Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mark Kenneally and Sean Connolly make debut marathon's

• 31-03-2011 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭

Both top class athletes and making their debuts in the marathon.Mark will have the A standard in mind while sean will be looking for sub 2.16
    I know Sean has run 1500m 3.45 3k 7.56 5k 13.48 10k 29.02(most of these last year)
    Mark's pb's 1500m 3.49 3k 7.59(2004) 5K 13.45(2007) 10K 28.44(2009) 10MILE 48.17
    Sean ran 64.40 half marathon in bath this year.
    Mark ran 43.35 for 15k on a hilly course and 59.38 for 20k in Holland which equates to a 62.45 half marathon and his final tune up was a win in Dunboyne 4mile in 18.26.

predictions for both runners?
    Sean runs Rotterdam and Mark in Vienna.
    Id be only guessing with standards,I know the worlds is 2.16 and something like 2.21 if 3 guys can get it?Probably wrong here,whats the Olympic time?
    In all Mark's races ont he roads he has front run,marathon will be difficult to do this on his debut but just shows how strong he is right now.
    I predict Mark 2.12-2.14 and Sean 2.15-17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Olympic qualifying standards will be out in mid April. I predict that 4 men will get inside the marathon standard before the deadline next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

I'd agree with the times you predict. Both well capable to hitting them. However predicting marathon times from shorter races can be very hard. Can be going dandy for 25 miles then bang decent time out the window. Really looking forward to seeing what they run anyway. Hopefully they'll get decent weather conditions etc. Anybody run Vienna before? I know Rotterdam is fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

The men's marathon is shaping up to be one of the most competitive on the domestic front as more than 3 athletes are capable of achieving the A standard for London Olympics. It would be great to see a full quota of Irish marathon runners taking the start line in London next year. Good luck to both Sean and Mark.
    What about our female marathon runners? Are there any capable of making the team for London? Perhaps Maria McCambridge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

2.13 for Kenneally if he gets the distance and 2.19 for connolly.
    Dan man wrote: »
    What about our female marathon runners? Are there any capable of making the team for London? Perhaps Maria McCambridge?

None that I can think of. I was hoping Fionnualla Britton would stepped up to the distance as she seems born for it but it doesn't seem like that will happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 477 ✭✭brutes1

Sean Connolly 49 12 in Craughwell ten mile recently also. Hope these guys run well and hit the standards or close. Any Irish aiming for London this year

There is a real depth of talent going for the marathon now - all the above mentioned plus the likes of Gary Thornton, does Sergio Ciobanu qualify? Joe Mac, Greg roberts etc , great talents all.

Will anyone go for the 10k standard 27.40 is very tough to hit - Ledwith or one of the under 23 guys?

re the womens would think Barbara Sanchez can do it 2.39 last yr, Maria Mc, Linda Byrne too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

According to this website Mark is doing Madrid,

http://mzungofire.blogspot.com/2011/03/kenneally-tunes-up-for-madrid-marathon.html

The AAI has hims down as running Vienna,

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=18344

Looking forward to see these lads running, it would be great if they started contesting for the national marathon and raise the standards.

brutes1 wrote: »
    Will anyone go for the 10k standard 27.40 is very tough to hit - Ledwith or one of the under 23 guys?

Ledwith skipped the cross season to focus on the track and made a comment about national records being there to be broken. I think Mark Carrolls 5k record is off the radar for him so I guess he was referring to the 10k which happens to be 27.39, just under the qualifying time.

It just shows how tough qualifying is for these things. You have to run quicker than any previous Irishman just to make the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Anybody run Vienna before?

I haven't run it yet but will do so in a fortnight and I've studied the course. It's not as flat as Rotterdam, there is a long drag over several miles up to the half point, about 50 meters/160 feet elevation change, but since it's over several miles I don't know if it will be even noticeable. The rest seems to be very flat.

I'm more worried about the temperatures, it's 21C this weekend, which is not particularly hot but a lot warmer than anyone training in Ireland would be used to.

I haven't run it yet but will do so in a fortnight and I've studied the course. It's not as flat as Rotterdam, there is a long drag over several miles up to the half point, about 50 meters/160 feet elevation change, but since it's over several miles I don't know if it will be even noticeable. The rest seems to be very flat.

I'm more worried about the temperatures, it's 21C this weekend, which is not particularly hot but a lot warmer than anyone training in Ireland would be used to.

I hope Kenneally is running Vienna so. Ran Madrid before and it's a toughie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Not so sure about the Kenneally doing Vienna, think its Madrid he's running.
    2:12 for Kenneally
    2:15 for Sean

tunguska wrote: »
    Not so sure about the Kenneally doing Vienna, think its Madrid he's running.
    2:12 for Kenneally
    2:15 for Sean

Well if it's Madrid it will do him no favors, very up and down and can get very warm obviously. Madrid is also above 2000 feet so altitude can have a slight effect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

59.38 for 20K is phenomenal!

Well if it's Madrid it will do him no favors, very up and down and can get very warm obviously. Madrid is also above 2000 feet so altitude can have a slight effect!

It does seem like an odd choice alright, Rotterdamn would be ideal for having a crack at a fast time. I dont know if theres a seperate entry list for elite athletes in Vienna, but I checked and Kenneally's name isnt on the list of entrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Reaganomical

How brilliant would it be to have the full compliment of Irish running the Olympic marathon next year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

How brilliant would it be to have the full compliment of Irish running the Olympic marathon next year?

Could end up with a full team at both olympics and the euros :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭notsofast

tunguska wrote: »
    It does seem like an odd choice alright, Rotterdamn would be ideal for having a crack at a fast time. I dont know if theres a seperate entry list for elite athletes in Vienna, but I checked and Kenneally's name isnt on the list of entrants.

This is quote from the clonliffe harriers website www.clonliffeharriers.com

"Next up for Mark is his marathon debut, which contary to popular belief will not be in London or indeed Madrid but Vienna in three weeks time."

brutes1 wrote: »
    Sean Connolly 49 12 in Craughwell ten mile recently also. Hope these guys run well and hit the standards or close. Any Irish aiming for London this year

There is a real depth of talent going for the marathon now - all the above mentioned plus the likes of Gary Thornton, does Sergio Ciobanu qualify? Joe Mac, Greg roberts etc , great talents all.

re the womens would think Barbara Sanchez can do it 2.39 last yr, Maria Mc, Linda Byrne too.

I'm not sure if either Sergio Ciobanu (Moldovan) or Barbara Sanchez (French) are elligible to represent Ireland. Not sure though.

Sanchez has talked about getting Irish citizenship and read an interview (Irish Runner) where she said she'd like to run for Ireland. Heard something similar for Sergi also but can't remember the source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

heffsarmy wrote: »
    According to this website Mark is doing Madrid,

http://mzungofire.blogspot.com/2011/03/kenneally-tunes-up-for-madrid-marathon.html

The AAI has hims down as running Vienna,

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=18344

Looking forward to see these lads running, it would be great if they started contesting for the national marathon and raise the standards.
    AAI is correct,Mzungofire also says Mark is an Olympian which isn't true yet ;)

Mark or Sean didnt hit the standards necessary for a sports grant.If Mark hits the standard he won't get a penny until after the olympics :eek:
    Sean has raced alot lately,is

Interesting piece from Cliona Foley about the potential standard for London.

2.17 is a very achievable time for a few guys out there. It's comortably the weakest standard in any event for the Olympics. In the short term, it should mean we have 3 runners in London.

In the long term, it should definately result in more Irish runners targetting the marathon early in their career with a view to getting a standard and also a grant. It's pretty much a replica of the Kenyan marathon trend which sees more of them them running the event much younger for financial gain and is increasing the standard and depth of marathon running enormously.

Hopefully we see a similar, long term trend with Irish athletes.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/athletics-marathon-hopefuls-set-for-timely-boost-2604127.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

notsofast wrote: »
    This is quote from the clonliffe harriers website www.clonliffeharriers.com

"Next up for Mark is his marathon debut, which contary to popular belief will not be in London or indeed Madrid but Vienna in three weeks time."

They did a quick chat with him in Dunboyne last Sunday when giving out the prizes and he said he is doing Vienna next.
    Straight from the horses mouth so to speak

I think that Ireland can send up to five athletes with the qualifying standard for the men's marathon for Daegu World Champs as the event doubles up as the Marathon World Cup team competition and countries can enter up to seven athletes, of which only five can take the start line. Imagine five Irish singlets on our screens in September....it's possible isn't it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I think that Ireland can send up to five athletes with the qualifying standard for the men's marathon for Daegu World Champs as the event doubles up as the Marathon World Cup team competition and countries can enter up to seven athletes, of which only five can take the start line. Imagine five Irish singlets on our screens in September....it's possible isn't it??

Five i think is very doubtful. Even one maybe two at worlds would be fantastic. The fact is they are not accepting B standards so you are talking having to run 2.15.XX. On top of that Fagan DNFed his spring marathon so the chances of him running another one to get the qualifying time and then hitting a third marathon cycle by Sept are pretty much impossible. I think the idea is most of these guys are looking beyond Daegu towards London

As Ecoli said both athletes looking at the bigger picture.what have they to gain from running the worlds?
    Sean is a fulltime athlete and the only support he gets which is great support is the marathon mission.
    He didnt get an elite entry but will have his coach Dick Hopper giving him out drink bottles on the day.Problem is he will have to find a group looking to run at his pace,2.17-18 his goal as its his first and then Dublin will be a winner takes all as first Irish man across the line will get a nice cash bonus(if running a quality time) and Olympics if achieving the time.

Mark has a group of runners to run with at his goal time which will probably be in between 2.14-15,hence why he picked Venice.
    I forgot to mention Alan O shea who is also running Rotterdam and a class athlete also(won the adidas series half last year)

ecoli wrote: »
    Five i think is very doubtful. Even one maybe two at worlds would be fantastic. The fact is they are not accepting B standards so you are talking having to run 2.15.XX. On top of that Fagan DNFed his spring marathon so the chances of him running another one to get the qualifying time and then hitting a third marathon cycle by Sept are pretty much impossible. I think the idea is most of these guys are looking beyond Daegu towards London

I guess you're right, I'm the eternal optimist, but I suppose that it is a stretch of the imagination to suggest Ireland could have five runners in Daegu. London must be the ultimate goal and it's about following a programme that will result in arriving at the Olympics in the best possible condition. The buzz our marathon runners are generating though is great to see....long may it last! Great to see our walkers doing well too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭seanynova

As Ecoli said both athletes looking at the bigger picture.what have they to gain from running the worlds?
    Sean is a fulltime athlete and the only support he gets which is great support is the marathon mission.
    He didnt get an elite entry but will have his coach Dick Hopper giving him out drink bottles on the day.Problem is he will have to find a group looking to run at his pace,2.17-18 his goal as its his first and then Dublin will be a winner takes all as first Irish man across the line will get a nice cash bonus(if running a quality time) and Olympics if achieving the time.

Mark has a group of runners to run with at his goal time which will probably be in between 2.14-15,hence why he picked Venice.
    I forgot to mention Alan O shea who is also running Rotterdam and a class athlete also(won the adidas series half last year)

alan ran 49:5X in ballycotton 10 recently, so he is in good form...

)

Sean, Mark Kenneally and Joe Sweeney all get zero support from the sports council I believe. An absolute disgrace when you look at some of the grants. It's a pity we don't have a former marathon runner in charge of that organisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Vienna, not Venice.

Sean, Mark Kenneally and Joe Sweeney all get zero support from the sports council I believe. An absolute disgrace when you look at some of the grants. It's a pity we don't have a former marathon runner in charge of that organisation.

It just goes to show how tough the sport is,they aren't in it for the money for sure.
    Both just got kit sponsor after lookign for some for the last 2-3 years and even at that it's probably only few pairs of shoes and bit of kit.
    Should either get a time for the worlds they wont recieve a cent till after the olympics which doesn't make sense at all.
    Maybe we should organise some road races where our entry fee goes towards supporting these athletes?

Its Mark's turn next, running in the Vienna marathon this sunday.
    2:12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

anyone know how Mark got on ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Vinny Mulvey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭emerald007

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Theres a page on Mark Kenneally in RunningFitness magazine this month, gives a basic breakdown on his training week.

Surprised he didn't run Dublin,racing Fukuoka Marathon I think in December.