Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do ye think Stephen Cluxton will be done for assault

• 05-04-2011 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭

There's a lengthy thread in the soccer forum regarding an alleged punch by GAA star Stephen Cluxton at former soccer player Jason McAteer. The photos of the incident are pretty clear-cut:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056228979

But, do ye think that the police will take any action, or seeing as a 'sports celebrity' is involved, do ye think they might turn a blind eye (as they did to Neil Prenerville)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Big Bang Cluxton.

He only gave McAteer what he deserved...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It was only a Brit he punched. Not a real person.

In fact, Macateer should get a stiff jail sentence on top of the dig to teach him not to wind Irishmen up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭pmurphy00

i hope so...
    met him once on all-ireland final day
    ..think he's a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

From what I've heard he was bang out of order and acted like a thug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I believe Gardai generally steer clear of stuff that happens on sports pitches. Would bring about some amount of stuff if they acted on all of it. (This point was made on matt cooper recently)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Pictures show us a punch so its not alleged, I dont see this being followed up unless McAteer decides to press charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Rumors that it was all for show too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Hopefully he will have knocked some sense into Trigger. Clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

stovelid wrote: »
    It was only a Brit he punched. Not a real person.

In fact, Macateer should get a stiff jail sentence on top of the dig to teach him not to wind Irishmen up.
    So when he scored "that" goal against Holland to send us to the world cup were you dissapointed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Why all the hate for McAteer? What's he done wrong apart from represent the country?

It was the same in the soccer forum, a lot condoning it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Sounds like 6 of one , half dozen of the other or in other words ...two clowns exchanging handbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Why all the hate for McAteer? What's he done wrong apart from represent the country?

It was the same in the soccer forum, a lot condoning it

Probably scored agin Man Utd at some point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

So when he scored "that" goal against Holland to send us to the world cup were you dissapointed?

I was happier to see him play for a real Irish team like Liverpool with other patriots such as Phil O' Babb.

These days, however, he is of no practical use for the nation and as such is clearly remiss in deliberately assualting an Irishman's fist wtih his face. Doubly so for embarassing the poor Cluxton lad by doing it at a charity match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Hmm, I thought the goals against Iran in the playoffs sent us to the World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Charity match. Heard the Dlublin lads relished the opportunity to take on some big names, started throwing in wild tackles etc. Legends team wanted the whole thing calmed down that it was only an exhibition game. Tackles kept flying in. McAteer gets sick of it, decided to play that way too, took down Cluxton, Cluxton gets up and smacks him a punch. Pretty straightforward. Cluxton let himself and his team down by acting like a brat.

Hmm, I thought the goals against Iran in the playoffs sent us to the World Cup.
    Ah you know what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

Cluxton is a scumbag and deserves to be punished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

fontanalis wrote: »
    Probably scored agin Man Utd at some point!

I'm a United fan, and from Dublin. Here's my take: Cluxton is a fcuking scumbag, tbh.

well I never, a thread where every second post someone is called a scumbag. How original!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

well I never, a thread where every second post someone is called a scumbag. How original!

Besides the fact you actually can't count, this is a thread about someone behaving like a scumbag. Really, you're surprised?

davyjose wrote: »
    Besides the fact you actually can't count, this is a thread about someone behaving like a scumbag. Really, you're surprised?
    Shock horror, bloke throws a punch in a football match! It's a new low, never happened before! A scumbag I tell ye!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

Actually I think we're entitled to call someone who uses a charity match to start acting the hard man, throwing in dangerous tackles, letting his team down and punching someone who stood up to his bullying a scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

stovelid wrote: »
    I was happier to see him play for a real Irish team like Liverpool with other patriots such as Phil O' Babb.

These days, however, he is of no practical use for the nation and as such is clearly remiss in deliberately assualting an Irishman's fist wtih his face. Doubly so for embarassing the poor Cluxton lad by doing it at a charity match.

I followed the thread in the soccer fourm last night... you really are coming across as a bitter little shrew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Keep it in Soccer, thx.