Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer Tags

• 31-03-2011 7:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭

Hi lads,

Was in Scully's in Athlone yesterday pricing .243's as thinking of getting into stalking this year:D.Gerry was'nt there but talking to him on phone and he told me deer tag's are coming in at start of season:eek:.Doe's anyone know if there is any truth in this:confused:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭ballistic

T223 wrote: »
    Hi lads,

Was in Scully's in Athlone yesterday pricing .243's as thinking of getting into stalking this year:D.Gerry was'nt there but talking to him on phone and he told me deer tag's are coming in at start of season:eek:.Doe's anyone know if there is any truth in this:confused:.

Wouldnt believe the lords prayer out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭T223

I don't know him,was just pass'in through and called in,told me anyone with private permission's were going to get a couple of tag's and there would be only a few hundred people stalking this year.It was like he was trying to turn me off buying a deer rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭badshot

T223 wrote: »
    Hi lads,

he's probaly sniping in afghanistan:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭ballistic

badshot wrote: »
    he's probaly sniping in afghanistan:rolleyes:

He has a rifle that shoots 120 grain rounds at 4000 fps! He has never had an animal take so much as one step after being shot (in the chest) by these super bullets and the best thing is the bullets pulverise all internal organs then exit without any meat damage. He is my hero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 dcdeerhunter

got my app form in the post 2 day no mention of tags I would take that with a grain of salt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

my tikka tactical wasnt any good beyond 200 hundred yards
    pinch of salt,its a bucket of salt ya want when listening to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

ballistic wrote: »
    Wouldnt believe the lords prayer out of him.

That is soooooo wrong:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:rolleyes::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

GS would not tell a lie...............................

Maybe a Tall tale or two ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I heard the same thing when I was in there about 2-3 weeks ago. The tags are for the game dealers so every animal will be identified and say a hunter with permission with 20 deer on it will get 2-3 tags and so on.

He also said lamping will be finished with :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

dev110 wrote: »
    I heard the same thing when I was in there about 2-3 weeks ago. The tags are for the game dealers so every animal will be identified and say a hunter with permission with 20 deer on it will get 2-3 tags and so on.

He also said lamping will be finished with :rolleyes:

you have to take Gerry with a pinch of salt he is a gas man.there is a bit of truth in the lamping bit ,but it only concerns lamping of deer(so far ?) on section 42 licences which is under review at the moment.something to do with no minister in office at the time of applying and here the proof

img007br.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

You specifically requested the use of a lamp?

Interesting.
    I had a section 42 before but never asked for a lamp.

In regards to GS though, he has thrown some clangers in his time.
    I think he looks for a grain of truth to build on first...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Is he still selling his own branded cartridges? I know a fella who asked GS we're they any use. GS showed him a photo and said "that's what they did to a fox at 60yards!". The photo was of a dead fox that was torn to bits by dogs. Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

He's proably off buying another couple of pallet loads of 00buck and AP slugs,and a new supply of 12 in barrel Benellis,for when the US secret service drop in,as they did when GWB was here to stock up to protect Obama in Moneygall.No doubt the SAS and HM royal protection squad will be in for their special orders too.:rolleyes::D:D

Strong contender again this year for the gun dealer WALT of the year award.:pac:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

You specifically requested the use of a lamp?

Interesting.
    I had a section 42 before but never asked for a lamp.

In regards to GS though, he has thrown some clangers in his time.
    I think he looks for a grain of truth to build on first...........

as you know the land owner has to apply for the section 42 and he nominates me to cull the deer.under section 42 you can legally lamp if requested problem deer which the land owner did, we have had licences issued before for this land to lamp.the farmer has young forestry sapling which are being damaged mostly at night by deer, The local ranger is well aware of the high numbers in this area .they issued the section 42 to shoot normal hours,max 20 cull stag or hind but not lamp

In regards to GS I always left his shop with a grin,love the story's great crack,and also a good collection in stock

as you know the land owner has to apply for the section 42 and he nominates me to cull the deer.under section 42 you can legally lamp if requested problem deer which the land owner did, we have had licences issued before for this land to lamp.the farmer has young forestry sapling which are being damaged mostly at night by deer, The local ranger is well aware of the high numbers in this area .they issued the section 42 to shoot normal hours,max 20 cull stag or hind but not lamp

In regards to GS I always left his shop with a grin,love the story's great crack,and also a good collection in stock

I might go for a section this year with my Famer friend.
    I'd be more concerned at the flatness of the land over lamping though.

Some of the midlands is extremely flat.
    I wonder if one asked about using slugs under a section42 would they be considered in exceptional circumstances?

I brought a mate into GS once to buy Norma Nosler BT'ed rounds. GS told me they did not exist.
    Then he told me they were POLYMER tipped not Ballistic tipped.
    Then he told me my .223 would not be licensed.

Then he told me he would get me a HK from his contact in Israel.
    Then he told me he caught a giant Pyke in Lough Ree............

Ah Eddie Lenihan is not a patch on his ars*

http://www.eddielenihan.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭endasmail

was in there today
    he is a funny man ,some cracking statements out of him

Ah Eddie Lenihan is not a patch on his ars*

http://www.eddielenihan.com/

:eek::eek:Jaysus!! When I saw his pic there.I thought Charles Manson had escaped and had moved to Ireland!!:eek:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭dermot218

the tagging system is only a proposal theres nothing definate yet .i tink its tt=o try and stop poached deer being bought to game dealers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 jimmyharibo

very easily to slag off an individual when he isnt present to defend himself, we all have our own thoughts on diff people and my opinion for what its worth is that i hold jerry in the highest regard and i find him to be a very knowledgeable and very trustworthy man who is held in very high regard by people that i have talked to from all corners of ireland after he came up in conversation through our mutual love of all things country, the reason i hold him in such high regard is his help and advice from my first time of walking into his shop to his recent invaluable help, advice and vast knowledge of all things shooting and legal to the extent he was instrumental in me winning my case that i had to bring against the DOJ and the gardai, a very happy customer who looks forward to the chats and banter everytime i walk into his shop.

Anybody that knows GS knows his caper, there is no doubt he is well read on his particular subjects;):rolleyes:. It would appear from your statement you do not know him as much as the other guys who made comments here. He is an A1 guy no doubt, has helped and got me items no-one else could or would get, however he has come up with some beaut stories that are beyond comprehension and are somewhat Walter Mitty:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Since no body has done it I shall throw the grenade into the room (so to speak)

I think the introduction of a deer tag scheme where you buy the tag for €20 if the deer is to be sold on wouldnt be a bad idea and might go someway as to controlling the poaching Present situation means its too easy to poach and sell into the market, no questions asked. The ordinary stalker shoots on average 5-6 deer per season??:confused:

I throw it open to the floor:D

wouldn't mind if it was only for deer that is being sold on .I only eat what I shoot so it wouldn't affect me.the only problem this is Ireland and they(powers that be) would have us pay for all deer shot if giving the chance.I think tighter regulation of the way game dealers operate would be the way forward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

wouldn't mind if it was only for deer that is being sold on .I only eat what I shoot so it wouldn't affect me.the only problem this is Ireland and they(powers that be) would have us pay for all deer shot if giving the chance.I think tighter regulation of the way game dealers operate would be the way forward

GS was saying that the tags are for game dealers. The tags will be issued at the start of the season based on the rangers recommendation. So if you have an area with 20 deer you might get 3-5 tags and thats it. This means you will only be able bring 3-5 deer to a dealer. It doesn't mean you can't still shoot for the freezer.

That was my understanding when GS was explaining to another customer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

He may not be here to defend himself but tell him to pop in ;)

I was in his shop once and won't be there again !

My brother rang to enquire if he had .223 ammo in stock, this was when they were just starting to be liscenced and ammo was scarce. Gerry advised he "had thousands on the shelf". We drove from MNSCI to Athlone on a really dirty winters evening and when we got to the shop and my brother told him he'd spoke to him about .223 ammo an hour earlier Gerry asked "did you see the lad walking down the street with 5,000 rounds of .223 in his arms? That was the last of what I had in stock".

Needless to say we were a little stunned......................

Heard a few other lads had the same experience and one lad drove from Tipperary to Athlone :eek:

Now if he wants to defend himself .......................... I'd love to hear it :mad:

There's always one :D

Hi Gerry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 jimmyharibo

im not jerry im from dublin and ask tack as we talked before, i thought boards was for intelligent discussion and not for bashing individuals so dont think ill beother being on here anymore as i find it insulting

Ah Jimmy

Seriously, Jerry is known for his tall tales.

First time I set foot in his shop was 12 or 13 years ago, when it was out at his house.

He told me then that he was setting up a rifle range in Athlone............
    I am still waiting to see it.

He's a nice fella, but he'd swear a hole in an iron pot that black was white if he thought a person would believe him.

I'm not getting at you, he might not have tried to rub the wool over your eyes, but most who have commented posted personal experience.

I'd call them Tall Tales, as their is no harm in any of them and they are never personal

I don't think Gerry would mind be like water off a ducks back in Afghanistan:D

But seriously I like Gerry always found him helpful great selection of stuff.Have bought stuff from him and hopefully will again.Also a good lad if your looking to get on a lease he has a good few.you cant keep all the people happy all the time.

There is no problem with gunshop tall tales.That is traditional in this lifestyle and part of the fun of it.It becomes a problem when such are used to lead people down the garden path,build up hopes to have them dashed,or at worse inconvience potential good customers.IE driving up to the place on an assurance that the product is in stock,only to be told the last lot went out the door as you walked in.Or some other fantastical story that it was orderd in for the US secret service,CIA[there is a detective agency in Athlone who uses those initals as well!!!!:eek::D So maybe he orderd it for them??],ERU,or Al Quieda,and they "just" collected it.I mean...honestly!!!
    Its none of our busisness how he wants to run his busisness,but unless you can deliver the goods or have the decency to provide a beliveable explanation between adults why you cant deliver your side of the bargin
    you will lose customers and gain a reputation of a BS artist or Walt.

I don't think Gerry would mind be like water off a ducks back in Afghanistan:D

But seriously I like Gerry always found him helpful great selection of stuff.Have bought stuff from him and hopefully will again.Also a good lad if your looking to get on a lease he has a good few.you cant keep all the people happy all the time.

True
    Jerry ( I only discovered he spells his name with a J yesterday Jeremiah) has a lot of leases.
    Buys up and sells off sub leases AFAIK.
    Ends up with shooting all over the country for free

And who said there was no FREE SHOOTING for the rich :D

:eek: I'm not bashing him ............... I'm telling the truth

Missing you already ;)

He may not be here to defend himself but tell him to pop in ;)

I was in his shop once and won't be there again !

My brother rang to enquire if he had .223 ammo in stock, this was when they were just starting to be liscenced and ammo was scarce. Gerry advised he "had thousands on the shelf". We drove from MNSCI to Athlone on a really dirty winters evening and when we got to the shop and my brother told him he'd spoke to him about .223 ammo an hour earlier Gerry asked "did you see the lad walking down the street with 5,000 rounds of .223 in his arms? That was the last of what I had in stock".

Needless to say we were a little stunned......................

Heard a few other lads had the same experience and one lad drove from Tipperary to Athlone :eek:

Now if he wants to defend himself .......................... I'd love to hear it :mad:

done the same to me

Ya your right, only for intelligent discussions, adios:D:rolleyes::p

Ah Jimmy

Seriously, Jerry is known for his tall tales.

First time I set foot in his shop was 12 or 13 years ago, when it was out at his house.

He told me then that he was setting up a rifle range in Athlone............
    I am still waiting to see it.

He's a nice fella, but he'd swear a hole in an iron pot that black was white if he thought a person would believe him.

I'm not getting at you, he might not have tried to rub the wool over your eyes, but most who have commented posted personal experience.

I'd call them Tall Tales, as their is no harm in any of them and they are never personal

True true no harm in him

True
    Jerry ( I only discovered he spells his name with a J yesterday Jeremiah) has a lot of leases.
    Buys up and sells off sub leases AFAIK.
    Ends up with shooting all over the country for free

And who said there was no FREE SHOOTING for the rich :D

True the perks of having money If I only won the lotto:D