Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it possible to get €800 a week from Social Welfare?

• 01-04-2011 9:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭

My uncle told me he heard of a single mother getting nearly €800 a week in payments from the local Social Welfare. These payments comprised of rent allowance, child benefit for a few kids, the dole, and probably a few more payments that she's entitled to. He heard this from someone who works in the Social Welfare office, and I think its fairly relaibale because if you look at <snip>, you will see a thread which gives info on people scamming the system- (over €900 per month on rent allowance! :eek:)

So, what do ye think of this?

Is €800 per week a bit too much for a signle mother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

yes i believe it - f'uckin scroungers

*ducks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Probably, it's this type of payment that has dole bashers on here putting me and my €100 a week in the same bracket..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Complain to your TD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Think this is tabloid versioning.

With children allowance, single parents and rent allowance it could be 800 pw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

A friend of my sister is getting over 500 a week through them but she's just abusing the system using her child with a special need to claim it :mad: I wouldn't mind if she used the money for the child but she just drinks it away!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

dreamers75 wrote: »
    With children allowance, single parents and rent allowance it could be 800 pw.

Madness all the same

41k a year for free...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

So, what do ye think of this?

Is €800 per week a bit too much for a signle mother?

You can get cheaper tbh, but cant beat a bit of experience :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Dole: 200 pw
    3 Kids Child Benefit: 120 pw
    Rent Allowance of 1000 per month: 250 pw

570 per week totally feasible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

as cynical as it sounds...i wonder if this is part of the reason some people have the extra kids (with benefits)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

My uncle told me he heard of a single mother getting nearly €800 a week in payments from the local Social Welfare. These payments comprised of rent allowance, child benefit for a few kids, the dole, and probably a few more payments that she's entitled to. He heard this from someone who works in the Social Welfare office, and I think its fairly relaibale because if you look at the personal issues forum, you will see a thread which gives info on people scamming the system- (over €900 per month on rent allowance! :eek:)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056225414

?

Third hand information and a post from an anonymous person on an internet forum........

You could edit the Daily Mail with research skills this thorough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

as cynical as it sounds...i wonder if this is part of the reason some people have the extra kids (with benefits)

I fecking doubt it. Fire a few out for the ..what is it, sure it's not evn €40 a week. Would you do it?

Expensive little hobby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Only if you are a foreign single mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

themadchef wrote: »
    I fecking doubt it. Fire a few out for the ..what is it, sure it's not evn €40 a week. Would you do it?

Expensive little hobby.

I think the tax-payer probably prefers to pay for his/her own hobby instead of someone else's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Sensationalistic blather from some old crone unhappy in her job so a bit of gossip to liven up the day will increase her social stature in her own mind.

Max One Parent Family is €188.00 per week with additional €29.80 per child
    Child Benefit is €140 per child per month (1 & 2) up to €167 for child 3

Say a lone parent has 3 kids so thats :

Child Benefit (€140+€140+€167)/4 = 111.75
    Lone Parents = 277.40

Rent Allowance (Dpendant on where you are but say MAX RATE) = €1050 per month (usually paid to landlord) = €262.50 per week (Value)
    Medical Card cannot put a value on that.

For €800 per week, she'd want a good flock of children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

ahh now that's just over the top cynicism, you need to get a grip.

young shaaaarlot wouldn't possibly pop out a 3rd or fourth sprog just for the extra couple of hundred a month allowances and the chance of a bigger gaff.

you sir have a very negative view of this society of ours...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

What some bloke said to some other bloke is not a really decent source of info upon which to base a discussion.

Also it is against the charter to link to PI discussions lest it encourage bad stuff happening on there.