Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Massey 5455,worth buying? any faults?

• 03-04-2011 11:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Thinking of buying a Massey Ferguson 5455 soon,a 2005 model,power shuttle etc,are the 5455 reliable? is there any major or what is the common faults in them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

cyclo wrote: »
    Thinking of buying a Massey Ferguson 5455 soon,a 2005 model,power shuttle etc,are the 5455 reliable? is there any major or what is the common faults in them?

have one we bought in 06 new, good tractor, we have no issues whatso ever with ours anyway, have a quicke loader on it, it wouldnt be over worked by any means, has worked round baler no probs and find it great on wrapper, fast hydraulics, couple of things i dont like though, its heavy i diesel i reckon anyway, it has a bad steering lock and i dont like the transmission, ours isnt the newer dyna 4 ver so its 1, 2 ,3 ,4 with C and D and high and low with forward reverse shuttle. good alround tractor i would say though all in all, what kinda money is the 05 going for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cyclo

have one we bought in 06 new, good tractor, we have no issues whatso ever with ours anyway, have a quicke loader on it, it wouldnt be over worked by any means, has worked round baler no probs and find it great on wrapper, fast hydraulics, couple of things i dont like though, its heavy i diesel i reckon anyway, it has a bad steering lock and i dont like the transmission, ours isnt the newer dyna 4 ver so its 1, 2 ,3 ,4 with C and D and high and low with forward reverse shuttle. good alround tractor i would say though all in all, what kinda money is the 05 going for?

Thanks for the reply!, What would you not like both the transmission? how does the 5455 pull with a heavy load? do they die back much or anyting?
    I have been quoted around €34000 including VAT for one with a loader!, anybody bought one recently or know what they are making?

Thanks for the reply!, What would you not like both the transmission? how does the 5455 pull with a heavy load? do they die back much or anyting?
    I have been quoted around €34000 including VAT for one with a loader!, anybody bought one recently or know what they are making?

if its clean id say that wouldnt be too bad now, there was a lad that used to be on boards before that did a bit of contracting and he did everything with his 5455, baling slurry etc, cant think of his name now
    they are well able to pull but what i dont like is that they are geared kinda high, even if just sitting in the yard if you dont take off in 1c the tractor will cough a bit, you cant really just take off in 2nd or 3rd but c/d button is handy, you know if you are going up a hill in say 2d and she starts to labour a bit you can just press the button and it flicks to 2c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭marlyman

have one. good tractor. the dyna does fall out of adjustment afer a lot of use and becomes shunty between gears. mf dealer has to recalibrate.

also the wheelbase is short so its a bit bouncy. set of weights sorts that out.
    also had to put on bkt tyres for the softer walls. took out the bounce too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Hi cyclo

I have a 2005 powershuttle one with a loader and I agree with what vander and marlyman said about them. Reliable but a bit hard on fuel and the turning circle is poor but its a nice tractor overall. I bought mine two years ago for €36000 but I dont know what they are making now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

wat does c- d button mean is that the high low torque splitter button on the gear knob as on the 390t

leoch wrote: »
    wat does c- d button mean is that the high low torque splitter button on the gear knob as on the 390t

marlyman would explain better than me now, not familiar with 390t but you have 2 little buttons on your gear knob of my 5455, one is for high and low, the other is for c/d, so lets say you are on the road and driving in 4d which is the highest gear and you start to die on hill you can just hit c/d button and it flicks you down to 4c, if you hit it again it puts you back to 4d, its a splitter i guess? maybe thats not the right term, if you have a newer model dyna4 then you have abcd instead of just cd so you have a greater range within each gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

I had a 05 5455 speed shift (c and d splitter on the gear lever) Found it a very nice tractor to work and it never gave any trouble. I thought it was reasonable on diesel too ..... EXCEPT...... the clutch would sometimes take a notion and get extremely jerky, to the point of being dangerous.

It did this mostly when hot and apparently is a common problem with the speed shift model. I have seen other 5455 s with it too and MF have never been able to fix it fully.

It was the main reason why I traded it in for a Dyna4 a few months ago.

Milton09 wrote: »
    I had a 05 5455 speed shift (c and d splitter on the gear lever) Found it a very nice tractor to work and it never gave any trouble. I thought it was reasonable on diesel too ..... EXCEPT...... the clutch would sometimes take a notion and get extremely jerky, to the point of being dangerous.

It did this mostly when hot and apparently is a common problem with the speed shift model. I have seen other 5455 s with it too and MF have never been able to fix it fully.

It was the main reason why I traded it in for a Dyna4 a few months ago.
    ya i always notice say on a day when you are bringing in bales or constantly going backwards and forwards and it gets hot the shuttle get desperate jerky so it must be a common issue as you say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cyclo

Worst point really about them is clutch can go jumpy! Does it become a real handfull then?? I hear the 5445 is the same just the pump is turned down to reduce power,is this true? On this site http://www.tractordata.com/farm-tractors/tractor-brands/massferg/massferg-tractors.html , the 5445 is 85hp and the 5455 95hp, i had thought the 5455 was a 100hp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

have the mf 5455 and have problems with the dyna 4, clutch is a nightmare,promixity switch has been changed,along with the filter and its been recalibrated. 150hrs later and the problem returned,any body know how to cure this problem for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

have the mf 5455 and have problems with the dyna 4, clutch is a nightmare,promixity switch has been changed,along with the filter and its been recalibrated. 150hrs later and the problem returned,any body know how to cure this problem for good.

Is it still agressive, even with the rotary dial for shuttle engagement speed turned back to the last ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Seto_Kaiba

Neighbour bought one for 38k 06 with a loader.
    Heard Dyna 4 transmissions give trouble. Great loader tractor but the pre 2007 seem to be weak, my neighbour had a Landini 8800 agitating and he said it could bearly handle it but the 5455 keeps overheating like crazy and has trouble pulling a 1350 gallon tank.
    I'm gonna get a new JD 5090 M. They are around 43500 with a loader and there is a 0% finance deal. Was thinking of getting a 5455 but they are very expensive down here and I nearly bought a JX 90 U ( started a thread here about it) but the seller wouldnt give me stands with the loader and was pretty much an a**hole.
    Think about it, another 10k and you get a new machine and 0% finance. You get a pass seat, power shuttle, puh and hook arms standard, power quad and a/c are extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

theres something seriously wrong if a 5455 is having difficulty with a 1350gal tanker, unless its being expected to pull up a hill in top gear or something else unrealistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Seto_Kaiba

He asked the dealer he bought it off and he said it was dirty diesel that was causing the lack of power. He got his diesel tank cleaned out and refilled ( went crazy at the fuel company they did it for free ) but he still has trouble pulling the tank while spreading it up a slope, I'm not saying they aren't good just saying his experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Tora Bora

Seto_Kaiba wrote: »
    Heard Dyna 4 transmissions give trouble. Great loader tractor but the pre 2007 seem to be weak, my neighbour had a Landini 8800 agitating and he said it could bearly handle it but the 5455 keeps overheating like crazy and has trouble pulling a 1350 gallon tank.
    I'm gonna get a new JD 5090 M. They are around 43500 with a loader and there is a 0% finance deal. Was thinking of getting a 5455 but they are very expensive down here and I nearly bought a JX 90 U ( started a thread here about it) but the seller wouldnt give me stands with the loader and was pretty much an a**hole.
    Think about it, another 10k and you get a new machine and 0% finance. You get a pass seat, power shuttle, puh and hook arms standard, power quad and a/c are extra.

Contractor I know agitating and spreading big time with a landini 9880. Not a bother to it. You would expect the 5455 MF, should pull that tank no bother whatsoever.
    Maybe the nerves are picking at your neighbor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

Milton09 wrote: »
    Is it still agressive, even with the rotary dial for shuttle engagement speed turned back to the last ?
    Didnt even know i had a rotary dial,il check there tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

Seto_Kaiba wrote: »

Pretty certain Dyna 4 are as bombproof as any gearbox ever made, we've had them since the early 90s and no trouble.

Good luck with your new tractor, pics when you get it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 steve30

Good loader tractor and good for pulling light loads but doesn't have the power for heavier haulage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭foreman

we have an issue with our one lately.

Will Change from c and d on the dash.. Ie light changes from c and d BUT...... NO change in speed..

anyone have an ideas what might be the problem..

foreman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Fermec2

The Brother in Law Won a New 5455 IN 2006 @ The Ploughing.He Was over the Moon, Cos He was a Massey Man all his Life. Does Feck all with it, Put a Quicke Loader on it, But Still uses his old Loader. All it does is Fertiliser, Topping & abita Slurry. & Guess What the Head Gasket Went in it Last Summer! He got a Bill of Nearl Five Grand from Main MF Dealer to Repair it, . All i said to him was @ Least You didnt have to pay the 55,000k , Which was the List Price @ the Time in 2006. He was Sick , im Sure it has Less than 2,500 hrs done. Massy's are Soft, Full Stop. Sorry for Sounding a bit Harsh. But we have a 1987 Ford 7610, with 6,700hrs & a 2002 JD 6210 with 4,700Hrs , both bought 2nd hand. & Nothing Like that ever Happened to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Fermec2 wrote: »
    The Brother in Law Won a New 5455 IN 2006 @ The Ploughing.He Was over the Moon, Cos He was a Massey Man all his Life. Does Feck all with it, Put a Quicke Loader on it, But Still uses his old Loader. All it does is Fertiliser, Topping & abita Slurry. & Guess What the Head Gasket Went in it Last Summer! He got a Bill of Nearl Five Grand from Main MF Dealer to Repair it, . All i said to him was @ Least You didnt have to pay the 55,000k , Which was the List Price @ the Time in 2006. He was Sick , im Sure it has Less than 2,500 hrs done. Massy's are Soft, Full Stop. Sorry for Sounding a bit Harsh. But we have a 1987 Ford 7610, with 6,700hrs & a 2002 JD 6210 with 4,700Hrs , both bought 2nd hand. & Nothing Like that ever Happened to them.

Not all masseys are soft. It depends on what work a machine does. A tractor has to be worked if it's left idle things start to give trouble. My uncle has a 5455 and gives it dogs abuse and it's seen better days. He has it 9 years and only ever had to service it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Had 2 of them over the years no trouble at all. Keep serviced. 20 silage trailer, bouncy but with 400kgs weights no prob. Agitating, slurry 2250 tank or 10' mower no bother. Got worked hard but never roughly.

Neither had a loader so can't comment. Some mention the lock, have ye checked the guide studs are wound back as I had no issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Have had 3 here over the years doing everything from spraying on rowcrops to ploughing, digging spuds and drawing trailers great machine. Cluch switch gives trouble but nothings perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

micraX wrote: »
    Have had 3 here over the years doing everything from spraying on rowcrops to ploughing, digging spuds and drawing trailers great machine. Cluch switch gives trouble but nothings perfect.

Yeah won't start then if the clutch comes out of alignment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭peterofthebr

hello i have a MF 565..i would use it for mostly mowing/topping, drawing round bales, cattle trailer, spraying, rolling, transport box stuff etc.. nothing too heavy basically and I would like to be able to be more self-sufficient and be able to agitate and spread slurry without paying someone to do it but realise that if I was to buy equipment to fit my tractor [that’s from 1980 – 60hp its prob best I invest and get a good tractor to start with]
    looking around I was thinking of the Massey Ferguson 5455 ..or something like that? is taking my fancy- im a big Massey Ferguson fan and never had anything else.. as there is so many brands and versions with this Dyna 4 and not…would you have any pointers on how I would be able to narrow down a couple of bands / models so I can get more decisive with this?
    i would be able to spend around 22K and was considering getting a 10 year old tractor…any advice ? my current tractor is a MF 565 so everything 10 years old is a bonus, like having working fuel gauge, speedometer, lights, aircon, hydraulics…