Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orthotics - can't find nice shoes that fit them

• 03-04-2011 1:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭

Hope someone on here can help. As I have flat feet I have to wear orthotics in my shoes. This wasn't too much of a problem with my old ones as they were 3/4 length ones and were quite flexible. Unfortunately they also weren't supporting my feet so I had to replace them with harder full length ones. Not only has this put me up a foot size (meaning most of my shoes no longer fit :() but its also making it really hard to find a nice pair of summery shoes.

While it was grand over the winter with boots, I'm finding it really hard to find a nice pair of summery shoes that fit right. With most shoes its pushing my feet up too high making it look like I'm bursting out of the shoes and my ankles are getting cut as they're up higher then would be expected. Also they won't seem to fit in shoes with any type of a heel/wedge :(. Just wondering what others in the same situation do? Any recommendations for nice shoes/brands that they fit it? Or even recommendations for orthotics that fit easily into shoes? Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭BabyBirch

Did you get the orthotics off the shelf or made for you? I just had mine made in "dress shoe" style so they fit into all the shoes I already had - they're skinnier than the running shoe type. You can get dress shoe style ones in Boots too if you can wear them off the shelf.

I was chatting to a girl in work who has orthotics before I got mine, and she said that she found Camper the best place to get shoes that hers fit with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

Thanks for the reply, I got the off the shelf ones. I originally had the orthoheel slim fit ones, then the regular ones, but I found both too soft so I got the sports ones. I did look in Boots at the time, but they hadn't much of a selection in my size but I might try them again.

Just out of interest, did you ever use the off the shelf ones? If so, did you find much difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

You can get special made orthotics that are for more delicate shoes, like the poster before me has said.

But to be honest, the best shoes for people with flat feet are flat, broad and give a lot of support. Of course nothing very pretty fits that description and it's not what you wanna hear.

I have orthotics myself due to flat feet and bunions but I've just given up on trying to fit them in to pretty shoes and just wear them in runners and skater type shoes with them inside if I am walking for some distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭zoby

+1 custom fit othotics - very expensive (€350) but really worth it - for the comfort :)

for the summer I wear fit flops :D

Pythia wrote: »
    But to be honest, the best shoes for people with flat feet are flat, broad and give a lot of support. Of course nothing very pretty fits that description and it's not what you wanna hear.

Thanks, your right though, its not what I wanted to hear! Though I find even if I go for the shoes with good support, the orthotics won't fit in them, or I have to take out the insole in them and replace them with mine, which are a bit higher then the originals so my ankles get cut. Sometimes I find if I buy really cheap shoes, they have no support in them anyways so the orthotic fits in them better. I find they fit in runners and boots no bother, but with summer coming its time to put the boots away, and while my dress code at work wouldn't be too strict, runners every day wouldn't go down too well either.

You're probably right though, custom made ones might be the way to go. They just seem so expensive considering the off the shelf ones give me sufficient support, all thats wrong is getting them to fit.

Thanks for the reply, I got the off the shelf ones. I originally had the orthoheel slim fit ones, then the regular ones, but I found both too soft so I got the sports ones. I did look in Boots at the time, but they hadn't much of a selection in my size but I might try them again.

Just out of interest, did you ever use the off the shelf ones? If so, did you find much difference?

I can't use the off the shelf ones, they don't suit whatever crazy foot problem I have! My custom ones were €245, expensive but with a twelve year guarantee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Larger boots have a fairly decent selection of orthotics now, worth trying the slim fit ones for "nice" shoes.

The problem with orthotics in general is that they need to be in the same stationary position in your shoes to do their job. If they are sliding in and out of position they're pretty useless. So basically your shoes can't be too broad or too narrow.

Personally I'd only advise people to get the custom made ones for their runners or walking shoes or a pair that they wear regularly that are really supportive. Putting them into heels, wedges of ballet flats renders them almost useless.

Thanks for the replies, I'll give the slim fit ones another go. Think I may have lost one of the last ones I had, but I saw the Boots slim fit ones on their website so I'll see can I pick them up next time I'm in one of their shops.

A few of the replies mentioned shoes with good support, I know I probably sound really stupid asking this, but what would ye consider a good supportive shoe to be? I thought the orthotic itself provided arch support, would a shoe with good arch support combined with the orthotic not be over kill? Also, the orthotic needs to be on a flat surface, if there was already arch support in the shoe, how would it fit? (I know some shoes have removable insoles, but for those that don't?). Any particular brands that ye consider good?

Once again, thanks again for all the replies, nice to know I'm not the only one with this problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

"Foot Solutions" in Georges Street will cutsom make insets.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

Evans can be great for wider shoes for the insoles to fit inot. I got a couple of really nice pairs in ecens to fit my insoles. Have a look anyway

Thanks for the replies, I'll give the slim fit ones another go. Think I may have lost one of the last ones I had, but I saw the Boots slim fit ones on their website so I'll see can I pick them up next time I'm in one of their shops.

A few of the replies mentioned shoes with good support, I know I probably sound really stupid asking this, but what would ye consider a good supportive shoe to be? I thought the orthotic itself provided arch support, would a shoe with good arch support combined with the orthotic not be over kill? Also, the orthotic needs to be on a flat surface, if there was already arch support in the shoe, how would it fit? (I know some shoes have removable insoles, but for those that don't?). Any particular brands that ye consider good?

Once again, thanks again for all the replies, nice to know I'm not the only one with this problem!

My physio also fits the off the shelf orthotics, might be worth seeing a podiatrist or physio to get them fitted properly? It would still be far cheaper than getting custom ones made.

Not sure what is considered a supportive shoe, when I went for my fitting I was wearing proper leather brogues and the physio said they weren't supportive enough :confused:

Evans can be great for wider shoes for the insoles to fit inot. I got a couple of really nice pairs in ecens to fit my insoles. Have a look anyway

Thanks, never thought of them, will give them a look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

I think I may have flat feet as well. Who do I need to see in order to find out if I need orthotics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

Help!! My new orthotics arrived.. They are so big compared to my old pair..
    they were €300.. is it normal for them to be so bulky that they make you feet a size bigger? I'm a 7 and a half and an 8 won't even fit me now with them in. I bought Clarks shoes in an 8 last week thinking the insoles would fit but no. Are they supposed to be the exact width of your foot or slightly more narrow? Sorry, just my last pair weren't as wide or high..
    :(

Help!! My new orthotics arrived.. They are so big compared to my old pair..
    they were €300.. is it normal for them to be so bulky that they make you feet a size bigger? I'm a 7 and a half and an 8 won't even fit me now with them in. I bought Clarks shoes in an 8 last week thinking the insoles would fit but no. Are they supposed to be the exact width of your foot or slightly more narrow? Sorry, just my last pair weren't as wide or high..
    :(

Did you get dress shoe or running shoe style? The dress shoe style is narrower so you shouldn't need bigger shoes. Where did you order them from? My physio ordered me running shoe ones instead of dress shoe by mistake and trimmed them with a scissors (but I wouldn't advise you to do that yourself!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

I have no idea! I got them off a physio. They're the 3/4 length ones.
    Should I go back to him to see if he can maybe trim the edges a little?
    They are a lot wider than my old ones.. Makes my shoes way too small. Pity as I splashed out on Hush Puppies & Clarkes :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Pity as I splashed out on Hush Puppies & Clarkes :(

You can exchange them or get money back.

I have no idea! I got them off a physio. They're the 3/4 length ones.
    Should I go back to him to see if he can maybe trim the edges a little?
    They are a lot wider than my old ones.. Makes my shoes way too small. Pity as I splashed out on Hush Puppies & Clarkes :(

Definitely worth asking anyway! That's so annoying, I refused to get them unless I could still wear my regular shoes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Darren8525

I make orthotics for a living although I don't prescribe them or see patients. Its not untypical to pay €300 ish for a pair of custom made orthotics.

For that money you should be able to expect them to fit your feet and shoes. I frequently modify orthotics to fit in people's footwear.

However ladies small /high heel /fashion shoes are a challenge and sometimes there is a compromise between function and fashion. If you take away too much orthotic to get them into the nice shoe they don't work so well.

You don't have to accept orthotics that don't fit you or a reasonable pair of shoes and you shouldn't have to throw out your wardrobe just because the new ones are different.

If you live near a city or big town look for an Orthotist these guys do a four year degree in this sort of thing for all parts of the body and of course the foot too. Try to pick one that has the back up of a skilled workshop that can do alterations on the spot.

If you are lucky enough to have a good physio or other health professional with an interest and training near you then they will have access to custom made orthotics too.

There are lots of shops offering assessment and advice on what to buy but if they are not trained health professionals then can they offer the same service?

I also wear Orthotics myself, they last years or at least they should they can be adjusted and altered or recovered providing the person you are seeing has the know how and equipment. Bring the shoes you want them to fit into too the appointment and ask for them to be modified to fit in your footwear. Thats not unreasonable.

If you take out the insert that comes in most shoes and draw round it then they should be able to send it back to the manufacturer and they can modify it to fit your shoes.

People are asked to pay a lot of money for Orthotics. What you are actully buying is the skill of the prescribing health professional and the skill of the Technician making them. There are lots of people out there selling Orthotics that aren't trained fully and are buying off the shelf orthoics and passing them on to the public at a premium price. You have right to expect a premium product and service for €300+

Hope this helps