Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alan Quinlan to receive IRB Fair Play award

• 01-04-2011 11:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭

I'm shocked at this, but can't argue with his record!
    http://ninetyninecall.wordpress.com/2011/04/01/ninetyninecall-quinlan-to-receive-irb-fair-play-award/

What a day yesterday for the big man from Clanwilliam. Not long after the story broke yesterday in Cork’s Evening Echo that Quinlan was to retire in the coming weeks, the International Rugby Board called an emergency meeting in their Dublin headquarters. It was late last night when Mike Miller the CEO/Secretary General of the IRB tweeted this:
    mikemiller.png?w=510&h=231
    Although an unexpected accolade, this is nothing more that Quinlan deserves after a professional rugby career spanning over 16 years with Munster, in the 16years with Munster Quinlan clocked up over 210 appearances and never received a red-card in any game. This in itself is a monumental achievement that a player could go so far in the top-level of rugby and in every single appearance bend the rules to within breaking point but never get penalised.
    For this Alan Quinlan, the entire rugby world salutes you! Here’s a clip of his best bits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭TheRevolution

Good effort but that is just too far fetched to ever be seriously believed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

I got a chuckle out of it, although 8 YC's and no Reds in a 210 game career is pretty impressive for a flanker, especially him!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Haha when I heard that Quinlan was to play for the Barbarians ...
    Membership is by invitation and the only qualifications considered when issuing an invitation are that the player's rugby is of a high enough standard and secondly that he should behave himself on and off the field.
    ..... I thought it was April 1st then also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

This is great news. It's a finger in the eye to all the naysayers!!

Joke