Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mayonaisse in oil filler cap

• 31-03-2011 11:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭

Head gasket on the other half's micra is going I think, heard that putting mayonaise in the oil filler cap is a quick fix

Any recommendations on what brand to use, Hellmans is expensive, would Tesco value stuff do the job just as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

:D:D:D
    check if someone has put mayonaisse there already, it may be too late:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Head gasket on the other half's micra is going I think, heard that putting mayonaise in the oil filler cap is a quick fix

Any recommendations on what brand to use, Hellmans is expensive, would Tesco value stuff do the job just as good.

Surely it being a Nisaan, Nissan doctor will have experience to guide you? AFAIK the Nissan branded stuff you get in main dealers is relabelled Hellmans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Any help appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

Don't forget to put an egg into the radiator too to stop any leaks occurring. A bit of olive oil in the brake fluid can also help stiffen up the brake pedal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Lidl own brand mayo for the win:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Try some man mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Any help appreciated

Its a common mistake to use low-fat mayo - do not use this under any any circumstances, you need to use the full fat stuff.

A lot of people use own brand mayo from lidl or whatever, but you're better off sticking with a known brand like Hellmans. Don't use miracle whip or salad cream either - some people treat it like mayonaisse, but thats just plain wrong.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Little known fact: Light mayo is better for your car than the normal stuff. They make it 'light' by removing the fat and replacing it with oils to keep the same volume, and we all know oil is good for your engine. So don't eat the light stuff, it tastes horrible anyway, save it for your oil filler cap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

No, try brown sauce instead.

It's nice in yer tea as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

????

Sorted. Got some blenders in a sachet from supermacs

Thanks for the help. Car going great now.

My gf's 206 has head gasket problems also, will try this today.

You'll need to use garlic mayo on a 206.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Any1 no any thing?

I think too much mayo can distress the oil ladder but on my GFs Micra it worked wonders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

Never heard of this right little trick. I've been using a little bit of crushed garlic and tabasco in to sort my gasket /ring problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Head gasket on the other half's micra is going

Thread failed there. Instead of Micra, you should have said Punto or 206 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

TheUsual wrote: »
    No, try brown sauce instead.

It's nice in yer tea as well.

its f**kin delish man !!!

ha ha ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Lads, just wanted to say thanks to OP and other posters who suggested lidl mayo. I put it in this morning and it's running like a charm. Think I'm gonna put some speed holes in her too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

its f**kin delish man !!!

ha ha ha ha

"You don't have the necessary celtic soul to listen to Clannad."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 seamusfamous

Irish Fire wrote: »
    ????

:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

posh feckers with your mayo,
    whan i was a lad we had to mix margarine and cats urine
    and even then we had to make our own gaskets.
    and it was'nt easy cause you could never remember who had the spanner
    although in fairness the hammer was easy enough to come by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

Ye do know not to attempt mayo in the mighty Octavia!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

BuzzFish wrote: »
    Never heard of this right little trick. I've been using a little bit of crushed garlic and tabasco in to sort my gasket /ring problems.

Definately this combo will give you some ring problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

gyppo wrote: »

Overheated ring causes expansions and strains in the ring. And i've heard they are hard to replace.:D

gyppo wrote: »

not if used in conjunction with petroleum jelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

12 element wrote: »
    Don't forget to put an egg into the radiator too to stop any leaks occurring. A bit of olive oil in the brake fluid can also help stiffen up the brake pedal.

You're better off with hair gel and half a viagra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Bodhan

A bit of mayo mixed with a dab of pepper on the clinometer, then get a bucket of steam and pour it carefully over the downpipe, don't forget to adjust the giggling pin!
    That should solve all your problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

mickob16 wrote: »
    Ye do know not to attempt mayo in the mighty Octavia!!!

But you can use an octavia to transport as much mayo as you need in its boot!!:P

Apparently Co. Mayo will fit if you fold the seats down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭blacktalons

remove radiator cap,place egg in hole (rad, not yer own :D ) open oil filler cap, gently pour in about half kilo of warm ball bearings,replace cap,get small frying pan and place on exhaust manifold,place rasher and sausage on pan.start engine :rolleyes:.when white smoke comes from exhaust ,brekky is done :D.mash egg into radiator to cure head gasket problem,:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

this thread is the best laugh iv had in ages motoring enthusiasts seem to be very witty, as well as good looking,:D and intelligent :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

But you can use an octavia to transport as much mayo as you need in its boot!!:P

The government are using Octavia's to transport all the billions from Ireland to Europe.Rumour has it each boot carries 5 billion.

any more cheap fixes for common problems cause i found that mayo fix mighty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 seamusfamous

If u car fails an Nct on emissions drain a half litre of oil out of the car and replace with sugar it works a treat

no........ that sound like something someone would try or are you being serious:confused:

a little for tip all octavia drivers; there is a spare oddments compartment
    under the carpet in the boot, this can be used for carrying a stash of
    brown paper bag for over your head,
    and remember to keep a good supply,because no matter how fastidious you are,
    there is nothing to stop your wife's blowing off,
    and the more pertinent drivers could recognise you by aaaociation.

only joshing ye.