Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone having trouble getting paid for promotional work?

• 05-04-2011 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭

I started work for a promotions company 3 months ago and haven't received any payment for it. I have contacted them a few times about it and they say they'll send my cheque but they don't! Anyone else with this same problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Eh..

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭User Named

was this in Galway by any chance...My girlfriend did the same and was told she'd be paid in Febuary but still no word...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Cheques. The currency of chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I have trouble getting money off a lot of builders,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

A cheque?!?

What is this payment method you speak of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

User Named wrote: »
    ..My girlfriend did the same and was told she'd be paid in Febuary but still no word...

That wasnt a promotional company she was working for...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭hoodini89

bonerm wrote: »
    Cheques. The currency of chancers.

Yeah the promise of receiving a cheque is a bit dodgy alright! Checking the post every day to see if my cheque arrives but unfortunately not. Won't be doing promotional work again!

was this in Galway by any chance...My girlfriend did the same and was told she'd be paid in Febuary but still no word...

No, it was work I did in Dublin. They're probably the same promotions company cos they're all over the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Kick them in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Ring Joe Duffy & tell him it's terrible. That will get you paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

That's funny. I haven't been getting paid for promotional work either. Haven't done any promotional work though, but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Go and unpromote whatever it was you had been promoting. That'll teach the bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

hoodini89 wrote: »
    I started work for a promotions company 3 months ago and haven't received any payment for it.

http://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/5814804/2/istockphoto_5814804-coffee-mug.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

??

He's calling him a mug :rolleyes:

JayEnnis wrote: »
    He's calling him a mug :rolleyes:

Top deduction.

Fancy some promotional work?

I'm a club photographer :(

What's with all the smart arse replies? I'd prefer to hear back from people in my situation instead of some eejit posting a pic of a mug, how original.

I'm a club photographer :(

Candid, you know, CANDID photography..he asked him knowingly..

I am now very confused..

OP, fight everyone. Fight your boss, fight his wife, kids, fight his dog, his grandparents, his aunts & uncles, his kids FIGHT EVERYONE

I am now very confused..

OP, fight everyone. Fight your boss, fight his wife, kids, fight his dog, his grandparents, his aunts & uncles, his kids FIGHT EVERYONE

Sorry. it's an old month python sketch. Only having a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Go into their office and stand there until they hand you the check. It's not as easy giving someone the run around who is there in person then over the phone.

Doc wrote: »
    Go into their office and stand there until they hand you the check. It's not as easy giving someone the run around who is there in person then over the phone.

Yeah that sounds like a good plan, thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

What's with all the smart arse replies? I'd prefer to hear back from people in my situation instead of some eejit posting a pic of a mug, how original.
    You posted in After Hours. Smart-arsed replies are par for the course.

Count yourself lucky; if you'd posted this last week you would've been blasted with piss.

Ah right. I didn't know where else to post this thread, I'm not too familiar with boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭User Named

was the company Verve promotions by any chance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Ah right. I didn't know where else to post this thread, I'm not too familiar with boards.

Personal Issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭this is arse

fill one of these up with piss and go down to their office,

http://images.freshnessmag.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/super_soaker_50_1.jpg

was the company Verve promotions by any chance..

Nope, it's Promo People. Do you work for Verve?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jungleismassiv

I worked for promopeople on the 15th of march 2011 i worked 6 and a half hours and worked for them on lst minutes notice because they were let down by someone .....i was told the wages r done the end of the month.....i am still awaiting payment from them......i have text the girl who initially contacted me and she informed me on wednesday that my cheque was in the post and would be here by friday......no suprises that it hasnt showed up yet...........its ridiculous i would never work for them again taking advantage of broke students especially with the way things are at the moment! Bad form

Have you texted them more than once? Just keep on texting and emailing them. That's what I did and I eventually got paid yesterday, but that was after two months waiting. It's very unprofessional of them making their employees wait for so long to get paid. I was working on a promotion with a girl a few weeks ago and she's still waiting on payment from them for work she did in October.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Send another text to say if the cheque doesn't arrive next week, you'll be reporting them. They didn't employ you, i'm pretty sure of this. They contracted you to wiggle out of tax and employers prsi, but they have infact presented themselves as the employer, because they called all the shots. I know of many companes that use people in that way. A quick scare and they'll be sure to pay you right away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭StrawberryJazz

Sorry for dragging up an old thread but Im having the same issue now.
    Wrote a formal email, no response.
    Called several times (payment is now due 3 months) and keep being told by the girl on the phone that "It's the md's job to sign the checks and its not her fault".

Just wondering if you got paid? How did it occur? Anything work for you in particular?

I am actually disgusted a company dealing in representation and promotional work would be so dreadful to deal with. Completely taking advantage of, mostly, teenagers who don't know what to do in this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

see previous post, that may work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

This should have been posted in Work & Jobs:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=10

My advice, file a claim with the Small Claims Court.
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/courts_system/small_claims_court.html

Only costs €18 and all you need is their address and your address and a short description of the problem. Nothing like getting the registered letter from the courts service on a Monday morning to make a company pay quick.

If they actually want to fight the claim... then I dunno, they're obviously broke.

My advice, file a claim with the Small Claims Court.
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/courts_system/small_claims_court.html

Only costs €18 and all you need is their address and your address and a short description of the problem. Nothing like getting the registered letter from the courts service on a Monday morning to make a company pay quick.

If they actually want to fight the claim... then I dunno, they're obviously broke.

Can you work the 18 euro into your claim...? Considering they are meant to voluntarily pay you and everything :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Maybe start making a big deal about your problem with payment in the head offices etc. of the companies you were promoting for? or at least threaten to. Embarrass it out of them

Dardania wrote: »
    Maybe start making a big deal about your problem with payment in the head offices etc. of the companies you were promoting for? or at least threaten to. Embarrass it out of them

I did make a big deal about it last time but yer one on the phone (who is shockingly untrained for a company promoting businesses) started claiming it wasn't her fault/problem. She also promised me I would have it two weeks ago.

Shady operations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

ye should all use your promotional talents(????wtf are they, a fit bod???) to promote the fact that this promotions company promotes the idea of not paying for their promotions. maybe then you will get promoted from the ranks of the mugs into the ranks of the paid promoter...or somthing...wtf is promotional work?? Do you get to dress up as a chicken and hand out leaflets???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Send a registered letter saying that if you don't get paid within seven days you will start legal proceedings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

To be honest I'm always a little bit wary of being paid in cheques. Surely direct debit is easier for all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Can you work the 18 euro into your claim...? Considering they are meant to voluntarily pay you and everything :rolleyes:
    Yes you can, and administrative fees for any efforts you've made to contact them. Only verifiable stuff like reg'd letters though. And if you do have to turn up to court and you're currently employed you can throw in lost earnings at the last minute afaik.

Got a very official - overly- legal letter today. The company have gone into liquidation. Can I still get paid? I'm listed as a creditor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Got a very official - overly- legal letter today. The company have gone into liquidation. Can I still get paid? I'm listed as a creditor.

Chances are slim and none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Shattered Dreamer

Depends on whether you're a secured creditor or unsecured

As said, chances are slim. Odds are that you're down as an unsecured creditor. People like the banks, ESB, etc will get paid first, and probably in full. Whatever's left in the coffers after that will get divided between the unsecured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

I started work for a promotions company 3 months ago and haven't received any payment for it. I have contacted them a few times about it and they say they'll send my cheque but they don't! Anyone else with this same problem?

What was you promoting? The Tony Blair fan club?

Can I take the owner to the small claims court? ( With a chance of winning)

The basis for this is that i worked in August and their lovely facebook page shows them opporating just last weekend...

If they knew they couldnt pay me in August and continued employing until October surely that whole activity is illegal and and therefore subject to criminal charges?

Can I take the owner to the small claims court? ( With a chance of winning)

The basis for this is that i worked in August and their lovely facebook page shows them opporating just last weekend...

If they knew they couldnt pay me in August and continued employing until October surely that whole activity is illegal and and therefore subject to criminal charges?
    I don't know for sure. From what little I do know, I don't think you can, because it was the company employed you and not the owner.