Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone else read this article in the indepedent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Independent?

Hell no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

just read this http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/the-new-rules-of-irish-manhood-2607618.html

tbh it reeks of reverse sexism to me-it the same article had been about women then it just would't happen

what do ye all think?

in sindo; dr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

east german olympians? Apparently Donal is in his mid-fifties and couldn't pull an Irish or East European woman if he wanted to...

Seems to be a bad R'OC-K impression, which is the only form of journalism in this country these days apart from rewriting press releases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sunday Independent? /thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

That was very funny to read. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Not to mention Donal still attends Mass twice a week and spends his weekends preaching on Grafton Street, and regards everyone else as a Godless heathen.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think that journalist should have a blog instead. It's just a lot of opinion and made-up anecdotes portrayed as an article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

I thought that was reasonably funny, and if I ever get to the point where I'm offended by it or similar, I'll go to the zoo and not wait for the tiger to come to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

hondasam wrote: »
    That was very funny to read. :pac:

not funny at all

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

"On the morning of a dinner party, he locks himself in the living room with a calculator and the latest articles by Colm McCarthy, Brendan Keenan, David McWilliams, Dan O'Brien and Wolfgang Munchau in the Financial Times. ("You don't read Wolfgang? You're in the dark ages," says Darragh, losing another friend forever.) By five o'clock he has the figure. Lydia warns him to steer clear of "your bank-bailout gob****ery, these are our friends." Darragh says "no probs, honey" while making sure not to forget the number 213 billion."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Terribly written ****e, an article with the actual potential to be funny ruined by a god awful writer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    not funny at all

There is some humorous pieces there. I don't think it is meant to be serious.
    If it was about women I would think it was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Ultan headed indoors and made himself a den under the stairs before Caroline got a chance to turn it into their third jacks. He bought an Xbox and disappeared into a world of killing Nazis on Medal of Honor. No more watching Desperate Housewives on the couch with Caroline, thinking, "If a tiger broke into the house now and bit off my head it wouldn't be as bad as heap of ****e."
    Never a truer word written.

Article is a bit of a laugh though. Especially the bit with the Wii. What a piece of **** that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

i honestly tried to read it, but due to the very real threat of cringing myself into hospital, i had to stop after the second paragraph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

god i hate the indo

anyone who buys it should be put to sleep

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Terribly written ****e, an article with the actual potential to be funny ruined by a god awful writer.

Agreed, complete dreck, but I wouldn't expect any less from the Sindo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I couldn't read it all. I read the first, what I think was a paragraph. it's not funny at all. it's annoying to read. and what the **** is wrong with irish women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I'm not going to read it but strangely don't feel at ll conflicted about asserting that its crap. The sindo is a rag, even more so than its daily sibling.

and what the **** is wrong with irish women?

Don't go there. Not on AH, for the love of God!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Don't go there. Not on AH, for the love of God!

uh oh. what have i done!? :eek: :pac:

Well, you might find many men agreeing with article. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

And they get paid for this crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Logfire

"There's a lot more Cillians than Ciarans these days. The newly tubby Irish man will have to trim a bit, or he won't stand a chance against fit culchies and slim foreigners with a slick line in compliments."

Apparently 'culchies' aren't Irish anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Got a new pup yesterday so I finally got use of the Indo. Mopping up his piss with it.

Logfire wrote: »
    "There's a lot more Cillians than Ciarans these days. The newly tubby Irish man will have to trim a bit, or he won't stand a chance against fit culchies and slim foreigners with a slick line in compliments."

Apparently 'culchies' aren't Irish anymore.

Er, what?

Fit culchies AND slim foreigners.

He's saying both tubby Irish men and fit culchies are Irish. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 sanderelle

haha so true

at last the irish man is realising that he is not gods gift:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

sanderelle wrote: »
    haha so true

Take it back, you're completely out of order!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

sanderelle wrote: »
    haha so true

Yes, thats true.

We're the pinnacle of manly evolution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

That's some pile of shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

i think it was supposed to be a joke article :rolleyes: hint hint hint OP

OP is one of those feminists who pick up sexism from a bag of tayto because mr tayto is a man which is clearly sexist as it doesn't account for the female population

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 sanderelle

:p
    Take it back, you're completely out of order!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Merrick

Wtf is reverse sexism? Sexism is just sexism, no? :confused:

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    i think it was supposed to be a joke article :rolleyes: hint hint hint OP

OP is one of those feminists who pick up sexism from a bag of tayto because mr tayto is a man which is clearly sexist as it doesn't account for the female population

That would be fine, but you're ignoring the fact that some posters criticising the article are male.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Merrick wrote: »

'Reverse Racism' is another beauty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Horribly written article, but you can really tell the kinds of social circles Mr Patrick Fitzpatrick moves in (seriously, that's his name) from it.

Had potential to be funny, he failed.

And with regards to the OP's point, if it was written about women, I think the reaction would be different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Locked Messed Monster

That wasn't bad tbh. Seemed to hit a nerve with some folk though :confused:

I remember leaving leaving a cocktail bar somewhat inebriated about 12 months ago and commenting on the arses of two foreign ladies infront of me to myself, inside my head, I thought... with my girlfirend walking beside me.

That did not end well.

She didn't come home for two days :(

In saying that there is some good home grown stuff.

Check out the latest http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1095445

The first guest and 10 minutes are pure heaven.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Merrick wrote: »

It's equality...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Can anyone give a summary? I tried to read it, honestly I did, the urge to slash my wrists was just too strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

johnmcdnl wrote: »

That's all kinds of confusing...
    That wasn't bad tbh. Seemed to hit a nerve with some folk though :confused:
    People can simply dislike something - their reaction isn't necessarily the result of a nerve being hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

a load of crap thats all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I read everyones' comments before thinking about clicking the link. I'm glad I didn't click it. Thanks to the altrustic people who stopped me reading sh!te. :D

It could have been a funny article but it needed a much better writer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Reverse sexism?!
    Sexism is sexism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Reverse sexism?!
    Sexism is sexism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

just read this http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/the-new-rules-of-irish-manhood-2607618.html

tbh it reeks of reverse sexism to me-it the same article had been about women then it just would't happen

what do ye all think?

Its funny coz its 100% true 4 out of 7 times :D

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Reverse sexism?!
    Sexism is sexism.

Indeed.