Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My broadband trouble

• 04-04-2011 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,934 ✭✭✭✭

Okay since last week Iv had trouble with my broadband from the DSL going for no reason. I rang eircom technical support and they thought it was the filter so they sent me out a replacement but that didnt work. So they are investigating it now.

It was better today during the day time but since the night it has been a nightmare with disconnections and during my pc gaming my ping would be all over the place. One minute my ping would be grand then a few minutes later it would go all over the place and the game would be impossible to play. I rang eircom support but you might as well be talking to the wall (during the day time eircom support are much better imo)

When i restart the modem some times it comes back other times it doesn't

Please eircom sort this out

edit
    ffs I cant barely have 20mins of play without my broadband modem needing a restart to get the dsl signal back

really frustrating stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭eircom: Tony

Headshot wrote: »
    Okay since last week Iv had trouble with my broadband from the DSL going for no reason. I rang eircom technical support and they thought it was the filter so they sent me out a replacement but that didnt work. So they are investigating it now.

It was better today during the day time but since the night it has been a nightmare with disconnections and during my pc gaming my ping would be all over the place. One minute my ping would be grand then a few minutes later it would go all over the place and the game would be impossible to play. I rang eircom support but you might as well be talking to the wall (during the day time eircom support are much better imo)

When i restart the modem some times it comes back other times it doesn't

Please eircom sort this out

edit
    ffs I cant barely have 20mins of play without my broadband modem needing a restart to get the dsl signal back

really frustrating stuff

Hi Headshot
    are you connecting via ethernet or cable and connected to main phone socket when drops happen?
    I have taken tests again here and find good speeds. of course you report mostly happens at night. I have escalated this again to line and broadband and hope to have some feedback later today or tomorrow.
    Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,934 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Hi Headshot
    are you connecting via ethernet or cable and connected to main phone socket when drops happen?
    I have taken tests again here and find good speeds. of course you report mostly happens at night. I have escalated this again to line and broadband and hope to have some feedback later today or tomorrow.
    Tony

Thanks for the reply Tony

A eircom engineer is coming over today so hopefully it will be sorted

if you look at my broadband last night I had numerous dsl failings and had to restart the modem, this is happening often

Happy to hear engineer going to house testing direct from socket should be pretty definitive in locating any issue.
    Goodluck.
    Tony

Hi headshot
    tech was out and has found possible port issue which has been resolved. Have you noticed improvement?
    Tony

Hi headshot
    tech was out and has found possible port issue which has been resolved. Have you noticed improvement?
    Tony

Yes Tony a great improvement infact

thanks again

Yes Tony a great improvement infact

thanks again

Ok headshot good to hear that:D lets hope it's constant..
    Tony

Ok headshot good to hear that:D lets hope it's constant..
    Tony

thanks Tony. The next step is to get me faster broadband :(

Hi Headshot:eek:
    Actually had a look at your line now that tech has resolved issue and this is certainly worth chasing...
    Will have some feed-back by Monday..
    Have a good weekend and hope to have some good news though can't promise.:)
    Tony

Looking forward to hearing from ya on Monday, have a good weekend tony

all the best, HS

Tony any news for me

Tony my broadband has been ****e, plain and simple

Im really finding it hard to play online games because the connection is all over the place and often have to reset the modem to get the connection back after being disconnected

You have to increase the higher capacity in the exchange, that's where I think the trouble is coming from

Having everyone in my area on only 3mb is a joke. Why is eircom doing this?
    "Eircom inadequately equips area for broadband" would make a good headline in the tipperary nationalist

Tony any news for me

Tony my broadband has been ****e, plain and simple

Im really finding it hard to play online games because the connection is all over the place and often have to reset the modem to get the connection back after being disconnected

You have to increase the higher capacity in the exchange, that's where I think the trouble is coming from

Having everyone in my area on only 3mb is a joke. Why is eircom doing this?
    "Eircom inadequately equips area for broadband" would make a good headline in the tipperary nationalist

Hi Headshot
    tech is still investigating the posibility of increasing speed so am awaiting feed back at the moment.
    Is the current issue with drops in connection same as before, is speed the same or has this deteriorated since last week?
    Still chasing this and will update as soon as possible.
    Tony

Hi Headshot
    tech is still investigating the posibility of increasing speed so am awaiting feed back at the moment.
    Is the current issue with drops in connection same as before, is speed the same or has this deteriorated since last week?
    Still chasing this and will update as soon as possible.
    Tony

its the same issue but no dsl light blinking or going off

Just like a drop in connection

Tony this isnt on

I pay 100 euro for my Eircom package and for the last week in a bit I cant play online. The broadband and mostly the ping is god awful

I know Paul your looking into it but I thought i ring your customer care to see could I do anything and they are awful

You know what I was told, "give Microsoft a ring and they may beable to fix the problem", now that was from an engineer . What a joke, an absolute joke.

My broadband is used for gaming and im still have to pay the 100 euro at the end of 2 months even thou I cant use it for what it was intended for the last week in a bit :mad:

I know Paul your looking into it but I thought i ring your customer care to see could I do anything and they are awful

You know what I was told, "give Microsoft a ring and they may beable to fix the problem", now that was from an engineer . What a joke, an absolute joke.

My broadband is used for gaming and im still have to pay the 100 euro at the end of 2 months even thou I cant use it for what it was intended for the last week in a bit :mad:

Hi Headshot
    Tech support have confirmed that 2Mb is the capacity of your line, but are still investigating slow speed issue. Hope to have more a bit later today.
    Tony

2mb even thou i have 3mb broadband. Tony eircom need to upgrade the capacity in the exchange. It's so unfair that my area can only get 3mb broadband, its a disgrace

Hello Eircom

Since Tony is away iv been instructed to talk to Ant about interleaving

Ant why do i need to decrease my broadband for interleaving to me that's complete nonsense. why does Eircom see a need for a change in interleaving to get a better ping?

My broadband stats are great and my problems have been your side.

Do Eircom have any plans to increase the speeds for users on my exchange?
    Its pretty bad that my area can only get 3mb or 1mb broadband.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭eircom: Ant

Hello Eircom

Since Tony is away iv been instructed to talk to Ant about interleaving

Ant why do i need to decrease my broadband for interleaving to me that's complete nonsense. why does Eircom see a need for a change in interleaving to get a better ping?

My broadband stats are great and my problems have been your side.

Do Eircom have any plans to increase the speeds for users on my exchange?
    Its pretty bad that my area can only get 3mb or 1mb broadband.

Hi Headshot,

Thanks for contacting eircom on Boards.ie

To answer the first part of your query : There is no need whatsoever to change your speed, or interleaving, if you do not wish to do so. It is up to yourself if you would like to try this. Dropping your speed from 3Mb to 2Mb with low interleaving may help improve your data transfer rate and ping times. I would recommend that you at least try this, as it has worked in the past for customers who are primarily interested in gaming.

What is Interleaving - http://www.dslreports.com/faq/559

In general most third party games consoles require that you use at least 3Mb broadband connection (with low interleaving). You can always check this with your games console vendor.

eircom customers dedicated XBox Support - http://broadbandsupport.eircom.net/xbox.htm

Your connection is unfortunately limited, at the moment, to 3Mb (high Interleaving). This may change in the near future and Next Generation Broadband NGB is being widely planned nationwide. If you would like to find out when your exchange is due to be upgraded, just log on to www.ngb.ie and leave your email contact address. You will then be informed near the time when your exchange is due to be ugraded to NGB.

Please let me know if I can help you further.

Kind regards,
    Ant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Could you post your line statistics Headshot?? How far are you from the exchange physically, just to remind all here?

Could any of the eircom staff here look into this connection's signal margin and then explain why this line can't handle 8mbps let alone 3mbps??

This connection is being limited for no good technical or engineering reason that has been offered so far.

Just saying that the line is "unfortunately limited" is pure nonsense. Why have eircom limited every eircom customer on this exchange so?? Can no-one in eircom realise how absurd this situation sounds?!

The maximum speed a line can handle has nothing to do with the NGB project. With RADSL, either a line can support a data rate of 8 mbps or 7 mbps or 1 mbps or it can't. This max speed is solely based on what the ISP allows, the length of the line and how much electrical noise there is on the connection and what power the modem and DSLAM is allowed operate at. Contention and capacity and congestion should have no technical bearing whatsover on the raw data rate between Modem and DSLAM.

Here ya go TBC. Thanks for the help too

X1RpP.png

my exchange is roughly 500 yards away from me

Great post TBC and I hope Eircom post an in-depth reply to all your questions there

That line is indeed less than a kilometre long. Now eircom, what in the world means this line has to have high interleaving?!

Here ya go TBC. Thanks for the help too

X1RpP.png

my exchange is roughly 500 yards away from me

Great post TBC and I hope Eircom post an in-depth reply to all your questions there

Hi Headshot, thanks again for contacting eircom on boards.

Just to advise, maximum download speeds cannot be guaranteed, as eircom broadband is Rate Adaptive, i.e. a distance dependant* technology. (*The distance between the modem and the exchange it is connected to). This may not be in a straight line from the exchange (or "as the crow flies").

However, if there is a large difference between the speed of your broadband package and the speed test result, here are a few suggestions.

*Note: Upload speeds are not the equal to download speeds. For example, on a broadband connection of 1MBps, the maximum download speed could be approximately 1MB (1024kbps), but the upload speed will be 128kbps. This is the very nature of ADSL (Asymmetric Digital Subscriber Line - asymmetric meaning unequal).

* Powercycle the modem:
    Flick the power switch to the Off position on the back of the modem
    Wait 30 seconds
    Switch the modem back On
    Wait two minutes for the modem to re-connect

* Disconnect everything from the phone line: phones, fax machine, Sky Digital TV, or any other equipment connected to the phone line which may interfere with the broadband connection. Remove the splitter and connect the modem directly to the main phone socket. Test the connection speed again.

Further information on DSL connectivity can be found on eircom's Support Website - http://bit.ly/f2hYl7

Please call Broadband Support or Broadband Sales directly if you need to confirm what Broadband speed your home telephone line pre-qualifies for :

Broadband Sales - 1800 503303 (freefone)

Broadband Technical Support : 1890 260260 (lowcall); hrs : 08:00 - 22:00 Mon - Sun.

Please let me know if I can help you further or if you need assistance with any other matter.

Kind regards

Ant

Lads, this line is less than one kilometre long!

This is NOT based on google maps, a car odometer or even a bloody measuring tape, it's what the modem is reporting. The modem clearly cannot lie, as attenuation is directly proportional to line length or else a fault would cause the modem to report a higher attenuation than what should be the case. But if attenuation is only 10dB, there's no possibility that the line could be more than one km long!! It's not even up for discussion, eircom should contact the local linesmen and hear from the horse's mouth if you don't believe me.

As far as troubleshooting this line is concerned, clearly Eircom Tech Support need more training. No offence guys, but to suggest there is a physical fault or source of interference with this line is nothing short of incompetence.

Have a look at the signal margin. What does it say?? It says that this line would need to have 0.1% of the signal strength before the download speeds would have to be lowered. That's right, 1 onethousandth of the current signal strength!! Or else that interference to the downstream part of the connection would need to be increased 1000 times to force a reduction in speed!

The upstream signal margin is not so completely safe but it's far more than adequate for the speed all the same. A line will work just fine so long as the signal margin is 6 to 8 dB or higher on both upstream and downstream. Trying to do more things to improve the signal margin is just bloody pointless!! So OP, don't bother removing sky boxes and stuff that can "interfere" with your line as there is absolutely nothing wrong with it!

Eircom have said your line prequals at 3 mbps with high interleaving and they don't seem bothered to accept the modem statistics which put the lie to this!

Eircom should be ashamed of their handling of this so far. Here for the record is a bit about signal margins for the benefit of staff: http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/linestats.htm#target_SNR Eircom's RADSL is no different to BT Openreach's in that they employ a minimum signal margin target of 6dB. As the OP's line has multiples of 6dB in signal margin, we can conclude that the line is operating at nowhere near full speed.

Could you post your line statistics Headshot?? How far are you from the exchange physically, just to remind all here?

Could any of the eircom staff here look into this connection's signal margin and then explain why this line can't handle 8mbps let alone 3mbps??

This connection is being limited for no good technical or engineering reason that has been offered so far.

Just saying that the line is "unfortunately limited" is pure nonsense. Why have eircom limited every eircom customer on this exchange so?? Can no-one in eircom realise how absurd this situation sounds?!

The maximum speed a line can handle has nothing to do with the NGB project. With RADSL, either a line can support a data rate of 8 mbps or 7 mbps or 1 mbps or it can't. This max speed is solely based on what the ISP allows, the length of the line and how much electrical noise there is on the connection and what power the modem and DSLAM is allowed operate at. Contention and capacity and congestion should have no technical bearing whatsover on the raw data rate between Modem and DSLAM.

Hi To_be_confirmed,

Thanks for query and apologies for any delay.

If you PM your eircom home phone number, I will be able to check broadband sync and see what your adsl telephone line pre-qualifies for.

As advised in previous post, adsl is a rate adaptive technology and downloads cannot be guaranteed. That is, it is distant dependent - from your premises to the local exchange. This may not run directly, or as the 'crow flies'. In some cases a premises which may be directly beside the exchange, may not be as close to a house a couple of Kilometres away in the same area.

This in general will determine whether a fixed telephone line prequalifies for *8Mb Next Generation Broadband or 1Mb regular adsl broadband connection.

I found the following website useful in relation to interleaving, and may be helpful. There are loads more definitions on Interleaving online and they may provide additional information on this subject.

http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/interleaving.htm

Please PM your eircom telephone number and I can take a look at your own sync and dsl connection.

Kind regards,

Ant

I wasn't talking about myself, I felt compelled to comment at the ridiculous situation that Headshot has found him/herself in.

Ironically my folk's line (with perlico) has been limited by wholesale as it's about 6km long despite the fact the signal margin is 16dB on that line too... But that's another story and perlico are the ones who have to deal with it.

My own line is much longer (it's about 2.5km long) than Headshot's yet I can get the full 8 mbps...

what a load of bull

I am less thank 500yrs from the exchange and Ant you come out with that drivel "As advised in previous post, adsl is a rate adaptive technology and downloads cannot be guaranteed. That is, it is distant dependent - from your premises to the local exchange. This may not run directly, or as the 'crow flies'. In some cases a premises which may be directly beside the exchange, may not be as close to a house a couple of Kilometres away in the same area."

Hello I live 500yrs from the exchange, what else can i say? Yet I cant get better than 3mb broadband, why is that ?

Ant do you not see how ridiculous this is ?

Btw TBC speaks on my behalf too so dont ignore some of his questions :)

So any news Tony or Ant?

Hi Headshot,

I have no more information other than what we have advised previously. Technical Support have stated that your broadband connection has limited Backhaul. That said you should get a 3Mb profile, which you are currently getting. This essentially means that even though you are on a 2Mb profile you will get a 3Mb constraint.

Unfortunately, the customer services team cannot advise you further technically.

If you need further confirmation or technial advice, please contact our Technical Support team.

Broadband Technical Support - 1890 260260 (lowcall) ; hrs - 08:00 - 22:00 (Mon - Sun)

Kind regards,
    Ant

Interleaving has nothing to do with backhaul though?? Interleaving has no effect on the amount of data carried other than it's more resillient to errors and increases ping times. What's stopping even 3mb low interleaving or 3mb fastpath?

Also what are eircom going to do about this limited backhaul?? When is capacity going to be increased?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

/me Get's some popcorn :)

my broadband has returned to its crap self right now, it was grand for the past 2 days

its 1 am and I cant play any games what so ever, my ping is disastrous.

Why at 1am in is my broadband crap?

also eircom representative i hope you give a detail answer to To_be_confirmed above post

Interleaving has nothing to do with backhaul though?? Interleaving has no effect on the amount of data carried other than it's more resillient to errors and increases ping times. What's stopping even 3mb low interleaving or 3mb fastpath?

Also what are eircom going to do about this limited backhaul?? When is capacity going to be increased?

Hi TBC, thanks again,

I fully agree with you, Interleaving has nothing to do with the line capacity, though many games' vendors would advise that low interleaving may assist in ping times.

I have no further information as when your exchange will be upgraded. At the moment this is all the information we have to hand.

That said, as soon as we receive further information on this, we will advise you here or otherwise on our Forum

Unfortunately, the customer services team cannot advise you further on this technically.

If you need more clarification I would refer you to our Broadband Technical Support. Their phone no is :

Broadband Technical Support - 1890 260260 (lowcall) ; hrs - 08:00 - 22:00 (Mon - Sun)

All the best,
    Ant

my broadband has returned to its crap self right now, it was grand for the past 2 days

its 1 am and I cant play any games what so ever, my ping is disastrous.

Why at 1am in is my broadband crap?

also eircom representative i hope you give a detail answer to To_be_confirmed above post

Hi Headshot,

Thanks for contacting eircom on Boards.

I've checked your sync and connection across our Auth server.

I can see that you lost carrier this morning at 00:45 and came back again at 6:43 am.

The sync now appears solid again.

If you monitor your connection and it happens again over the next days, I will escalate this to Technical Support.

Obviously, if you can just ensure there is nothing internally connected to your phone line system (e.g, extension cables, or Sky box(s) and if possible test your modem directly with out the adsl splitter.

If you don't want to do this, don't worry as I can escalate any way. The engineer will therefore only check the exchange and the cabling leading up to you premises.

If you'd prefer to call into Broadband Support directly, please do so and they will be able to asist you with this.

Once you get your reference or case ID from Technical Support, please send it to me and I will follow this up as a matter of urgency.

I have advised your colleague TBC on the current status on your limited capacity on your broadband connection. That is, we have no further information on this at the momenet, though we will advise you as we get more information.

Please monitor your connection over the next day(s) and if there's a repeat of this intermittent connection, please advise as above.

Regards again,
    Ant

Headshot, could you post line stats from about 1am or so if at all possible? Or at least from times when you're experiencing line problems. A couple of samples would be helpful!

ill do that TBC when if i have another problem :)

heres the log

kDyIs.png

Hi Headshot,

Thanks for contacting eircom on Boards.

I've checked your sync and connection across our Auth server.

I can see that you lost carrier this morning at 00:45 and came back again at 6:43 am.

The sync now appears solid again.

If you monitor your connection and it happens again over the next days, I will escalate this to Technical Support.
    Happening again

Ant this is really getting repetitive.

Happening again

Ant this is really getting repetitive.

Hi thanks for your post.

If this is happening again then I will refer you to eircom Technical Support.

Technical Support are the only department in eircom that can assist you further with a technical issue. Technical Support will also be able to run some further testing when you're on the phone.

Broadband Technical Support : 1890260260 (lowcall); opening hrs : 08:00 - 22:00 (Mon - Sun)

Cheers,