Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• 06-04-2011 12:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

The 21st of December will be a nervous day for everyone human in the world (the animals won't really know what's happening but then again they say they know these things first).
    With Radiation issues in Japan, tensions between world leaders growing by the day and the Pighead rumored to be dead people must be expecting something to happen, even if not the complete destruction of the world.

This wiki page has many theories on the subject and even suggest that it may be beginning of a new age... perhaps a return for mainstream dance music:confused:

It will be widely reported in papers and on news channels and many factors will be forced into said day, be it for commercial benefit or whatever else.

Some countries have already built bunkers in preparation, how will you prepare?

One thing is for certain Friday, 21/12/2012 won't be just another day....it'll be the shortest day of the year.

Some artists are already cashing in on the rumored Apocalypse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Villafan6

We is all gona die !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Did you get the munchies yet? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

I have a fair idea of what will happen.........................absolutely nothing.

If something does happen you can say 'i told you so' in boards heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

December 31st each year must be a nightmare for you.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

That day scares me more then the time Halloween fell on a Friday the 13th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

nobody answer this I havent seen the ending yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Colilfc

We're all going to heaven lads...waaayy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Saila wrote: »
    nobody answer this I havent seen the ending yet
    Jon Cusack regrets doing the film at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

This is absolute bollox on so many levels.
    The mayans were gobshiites. 360 days in a year? Put a stick in the ground an watch the shadows ffs.

I'm not arsed to make any good argument about this rubbish because it has been so debunked before.

What is this i don't even.

Blast the mayans in the face with piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Hah! At the time I write this post your post count is 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

fcuk all will happen. the world is changing now. it doesnt happen overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I'd say the Mayans just ran out of room on where they were writing. Or their biro ran out. Or they didn't have a pencil parer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

as I heard before, there are plenty of people nowadays that like to spout sh1te about what they think is going on / gonna happen to the world. no different back then.

although their knowledge of planets and the solar system is scary. oh and they predicted helicopters. just not their demise. or did they.

AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

You're better off to just go around saying "nothing is gonna' happen on 21/12/2012, and anyone who thinks otherwise is a fool" to everybody! That way, when the 22nd of December 2012 comes around and the world didn't end, you can go around smugly telling everyone "see? I told you! You are all fools".

But if 2012 does happen, and the world is destroyed, then all the people who said "the world is going to end" were correct! But... they can't exactly rub it in your face can they? Sure we'll all be dead :pac:

Nothing is gonna' happen on 21/12/2012, and anyone who thinks other wise is a fool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Ev84 wrote: »
    Nothing is gonna' happen on 21/12/2012, and anyone who thinks other wise is a fool!

The world is going to end on this day for a fact, its in the scriptures somewhere and all hollywood are getting us prepared for it.
    The things I am doing are:
    1: Going to confession on the 20th dec 2012 so that my passage to heaven is guarnteed with a clean soul.
    2: Not do my christmas shopping in November like I usually do.
    3: Get a big bowl of popcorn and a case of beer os I can relax in my man chair and watch the events unfolding on Sks news, my number 1 news channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Pighead rumored to be dead

:eek::confused::eek::confused:

what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This is absolute bollox on so many levels.
    The mayans were gobshiites. 360 days in a year? Put a stick in the ground an watch the shadows ffs.

I'm not arsed to make any good argument about this rubbish because it has been so debunked before.

What is this i don't even.

Blast the mayans in the face with piss.

Bit harsh on the Mayans there! I doubt they foresaw the type of gobshites that take their stuff as a prophecy, let alone intend for it to be seen that way =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

This day will be a nervous day for the lucky few that get selected to enter the Newgrange passage. For the weeks leading up to it, they will be monitoring the weather like hawks in the hope that they get a few minutes cloud break to see the awesome spectacle. The thought of getting selected and then being denied by a cloudy Irish day would sink anyones heart.

Here's to hoping that the sun shines on Dec. 21st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Ev84 wrote: »
    You're better off to just go around saying "nothing is gonna' happen on 21/12/2012, and anyone who thinks otherwise is a fool" to everybody! That way, when the 22nd of December 2012 comes around and the world didn't end, you can go around smugly telling everyone "see? I told you! You are all fools".

But if 2012 does happen, and the world is destroyed, then all the people who said "the world is going to end" were correct! But... they can't exactly rub it in your face can they? Sure we'll all be dead :pac:

I saw this as a group on Facebook like 2 days ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

The Mayans calander only goes up to 2012 for the same reason my nokia phone calander only goes up to 2099. Neither of us were/are expected to use it for that long.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

A baktun is 20 katun cycles of the ancient Maya Long Count Calendar. It contains 144,000 days, equivalent to 394.25 tropical years. The Classic period of Maya civilization occurred during the 8th and 9th baktuns of the current calendrical cycle. The current (13th) baktun will end, or be completed, on 13.0.0.0.0 (December 21, 2012 using the GMT correlation). This also marks the beginning of the 14th baktun, as such a term is usually used among Mayanists.

Misinterpretation of the Mesoamerican Long Count calendar is the basis for a New Age belief that a cataclysm will take place on December 21, 2012. December 21, 2012 is simply the day that the calendar will go to the next baktun.

Sandra Noble, executive director of the Mesoamerican research organization FAMSI, notes that "for the ancient Maya, it was a huge celebration to make it to the end of a whole cycle". She considers the portrayal of December 2012 as a doomsday or cosmic-shift event to be "a complete fabrication and a chance for a lot of people to cash in." The 2009 science fiction apocalyptic disaster film 2012 is based on this belief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Anyone sticking around here on 21/12/2012 is crazy in my book anyway, why take unnecessary chances?
    I for one will be getting out of here for a week until everything dies down...
    Only 624 days to go:eek:

Anyone sticking around here on 21/12/2012 is crazy in my book anyway, why take unnecessary chances?
    I for one will be getting out of here for a week until everything dies down...

Wheres nice that time of year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Jon : How will it be, this end of which you have spoken, Brother Enim?
    Omnes:Yes, how will it be?
    Peter : Well, it will be, as 'twere a mighty rending in the sky,you see, and the mountains shall sink, you see, and the valleys shall rise, you see, and great shall be the tumult thereof.
    Jon : Will the veil of the temple be rent in twain?
    Peter :The veil of the temple will be rent in twain about two minutes before we see the sign of the manifest flying beast-head in the sky.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I cannot open youtube at work, so feel free to peruse what the wonderful Neil Degrasse Tyson (astrophysicist) has to say below with regards to 2012.

Clickeh

irish-stew wrote: »
    Wheres nice that time of year?
    Well once those magnetic poles shift (lol) Ireland will experience a nice blast of heat.

I say start digging. I'll more than likely be in Dundrum car park on the lowest level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I think Jesus and Mohammed are going to come back to Earth on the day. Jesus will be here to take on the anti-Christ and Mohammed will just be back for the craic, just for a holiday like. But the anti-Christ will end up bashing Jesus cause he will just keep turning the other cheek and therefore getting his ass handed to himself so Mo Mo will cut the holiday short and come to lend him a hand. So it will be the anti-Christ and all the Satanists on one side and Mohammed and all the Muslims on the other side and the Christians in the stands watching it go on throwing a sly rock down on both the Muslims and the Satanists every now and again.

The Muslims will be suicide bombing people left right and centre and the Satanists will be throwing pentagram shaped ninja stars all round the shop. Then next thing Cthulu will rock up and just start fukking everybody up. Munching down souls left, right and centre. So just when it looks like 10,000 years of darkness are going to fall over a world where Cthulu rules over the Satanists and Muslims and uses the Christians as slave labour to do his evil bidding Clint fukking Eastwood will stroll into the middle of the lot of it wearing a mother fukking poncho and just start fanning the lot of them with colt six shooter saving the Earth, and all the non-Christians, non-Muslims and anyone that isn't Cthulu.

I guarantee it, it is written.

:eek::confused::eek::confused:

what
    A rumor I've seen circulating this site numerous times in the last few days, I hope it's not true. The Pighead was misunderstood, mistreated and if it is in fact dead and gone, will be truly missed.
    Ode to a friend named the Pighead. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Bit harsh on the Mayans there! I doubt they foresaw the type of gobshites that take their stuff as a prophecy, let alone intend for it to be seen that way =p

Yeah I know. They were an impressive civilisation for their time. I was going for a retarded post when I responded.

I'd say we'll have lots more posts about this in the coming months and each one is slowly going to chip away at what's left of my sanity. By then I'll probably be responding with memes and text-speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

One thing is for certain Friday, 21/12/2012 won't be just another day....it'll be the shortest day of the year.

It will also be one of the busiest shopping days of the year. What with it being the weekend before Christmas and all.

Well once those magnetic poles shift (lol) Ireland will experience a nice blast of heat.

I say start digging. I'll more than likely be in Dundrum car park on the lowest level.

But wont you be flooded out of it from the resulting tsunami?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

jester77 wrote: »
    This day will be a nervous day for the lucky few that get selected to enter the Newgrange passage. For the weeks leading up to it, they will be monitoring the weather like hawks in the hope that they get a few minutes cloud break to see the awesome spectacle. The thought of getting selected and then being denied by a cloudy Irish day would sink anyones heart.

Here's to hoping that the sun shines on Dec. 21st

Enter... passage *hehe*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

As they say were all safe
    Busted made it to the year 3000 :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Hopefully a few suicide cults pop up and do the honourable thing and take their defective genes out of action.

irish-stew wrote: »
    But wont you be flooded out of it from the resulting tsunami?
    Ill bring home a rubber ring from Spain next summer so I can't lose. -3 Dundrum is a safe bet. I'll probably just get out of here for a while though until its safe to return.
    There is going to be absolute mayhem in the lead up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

bc dub wrote: »
    as I heard before, there are plenty of people nowadays that like to spout sh1te about what they think is going on / gonna happen to the world. no different back then.

although their knowledge of planets and the solar system is scary. oh and they predicted helicopters. just not their demise. or did they.

AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!

And chocolate kimberleys0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

If the world doesn't end on 21/12/2012, well... theres going to be a lot of babies born in or around September 20th 2013! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

A rumor I've seen circulating this site numerous times in the last few days, I hope it's not true. The Pighead was misunderstood, mistreated and if it is in fact dead and gone, will be truly missed.
    Ode to a friend named the Pighead. :(

Links man ! (or GTFO...)
    Pighead for President anyone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

That day scares me more then the time Halloween fell on a Friday the 13th.

I almost didnt cop that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Pighead for President anyone ?

GOD NO!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

strobe wrote: »
    I think Jesus and Mohammed are going to come back to Earth on the day. Jesus will be here to take on the anti-Christ and Mohammed will just be back for the craic, just for a holiday like. But the anti-Christ will end up bashing Jesus cause he will just keep turning the other cheek and therefore getting his ass handed to himself so Mo Mo will cut the holiday short and come to lend him a hand. So it will be the anti-Christ and all the Satanists on one side and Mohammed and all the Muslims on the other side and the Christians in the stands watching it go on throwing a sly rock down on both the Muslims and the Satanists every now and again.

The Muslims will be suicide bombing people left right and centre and the Satanists will be throwing pentagram shaped ninja stars all round the shop. Then next thing Cthulu will rock up and just start fukking everybody up. Munching down souls left, right and centre. So just when it looks like 10,000 years of darkness are going to fall over a world where Cthulu rules over the Satanists and Muslims and uses the Christians as slave labour to do his evil bidding Clint fukking Eastwood will stroll into the middle of the lot of it wearing a mother fukking poncho and just start fanning the lot of them with colt six shooter saving the Earth, and all the non-Christians, non-Muslims and anyone that isn't Cthulu.

I guarantee it, it is written.

Now that would have been some film, well compared to the 2012 piece of piss with John Cusack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Wazdakka wrote: »
    GOD NO!!!

Calm down, its AH. I didn't say president of what !