna hurt.

Club put in CCTV on a car park which was close to our 18th fairway, fast forward to the captains prize a few weeks later, and one of the bar staff call the club sec into have a look at some of the CCTV coverage.. cut to the prize giving .... and in first place we have Mr...XX..XX. if you want to step up and collect your prize (round of applause and whoops whoops) but first Mr (captain of the golf club) we want to show this video, and can you explain your cheating incident on the 18th fairway which we have on video here for everyone to see....

Was a bit harsh TBH...

What was the cheating incident on the fairway that could have made that much of a different to warrant him to cheat, placing his ball out of a divot?

It seems a bit harsh.
    Firstly, who is to say (depending on what the issue was) that on walking towards the ball the Captain did not tell his fellow players that he wanted to move the ball and would take a penalty, or that he had already shot 100 and was going to rip up his card and was just playing the last few holes as he would when practicing.
    CCTV doesn't give enough information, especially not enough to spring it on someone without them being able to explain themselves before hand.

Shocking carry on if that happened. If the Captain was not actually 'cheating' it would have made no difference after that announcement as your standing in a golf club would always be low if you were accused of cheating, even if you were wrongly accused.

Yours etc,
    GSH.

conno16 wrote: »
    this sort of approach is pretty common as far as I recall - its like people take an attitude shure everyone else does it

manipulating your handicap is my biggest area of frustration without a doubt - losers adding a few shots in the run-up to competitions etc
    wasn't there some high profile outing of this for some newspaper national competition - the star or something like that??
    a club from clare all agreed to up their handicaps for the competition - blokes playing off 12 were suddenly 16/17
    farce in my book

AFAIK what happened here was this:
    The guys from Clare wanted to qualify to play in the JP McManus Invitational. It's only on every 5 years.
    There was competitions around the country before the last event giving golfers a chance to win a place in the Invitational field.
    So 6 years ago, or whatever, a few lads decided to start building their handicaps so they'd have a chance of getting into the JP event.
    They all built their handicaps by 2 shots a year for 5 years.
    Golfers who were off 7 and 8, were off 17 and 18 five years later.
    They qualified for the JP event.
    Scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

"It's a rare occurrence that it would happen anyway but it has happened to me once, that one time I missed a green... rolleyes.gif"

I want to know how that felt Licksy - missing a green that one time. It must still hurt like hell. Does it keep you awake?

I must admit to not having seen any cheating that I've been aware of in competition (Maybe I'm blind). Playing society / casual golf over the years, I've seen a lot of it (especially in school, but you'd expect that), but most of the lads I'd play with would be mortified at the thoughts of giving any of the others any ammunition at all by cheating - the slagging would be endless!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Ok this is gonna hurt.

Was a bit harsh TBH...

Would really like to know what exactly he done ??

I didn't call a shot on myself a few times what i tipped off the ball while addressing it last year. Then I got into a huge argument with on of the lads about playing a fair as you can even if you don't know all the rules. Anyway since then I'v called a shot on myself (hit ball with back of putter while setting up) and taken measures to stop doing that, but i reckon its the most blatantly obvious cheating that go's on among armatures. I'v played with lot's of people who move the ball by mistake when addressing it, I never say anything but it happens a good bit.

p.s I played my ball plugged as many times as I tipped it not knowing I could place so I reckon it worked out fair. Also was good to get playing with some more experienced golfers at the end of last year to learn some of the MUST KNOW rules. Was thinking about starting a thread about rules and some of the ones encountered by everyone here for educational purposes. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,574 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Good idea kph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

No he dropped a ball out of his pocket right in front of the camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭MiniGolf

Not totally relevent to cheating but might help put a stop to the "armchair" referees!
    http://www.usga.org/news/2011/April/Rule-Revised-On-DQ-For-Incorrect-Card/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Not golf but pitch and putt. I was playing in a foursomes matchplay with one of the committee. I saw him move our ball with his shoe (the leather wedge :) ). I said to him he moved the ball and it was a penalty. He denied it strongly. He was an older man and one of the most powerful in the club. I was just a young lad. As I was not going to get him to admit it and take a penalty I applied my rules. The incident happened on the fifth hole of an eighteen hole match. For the rest of the match I put him in all sorts of situations, nothing too obvious, but enough to lose us the match by a wide margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

No he dropped a ball out of his pocket right in front of the camera.

What was the captain doing playing in his own prize.