Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Many of the Gardaí

• 06-04-2011 2:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

Is it just Gardaí or Gards or Guards when you are describing them plurally? None of them look right to me.

Ugly feckers...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

ur posts are bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

I says Guards, but each to their own. People in Ireland will know what you're talking about in any case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

You are giving hotlips an orgasm with this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Tenzing

Sheeps wrote: »
    ur posts are bad

r dey? wich 1s offend u n we cn tlk bout it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I say Gards, but that could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Tenzing wrote: »
    r dey? wich 1s offend u n we cn tlk bout it.
    Your spelling offends me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

all of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

gord-ee

Well that's what RTÉ use

Sheeps wrote: »
    all of them

but why? :( how do I get your approval?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

who cares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

IBTL...please

gord-ee

Well that's what RTÉ use

I forgot to add that one in. Ghorrdee. Well it is that in the news so perhaps it is not correct to say gards / guards?

Singular - Garda
    Plural - Gardaì

A Guard is generally a security guard or such in Ireland. A Garda is not a Guard.

Why do dislikers be disliking the question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Bitches be crazy!

Can we still use bangarda?

That what it was back when I was in primary school, long long time ago

Don't see bangarda in newspaper reports anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Can we still use bangarda?

That what it is back when I was a primary school, long long time ago

Don't see bangarda is newspaper reports anymore

Nope, apparently it's sexualist!

No I don't see bangarda used anymore. I do see / hear Guards being used and said a lot. So it makes me wonder if it should be spelled as gards. They are guardians of the peace, it is what Garda Siochana means...just a question really on what is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Singular - Garda
    Plural - Gardaì

A Guard is generally a security guard or such in Ireland. A Garda is not a Guard.

I reckon OP meant what do you call them, not the official plural. etc

Always refer to them as Gardaí in written communication myself, but Guards when speaking of them. Anyone calling them the police in my presence gets swiftly corrected as I'm a bit of a pedant.

it makes me wonder if it should be spelled as gards.

It shouldn't, but it's a good pint you make.

A bucket loads of boardsies would jump down my throat for mis-spelling "point" in that last sentence, but no one ever corrects people on the Gardaì/Guards thing. Bit odd.

It shouldn't, but it's a good pint you make.

A bucket loads of boardsies would jump down my throat for mis-spelling "point" in that last sentence, but no one ever corrects people on the Gardaì/Guards thing. Bit odd.

I thought you were complimenting me on my efforts at barkeeping :P

Maybe it is because I think many of the nitpickers probably are unaware of the proper term or spelling. Perhaps they can be once it is established so they can guide the rest in the right direction.

Maybe it is because I think many of the nitpickers probably are unaware of the proper term or spelling.

We are aware.
    But most of us don't log onto boards to correct spelling in others posts

I see lots of mistakes and make my own mistakes all the time. This isn't a work email, it's only boards and I don't care once the point is clear and I understand it

OP, you can use any version you want, everyone knows what you mean when you do it

i know, i am not worried about people correcting my posts, i was joking. i was just wondering if there is a correct term. It just doesn't sound right when i say 'the garda' either. But doesn't look right when someone writes the gard. Hmmm :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I be callin' 'em da fuzz. Or 5-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

prinz wrote: »
    I be callin' 'em da fuzz. Or 5-0.

Finally!

5-0 comin up y'all!

I go with The Shades, or Federales

The filth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭backthephilup

As my old friend and all round top bloke Oliver Reed would say "keep a weather eye out for the gendarmes and don't spill that whiskey"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

Why do dislikers be disliking the question?

They see you spelling. They hatin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

Spoken plural would be guards. Written usually the same.

In a formal context gardai as a plural is the norm.

Never seen it as gard. That's just bad spelling in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

AGS

or

member(s) of AGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Po'leece/Five-O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

sdonn wrote: »
    IBTL

That always reminds me of a sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

No I don't see bangarda used anymore. I do see / hear Guards being used and said a lot. So it makes me wonder if it should be spelled as gards. They are guardians of the peace, it is what Garda Siochana means...just a question really on what is correct.

In St. Brigids Shrine, near me there is a very old gate with an inscription on it in Irish and English.

"Erected with honour by members of Irish Civil Guards" - Translated to Irish as An Garda Síochána

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

That always reminds me of a sandwich.

Apple's new sandwich - the iBTL