Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange thing happened to me....

• 01-04-2011 7:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭

Kind of a long story so bear with me :)

Ok so I was on my way home from work this evening and had just pulled into my estate when I saw a Garda jeep in my rear view mirror with the blue lights flashing. So I pulled over and waited for one ofthe Gards to get out. This took about 2 or 3 mins. Prob doing a check on the reg I thought.
    When th Gard finally comes up to me he asks for my licence and then walked around the car checking it out.
    My NCT is expired and he pointed this out to me. I explained that I was doing some work on the car over the past while and that I was planning on booking it in during the week. He tells me my car will fail anyway due to the tinted windows. So I said thats the only thing I was weary about and wasnt sure if it was within the limits or not. He then writes down all my details on a notepad.
    So he left and went back to the jeep and got in with my licence in hand. He sat in the jeep for 10 solid minutes talking to the other Gard and talking over the walkie-talkie. Then out of nowhere a squad car comes flying into the estate and spins around and pins my car in so as I couldn't drive away. :confused:
    All the time neighbours are coming out of their houses checking out whats goin on with the 2 Garda vehicles with flashing lights. The 3 Garda then stand there talking for 5mins or so. By this time a crowd of kid have gathered and are loving all the excitement while its getting increasingly embarrassing for me.
    Then the first officer says he's going to test my windows now and do I have a problem with it. I said no not at all work away. Then the officer from the squad car gets back in his car and just sits there. As does the other 2. After 2mins or so one of them gets out and says I can leave as soon as the squad car moves.
    The car moves and I drive away with a big confused head on me. They didnt do the test on my windows and never mentioned anything else about the windows or NCT. He just said I can leave and he quickly made his exit.
    There was no mention of a fine or penalty points or anything so I dunno whether to expect anything in the post. Do they have to inform you that you'll be receiving points or not?
    It was so weird and like a surreal April Fools Day joke. What do you guys think it was all about? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

sounds like they were very bored today.

did you get the garda's number? its probably worth a call to your local station to see where the land lies.

all sounds a bit excessive though.

They were 100% f'in with you. I know a few lads who are guards from sligo and they would thrive on doing this sort of ****. Prob saw your tinted windows and said "lets f with this guy".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

They were 100% f'in with you. I know a few lads who are guards from sligo and they would thrive on doing this sort of ****. Prob saw your tinted windows and said "lets f with this guy".

Its called a Power trip..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭mondeo

Maybe they thought your description fitted someone they were after hence blocking you in.

mondeo wrote: »
    Maybe they thought your description fitted someone they were after hence blocking you in.

so they left him in his car, went back and sat in their car, and waited for another car to arrive before blocking him in?

surely if he looked like a 'wanted' man, he would be bent over the bonnet in cuffs asap all road wars style? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Was it dark? I was under the impression that it would be impossible to test tinted windows at night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I never thought of getting the Gards number. I was too confused as to what was happening!:D
    It was only about 6:15pm so it was still really bright out so I dunno what the story was with testing the tints. It was just so weird, maybe they were messin with me but it didn't seem like it.
    Surely they'd tell me to expect points in the post though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Henree

Are you from Limerick?....just a hunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Were they all wearing their hats? Cos it's not official if they weren't.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 punto gt turbo3

wyndham wrote: »
    Were they all wearing their hats? Cos it's not official if they weren't.;)

thats the biggest load of crap ever. Thought the same way and got smart with one hat-less gard and before i knew it im sitting in the back seat of the gards car on my way to the station.

young and stupid

out of interest, what car do you drive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

more sterling work by AGS, really showing people that they're just decent hardworking folk looking to protect people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Two X-masses ago I went pressie shopping with my youngest lad, took the van(a transit). I parked down a side street, and we went off and did the whole Smyth's etc thing. As we walked back to the van, it seemed awfullllly quiet traffic wise. We got to the van and hopped in, and then all hell broke loose, cars came from nowhere and blocked the front, back and drivers door, and a lot of very nice:rolleyes: guards started shouting to "get out, hands clear, out, out ,out!!!! I rolled down the window and enquired as to wether they possibly had the wrong person (I had just bought the van), and the guards seemed to do a quick double take. I was obviously not the target of their love and affection, but it made me wonder just what kind of a bad ass the last owner was. Me and my kid still laugh about it- the great toy bust of 2009. (They had stopped an entire main street of traffic to create an exclusion zone for "busting" us.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Duzzer

Do you have a criminal record?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,160 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Duzzer wrote: »

More importantly, does your car have a "history"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I was pulled over about a year ago around 3am outside Dundalk. Car stopped behind me and Garda was questioning me at the window, then another car pulled up infront of me pinning me in.

After a few short q's where was I going, coming from etc they were on their way. I'd say they get lots of reports of "dark coloured bmws" up to whatever.

Duzzer wrote: »
    Berty wrote: »
    More importantly, does your car have a "history"?

No to both questions. I dont even have any penalty points already and I'm definately not a "boy racer". I dont fly around in my car at all. Just really go to and from work. So its not like I draw attention to myself or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I have a george Michael CD in the house. Does that count? It belongs to my wife, technically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,160 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Dean09 wrote: »
    No to both questions. I dont even have any penalty points already and I'm definately not a "boy racer". I dont fly around in my car at all. Just really go to and from work. So its not like I draw attention to myself or anything.

You may not have been aware of the car history. I could easily show up on pulse from a previous owner. The "Catalogue" could be full of intel on your bus.

I wouldn't work yourself up about the Gardai pulling you anyway. About 2 years ago the Gardai started reffering to me as "Sir". Eventually the stigma wears off. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

April fools joke? :D

thats the biggest load of crap ever. Thought the same way and got smart with one hat-less gard and before i knew it im sitting in the back seat of the gards car on my way to the station.

young and stupid

No, it's not.

3b) TRAFFIC STOPS, CHECKPOINTS & THE ROAD TRAFFIC ACTS 1961 & 1994 (major ones).

If a purported Garda is not in uniform (including hat on head) or producing a photo warrant card identifying himself (which you are entitled to read), you do not have any legal obligation to co-operate.

taken from http://www.indymedia.ie/article/82108

Berty wrote: »
    You may not have been aware of the car history. I could easily show up on pulse from a previous owner. The "Catalogue" could be full of intel on your bus.

I wouldn't work yourself up about the Gardai pulling you anyway. About 2 years ago the Gardai started reffering to me as "Sir". Eventually the stigma wears off. :D

Thats the thing, I know the history of the car and there hasnt been anything dodgy with the previous owners either.
    It doesnt bother me in the slightest that I was pulled over. Wasn't the first time and wont be the last. Its just the weird way it happend that has me bemused!!!
    Just wondering if I'll be getting points now! :D

No, it's not.

3b) TRAFFIC STOPS, CHECKPOINTS & THE ROAD TRAFFIC ACTS 1961 & 1994 (major ones).

If a purported Garda is not in uniform (including hat on head) or producing a photo warrant card identifying himself (which you are entitled to read), you do not have any legal obligation to co-operate.

I've heard of this before but I was in no position to stir the shít, all he had to do was stick his hat on and sting me with points for no NCT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

No, it's not.

I got done for 2 points for failing to stop at a stop sign and pulling out in front of an unmarked squad car.

The womanas cop had no hat on when she was talking to me, thick bitch to boot, with no hat on does this mean i could have gotten away with the points? or just said it to her thats nothing you can do until you are in full uniform?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I got done for 2 points for failing to stop at a stop sign and pulling out in front of an unmarked squad car.

The womanas cop had no hat on when she was talking to me, thick bitch to boot, with no hat on does this mean i could have gotten away with the points? or just said it to her thats nothing you can do until you are in full uniform?

Well, you'd need some balls on you to do it, but... according to that article...

refuse to co-operate and tell her she will be held personally liable at civil and criminal law for wrongful arrest and false imprisonment. Course, there'd be nothing stopping her getting out the ID card at that stage and then screwing you over more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Well, you'd need some balls on you to do it, but... according to that article...

refuse to co-operate and tell her she will be held personally liable at civil and criminal law for wrongful arrest and false imprisonment. Course, there'd be nothing stopping her getting out the ID card at that stage and then screwing you over more.

Fair enough, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Bumpstop

There has got to be some garda subscribers on here, who could offer some insight into the original post.
    I suspect a lot of it is blue light rush, I mean if any Garda stops you, your in a poker game in which you have no cards, all you can do is yes sir no sir, and massage their ego, so by letting you go, they feel all warm and fuzzy. (pun intended)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I read your post and I agree with the previous posters - I think they were playing snooker, you were the unlucky black ;);)

Really does sound as if they messing with you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

Do you have a link such as the statute book for this, or just Indy "Youth Defence/Pro-Life/Anarchy" Media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Thats about the same as citing a sole Wikipedia article in my PHD thesis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Indeed. Excellent source BTW. Wisest course of action when stopped by a hat-less Garda is to refuse to co-operate. Anything he does or says is all illegal:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Henree wrote: »
    Are you from Limerick?....just a hunch

Must.

Try.

Harder.

*please don't