Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guys, your opinion is Appreciated.

• 02-04-2011 10:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Hello Guys,
    I was coming back from work yesterday just took a last turn near my gaff and this cabby driver was getting out of my estate when he saw me taking the turn in he stopped and started giving out saying oh there are kids here in the estate and i should not be driving dangerously, I swear on my life to god i do not drive fast even though ive a sports car which may give a lot of people expression that i am a boy racer etc but i am NOT i work full time so i dont have time for things like that plus ive a kid and my family to spend time with but thats not the point, he started giving out saying he will crack my skull and he was going to ring the garda and stuff i asked him to call them but he picked up his phone as he was going to ring them but put it down and said he doesnt settle things through gards he will settle it him self, he asked me where i was living i told him my address after which i asked him and he didnt bother telling me his address so anyway i didnt think of it much and drove my car back to the gaff to my surprise when i got out of the car he pulled in behing me, got out of the car and started shouting at me saying he will have my car up in flames and i dunno who he is i said i know who you are youre a bald taxi driver who doesnt have any education to get a decent job so youre out and about on people's faces giving them your **** my girlfriend saw this and came out with my 5 months old baby and they started arguing my baby started to cry and i asked my girlfriend repeatedly to go in but they kept arguing, he was making threats and stuff i dunno what his problem was he didnt touch me or anything so it didnt get to a full blown fight but than after his screams he just got into his old taxi and left.
    What do you guys think of all this i mean ive never been in this situation before my girlfriend wanted me to call the gards to report him but i just thought she was over reacting. What do you think of all this ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Moved from Cool Vids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

She's not overreacting at all.

The guy said he was gonna follow you home, refused to call the guards becuase "he sorts things himself" and then said he'd set your car on fire.

Report him to the taxi rank to try find out who the feck he was, and report him to the guards.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Report him straight away.

this guy threatened to burn your car out and sort you out himself :eek:

REPORT HIM NOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 craicindublin

@ irishbird and @ MitchKoobski

Thank you guys for your serious opinion. I will ring the gards now to report the incidence.

Much appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

And in future don't give random nutters your address!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

kylith wrote: »
    And in future don't give random nutters your address!

Sound advice, in fact, in general don't give anyone your address unless they have a good reason to require it...

However, in this case seems like he was going to get it anyway since he followed u home...

Dude, calling the guards was best idea. You may have only seen a bald mouthy taxi driver, but you never know the true depth of a person and what they are capable of. Get the authorities on this.

You never know what could happen otherwise as unlikely as it may seem to u!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I have - twice - actually had people stop their cars in the middle of the road in front of me, get out, and come back to hurl abuse at me.

The first time was in damp weather, on roads I've driven for years...I was doing about 60-70km/hr (a lot less than the limit of 80Km/hr there) and was behind a Toyota something-or-other. There was about a car and a half distance between us, I was idling along listening to the radio. Became aware that he was randomly putting his foot on his brake suddenly. Then became aware that he was shaking a fist in his rearview mirror. I dropped further back away from him (thinking what the f&*k is this guy's problem). We got to just before a roundabout on a bypass road and he actually came to a dead stop in the middle of the road, got out, and came back to my car, shouting at me to open the window, that I was driving dangerously and he was going to report my driving, how dare I drive like that. I was speechless. This guy was old enough to be my father, and looked completely harmless. I was actually shaking with rage the whole way home. I did not open the window and most certainly did not get out of the car - to be honest I was so appalled that someone could be that incredibly ignorant (asides from stopping in the middle of a busy road!), some guy in his mid-50s that thought it was ok to scream at a strange 25 year old girl.....couldn't believe it. Especially since I genuinely HADN'T been in the wrong.

The second time was going around a roundabout with no road markings that is generally known to be a 2 lane roundabout.There's a constant stream of 2 lane traffic around it. Guy on one side of me, slightly ahead of me, I was in his blind spot and he was driving a small commercial peugeot (no back windows). He veered over towards me as he went around, as if he was going to cut across me and come off the roundabout in the other lane. I bipped the horn, to let him know I was there, as he was going to hit me - I figured he just didn't see me. The d&8kh&*d actually stopped his car, middle of a busy dual carriageway, right on the other side of the roundabout, got out, walked back and started screaming in the window (which I left closed). This time, my boyfriend was in the car too, and was absolutely aghast at the whole situation. I had done nothing wrong. Absolutely nothing. Wasn't going too fast, wasn't in the wrong lane, giving him plenty of space, didn't blow him off the road, nothing. He was some old git of a fella. He then proceeded to get back in the car, and drive up the dual carriageway, way over the speed limit on the back bumper of every car he came up to, and continued in this manner down onto the motorway, actually tailgating cars that wouldn't get out of his way, at about 140km/hr.

The reason I tell these stories is to say you are absolutely right to tell the Gardai OP. And horrible though it is, there are some unbelievably ignorant people out there on our roads. The kind of people who leave you speechless with their rudeness (and how wrong they are). Worse, I'd wonder how many of these ever did a driving test in the first place, and yet feel they can lecture to others.

For the love of God, if this happens again, tell them to get lost, DON'T get out of the car (because then you're in the wrong too), leave your windows closed and just get away from them. They can't do anything without actually having a video of whatever supposed wrong you've been doing, so let them make their threats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

This happens everyone eventually. The trick is not to play their game. They are probably much more experienced at hurling abuse at strangers than most of us.

The only way of winning in these scenarios is glare at them, hold your tongue no matter how much you want to give them what for, then call the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 craicindublin

Thank you everyone for sharing their stories and wonderful suggestions. I just found out that this Cabby lives in the same estate as me and 2 minutes walk from my house. Ive seen his car yesterday took the registration plate and reported to the gards the girl who took my statement was actually surprised that someone is actually capable of starting trouble in their own neighbour hood for no reason, Thinking of it again this cabby actually also asked me if i was renting or living on a mortgage, obviously i never ever had anyone mouthing at me like that ... one of you guys said they are very experienced in mouthing off people so thats why he got the lead leaving me absolutely furious and confused. The next time the best thing is to ring the gards straight away and have him arrested on harrasment.
    I am 100% sure i am gonna bump into him again so guys what should i do if he come flying bullying me again ? i am sure he will not touch me (i could be wrong) but i dont think he will. So if he will shout abuse at me again just ring the gards again ?? i was just saying to my self that gards should have better things to be doing instead of waisting states time and money of knob heads like him.
    I am waiting for your opinion and answer for what if he will start it again on me ? can i have him arrested for harrasment ? as i dunno this guy and dont wanna know him or want him to talk to me ever again. can i do something about it ??
    I appreciate all the replies you posted there ...

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,907 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Just tell him if he has a problem with you or your "dangerous" driving to contact the guards, and in the meantime you'll contact the carriage office and the taxi regulator with his plate number.

Then just walk away.. tell your gf not to get involved, especially while carrying your baby. It doesn't reflect well on her, and makes her look as bad as him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

Me too..! maybe you deserved the abuse?
    The first time was in damp weather..I was doing about 60-70km/hr (a lot less than the limit of 80Km/hr there)..There was about a car and a half
    distance between us

First the 80km is the maximum legal limit on that stretch of road. It does not mean you have to drive at that speed especially in damp conditions.

Say the average Car is 2.5m in length. You are 1.5 car lengths behind him so being generaous say 4m behind the car.

At 60Km the stopping distance in GOOD weather(dry road) is somewhere around 30m. In damp conditions it could be 50m or more. You were driving dangerously based on the information you provided.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Amen, please direct all future posts to the OP and do not dissect posts made by other posters as this is derailing the thread.

Maple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

amen wrote: »
    Me too..! maybe you deserved the abuse?

First the 80km is the maximum legal limit on that stretch of road. It does not mean you have to drive at that speed especially in damp conditions.

Say the average Car is 2.5m in length. You are 1.5 car lengths behind him so being generaous say 4m behind the car.

At 60Km the stopping distance in GOOD weather(dry road) is somewhere around 30m. In damp conditions it could be 50m or more. You were driving dangerously based on the information you provided.

+ 1. Speed limits are guidelines/safety measures, not a challenge. Unless this cabby is a complete psycho I find it hard to believe that a rational logic person would become so aggressive based on your story. Seen as you live near him and have no previous experience/knowledge of him being crazy it doesn't seem likely. To be fair if someone was driving around kiddys in my estate dangerously and had an attitude then had the audacity to insult me and my education and what I do for a living I don't think i'd be to ladylike with my response. I know someone who's a taxi driver and has a good education from Trinity so you can't make assumptions like that. No offence but your gf shouting and screaming with the baby in her arms, pure skanky behaviour. I may be way off the mark and I apologise if I am but your story doesn't add up.