Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange convoy on M50 this morning

• 05-04-2011 8:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭

Anyone else see all the garda out-riders slow the M50 NB traffic this morning about 7.15?
    they were escorting the biggest convoy I've seen in ages; a group 4 or 5 identical white articulated trucks (civilian haulage company I think), with each one separated by an army patrol jeep, other with garda and army vehicles in support.

3 out riders in front and 3 behind, with all NB traffic coming moving behind them.

Did the IMF give us the loan in cash?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Raw materials shipment to the mint.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Northbound on the M50 though. :confused:

I thought the mint was in Sandyford, on the southside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Berties pension?

It could be the cash coming FROM the mint in Sandyford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Raw materials shipment to the mint.

can't see a few tons of metals and paper needing such a heavy guard.
    If northbound likely currency leaving the mint to go into the big black hole of banking.
    Would a billion Euro fit in a 40ft truck :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

Related to this maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

This sighting is becoming somewhat regual it seems.

Over on the Emergency Services forum it was discussed some time back with the revelation emerging that the Irish Central Bank actually mints n prints Euro`s for other European countries as a bit of a nixer !!

Way to Go !

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,756 ✭✭✭sk8board

AlekSmart wrote: »
    This sighting is becoming somewhat regual it seems.

Over on the Emergency Services forum it was discussed some time back with the revelation emerging that the Irish Central Bank actually mints n prints Euro`s for other European countries as a bit of a nixer !!

Way to Go !

hmmm, it could have been going to the airport alright; can't see where else it would be headed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

More money leaving the country.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

sk8board wrote: »
    Anyone else see all the garda out-riders slow the M50 NB traffic this morning about 7.15?
    they were escorting the biggest convoy I've seen in ages; a group 4 or 5 identical white articulated trucks (civilian haulage company I think), with each one separated by an army patrol jeep, other with garda and army vehicles in support.

3 out riders in front and 3 behind, with all NB traffic coming moving behind them.

Whatever it was it ended up down in the Cargo area of Dublin airport, saw it there at 7.20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Whatever it was it ended up down in the Cargo area of Dublin airport, saw it there at 7.20.

Hmmm..I didnt see the convoy but i did hear and see 2 of the loudest helicopters at around that time land in the Cargo area of airport.They looked suspiciously like helicopters the american armed forces use,big black yokes,,
    God were they loud !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭joegriffinjnr

This happens every month or so. Today was money been transfered to another Euro country. Ireland prints euro notes for other countries, and other countries prints Irelands euro notes. Each country does not print its own notes. The money is transfered from Sandyford to the airport to a waiting plane in 40ft lorries normally 3 with a spare tractor unit. Mc Cafferys normally do it. The air support is via 2 army helecopters and a garda one. There is heavy security around the cargo areas of the airport also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

The air support is via 2 army helecopters and a garda one.

So that's 3 Air Corps helicopters then?

Yes its 3. The Garda one is usually in the distance, but it does be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Ireland prints euro notes for other countries, and other countries prints Irelands euro notes. Each country does not print its own notes.

What a shockingly pointless waste of money spent on transport and security needlessly. Why can't each country print it own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

What a shockingly pointless waste of money spent on transport and security needlessly. Why can't each country print it own?

To stop Biffo/Ahern/Berlusconi greasing a few palms to spruce up a individual economy I would guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

it's like marking each other's scores on a golf course (something Biffo would know about), people can't trust each other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

This happens every month or so. Today was money been transfered to another Euro country. Ireland prints euro notes for other countries, and other countries prints Irelands euro notes. Each country does not print its own notes. The money is transfered from Sandyford to the airport to a waiting plane in 40ft lorries normally 3 with a spare tractor unit. Mc Cafferys normally do it. The air support is via 2 army helecopters and a garda one. There is heavy security around the cargo areas of the airport also.

Not so. Each country can print it's own notes and notes for other countries. Notes produced for Ireland have a serial number starting with a T. Notes printed in Ireland have a printer number starting with a K. I have a 10 and 20 note in my wallet that would indicate that they were printed in Ireland and produced for Ireland. Irish notes are also printed in the UK and Austria.

It seemed that Ireland only printed notes for Ireland. We must have got into the export business.

thats exactly what it was

3 * 40foot + one tractor, all McCaffreys

so thats that then; glad I asked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,148 ✭✭✭✭L1011

We used to only print fivers and tenners at the start and the rest were imported; I believe we've branched out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Wonders how many tenners you can fit into a 40' and wonders how many 40's would sort out or current situation! :D

Happened again today ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Happened again today ;)
    That's another days interest on the bailout paid off:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭SeanW

BrianD wrote: »
    Not so. Each country can print it's own notes and notes for other countries. Notes produced for Ireland have a serial number starting with a T. Notes printed in Ireland have a printer number starting with a K. I have a 10 and 20 note in my wallet that would indicate that they were printed in Ireland and produced for Ireland. Irish notes are also printed in the UK and Austria.

It seemed that Ireland only printed notes for Ireland. We must have got into the export business.
    That's not the whole story, each country produces 3-4 denominations of notes - Ireland prints some 10s, a lot of 20s, rarely 50s and I've seen a few Irish 100s. So we may, for example, be printing these denominations and sending them abroad, much like most 5s in Ireland are E/P, i.e. printed in France (F. C. Oberthur (France - Chantepie)) for the Netherlands. Incidentally, I've seen the E printer code on notes from all over Europe, including Finland and Eastern Europe.

On the contrary notes with a T Serial (i.e. printed for Ireland) I've rarely seen them with anything other than a K shortcode (printed directly by the Central Bank of Ireland) and sometimes H, a UK printer De La Rue. I don't think I've ever seen an Austrian printed T serial note.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

and sometimes H, a UK printer De La Rue

This company took over Smurfit yea?

sk8board wrote: »

they were out in convoy on the M50N on the way to the airport again yesterday at 7.15, its a bizzare view from the opposite side of the motorway!

would love to know how much is in those trucks - hundreds of millions surely

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

It's likely cheaper overall doing it this way, and we likely profit from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭SeanW

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭alentejo

New bridge for Athlone Bypass

SeanW wrote: »
    Looking at that link, Ireland is one of the main printers of €5, €10 & €20 notes.

No wonder the security is tight, perfect notes to "lose" in the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Could you imagine if one of those trucks crashed just 253 meters south of the Liffey Valley junction, and some how the trailer ripped open, and unfortunately the plastic wrappings disintegrated, and with a stroke of bad luck the paper bands holding the wads together broke, and an unfortunate sudden gust of wind pick up right there and then and blew all the notes for 3,527 meters in a WSW direction and they all landed in a heap in some random persons back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Louche Lad

Is it a waste? Maybe it's more cost effective for some countries to outsource their printing operations to other countries rather than maintain heir own printing operations. Doing some back-of-envelope calculations you come up with quite massive sums of money for the notes being transported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Louche Lad

SeanW wrote: »
    That's not the whole story, each country produces 3-4 denominations of notes - Ireland prints some 10s, a lot of 20s, rarely 50s and I've seen a few Irish 100s. So we may, for example, be printing these denominations and sending them abroad, much like most 5s in Ireland are E/P, i.e. printed in France (F. C. Oberthur (France - Chantepie)) for the Netherlands. Incidentally, I've seen the E printer code on notes from all over Europe, including Finland and Eastern Europe.

On the contrary notes with a T Serial (i.e. printed for Ireland) I've rarely seen them with anything other than a K shortcode (printed directly by the Central Bank of Ireland) and sometimes H, a UK printer De La Rue. I don't think I've ever seen an Austrian printed T serial note.

Interesting - didn't know this - thanks SW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Markcheese

stoneill wrote: »
    Could you imagine if one of those trucks crashed just 253 meters south of the Liffey Valley junction, and some how the trailer ripped open, and unfortunately the plastic wrappings disintegrated, and with a stroke of bad luck the paper bands holding the wads together broke, and an unfortunate sudden gust of wind pick up right there and then and blew all the notes for 3,527 meters in a WSW direction and they all landed in a heap in some random persons back garden.

Not sure of the geography... But would this explain lodgements in a future tribunal...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Lurching

Saw this again this morning northbound on the M50.

3x Caffreys Artics
    1x Garda chopper
    1x Aer Corps chopper
    6x Garda bikes
    2x Garda cars
    3x Army Pajeros

Or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Great work lads, planning a heist just became a lot easier for me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,414 ✭✭✭markpb

Great work lads, planning a heist just became a lot easier for me :P

Step 1: Build a time machine
    Step 2: Use your boards knowledge to rob the convoy
    Step 3: Cackle like a maniac
    Step 4: Profit

Step 3 is most important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭vickers209

Must be Greece's Bailout Fund:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

The US military lost 113 tonnes ( or maybe just tons) of dollar bank notes shortly after the invasion of Iraq. I think it was a billion dollars or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

The US military lost 113 tonnes ( or maybe just tons) of dollar bank notes shortly after the invasion of Iraq. I think it was a billion dollars or so.

They lost billions because the was next to no oversight on the approx $20 billion they shipped to Iraq, and around $2 billion was stolen and taken to Lebanon.
    James Risen has a chapter about it in his book "Pay Any Price". Crazy how flippant they were with it.

They lost billions because the was next to no oversight on the approx $20 billion they shipped to Iraq, and around $2 billion was stolen and taken to Lebanon.
    James Risen has a chapter about it in his book "Pay Any Price". Crazy how flippant they were with it.
    Sure, it's only money, someone else will repay it!
    despite the fact that they simply printed it into existence in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Maybe we got the Drachma printing contract ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭iMac Hunt

Saw 3 helicopters over the M50 on my way into work this morning, was wondering what was going on!

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Maybe we got the Drachma printing contract ?
    No, Andrex got that one! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,434 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Expect to see a lot more: all Euro notes are being re-printed ...

... wait for it ....

... on Greece-proof paper.